More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.23

Awesome58.33%
Worth A Look: 13.33%
Average: 25%
Pretty Bad: 0%
Total Crap: 3.33%

2 reviews, 48 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Star Wars: Episode VIII : The Last Jedi by Jay Seaver

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Love and Basketball
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"What's that you say? Love is more important than basketball? Huh."
3 stars

"Love and Basketball" is a movie about love and basketball -- specifically, the idea that the former might be more important than the latter, but that maybe they can intermesh.

In 1981 suburban Los Angeles, 11-year-old Monica Wright (Kyla Pratt) and her family move into an affluent neighborhood where lives young Quincy McCall (Glenndon Chatman) and his family.

Basketball is all Quincy and his friends care about, and Quincy is surprised to learn that Monica is just as good at it as they are -- much to the chagrin of her mother (Alfre Woodard), who wishes her daughter wouldn't be such a tomboy. Quincy's dad, Zeke (Dennis Haysbert), an NBA player, is proud of his son's talents, but wants him to focus on getting an education rather than following in his exact footsteps.

Quincy and Monica develop a childhood crush for each other, which dissipates over time. By high school, the two (now played by Omar Epps and Sanaa Lathan) are still friends, but have other romantic interests. Both are basketball stars, though, and both wind up playing for USC, where their romantic relationship blossoms and withers, in the midst of basketball-related trials.

The film is marked by good performances across the board. Woodard's role as Monica's mother goes largely unnoticed until near the end of the film, when the two have a strikingly poignant scene that addresses gender roles and family values. Woodard is an asset in any film, and this one is no exception.

Epps and Latham have a certain chemistry as Quincy and Monica, and they do a lot toward making the film enjoyable. Despite their best efforts, though, "Love and Basketball" wears out its welcome. The opening scenes with the youngsters are cute, the first scenes with them in high school are engaging ... and after that, it turns into a stale soap opera, certain to induce seat-squirming in even the most attentive viewers. (If ever there was a 2-hour film that didn't need to be 2 hours long, this is it.)

Love eventually wins, right at the buzzer, but the overall impact is not particularly strong, because we already knew that basketball was just a game and that love was more important. Seeing the characters get a grip on that makes for a film that is watchable, but not terribly meaningful.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=3855&reviewer=247
originally posted: 07/05/03 12:35:13
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/07/11 PAUL SHORTT CHARMING, FEEL-GOOD FILM 3 stars
10/27/10 Diamond Mcgill I love this movie !. it makes yew wanna play basketball && wanna fall in love GREAT MOVIE ! 5 stars
5/17/10 Jeff Wilder Predictable as all get out. But the acting and direction elevate it. 4 stars
10/24/06 Lovely this is the best Movie ever its so romantic i love it 5 stars
2/16/06 malcolm not well-written in some places but pretty good 3 stars
11/22/05 Shakari great movie 5 stars
9/13/05 Total Crap Didn't get to me..watch it if you want. 3 stars
7/17/05 Lils Every young couple can relate to Omar and Sanaa 5 stars
1/14/05 Clymesa Excellent movie; Sanaa and Omar have a terrific chemistry together. 5 stars
12/07/04 Natasha Theobald Coming of age and playing some ball - good drama, sweet romance, Omar Epps - ahhhh 4 stars
12/07/04 jean noel it was a good movie 5 stars
8/18/04 fock offffffffffffffffffff bitch 4 stars
7/25/04 marie alexander i love it 5 stars
6/01/04 shane trudell very good movie 5 stars
5/16/04 Tiara Smith Ilove the movie i watch it everyday 5 stars
3/05/04 Tara Brockert this movie is the best love movie ever made...it shows us teens, sports arent everything 5 stars
7/07/03 Terrance Rogers it's real it's from the heart...black love...that's beautiful 5 stars
3/01/03 Monique Can't get enough of Omar Epps. Great film! 5 stars
11/06/02 Linda Hairston love and basketball is more than just a movie it's everyday life for alot of us. 5 stars
10/26/02 monica lewis Great film that can be watched over and over again! 5 stars
9/29/02 virpal sidhu i love this movie 5 stars
9/27/02 Willie Lee Roberson Very Good make you want to watch it over and over again 5 stars
9/25/02 Jennifer Tiedemann I love this movie, It's the best one I have ever seen...My favorite one now!!! 5 stars
8/17/02 DGaba The dynamic of making the relationship work is ceucial, and done brilliantly 5 stars
5/21/02 Langakai Pututau this is my fav. movie and i rate this movie an A+++++ 5 stars
3/26/02 Casey This is a movie worth seeing 5 stars
3/23/02 Ice It was a crazy Movie Still 4 stars
3/02/02 Heather It's my favorite movie! I love it so much, very cute movie 5 stars
3/01/02 Megan AWESOME MOVIE, soooo good and Q sooooo hot 5 stars
2/14/02 LaToya Floyd Love and Basketball was a great movie. I can relate to it in so many ways. 5 stars
2/05/02 Andrew Carden Cheesy, Cheap Romantic Mush. 1 stars
1/25/02 amy matejicek wonderful movie, a love story is always a plus !! 5 stars
4/26/01 Ashley This movie was the best one I have ever seen. 5 stars
4/25/01 Heather Schwartz Absolutely PERFECT! 5 stars
4/06/01 Jen Love & Basketball was the hottest shit ever! All's fair in love & basketball baby! 5 stars
3/22/01 Andrea Good Film. Worth the eight bucks. 4 stars
3/15/01 katie the ending was amazing fairy tale moment!! 5 stars
2/01/01 Jermaine Whaley The best Romantic movie I've ever seen 5 stars
12/11/00 Niki Ferguson This movie was the best, it was the most romantic, futuristic movie of the year! 5 stars
11/28/00 Crystal Love & Basketball is great movie the title of the movie describes it perfectly 5 stars
11/15/00 princess best movie ever 5 stars
11/04/00 monika bass The Best movie I have seen because I can relate to whats goen on 5 stars
10/24/00 CALEY WELL I SAW THIS MOVIE RECENTLY AND I ABSOLUTELY LOVED IT!! 5 stars
10/16/00 Candice I thought it was REALLY sweet and romantic 5 stars
5/28/00 natasha beautiful, talented people falling in love -- worth the time 4 stars
4/30/00 Rachel Shapiro I just saw this fim tonight and I thought that it showed a lot of innovative promise 4 stars
4/23/00 Heywood Jablowme When you play basketball, there is no way in hell you are supposed to love. Fuck That!! 1 stars
4/18/00 brvhrt-6 A thoroughly entertaining movie that is both funny and heartbreaking. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  21-Apr-2000

UK
  N/A

Australia
  09-Nov-2000 (M)


Directed by
  Gina Prince

Written by
  Gina Prince

Cast
  Sanaa Lathan
  Alfre Woodard
  Omar Epps
  Dennis Haysbert
  James DuMont
  Debbi Morgan



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast