More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.62

Awesome: 21.78%
Worth A Look35.64%
Average: 29.7%
Pretty Bad: 8.91%
Total Crap: 3.96%

7 reviews, 59 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Laplace's Witch by Jay Seaver

Eighth Grade by Peter Sobczynski

Unfriended: Dark Web by Peter Sobczynski

Mamma Mia: Here We Go Again! by Peter Sobczynski

Boiled Angels: The Trial of Mike Diana by Jay Seaver

Buy Bust by Jay Seaver

Isle of Dogs by Rob Gonsalves

Room Laundering by Jay Seaver

Mega Time Squad by Jay Seaver

Profile by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Frequency
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Filmnet

"Entertaining, but nothing fantastic overall."
3 stars

Like all good stories, this one has been around the block a few times: What if you could call the past on the telephone and tell them what's going to happen.

I remember seeing it as an episode of THE TWILIGHT ZONE or OUTER LIMITS, where a man in the 50s gets a chance to change the past and save his father, a World War 2 soldier, because his radio suddenly tunes into the 40s. The next morning, the guy wakes up in a Nazi United States. There is also a quirky US TV series called something like TOMORROW'S EDITION where a geek gets delivered tomorrow's newspaper and then spends the day changing the headlines.

FREQUENCY is a murder mystery with a twist ... a very big twist ... time. (This isn't a spoiler.) The movie is running parallel stories exactly 30 years apart. A cosmic event creates the same atmospheric phenomena over New York, an aurora caused by sunspots, which commonly create havoc for ham radio operators. A father in 1969 and his (now) adult son in 1999 tune into each other and not only change history, but make a little history themselves.

The movie becomes not only a whodunnit, but a when he dunnit, to whom has he dunnit and how can they undo it from the past and present at the same time across 30 years. FREQUENCY is very edge of your seat stuff a couple of times, combined with a sense of wonder at the ways the fabric of time can be re-woven.

There are a few clever jokes. Rather than give his father 30 years of winning lottery numbers, the Son tells him how baseball games will come out (the dummy still doesn't place any bets). The Son does give his childhood chum a stock tip to buy the Yahoo float ... must be product placement, because I would have suggested Microsoft in 1986 or Apple in 1982 or even IBM in 1972.


This is a very good part for Dennis Quaid, who has reinvented himself here as a SNAG (Sensitive New Age Guy) who is romantic, loving and able to say "I Love You" to his son. The New Yawk accents are a bit laboured at times, but they can be forgiven. I hope we see him in more roles like this. Jim Caviezel is quite a find and we will be seeing quite a bit of him in future.. edgy, handsome and a damn fine actor.

FREQUENCY is a bit "Boy's Own" and somewhat testosterone driven with all of the baseball and technology, but makes a nice yarn and a pretty nice movie. I expected not to like this film from the trailers, but came out feeling very good and satisfied. The big screen does add a bit in some of the action and suspense scenes, as it did with SIXTH SENSE, but if you can wait for the video, that'll be just fine.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=3866&reviewer=169
originally posted: 10/19/00 15:12:37
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/14/17 morris campbell lame as fuck 1 stars
8/05/17 Andrés Aot of non-sense 2 stars
8/31/13 EDDIED Good movie but it is illogical and follows no rules. Plus, the story changes midway through 4 stars
10/16/11 Monday Morning What's theRob Gonsalves - you're an ass, and not in a good way. 5 stars
10/29/10 Rolly Hyatt I really have nothing bad to say about this film. It's been a favorite of mine for a while. 5 stars
1/13/09 MJ Robles awesome! moving! enoyed it a lot! 3 stars
12/06/08 Shaun Wallner Kept me on the edge of the seat! 4 stars
5/16/08 PAUL SHORTT A FAIRLY WONDERFUL FILM ABOUT FATHER AND SON AND THE MYSTERY OF TIME 4 stars
1/29/07 Stanley Thai A great father and son movie with suspense. 4 stars
11/03/06 AJ Muller REALLY wish I'd seen it in theaters; exciting and funny and moving - flat out STELLAR 5 stars
9/17/06 hector you have to like this movie , if you pay attention to it 5 stars
3/19/06 great excellent and enjoyable 5 stars
10/19/05 Valerie really awesome! 5 stars
2/01/05 Edward Condon I enjoyed this alot. 4 stars
12/06/04 Lee Davis Better than 95% of what's on video 5 stars
8/13/04 Tsang Ho Yin damn entertaining, much better than i thought it would be 4 stars
5/04/04 R.W. Welch Ingeniously designed. Gets to be a bit much towards the end. 4 stars
3/07/04 rory very surprized. excellent film 5 stars
1/23/04 Abe Giesbrecht Loved it 4 stars
12/02/03 tatum Passable thriller 4 stars
8/18/03 Nevz i liked it 5 stars
8/02/03 A Dude I find it hard to believe that anyone can not, at least, enjoy this movie a little 4 stars
4/06/03 123 good and thrilling, xcept for the ending 4 stars
10/21/02 snowconehead If you can swallow the premise, digest the plot, you'll shit out pure gold 4 stars
8/08/02 Kino It was a shitload better than I expected. 4 stars
7/24/02 Dannielle I Think The Movie Was Excellent And Sad 5 stars
3/04/02 Marcia Lartz A stand-out in quirky pseudosciencefiction genre. 5 stars
1/10/02 FGJ180 Good, Solid, entertaining time travel movie, although the final twist is very corny. 4 stars
6/30/01 Peter Brook Lame plot twists, acting by numbers. How can anybody like this shit? 1 stars
5/15/01 Will don't think about the issues of time travel like a geek, and it becomes a pretty neat film 4 stars
4/12/01 YelloMiata@AOL.COM My wife was a step ahead of the movie, but in a good way. 4 stars
2/04/01 rentabeast hey, what can I say, cavaziel is from my home town, and the movie was excellent. get DVD! 5 stars
1/16/01 Elvisfan Quaid gets points for playing "Suspicious Minds" in the beginning; movie was good not great 4 stars
12/19/00 Monday Morning Sci-fi/mystery/thriller/family forumula A nailbiter with heart.is well done. 5 stars
12/08/00 Girl 9 You probaly won't hate it. Would've been better if they had thought of a better ending. 4 stars
12/03/00 scott wahls most underrated pic of the year, NOT AT ALL what i expected, guaranteed satisfaction! 5 stars
11/24/00 The EVIL Penguin it can happen to YOU! 4 stars
11/11/00 budin different from what i expected but a decent movie 4 stars
11/07/00 The Bomb 69 better than most Hollywood shit out there 4 stars
8/08/00 Mic Despite all the holes and sudden switch from human drama to pathetic thriller, still v.good 4 stars
8/04/00 Viking Shame about the ending !!!! 3 stars
7/09/00 Narf Suspend disbelief, and this is one very absorbing movie. Caviezel is Oscar-caliber. 5 stars
6/20/00 Carole Weird 2 stars
5/27/00 Jaime N. Christley Forget the plot holes -- a heartfelt speculative time-travel fantasy. 3 stars
5/22/00 Obi Wan Loved it...good flim not much hype to kill it!! But they should of pushed it to June/July. 4 stars
5/20/00 mahone If you want good time paradox thrills, read Stanislaw Lem! 2 stars
5/12/00 Thayer Bush Awesome Movie 5 stars
5/12/00 David Blumgart Aw stop bitching. If you can get down Keanu Reeves as 'The One' why're moaning about this? 4 stars
5/09/00 El Tigre I enjoyed it a lot. Though I do wish someone had taken some putty to those plot holes. 4 stars
5/04/00 Caleb Toby Awesome... some areas are uncertain, but overall good plot and great acting. 4 stars
5/04/00 Blackbird I could suspend disbelief until the climatic scene. 3 stars
5/02/00 GDB Nice movie if you aren't too anal about the reality's of time-space. 4 stars
5/02/00 PhilmPhreak I liked it. 4 stars
5/01/00 MrShowbiz The problematic plot will make you wish you tuned out of this genre-wingling mishmash. 1 stars
5/01/00 Malbert I thought this movie was very cool, except for the ending and the jerky camera 4 stars
5/01/00 The Rock the plot holes and ending were bad 3 stars
5/01/00 Captain Highcrime The opportunity to get very confused very quickly exists here, plus its a long road to haul 3 stars
4/29/00 Dennis Flutie this movie is a great movie so much that i woul'd tell my friends to go and Ill go home. 4 stars
4/26/00 Jason Kallelis Wow, its just like a good moive, only not. 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  28-Apr-2000 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  03-Aug-2000




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast