More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.95

Awesome: 14.42%
Worth A Look: 27.88%
Average: 10.58%
Pretty Bad32.69%
Total Crap: 14.42%

7 reviews, 62 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Assassinaut by Jay Seaver

Dead Don't Die, The by alejandroariera

Dead Don't Die, The by Peter Sobczynski

Shaft (2019) by Peter Sobczynski

Men in Black: International by Peter Sobczynski

Chasing the Dragon 2: Wild Wild Bunch by Jay Seaver

Hole in the Ground, The by Jay Seaver

Knife+Heart by Jay Seaver

Booksmart by Jay Seaver

Dark Phoenix by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Where the Heart Is (2000)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chris Parry

"If I rip the sugar drip out of my arm, will I bleed to death?"
2 stars

The name Natalie Portman goes on the list next to Ed Norton, Paul Thomas Anderson, David O. Russell, Kevin Corrigan, Sam Rockwell, Steve Zahn, Jack Black, Hal Hartley and Jim Jarmusch as people whose mere presence in a film project guarantees I'll show up with eight bucks in hand when it opens. But of late, Ms Portman has been giving me cause for concern. It's not that she's acting poorly or behaving in a Downey Juniorish fashion. She's just picking some real stinkbombs to appear in, and though Where The Heart Is doesn't entirely suck, it's pursing it's lips in a suck-like fashion.

Portman is Novalee Nation, a white trash teen who's been knocked up by her huckleberry boyfriend. Novalee's none too bright, or she'd see coming what every viewer sees from a mile away - Huckleberry's gonna dump her pregnant ass first chance he gets. And so it goes that Novalee (Miss Nation if you're nasty) finds herself at a Wal-Mart without any money, shelter or shoes, for that matter.

What would YOU do? Yes, you'd find a homeless shelter and cry a lot. Novalee instead hides in a toilet until closing and lives in the camping section of the Wal-Mart for a few months. Which is fine until her womb explodes. Hate to be the sucker that buys the four-sleeper tent she was in THAT night.

So what ensues? Nothin' much. Friendships, tornadoes, blah blah blah. Chick flick stuff mostly. You can live without it, nothing here will change your life.

Portman is, it must be said, most excellent as always. But it's always going to be a problem when a young woman has given so many fine, unforgettable performances so early in her life, that when she picks something unspectacular, it'll be a disappointment. Thus, Where The Heart Is... is.

Stockard Channing, as the woman who gives Novalee and her kid somewhere to stay, is up to her usual standard. In fact, everyone is. But for what? Are we entertained? Improved? Educated? Inspired?

None of the above. This is just a harmless little 'fun' film, which in my book usually qualifies it as a waste of time and money unless you're seeing it for free, and you have a broken leg that procludes you from taking a walk or something.

Go out and live life some. Where The Heart Is will always be there after 'visit Pawtucket' on your important things to do in life list, thus it demands little or no attention.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=3867&reviewer=1
originally posted: 06/23/01 18:36:09
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

11/02/16 Suzanne five great female performances; scratch the ex-boyfriend 4 stars
10/19/11 PAUL SHORTT PREDICTABLE, BANAL MELODRAMATIC SOAP OPERA 1 stars
10/08/07 Deirdre As manipulatively awful as it is extremely bizarre. 1 stars
12/16/06 Treecie Novalie rise above attitude & Forney's firm love kept me thinking after the end of the movi 4 stars
5/07/06 Erica Clarkson What about Tennessee residents, Tiffany? It's set in Oklahoma! 2 stars
12/20/05 cody a very good movie with good story and good actors, sexy natalie portman 4 stars
7/14/05 emily I LOVED this movie...definitely in my top 5. 5 stars
3/28/05 Emma A lovely film. One of my favourites. 5 stars
3/18/05 Tiffany Anderson great movie, although it depects tennessee residents as white trash 4 stars
7/24/04 Toni Any young mother trying to find her way can relate to this movie 5 stars
7/14/04 Jenna Furr Usually abominable A. Judd good here. Natalie P. wasted. Movie on whole is harpy feces. 1 stars
6/05/04 Tiffany Faye Hawthorne A. Judd plays more likeable char. than Sally Field or Joan Cusack. Armageddon must be near! 2 stars
6/05/04 Audrey Ruiz Ashley Judd's best movie since AMAZON WOMAN FROM URANUS. 1 stars
5/18/04 Richard This film was very educating for children over 12 but not for 2nd graders 1 stars
4/10/04 Teresa I think it is a great movie, explaning how anything could happen. 4 stars
3/26/04 Stephanie I really like the movie i eally enjoyed it! 5 stars
3/05/04 Absolute feel good? Poppycock!! Only someone bout as bad as Osama bin Ladin makes me feel good to see his legs get cut off! 2 stars
2/04/04 Aroha It is a lovely movie! An absolute feel good!!! 5 stars
10/07/03 Marie Persson I just love this movie. 5 stars
7/18/03 Chris O.K. so this isn't oscar material but by itself it's entertaing. Corny but heart-warming. 4 stars
5/30/03 Jenna Furr Usually abominable A. Judd good here. Natalie P. wasted. Movie on whole is harpy feces. 1 stars
2/03/03 Tiffany Faye Hawthorne A. Judd plays more likeable char. than Sally Field or Joan Cusack. Armageddon must be near! 2 stars
1/12/03 Iris Dementia Praecox Yeah Sure, Andrew. If I don't listen to the rednecks, so much for playing this movie! 1 stars
12/10/02 Audrey Ruiz Ashely Judd's best movie since AMAZON WOMAN FROM URANUS. 1 stars
12/03/02 jksfsdkl UG! Natalie Portman is the most overrated actress of the past few years. CRAP! 1 stars
11/28/02 Kelli Strange, but funny 4 stars
10/15/02 amy i liked it 4 stars
10/02/02 Andrew Don't listen to the to the red necks, let yourself be taken on a beautiful ride. 5 stars
9/04/02 The Chronic Mastubator Sappy and dumb. 2 stars
6/27/02 Bada Bing Crosby Ceaselessly stupid and improbable, but Joan Cusack is great in small role 2 stars
6/05/02 Tiffany Faye Hawthorne A. Judd plays more likeable char. than Sally Field or Joan Cusack. Armageddon must be near! 2 stars
3/31/02 Kacy I loved this movie. It is absolutely one of my favorites...ever! 5 stars
3/26/02 the_newindividual Great movie! 5 stars
3/16/02 Jenny Tullwartz (Joan Cusack fan in mourning) I'd rather eat my sh____(oe??) than watch what Jonn Cusack's reduced to in this. 1 stars
1/27/02 Tiffany Thunderhurst "Ballbuster" plays all sweetness and light. Is there acatch? You bet there is! 2 stars
1/14/02 Flick Chick this is one chick flick the flick chick actually liked - a bit long though. 4 stars
1/04/02 Chelsy Kenyon I liked the movie, I had to do a long paper over it. 4 stars
11/26/01 Smoogles Total chick flick ... Portman was great 5 stars
11/12/01 Jon C. Ericson Natalie only thing making this worth a look. 4 stars
9/30/01 Mohammad J. worst movie out there next to 2001 and A.I. 1 stars
9/18/01 Butterbean Glamorous trailer trash and 2hr references to Walmart can be overlooked in this good flick 4 stars
8/24/01 eka saputra i'm only like natalie 4 stars
8/03/01 brian ferrell I really wanted my own web site 5 stars
6/23/01 Mr. X I enjoyed i thoroughly. I almost cried 4 stars
4/29/01 The Jedi Droid Cute..Natelie is good & Stockard Channing & Joan Cusack are great supporting charcters 4 stars
4/16/01 LiL This was fantatic! One of the best movies I've ever seen with great actors 5 stars
4/12/01 Troy A decent moment or two do not a movie make; Cusack was much appreciated, however briefly 3 stars
3/01/01 Robert no 1 stars
2/15/01 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi Read the book!!! Read the book!!! Read the book!!! Read the book!!! 3 stars
2/02/01 Bob Barker How many talented actors does this movie have? And it's still stupid!!!! 1 stars
8/21/00 movie chick not much interesting here 3 stars
7/31/00 Ang I thought it was a great movie 5 stars
5/27/00 Jaime N. Christley The book is available at your local Wal-Mart. Avoid it, too. 1 stars
5/19/00 jim boyd good film well acted enjoyable 5 stars
5/13/00 Americus Ashley Judd is my reason for being. & Natalie Portman scores her first good performance 5 stars
5/11/00 Kyle Broflovski "Life's a bitch & then you give birth in Wal-Mart." Whoopy. 3 stars
5/08/00 Mary Ann Surprised the boom mike didn't get star billing and it's own trailer 2 stars
5/05/00 Jessica I've read the book, and i've seen the movie. Both were great! But read the book first. 4 stars
5/01/00 MrShowbiz Portman gives birth in a Wal-Mart... and this 4 alarm hankiefest is all downhil from there. 1 stars
5/01/00 Rose Reuben It's like American Beauty, shows that everyone fucks up. It's about being optimistic. Nice. 4 stars
4/30/00 "Persnickety" this one got real old real quick,,,totally predictable! 2 stars
4/30/00 Malbert Acting was good...story was kind of dumb 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  28-Apr-2000 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  31-Aug-2000 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast