More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.4

Awesome: 3.23%
Worth A Look: 12.9%
Average32.26%
Pretty Bad: 24.19%
Total Crap: 27.42%

7 reviews, 20 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

Fashionista by Jay Seaver

I Love You, Daddy by Rob Gonsalves

Jailbreak by Jay Seaver

Attraction (2017) by Jay Seaver

Thousand Junkies, A by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Lucky Numbers
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Greg Muskewitz

"Bad draw."
1 stars

Contradictory to it's title, there is no luck with Lucky Numbers.

A huge disappointment from director Nora Ephron, who brought us the tame chick-flicks You’ve Got Mail and Sleepless in Seattle. Instead here, she botches it all up by throwing it a ton of profanity and a couple of ridiculous sex scenes to get an R rating. The end result is not very funny. Whereas typical anti-hero protagonists break the law in some shape or form for an acceptable reason to us, like in Thelma & Louise, we're rooting for them. But in Lucky Numbers, all the characters are annoying and unlikable. Lisa Kudrow, as always, knows how to perfectly deliver her end of the comedic bargain, and he performance is nicely done, however, it's thrown off by the fact that she becomes so totally unlikable. There's no one to root for, not even Bill Pullman as a lackadaisical cop, because he, too, has no justifiable reason to be so uncaring and unbuyable.

Final Verdict: D-.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=3877&reviewer=172
originally posted: 11/04/00 06:44:52
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

11/01/08 Shaun Wallner Great Film! 4 stars
2/08/05 Jeff Anderson Much like the Michael Keaton stinker THE SQUEEZE, only much worse! PITIFUL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
7/24/04 Sandy Turynowicz ok 4 stars
1/13/04 jack russell John Travolta should try roles like this more often 5 stars
4/08/03 Shadaan Felfeli Kudrow was at very least worth watching 3 stars
3/20/03 Jack Sommersby Problematic yet admittedly a fairly good time to be had. 3 stars
2/03/03 mo this movie is very good. 4 stars
8/30/02 The Talking Elbow This movie was really funny, laughed all the way through it, dont see why everyone hated it 5 stars
4/02/02 Monday Morning I had no preconceived expectations for this flick and really liked it. Very funny. 4 stars
1/16/02 David A. It's funny, but not really classic. Walter was my favorite character 4 stars
10/15/01 Andrew Carden I Liked This Movie Because Of The Funny Chemistry Between The Two. 4 stars
8/10/01 Mr. Hat I expected SO much better from this movie. 2 stars
3/21/01 Zero Effect? Sorta entertaining - Travolta is likable & wacky, Kudrow's a sexy bitch, & Pullman is ODD 4 stars
12/08/00 Boy In The Designer Bubble I've enjoyed gay monkey porno more than this film 1 stars
11/27/00 HeLD almost as bad as Battlefield Earth.... 1 stars
11/26/00 Stuntman shoulda been called Unlucky Numbers. How dissapointing. 2 stars
11/08/00 RL Hey, its better than Battlefield Earth.....or is it? 2 stars
11/04/00 Dan Lisa Kudrow's the only thing likeable in this unoriginal trash 1 stars
10/31/00 michael great John and prety good movie! 4 stars
10/30/00 poetchuck Don't even see it at the dollar movie--No laughs 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  27-Oct-2000

UK
  N/A

Australia
  08-Feb-2001 (M)


Directed by
  Nora Ephron

Written by
  Adam Resnick

Cast
  John Travolta
  Michael Rapaport
  Ed O'Neill
  Bill Pullman
  Tim Roth
  Lisa Kudrow



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast