More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.31

Awesome: 14.75%
Worth A Look: 22.95%
Average49.18%
Pretty Bad: 4.92%
Total Crap: 8.2%

4 reviews, 37 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Conspiracy Theory
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by spork-girl

"Any movie in which Mel Gibson sings is ok in my book."
3 stars

Mel! Mel! Melmelmel! Julia! Plus Captain Picard!

I've seen this movie four times, because I said I liked it so various people forced me to see it with them. While it's not a classic, and not really worth 8 hours of my life, I feel it's really worth 2 or even 4.

Summary: Julia Roberts works for the justice department in NYC. It appears that Mel Gibson, a cab driver, is stalking her. He wants her help investigating some weird conspiracy theories he writes a newsletter about. He's quite a freak in this movie actually. Anyways, we find out his fears are founded when Captain Picard kidnaps him and tries to kill him but he gets away. But at the same time, Julia Roberts is begining to think he's evil because she believes Captain Picard.

Anyways, she's really mad that someone killed her dad, but she knows it's not the guy who's in jail for it, and then she thinks maybe Mel did it, because after all, he's a freak and he has amnesia. (yes, this movie really is that confusing)

It turns out he's a good guy, Picard is a bad guy, and Julia is in love with Mel. (get in line beeotch)

The cinematography is an odd style, but it works really well in this movie, the writing is ok, not terribly good but the actors pull it off quite nicely. It's quite funny at times as well, mostly thanks to Mel, because he can do everything. He kicks ass.

The ending is, predictably, surprising, but it sat well with me. It was not a letdown, after all, Mel is singing in the last scene. Can't beat that.

3 sporks, not really a romantic comedy, not really a thriller, but an entertaining movie nonetheless.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=388&reviewer=6
originally posted: 08/28/98 10:26:15
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

10/13/10 PAUL SHORTT ENTERTAINING PARANOID THRILLER WITH A GOOD STAR PERFORMANCE 3 stars
10/03/08 Lenny Zane What Julia Roberts CAN do. Why oh why slum in inane RunawayBride & insufferable TheMexican? 5 stars
2/03/07 David Pollastrini kind of slow 3 stars
10/22/05 ed mampel a fun-time movie 4 stars
8/25/05 ES This movie makes little sense and has Julia Roberts, nuff said 2 stars
3/14/05 dok Mel Gibson gives one of the worst performances I've ever had the misfortune to see. 1 stars
12/08/04 lucas nothing is what it seems 3 stars
5/05/04 daniel Mcgaffin loves the cock mcgaffin wants it in the arse 5 stars
3/06/04 LIAM JACKSON Patrick Stewart was very creepy in this 5 stars
11/28/03 john a thriller with a Capra like emotional twist to it - exiting and...well sweet 5 stars
10/20/03 Samuel Justus I dont't have to tell you it sucks...It came out to video in like 2 weeks! 1 stars
9/05/03 Wendy Welch Julia Roberts's best movie! A whacky but compelling thrill ride! 5 stars
5/20/03 mr. Pink This movie gave me a fuckin' headache while watching it! Really, I was sick for 4 days! 1 stars
3/22/03 Jack Sommersby Gibson & first-half=superb/Roberts & second-half=banal. 3 stars
10/16/02 Charles Tatum Roberts and Gibson learn chemistry is important 1 stars
9/26/02 Movie guy great 5 stars
7/05/02 KMG Would've been good except Julia's in it 3 stars
1/25/02 Melvin Suarez Superb! Why can't Julia Roberts always be this sweet 5 stars
8/09/01 E-Funk Who cares? This one came out of left field. 2 stars
8/08/01 Mr. Hat One of many great 1997 movies. 4 stars
6/12/01 cinkcool Gibson carries the show. Other than that, pretty crappy movie. 3 stars
4/05/01 Hawkeye Gets my vote just for Mel's eerily adept rendition of "stark raving bonkers." Worth seeing! 5 stars
1/14/01 R.W. Welch Pretty clever plot idea, reasonably well carried out. 4 stars
7/17/00 doug average movie, great mel 3 stars
1/29/99 Scott Stipe It's soo good it makes you nervous 5 stars
1/12/99 demon_shredder NOthing special but not that bad either. 3 stars
11/26/98 Mr.Pink I literally got sick of seeing this movie. 1 stars
10/27/98 Silent Rob Another film for people who love TV 3 stars
9/23/98 Rob Forey now I can't talk long cause they're taping this :) It was good.. kinda. 4 stars
9/06/98 Janine slight suspense, a few twists, somewhat comic at times, not one to watch repeatedly though 4 stars
8/28/98 Chuck-D I dunno why but I liked it. Mel does the clueless bit better than you'd expect. 4 stars
8/26/98 PyThomas Enough plot twists to make a bag of pretzels. Intelligent and funny. 4 stars
8/24/98 JenniferLorraine Interesting story line. I know some people like that. (hope they don't see this) 3 stars
8/23/98 Mister Whoopee Julia AGAIN doesn't get naked. What's with that? 2 stars
8/17/98 Johny I liked it until the big, stupid plot twist 3 stars
8/17/98 {{{OZ}}} Julia Roberts is niiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiice. Truly. 4 stars
8/17/98 J-Guy (The MFC) 3 words: needs more dialog. 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  08-Aug-1997 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast