More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.8

Awesome: 24.62%
Worth A Look43.08%
Average: 24.62%
Pretty Bad: 3.08%
Total Crap: 4.62%

4 reviews, 41 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Get Over It
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Greg Muskewitz

"Its trendiness is its conventionalism."
3 stars

The latest classic story/play to receive a face-lift and make-over for the young, unintellectual audiences (i.e., “Dangerous Liaisons” to “Cruel Intentions,” “The Taming of the Shrew” to “10 Things I Hate About You,” “Othello” to “O,” “Pygmalion” to “She’s All That,” “Crime and Punishment” to “Crime + Punishment in Suburbia,” and other transplanted modernizations like “Hamlet,” “Great Expectations,” “Romeo + Juliet,” “O,” etc.) is William Shakespeare’s “A Midsummer Night’s Dream” into Tommy O’Haver’s “Get Over It” — a high school comedy about mix-matched loves turned even further awry.

The movie is high on a lot of pleasantries and some creative twists on the Shakespearean text (no, no, don’t worry, the dialogue is not kept in original form like the hackneyed “Hamlet”), but far too often and too annoyingly, R. Lee Fleming, Jr.’s script reverts to a conventional, destitute high school movie, and at the times that it counts the most. The novelty of the initial inception from around the time of “10 Things I Hate About You” has mostly worn off. The cheerful cast is able to keep much of the movie upbeat, but when the script becomes puerile, the antics and acting is right behind it. Nothing scripted or pre-planned measures up to the funniness of bland singer and even blander actor Sisqó stumbling over the annunciation of “arbitrarily.” Kirsten Dunst does her best to be appealing and likable in the female lead, but she is blown away by the impressive newcomer Melissa Sagemiller, and her favorable male counterpart, Ben Foster.

With Shane West, Mila Kunis, Martin Short, Ed Begley, Jr., Swoosie Kurtz and cameos by Vitamin C, Carmen Electra and Coolio.

Final Verdict: C+.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=3889&reviewer=172
originally posted: 07/10/01 10:12:01
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

5/26/08 Roz a decent movie to watch on a lazy afternoon 3 stars
1/03/07 Barry Hensley The Dukes of Hazzard: The Beginning 5 stars
9/28/05 krissie Smith it is such a cool movie and Kirsten Dunst does a great job 5 stars
2/09/05 Jeff Anderson A John Hughes-like film WITH A PULSE! Opens with a great number, then energy shines through 5 stars
11/16/04 christy this movie was interesting I love Shane West 4 stars
11/10/04 Cassi c Loved it, could watch it over and over again 5 stars
8/13/04 Kristen This is my favorite movie ever! btw, amanda loves 5 stars
6/11/04 Aligewe It is really good. Even Better when you like the actors. 5 stars
2/01/04 Taylor Nicole Sizemore Colin Hanks looks really good in it 5 stars
4/28/03 Oh no Then I must like shit covered rocks. 5 stars
12/31/02 Jack Sommersby Refreshingly inventive high-school pic. The teen cast is irresistable. Dunst's bikini shot! 4 stars
12/31/02 John Aster Habig Kirten don't listen to Phoenix you are beautiful as a person one deserving intimacy 4 stars
10/31/02 jenna I love this movie 5 stars
10/12/02 daniel johns great movie, loved it 5 stars
9/25/02 movie guy I LOVED SHANE WEST IN THIS FILM HE IS GREAT 5 stars
9/03/02 ted v. Mr. EricDSnider, Was "Colin West" in the cast? There is a Colin Hanks & a Shane West... 4 stars
9/03/02 palaboy101 Kirsten Dunst and Martin Short made this movie more than worthwhile, Ben Foster was ok 4 stars
8/26/02 Miracle Max Stupid fucking Sisqo. Oh, & Ben Foster has less charisma than a shit-covered rock. Asshole 1 stars
7/26/02 Matthew Sanchez Fun movie. that's all they ask is that you enjoy yourself. 4 stars
5/26/02 Phoenix Kirsten Dunst is so beautiful. Her tits are so big and beautiful. 4 stars
2/11/02 Shane West Well I was in it right. 5 stars
1/16/02 Gary Formulaic teen movie, but wholly likeable and entertaining, with strong comic performances 4 stars
11/25/01 hilary pretty bad 2 stars
11/08/01 hilary worth a look 4 stars
10/31/01 hilary worth a look 4 stars
9/17/01 Bri Rented dvd to slowmo Dunst bouncey rack. 3 stars
8/30/01 Amy Cliche and obvious, but I loved every minute of it- ben foster and "Felix" are great. 4 stars
8/23/01 brentley better than the avg teen flick. rent the dvd & see the FULL sex-club scene. 3 stars
7/07/01 Simeon Briggs Not as good as Ten Things I hate about you. When is Dunst gonna do porn? 3 stars
6/16/01 Richard Wright Sigh.. another in the painful patheon of teen films.. Lame humour and bad songs galore. 2 stars
6/12/01 Rebecca Hartnett It sucked big fat ass. 1 stars
5/14/01 sarah bearah it was so oooooooo cute! 4 stars
5/11/01 donkey punch I jerked-off non-stop 4 stars
5/11/01 donkey punch I jerked-off non-stop 4 stars
3/24/01 matthew mccarthy one strength: brevity, but still too may frames. i'm trying to get over it. 1 stars
3/18/01 leene the best! ben foster rocks so whoever just dissed him can kick your own ass 5 stars
3/13/01 Zaw Kiss a little longer..hold a little longer.... 5 stars
3/12/01 Wayne Case A nice, sweet diversion. I liked it. 4 stars
3/10/01 Vitamin B Lots of creativity but it rarely pans out. Ben Foster is annoying. Needed more Mila Kunis 4 stars
3/10/01 garen babes, bikinis, and really funny moments 5 stars
3/10/01 Kiss My Grits Dunst in a bikini. Nuff said 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  09-Mar-2001 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  06-Sep-2001




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast