More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.59

Awesome: 6.14%
Worth A Look: 13.16%
Average37.72%
Pretty Bad: 19.3%
Total Crap: 23.68%

9 reviews, 60 user ratings



Mexican, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Cochise

"A mixed-up potpourri of ideas."
3 stars

To get the most out of this film you have to watch the deleted scenes and the director’s commentary. However, this doesn’t make it a totally crappy movie. It is (in my opinion) a bad movie with some very good things about it, and therefore, I could enjoy it.

WARNING - In order to review this film and discuss it, I have to reveal the ending. So . . . if you don't want to know what happens in the end, please don't read this until after you have seen the film.

Jerry has promised his girlfriend, Samantha, that he will take her to Las Vegas. However, Jerry has kept messing up his previous jobs, so his employer orders him (under pain of death) to go to Mexico and bring back a priceless antique pistol (the pistol being “the Mexican” of the title, a pistol that contains the soul of a 19th Century Mexican girl who killed herself.) Jerry, as he tries to get the pistol and keep hold of it, keeps screwing up, until, under the constant pressure he is under, he becomes heroic. He finally restores the pistol to its rightful owner, releasing the soul of the girl. Jerry is helped by a dog, who is possibly the spirit of the gun, or something metaphysical. (The dog appears in the scenes taking place in the 19th century, and with Jerry in the 21st.) In the end, Jerry kills the gay hit man who, just a moment before had decided not to kill Jerry. Samantha feels sad, but, in the end, ends up with our hero, Jerry.

There are many good points about this film. First, there is Julia Robert’s acting. To her credit, she is not one of those movie stars that only want to play a certain kind of role because of their “image.” Her role in “The Mexican” was far different from her roles in films like “Pretty Woman,” “Runaway Bride,” and “Ocean’s Eleven.” In “The Mexican” she plays a trashy, foul-mouthed girl (she says “fuck” several times). She is also bitchy. Her character is also sensitive, as she becomes quite fond of the gay hit man played brilliantly by James Gandolfini.

In the film there are several excellent views of Mexico. Yes, they are in Mexico, not Canada or Italy or somewhere else. Make sure and listen to the director’s commentary as he has some fascinating comments to make about one particular town he shot in.

There is some quite funny moments in the film. This, in my opinion, did much to keep the film entertaining.

Gene Hackman had a cameo in the film. Having a actor of his stature in the film, even if it was in the end, did, for me, add a lot of meaning to the final scenes.

There was a lovable mongrel dog .(Actually a golden retriever made up.) This dog was absolutely adorable in a mongrel sort of way. I felt he should have played a bigger role however, as there certainly could have been some good scenes with the dog in it.

The flash-back technique, in the form of an old film shown on a cheap 16 mm projector was very effective. (The scenes were complete with the noise of the projector – remember watching those movies in school where you could hear the projector in the back of the room? It sounded like that.)
The DVD had some deleted scenes in the extras. I sure wish they had left them in the film because I needed them to really understand the movie. For example, the deleted wedding scene tied up the loose end of Jerry losing his passport.

The film had too many subplots which made it lose focus. (Several of the subplots could have been left out, and with minor twigging the movie would still have made sense..) All these subplots and lack of focus made me wonder what the film was about. That is, was it about:

1. broken relationships,
2. the healing of relationships,
3. new age sensitive gay men,
4. the coming-of-age of Jerry (he changes from a bumbling person to a heroic one),
5. the adventure of finding the gun,
6. the dog as spirit guide,

or

7. the saving of the girl’s spirit?

Of course, one could argue that a bunch of different plot elements in the film make it like real life. In fact, I did say something like this in my review of “Brotherhood of the Wolf.” However, “Brotherhood” is focused because it has a coherent flow of all the different elements. However,“The Mexican.” is neither focused nor coherent. It only has a bunch of disparate plot elements strung together.

In spite of saying all of the above, I really did enjoy the DVD edition of the film.
The scenery in Mexico was fascinating, the deleted scenes were vital to understanding the story, and the director’s commentary was enlightening.

Make sure and watch the deleted scenes. You need them to really enjoy this movie.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=3895&reviewer=228
originally posted: 02/17/03 21:39:43
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

8/31/08 Shaun Wallner This one was kinda boring. 2 stars
5/20/08 PAUL SHORTT I LEFT HOPING THAT I NEVER SEE EITHER OF THEM AGAIN IN ANYTHING 1 stars
2/04/08 Pamela White not Brad's best work 3 stars
1/30/07 Matt What a fucking mess. Hire it if, and only if, there is absolutely FUCK-ALL on TV! 1 stars
9/22/06 Charles Tatum Surprisingly lucid crime drama, but drowns in its own ugliness 4 stars
8/29/05 Glen Duke Waste of time 2 stars
7/18/05 R.W. Welch Has some amusing bits but very uneven. 3 stars
5/09/04 Rebecca I have watched this film at least 20 times on video and each and every time I am engrossed 5 stars
4/19/04 Croweater Crappy flick, u will want to kill Julia as shes a real slag in this movie. 2 stars
2/22/04 Who shot JR? Has any movie's title character been shot more times than this one's? 1 stars
2/15/04 john bale Top cast can't do much with this muddling along thriller/comedy 2 stars
10/12/03 Carrie Kohl How far Julia Roberts has come since HOOK - from Tinkerbell to Tinkle Belle. 2 stars
10/08/03 Jeffrey Banks Heads up, Robyn! Tain't all that insufferable. Don't let Julia stool ya! 2 stars
10/08/03 Robyn Jamil-Walid Julia Roberts couldn't be more obnoxious if she took a dump in my face! 1 stars
7/22/03 Monster W. Kung Pitt needs to avoid these kind of movies, Roberts needs a punch in the face. 2 stars
4/11/03 Jack Bourbon Surpisingly horrid. Brad Pitt acted about as well as Kato Caelin in this shitbag. 1 stars
2/18/03 y2mckay Tony Soprano didn't want to rape the offspring of Mr. Ed? He must be GAY! 1 stars
11/24/02 tigger142066 I really liked this movie. It was good 5 stars
11/23/02 Croweater Crappy flick, u will want to kill Julia as shes a real slag in this movie. 2 stars
9/26/02 Who shot JR? Has any movie's title character been shot more times than this one's? 1 stars
8/08/02 I Can't Swim Actually, Julia & Gando shared a moment that I enjoyed. Emphasis on 'a' moment, singular 3 stars
5/23/02 Carrie Kohl How far Julia Roberts has come since HOOK - from Tinkerbell to Tinkle Belle. 2 stars
5/15/02 Jeffrey Banks Heads up, Robyn! Tain't all that insufferable. Don't let Julia stool ya! 2 stars
5/15/02 Robyn Jamil-Walid Julia Roberts couldn't be more obnoxious if she took a dump in my face! 1 stars
3/20/02 Jim Gay hitman and Gene Hackman steal the movie from the "stars" 4 stars
3/19/02 Mae Mortaveto Horse mouthed women should keep to the stables 1 stars
3/04/02 Jenny Tullwartz Feelgood message-Insufferable harpy still loves outlaw beau after he kills her gay friend. 1 stars
10/18/01 Catherine Schneider I'm pretty sure this movie was aimed at middle aged women. 2 stars
8/14/01 Monday Morning Not bad at all...just 20-30 minutes too long. 4 stars
6/06/01 Muad'Dib Surpisingly, it works pretty well. It's worth renting, anyway. 3 stars
5/26/01 Edward Shandis JESUS CHRIST! WHO IS MAKING THESE FILMS 1 stars
5/23/01 Lohsandt Totally boring 1 stars
5/20/01 Roy Smith This movies feels about three hours long - three hours of commercials. 1 stars
5/05/01 Jon Jones Its Desperado minus the action, Snatch minus the wit, and a movie minus decent direction 1 stars
5/02/01 Pierce Lanson Awful,awful,awful,awful. 1 stars
4/26/01 Brian Somebody kill that vapid, horse-faced bitch Julia Roberts. And the rest sucked too. 1 stars
4/17/01 Lee F Burton. Radio Presenter. Formulaic but great performance from James Gandolfini. Best lines....the dog! 3 stars
4/10/01 muneer78 Not bad. It has an engaging story and the leads do a great job. 4 stars
4/02/01 Carolyn This movie made me cry! It was definitely worth going to see, and I loved Brad and Julia! 5 stars
3/28/01 Rampage Brad Pitt was great, the rest blew chunks 2 stars
3/28/01 Kirsten Worth the matinee price 3 stars
3/28/01 tnt a convoluted waste of time for the viewer....everything misfires! 2 stars
3/25/01 Sid 6.7 A wistful romantic vehicle for the glitzy and glamorous couple of Pitt and Roberts 4 stars
3/24/01 Rebekah Walker The movie itself wasn't that great, but Brad Pitt is gorgeous, so I'm not complaining!! 4 stars
3/24/01 ZuG It was quite funny at times, I liked it. 4 stars
3/23/01 pipeman Possibly the worst directed movie in history. 1 stars
3/23/01 Valerie its soooo funny 5 stars
3/21/01 amy brad is delicious. 5 stars
3/16/01 Gabe WOW did it SUCK 2 stars
3/16/01 Julia Roberts I want to tell all people on earth that I love myself more than the horsemouth I have. 1 stars
3/07/01 Natalie Start offs in debut, just goes further in. 1 stars
3/05/01 Deana Henderson Julia is nothing less than fabulous 4 stars
3/04/01 Jake I'll go one step further: Brad Pitt & Julia Roberts. 1 stars
3/04/01 John Lyons Julia Roberts is still in "white trash" mode. Sucked big time! 1 stars
3/03/01 Buzz What a waste of film. Not even interesting as an example of a bad film. 2 stars
3/03/01 Jen Brad Pitt 5 stars
3/03/01 Jaime MM, your review is pretty wretched 3 stars
3/02/01 Shayne Davies The review didn't read well - and it was full of grammatical errors 2 stars
3/01/01 TimmyToday Julila Roberts 5 stars
3/01/01 Nancy Barton Too long, does'nt live up to hype! Roberts is great. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Mar-2001 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  25-Apr-2001 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast