More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.86

Awesome: 26.85%
Worth A Look43.06%
Average: 21.76%
Pretty Bad: 5.56%
Total Crap: 2.78%

15 reviews, 126 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

Fashionista by Jay Seaver

I Love You, Daddy by Rob Gonsalves

Jailbreak by Jay Seaver

Attraction (2017) by Jay Seaver

Thousand Junkies, A by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Ocean's Eleven (2001)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Stephen Groenewegen

"Cooling off"
3 stars

Oceans Eleven is a big so what? of a movie. Its all smooth coasting without an occasional jolt; smug when it ought to be witty.

Danny Ocean (George Clooney) and Dusty Ryan (Brad Pitt) assemble nine guys (the surveillance expert, the pick-pocket, the driver etc.) for a daring raid on a Las Vegas vault that houses the takings of three casinos. The casinos are owned by Terrence Benedict (Andy Garcia), who happens also to be dating the jealous Oceans ex-wife (Julia Roberts). Well, they had to incorporate a woman into the plot somehow.

Oceans Eleven is a remake of a 1960 rat pack film thats reputedly not up to much. The sole rationale for Steven Soderberghs all-star version is an exercise in cool. Why bother? Weve seen Soderbergh and Clooney do cool before, more successfully, in Out of Sight.

Clooney, Pitt, Matt Damon and Don Cheadle mostly stand around posing. Roberts is hopelessly miscast as a social-climbing mistress and art gallery curator. Its only the actors who subvert the macho shtick that are any fun to watch: Elliott Gould as the camp 70s lounge lizard financier; Casey Affleck and Scott Caan as two competitive brothers with so much shared testosterone that every conversation ends in a brawl.

The outcome of this type of heist film is never in doubt, but there arent enough surprises along the way in acting or plot to make Oceans Eleven memorable. Ted Griffins screenplay does feature a few amusingly sly cameos and jokes, and employing a Chinese acrobat to infiltrate the vault and evade the lasers is a refreshingly low-tech touch. But its disappointing to see so many talented people posturing so much for so little purpose (besides making money).

Oceans Eleven provokes only the brief pleasure of admiring a smoothly polished machine.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=3897&reviewer=104
originally posted: 01/15/02 13:08:26
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2005 CineVegas Film Festival For more in the 2005 CineVegas Film Festival series, click here.
Trilogy Starters: For more in the Trilogy Starters series, click here.

User Comments

10/30/13 The Big D I endured this lame, boring thing because a friend talked me into going. 1 stars
8/12/13 rick original was a lot better 2 stars
6/09/10 Serge A modern classic, fantastic chemistry between all players 5 stars
1/13/09 Anonymous. enjoyable. and ..what everyone else said, haha :] 4 stars
10/19/08 Samantha Pruitt lots of fun to watch, the cast is what makes it so good! 4 stars
4/27/08 Totir Alexandru It is a great movie and I really enjoyed watching it. The same for 12 and 13. 4 stars
11/19/07 Erica Munro Love it!!! 5 stars
11/11/07 cosmic conundrum Well, the cast did get reassembled.. not once, but twice 4 stars
10/21/07 Tiffany Losco This movie was great. And had all the hot guys in it!! Love Brad Pitt 5 stars
8/16/07 Quigley Excellent crime film with a great ensemble. Soderbergh's direction is superb. 5 stars
6/06/07 gr117 Love it! The cast is amazing. 5 stars
6/02/07 gcc awesome ending, great cast 4 stars
2/08/07 Raph Branca Lots of fun. Great summer film. 4 stars
1/23/07 Matt Should have been much better, but not the worst way to kill a couple of hours. Forgettable. 3 stars
1/05/07 Watch This Movie. Worth watching once, just to see the end. 4 stars
8/14/06 Cosmic Conundrum Entertainer with panache 4 stars
5/20/06 Kcaj Okay so I'd give it a C+ 3 stars
2/16/06 Indrid Cold Great chemistry and several funny moments, Soderbergh won't let you down. 4 stars
11/04/05 tatum Pure fluff, but well made fluff 4 stars
9/03/05 ES s'ok certainly better than the sequel, but star power a classic doe not make 3 stars
7/25/05 Eric Rollins The original is an infamous failure this is just too prefabricated. 2 stars
6/08/05 Agent Sands One of the three classic heist movies of all time. Class-A filmmaking. Clooney is a dream. 5 stars
5/22/05 Cham Dull remake of a terrible original. 2 stars
5/10/05 Carol Great movie 4 stars
5/06/05 Mind Junkie pretty good 3 stars
5/05/05 Kristi Achilleos great movie with excellent set of actors 4 stars
4/30/05 Chris Stephens Doesn't compare to the original, but is good 4 stars
4/27/05 chandrakanth k s A MUST WATCH 5 stars
4/24/05 Dan Awesome! 5 stars
4/24/05 Charlene Javier Excellent popcorn flick 4 stars
12/18/04 Theresa Wagner It's suspenseful in a kind of you know the bad guys will get away because they are supersta 4 stars
12/17/04 Ken Cenerelli Fun caper flick I enjoy watching over and over. I can always find something new each time. 5 stars
12/08/04 keithers.. great cast but it falls short entertaining non the less 4 stars
11/16/04 Naka Waaaaaay better then the original. A fantastic good time. 5 stars
8/09/04 john bale Good cast but the Rat Pack they're not. So why remake ? Another ho hum hi tech heist movie. 3 stars
5/11/04 J.Peckerfoot big names.cool dialogue.slick.safe.and great entertainment.critics need not apply. 4 stars
3/04/04 Agent Sands Easily among my top 3 movies. Everything is fucking brilliant!!! 5 stars
1/04/04 Littlepurch Enjoyable and surprising the first time. A bit repeative on repeat viewings. 4 stars
12/21/03 Matt Wow, everyone loves but me...oh well 2 stars
6/29/03 Rosalie I really enjoyed this one. 4 stars
5/31/03 JoeSco entirely amenable and Clooney as suave as ever 4 stars
5/17/03 Mr. Hat (I'm Back Mo'Fos!) EXTREMELY entertaining, which makes up for its on&off seeming immorality. 4 stars
5/16/03 Piz Not mind-blowing but thoroughly entertaining. 4 stars
4/11/03 Jack Bourbon Lite, healthful entertainment. Contains plenty of Vitamin C but only some Vitamin B. 4 stars
3/09/03 Jack Sommersby Competently rendered but mechanical and empty. 2 stars
3/03/03 John What's so goddamn great about this movie?? 3 stars
1/04/03 R.W. Welch Compares favorably with the original, crisply done. 4 stars
12/29/02 Ken Increibly entertaining. Doesn't fall into typical "Vegas-movie" stereotypes. 5 stars
12/04/02 rob vegas IT DIVIDED THE AUDIENCES INTO THOSE WHO HATED IT AND THOSE WHO HATED IT! 1 stars
11/23/02 Croweater its enjoyable & entertaining, a good crime caper film 4 stars
11/16/02 spacecowboy good stuff... 4 stars
10/26/02 sparks Loved everything but Julia Roberts. Completely useless. Did anyone else see her mustache? 4 stars
8/26/02 Sesco i love u 1 stars
7/27/02 Punk_Ass I really enjoyed this film, very few gripes, Solid Entertaining. A good "Heist" movie 4 stars
7/15/02 Calvert Not bad, but lacking somehow 3 stars
6/29/02 Film Dude Top notch entertainment. 5 stars
6/28/02 Shelley Smith Aside from Julia Roberts, I absolutely love this film!!! Outstanding editing! 5 stars
6/17/02 FrayLo pretty damn entertaining, but hey, i'm fascinated by vegas 4 stars
6/12/02 hilarydsur awesome-but not to see a 2nd time 5 stars
6/04/02 Phoenix Enourmously entertaining. 5 stars
6/02/02 Chris A flawless film. You'll enjoy it so much it will blow you away. 5 stars
5/30/02 ő ̃XeB[uE\_[o[Oē‚AubhEsbgAW[WEN[j[AWAEo 4 stars
5/24/02 Matt Chez Good movie but could have been better, Pitt was excellent 4 stars
5/20/02 The Bomb 69 good popcorn flick 4 stars
5/14/02 Monday Morning Fun romp, very enjoyable. Needed to show Julia's tits for a "10", tho'. 5 stars
5/12/02 Matt All REDS!!!! : ) 4 stars
4/29/02 David A. Very Boring. No fistfights, no ghosts, predictable stale humor, and no pretty ladies. UGH! 1 stars
4/10/02 Priscilla Postlethwaite Julia Roberts is wasted, but tilte gang is memorable and exciting. 4 stars
4/08/02 stoolie-bird cute....... but thats about it 3 stars
3/28/02 Chris It's Great Fun. I Definatly recommend it. 4 stars
2/28/02 Chowie pretty good, but 'introducing julia roberts', she wasn't needed, so FUCK OFF JULIA! 3 stars
2/22/02 Jeff great movie 5 stars
2/21/02 speedy very good movie, can't wait until the DVD is out 5 stars
2/19/02 TLsmooth The rat pack were fags. 5 stars
2/08/02 sarahfar88 cool, funny, go see it 5 stars
1/23/02 Jimbo Just a movie (although i'm pretty sure i saw the cameraman's reflection in a mirror) 3 stars
1/20/02 natasha funny, smart, stylish -- pure entertainment 5 stars
1/19/02 Adam Voorhees Its not crap but its also no where near as cool as it shouldda been. 3 stars
1/17/02 Mister Char it was entertaining and interesting, julia roberts is too old to be sexy though 5 stars
1/17/02 Jockstud An action movie without action, a comedy without comedy, a drama without drama... 1 stars
1/16/02 ^ZuLu^ Quite entertaining - but nothing you'll remember in a year or two. 3 stars
1/16/02 King Krack Very entertaining. I fucked during the movie. 4 stars
1/15/02 thejames This movie sucks my fucking ass 1 stars
1/14/02 Glen Funny and Classy film. (best movie ever) 5 stars
1/13/02 Shane Robert Myers!!!!!!!!!!!!!! This is the smartest film i have seen in 2002 & it kicked ass!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
1/12/02 parkallan Not oscar material, but a fun way to spend an hour and a half 4 stars
1/12/02 Matthew Smirh a fast paced and very entertaining heist film 4 stars
1/09/02 Cherry Excellent, fun movie 5 stars
1/08/02 Danielle Sharpe Amazing...From the many casino movies i've seen, this could possibly be the best. 5 stars
1/06/02 Ian Clavel Two reasons to see it: Elliott Gould and Carl Reiner 4 stars
1/05/02 mrgoddamnhair This film is goddamn awesome 5 stars
1/04/02 Matt Utt Senator Blutarsky you are right on the money man. Oreilly rules and Clooney is a pussy!!!! 5 stars
1/03/02 George Clooney..... JK!!!!! The movie was okay, I luv Brad Pitt. So what if he's married, he's wicked hot! 4 stars
1/02/02 Mr. Hat (formerly Joe Zappa) This movie rocks! It has all the good actors and a good music score. I liked it. 4 stars
1/01/02 John Lyons Not as good as the original, but okay. J. Roberts sucked. 4 stars
12/30/01 Jim Heard Good movie. But sllllooowwwww.... 4 stars
12/29/01 Artist Freak Fun escapist heist movie, a little lowbrow for the man who brought us Traffic, but good fun 4 stars
12/29/01 paul flashy and fun, but nothing new or exciting here... 4 stars
12/25/01 ryan good movie even w/ geroge clooney and julia roberts 4 stars
12/24/01 flick chick run of the mill 3 stars
12/21/01 Johnny Walker not a swanky caper flick like Snatch or tha Score was, but it was well acted n' coo' 4 stars
12/19/01 Jimmy James plot holes big enough to drive trucks through 2 stars
12/17/01 Caiphn T'was alright. I'd watch it again. 3 stars
12/17/01 The king daddy Pot rating King As smooth as vaporized chronic 5 stars
12/17/01 Obi Wan Wow! Ticket prices dropped 4 bucks in my area at Loews! 4 stars
12/16/01 spaceworm THE RIGHT STUFF used Clair de Lune first - and better. Stop smirking, George. 3 stars
12/15/01 Justin Jaku Julia Roberts was fantastic. She left me satisfied and wanting more, much more! 5 stars
12/14/01 Gorge Duvidous Who said substance and pretense were the standards of quality? This movie is amazing, fun 5 stars
12/14/01 Axe Murderer i truly underestimated this one....this movie rocks... 5 stars
12/13/01 Thor-Leo Eric D Snider's review said it all... 4 stars
12/13/01 Grenamier This movie is a lot of fun and shows a great deal of cleverness. 5 stars
12/13/01 The Boy In The Designer Bubble Great Goddess, am I retarded? Hollywood hype at its worst. 3 stars
12/11/01 Xalt PFC. Pretty Fucking Cool. I liked the twists in the plot, and that was great acting. 4 stars
12/11/01 Emily awesome 5 stars
12/11/01 poetchuck Nobody dies or gets shot--just good fun 5 stars
12/11/01 Gibbo A very pleasant way to spend two hours - good fun, not too cerebral, worth a look. 4 stars
12/11/01 several commas good entertainment 4 stars
12/10/01 soapydog great cast great movie 4 stars
12/10/01 frosty Awesome movie, coulda used a better ending. 4 stars
12/10/01 Gary Boy is this a fun movie, even though the movie man and I agree, it is very rare! 5 stars
12/10/01 kishuta A very enjoyable movie. A heist movie done well. 4 stars
12/09/01 ajay the best 'lines' are in the previews, but I still enjoyed it. 4 stars
12/08/01 jaime this movie is definitely worth seeing 5 stars
12/08/01 Jihan Not the best heist movie, but a damned good one. 4 stars
12/08/01 Emily awesome 5 stars
12/08/01 Monster W. Kung Nothing special. 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  07-Dec-2001 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  10-Jan-2002


Directed by
  Steven Soderbergh

Written by
  Ted Griffin

Cast
  George Clooney
  Brad Pitt
  Julia Roberts
  Matt Damon
  Don Cheadle
  Andy Garcia



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast