More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.86

Awesome: 26.85%
Worth A Look43.06%
Average: 21.76%
Pretty Bad: 5.56%
Total Crap: 2.78%

15 reviews, 126 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Star Wars: Episode VIII : The Last Jedi by Jay Seaver

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Ocean's Eleven (2001)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Slyder

"Steals The Audiences Applause With Fashion"
4 stars

I unfortunately (or should I say fortunately) forgot to return my response card to the video club, which I am member of, on time, so they send me this video. I didnt take any interest on it at first (it lay at my living room for a week), then one day, feeling bored and with nothing else to do (Michael Schumacher again won in F1, ugh), I decided to take a stab at it. Oh boy, Ive never had so much fun watching a movie. It caught me from the start and never let me go. I havent seen the original Oceans 11 with Frank Sinatra and his Rat Pack, but for whatever means, this remake is a damn good one.

Danny Ocean has just been released from prison, but with one plan in mind, which is to steal three casinos, The Bellagio, The Mirage, and The MGM, all owned by the ruthless Terry Benedict (Andy Garcia). Why 3 you ask? Well, because all three connect to a underground vault, which, at the time of a boxing fight, the bets will manage to store about 165 million dollars, which is what hes intending to steal. To do this, he teams up with longtime friend Rusty Ryan (Brad Pitt) to find the people for the job. They come up with 11 people: Virgil and Turk Malloy (Scott Caan and Casey Affleck) con man Saul Bloom (Carl Reiner), explosives expert Basher Tarr (Don Cheadle), blackjack dealer Frank Catton (Bernie Mac), circus acrobat Yen (Shaobo Qin), surveillance specialist Livingston Dell (Eddie Jemison) and rookie Linus Caldwell (Matt Damon). Oh, and the most valuable help will come from Reuben Tishkoff (Elliot Gould) who happens to be partners with Terry Benedict. After that, the plan is on Oh, I forgot, in the balance is also Dannys ex-wife, Tess who now hangs out with Terry. Figure it out.

Gosh, gosh, gosh, Steven Soderbergh does it again. Hes an interesting director to watch. He has a rare eye for entertainment and depth, but this time, he solely focuses on entertainment rather than depth. Yes, I know, the movie lacks character development, and characters at times play like cartoons. But hey, face it man, this movie was fun. FUN. FUN. Thats a long lost word in the Hollywood Industry. Todays word is now MONEY, which shouldnt be, but Soderbergh, with some stylish directing, and a pretty solid script by Ted Griffin finally changed all for at least once in a movie like this. Griffin offers a series of twists that just leave you in awe. The entire casino heist act, which involves most of the movie has to be the most clever piece of filmmaking Ive ever seen, and just when you think a clich is about to appear, voila, another twist comes along and once again, youre left in amazement. Things that at first didnt make much sense come out as the most important things in the movie. Intelligence is the word here. The film is one of the most intelligent Ive seen since Memento, the script guides you over places not often touched by many movies, and reaches a different new ground never touched before. Where as in other casino heist films like the shitty 3000 Miles To Graceland, the only solution to bust out of a casino is via a shootout, Oceans 11 goes to a different, and more daring and more intelligent solution, and once the dust settled, I was left with the word: WOW.

See, this is what filmmaking is all about, to have fun watching a film, to entertain ourselves, to feel for once happy while watching a film, and this film does exactly that, and you get your moneys worth.

The acting was top notch despite some shallowness. George Clooney once again steals the show as Danny Ocean, finally the guy is really making some great movies. Brad Pitt is also excellent as his sidekick. Andy Garcia was pretty interesting and rare as the baddie Terry Benedict. Matt Damon was alright, and so was the rest of the cast. Theres one character that bothered me though, which was Tess Julia Roberts. Though I admit she was an important part of the film, I wouldve liked a LOT more development on this character, and especially lift Julias hopes up more since, she seems bored with the role and her character suggests more of a cameo appearance. Thankfully, I had no problem with it.

In the end, I find it hardly for you not to like this movie. Whats not to like? Other than Roberts shallowness and character development, this film is surely one fun ride, and I absolutely recommend it. This film is pretty much perfect for anytime and anywhere, since its fun, and fun is what everyone wants in their good or bad days. Oh and guess what, I decided to buy the DVD. Yeah, I did, sue me.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=3897&reviewer=235
originally posted: 06/28/02 14:14:06
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2005 CineVegas Film Festival For more in the 2005 CineVegas Film Festival series, click here.
Trilogy Starters: For more in the Trilogy Starters series, click here.

User Comments

10/30/13 The Big D I endured this lame, boring thing because a friend talked me into going. 1 stars
8/12/13 rick original was a lot better 2 stars
6/09/10 Serge A modern classic, fantastic chemistry between all players 5 stars
1/13/09 Anonymous. enjoyable. and ..what everyone else said, haha :] 4 stars
10/19/08 Samantha Pruitt lots of fun to watch, the cast is what makes it so good! 4 stars
4/27/08 Totir Alexandru It is a great movie and I really enjoyed watching it. The same for 12 and 13. 4 stars
11/19/07 Erica Munro Love it!!! 5 stars
11/11/07 cosmic conundrum Well, the cast did get reassembled.. not once, but twice 4 stars
10/21/07 Tiffany Losco This movie was great. And had all the hot guys in it!! Love Brad Pitt 5 stars
8/16/07 Quigley Excellent crime film with a great ensemble. Soderbergh's direction is superb. 5 stars
6/06/07 gr117 Love it! The cast is amazing. 5 stars
6/02/07 gcc awesome ending, great cast 4 stars
2/08/07 Raph Branca Lots of fun. Great summer film. 4 stars
1/23/07 Matt Should have been much better, but not the worst way to kill a couple of hours. Forgettable. 3 stars
1/05/07 Watch This Movie. Worth watching once, just to see the end. 4 stars
8/14/06 Cosmic Conundrum Entertainer with panache 4 stars
5/20/06 Kcaj Okay so I'd give it a C+ 3 stars
2/16/06 Indrid Cold Great chemistry and several funny moments, Soderbergh won't let you down. 4 stars
11/04/05 tatum Pure fluff, but well made fluff 4 stars
9/03/05 ES s'ok certainly better than the sequel, but star power a classic doe not make 3 stars
7/25/05 Eric Rollins The original is an infamous failure this is just too prefabricated. 2 stars
6/08/05 Agent Sands One of the three classic heist movies of all time. Class-A filmmaking. Clooney is a dream. 5 stars
5/22/05 Cham Dull remake of a terrible original. 2 stars
5/10/05 Carol Great movie 4 stars
5/06/05 Mind Junkie pretty good 3 stars
5/05/05 Kristi Achilleos great movie with excellent set of actors 4 stars
4/30/05 Chris Stephens Doesn't compare to the original, but is good 4 stars
4/27/05 chandrakanth k s A MUST WATCH 5 stars
4/24/05 Dan Awesome! 5 stars
4/24/05 Charlene Javier Excellent popcorn flick 4 stars
12/18/04 Theresa Wagner It's suspenseful in a kind of you know the bad guys will get away because they are supersta 4 stars
12/17/04 Ken Cenerelli Fun caper flick I enjoy watching over and over. I can always find something new each time. 5 stars
12/08/04 keithers.. great cast but it falls short entertaining non the less 4 stars
11/16/04 Naka Waaaaaay better then the original. A fantastic good time. 5 stars
8/09/04 john bale Good cast but the Rat Pack they're not. So why remake ? Another ho hum hi tech heist movie. 3 stars
5/11/04 J.Peckerfoot big names.cool dialogue.slick.safe.and great entertainment.critics need not apply. 4 stars
3/04/04 Agent Sands Easily among my top 3 movies. Everything is fucking brilliant!!! 5 stars
1/04/04 Littlepurch Enjoyable and surprising the first time. A bit repeative on repeat viewings. 4 stars
12/21/03 Matt Wow, everyone loves but me...oh well 2 stars
6/29/03 Rosalie I really enjoyed this one. 4 stars
5/31/03 JoeSco entirely amenable and Clooney as suave as ever 4 stars
5/17/03 Mr. Hat (I'm Back Mo'Fos!) EXTREMELY entertaining, which makes up for its on&off seeming immorality. 4 stars
5/16/03 Piz Not mind-blowing but thoroughly entertaining. 4 stars
4/11/03 Jack Bourbon Lite, healthful entertainment. Contains plenty of Vitamin C but only some Vitamin B. 4 stars
3/09/03 Jack Sommersby Competently rendered but mechanical and empty. 2 stars
3/03/03 John What's so goddamn great about this movie?? 3 stars
1/04/03 R.W. Welch Compares favorably with the original, crisply done. 4 stars
12/29/02 Ken Increibly entertaining. Doesn't fall into typical "Vegas-movie" stereotypes. 5 stars
12/04/02 rob vegas IT DIVIDED THE AUDIENCES INTO THOSE WHO HATED IT AND THOSE WHO HATED IT! 1 stars
11/23/02 Croweater its enjoyable & entertaining, a good crime caper film 4 stars
11/16/02 spacecowboy good stuff... 4 stars
10/26/02 sparks Loved everything but Julia Roberts. Completely useless. Did anyone else see her mustache? 4 stars
8/26/02 Sesco i love u 1 stars
7/27/02 Punk_Ass I really enjoyed this film, very few gripes, Solid Entertaining. A good "Heist" movie 4 stars
7/15/02 Calvert Not bad, but lacking somehow 3 stars
6/29/02 Film Dude Top notch entertainment. 5 stars
6/28/02 Shelley Smith Aside from Julia Roberts, I absolutely love this film!!! Outstanding editing! 5 stars
6/17/02 FrayLo pretty damn entertaining, but hey, i'm fascinated by vegas 4 stars
6/12/02 hilarydsur awesome-but not to see a 2nd time 5 stars
6/04/02 Phoenix Enourmously entertaining. 5 stars
6/02/02 Chris A flawless film. You'll enjoy it so much it will blow you away. 5 stars
5/30/02 ő ̃XeB[uE\_[o[Oē‚AubhEsbgAW[WEN[j[AWAEo 4 stars
5/24/02 Matt Chez Good movie but could have been better, Pitt was excellent 4 stars
5/20/02 The Bomb 69 good popcorn flick 4 stars
5/14/02 Monday Morning Fun romp, very enjoyable. Needed to show Julia's tits for a "10", tho'. 5 stars
5/12/02 Matt All REDS!!!! : ) 4 stars
4/29/02 David A. Very Boring. No fistfights, no ghosts, predictable stale humor, and no pretty ladies. UGH! 1 stars
4/10/02 Priscilla Postlethwaite Julia Roberts is wasted, but tilte gang is memorable and exciting. 4 stars
4/08/02 stoolie-bird cute....... but thats about it 3 stars
3/28/02 Chris It's Great Fun. I Definatly recommend it. 4 stars
2/28/02 Chowie pretty good, but 'introducing julia roberts', she wasn't needed, so FUCK OFF JULIA! 3 stars
2/22/02 Jeff great movie 5 stars
2/21/02 speedy very good movie, can't wait until the DVD is out 5 stars
2/19/02 TLsmooth The rat pack were fags. 5 stars
2/08/02 sarahfar88 cool, funny, go see it 5 stars
1/23/02 Jimbo Just a movie (although i'm pretty sure i saw the cameraman's reflection in a mirror) 3 stars
1/20/02 natasha funny, smart, stylish -- pure entertainment 5 stars
1/19/02 Adam Voorhees Its not crap but its also no where near as cool as it shouldda been. 3 stars
1/17/02 Mister Char it was entertaining and interesting, julia roberts is too old to be sexy though 5 stars
1/17/02 Jockstud An action movie without action, a comedy without comedy, a drama without drama... 1 stars
1/16/02 ^ZuLu^ Quite entertaining - but nothing you'll remember in a year or two. 3 stars
1/16/02 King Krack Very entertaining. I fucked during the movie. 4 stars
1/15/02 thejames This movie sucks my fucking ass 1 stars
1/14/02 Glen Funny and Classy film. (best movie ever) 5 stars
1/13/02 Shane Robert Myers!!!!!!!!!!!!!! This is the smartest film i have seen in 2002 & it kicked ass!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
1/12/02 parkallan Not oscar material, but a fun way to spend an hour and a half 4 stars
1/12/02 Matthew Smirh a fast paced and very entertaining heist film 4 stars
1/09/02 Cherry Excellent, fun movie 5 stars
1/08/02 Danielle Sharpe Amazing...From the many casino movies i've seen, this could possibly be the best. 5 stars
1/06/02 Ian Clavel Two reasons to see it: Elliott Gould and Carl Reiner 4 stars
1/05/02 mrgoddamnhair This film is goddamn awesome 5 stars
1/04/02 Matt Utt Senator Blutarsky you are right on the money man. Oreilly rules and Clooney is a pussy!!!! 5 stars
1/03/02 George Clooney..... JK!!!!! The movie was okay, I luv Brad Pitt. So what if he's married, he's wicked hot! 4 stars
1/02/02 Mr. Hat (formerly Joe Zappa) This movie rocks! It has all the good actors and a good music score. I liked it. 4 stars
1/01/02 John Lyons Not as good as the original, but okay. J. Roberts sucked. 4 stars
12/30/01 Jim Heard Good movie. But sllllooowwwww.... 4 stars
12/29/01 Artist Freak Fun escapist heist movie, a little lowbrow for the man who brought us Traffic, but good fun 4 stars
12/29/01 paul flashy and fun, but nothing new or exciting here... 4 stars
12/25/01 ryan good movie even w/ geroge clooney and julia roberts 4 stars
12/24/01 flick chick run of the mill 3 stars
12/21/01 Johnny Walker not a swanky caper flick like Snatch or tha Score was, but it was well acted n' coo' 4 stars
12/19/01 Jimmy James plot holes big enough to drive trucks through 2 stars
12/17/01 Caiphn T'was alright. I'd watch it again. 3 stars
12/17/01 The king daddy Pot rating King As smooth as vaporized chronic 5 stars
12/17/01 Obi Wan Wow! Ticket prices dropped 4 bucks in my area at Loews! 4 stars
12/16/01 spaceworm THE RIGHT STUFF used Clair de Lune first - and better. Stop smirking, George. 3 stars
12/15/01 Justin Jaku Julia Roberts was fantastic. She left me satisfied and wanting more, much more! 5 stars
12/14/01 Gorge Duvidous Who said substance and pretense were the standards of quality? This movie is amazing, fun 5 stars
12/14/01 Axe Murderer i truly underestimated this one....this movie rocks... 5 stars
12/13/01 Thor-Leo Eric D Snider's review said it all... 4 stars
12/13/01 Grenamier This movie is a lot of fun and shows a great deal of cleverness. 5 stars
12/13/01 The Boy In The Designer Bubble Great Goddess, am I retarded? Hollywood hype at its worst. 3 stars
12/11/01 Xalt PFC. Pretty Fucking Cool. I liked the twists in the plot, and that was great acting. 4 stars
12/11/01 Emily awesome 5 stars
12/11/01 poetchuck Nobody dies or gets shot--just good fun 5 stars
12/11/01 Gibbo A very pleasant way to spend two hours - good fun, not too cerebral, worth a look. 4 stars
12/11/01 several commas good entertainment 4 stars
12/10/01 soapydog great cast great movie 4 stars
12/10/01 frosty Awesome movie, coulda used a better ending. 4 stars
12/10/01 Gary Boy is this a fun movie, even though the movie man and I agree, it is very rare! 5 stars
12/10/01 kishuta A very enjoyable movie. A heist movie done well. 4 stars
12/09/01 ajay the best 'lines' are in the previews, but I still enjoyed it. 4 stars
12/08/01 jaime this movie is definitely worth seeing 5 stars
12/08/01 Jihan Not the best heist movie, but a damned good one. 4 stars
12/08/01 Emily awesome 5 stars
12/08/01 Monster W. Kung Nothing special. 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  07-Dec-2001 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  10-Jan-2002


Directed by
  Steven Soderbergh

Written by
  Ted Griffin

Cast
  George Clooney
  Brad Pitt
  Julia Roberts
  Matt Damon
  Don Cheadle
  Andy Garcia



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast