More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
1.82

Awesome: 12.9%
Worth A Look: 4.84%
Average: 8.06%
Pretty Bad: 0%
Total Crap74.19%

3 reviews, 44 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Predestination by Jay Seaver

Faults by Jay Seaver

Lucy by Brett Gallman

Kumiko, the Treasure Hunter by Jay Seaver

And So It Goes by Peter Sobczynski

Huntresses, The by Jay Seaver

Fatal Encounter, The by Jay Seaver

No Tears for the Dead by Jay Seaver

In Order of Disappearance by Jay Seaver

Cheatin' by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Summer Catch
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"Five bombs in a row for Freddie Prinze Jr. (and counting......)"
1 stars

You can’t blame Freddie Prinze Jr. for his movies being bad. The little guy sure TRIES to act. He’s out there in the new movie, “Summer Catch,” sweating, yelling, laughing and doing all those other actor-y things that real live actors do. He’s giving it his best shot. His best shot falls far short of industry standards, but he is trying.

So it’s not his lack of acting ability that will sink him. It’s his lack of discernment in choosing scripts. “Summer Catch” makes five movies IN A ROW that have hell-awful screenplays. These are movies that COULDN’T have been good, no matter who starred in them.

In the new film, Prinze plays Ryan Dunne, a minor-league baseball pitcher from Cape Cod who gets a chance to play for his local team, the Chatham A’s. He’s flanked by his two childhood friends (Gabriel Mann and Jed Robert Rhein) and becomes good pals with the team’s catcher, the obnoxiously stupid Billy Brubaker (Matthew Lillard).

Ryan’s still just a lowly laborer, though, spending days mowing people’s lawns for his dad’s (Fred Ward) landscaping business. This causes problems with his new flame, Tenley Parrish (Jessica Biel), whose snotty dad (Bruce Davison) doesn’t want her going out with the guy who does their lawn.

This is a movie that cannot decide which lukewarm personal drama it wants to serve, so it throws them all into a casserole. Ryan’s mom died, and his brother (Jason Gedrick) is jealous of his success, and he always chokes when talent scouts are in the stands, and the other pitcher on the team is a jerk, and his girlfriend’s dad thinks he’s beneath them, and on and on and on.

And the comedy is even worse. Through a series of events so contrived and implausible they don’t deserve to be described here, Ryan shows up at the first practice wearing nothing but thong underwear. One of his teammates, meanwhile, woos a fat girl and endures the taunts of his friends. (She’s actually not fat, but since the movie tells us she is, we have to believe it.) Another teammate is pursued by a trashy older woman. Matthew Lillard says gross, stupid things like the gross, stupid person he is.

Most characters appear shirtless throughout the film, except in the baseball sequences, which are in rather short supply, considering this is a baseball movie. One senses that if the filmmakers could have found a way, everyone would have been shirtless in those scenes, too.

For cheap drama, clumsy comedy and weak romances, you’ve come to the right place. For entertainment, keep looking. Find something that has not received the kiss of death from Freddie Prinze Jr.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=3903&reviewer=247
originally posted: 08/25/01 03:10:57
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

1/06/09 Rio This movie was just fucking awful, but Chris Parry's review made me weep with laughter. 1 stars
5/20/07 Nathan People should base their opinions on the story, now on how "hot" or "sexy" someone is. Dumb 3 stars
10/16/06 Sexc_me_baby Matthew Lillard is FUKIN SEXC!! 5 stars
5/11/06 jonathon lebo only when nothings on can i watch t 3 stars
3/11/06 Rebecca What are all you people talking about? This movie was great. I'd like to see you do better! 5 stars
10/14/05 THE TURD AHAHAHA!!! I come and insult you Prinze Jr, you FUCKING IDIOT!!! 1 stars
7/31/05 love Freddie Prinze Jr is sexy, watchable, very adorable smile...like him a lot... 3 stars
3/10/05 Monster W. Kung Chris Parry review is the best ever (along with the Highlander II review by Jabootu) 1 stars
10/23/04 Denise bad 1 stars
10/22/04 Cracked head Makes ebola look like a pic-nic. 1 stars
1/22/04 cutey pie mga putangina nyo gagao tarantado npakapanget ng movie na 2...wla kyong bugdet 1 stars
12/01/03 Christina Brockway i thought it was a good, watchable movie 5 stars
11/07/03 Sam Prinze is the hottest guy ever! Look at him in thos thongs! 5 stars
10/31/03 dadro This movie blows 1 stars
10/25/03 My eyes bugged out It is worth watching if only to see Jessica get out of the pool. Hubba hubba!! 3 stars
10/10/03 Erik Van Sant I ripped my eyeballs out half-way through and then shit on the carpet. 1 stars
9/24/03 Natasha Theobald I was most entertained by the blur of fast-forwarding 1 stars
7/27/03 Monster W. Kung A torture to sit throught. Prinze Jr. is arguably the worst actor alive. 1 stars
6/17/03 Erin really really really really bad 1 stars
5/31/03 mee I LIKED THIS FILM 5 stars
4/14/03 Peter Dammit, Lillard and Prinze are on strike what? 5 now? Come on. 1 stars
7/04/02 Liza Gibbs It was an alright movie i'd watch it again, i like baseball, love baseball movies.! ; ) 4 stars
7/02/02 KMG FREDDIE!! STOP MAKING THE SAME FUCKING MOVIE!!!! 1 stars
6/24/02 blake i loved this movie 5 stars
6/20/02 Chris I hate to say this...but...I love sex!!! 5 stars
6/01/02 Chancey Thunderpants Egad this movie is bad. Paid 8 bucks & now I'm mad. If Freddy would die, that would be rad! 1 stars
5/28/02 hilary worth a look 4 stars
5/25/02 darkjosh@hotmail.com Someone stuck a hose into my body and sucked out my soul for two hours straight, 1 stars
5/24/02 Matt Chez Pile of horse crap 1 stars
4/16/02 kelvin torres i like it because there was matt lillard and he's my favorite actor 3 stars
4/04/02 Film Dude Freddie Prinze Jr.: Number 1 on my "to kill" list. 1 stars
1/03/02 Melissa in NYC If it's a Freddie Prinze Jr. film, it has to suck!! 1 stars
12/17/01 Bri Ok, Jessica is hot 4 stars
12/15/01 Kilmore Trout Oh good god. Unbelievably bad. 1 stars
12/13/01 Andrew Carden Boring, Unimaginative, and Just Plain Messy Teen Love Flick. 1 stars
12/13/01 Lauren E. Brown I actually fell asleep, it was so boring.. 1 stars
12/12/01 Mr Math That's some sort of bad, right there. Is anyone trying in Hollywood? 1 stars
11/04/01 E-Funk This is the end all be all of SUCK. I haven't forgiven my girlfriend for this one. 1 stars
9/22/01 Tames McPleasantville Okay, not much merit, but pretty likable I think, and a cool cast. Lillard's a treat 5 stars
9/17/01 Rebecca whalberg untalented guy quits his dream for summer fling w/ untalented actress what a pile of shit! 1 stars
8/26/01 jackass More teenybopper garbage! BORING! 1 stars
8/26/01 Axe_Murderer MUST KILL FREDDIE.....AND THAT RETARD LILLARD 1 stars
8/25/01 Rampage horrible, unfunny and worse than Down to You 1 stars
8/22/01 The Boy In The Designer Bubble Same character, same story, same music, same cute love interest. Dullsville 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  24-Aug-2001 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  09-May-2002




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast