More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.08

Awesome: 10.63%
Worth A Look30.63%
Average: 26.88%
Pretty Bad: 20%
Total Crap: 11.88%

12 reviews, 88 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


What Women Want (2000)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Greg Muskewitz

"What a naÔve woman thinks a man thinks a woman wants."
2 stars

I donít think the self-contained rejoinder of What Women Want is the answer women would have given themselves.

***************************
I donít think the self-contained rejoinder of What Women Want is the answer women would have given themselves. Not full of Girl-Power, director Nancy Meyers plays like sheís lacking some estrogen in her tolerance of Mel Gibsonís self-adulation and ego-stroking of his misogynistic womanizing character who happens to be able to hear the thoughts of women once he has been electrocuted. When Gibsonís promotion is denied in an ad firm after Helen Hunt is hired in the position he was after, the new direction of the company is to market more towards females. Stuck in a rut, Gibson loses some sleep at first (ďIíve got to think like a broadĒ) until the freak accident happens. Now, had this really had some thought put into it, had it been treated with a fair and equal amount of seriousness as with the humorous side, What Women Want could have been a hilarious and even insightful comedy. But its shallowness is all there is to wallow in, an example being how he channels into Marisa Tomeiís thoughts to give her the best sex ever (stated, never elaborated). It goes without saying that there are some funny sequences, but it mostly consists of superficial and even sexist gags and insinuations. Each time he hears something, itís required to be a punchline or a dig that will further sink the character into a hole, only to be heroically redeemed later. The fantasy conceptósomething Iím sure would be fatal if in the wrong handsóis a fun idea, a concept with plenty of potential, but it isnít defined, developed or made workable. There are so many rules and regulations that would go into a superpower ability like thisócan he zone in and zone out?, what about proximity: can he hear from five-feet away? twenty-feet away? would that then prevent him from hearing thought on live TV or even pre-recorded television shows?, etc. The list goes on and on. Of course Meyers cannot be bothered with such specifics, but rather what the next punchline fodder will be, or what taboo to poke and prod at now. It still manages to be tame in most respects, and once the lovesoup between Gibson and Hunt begin to brew (and with a suicidal characterís thoughts exploited) things get preachy and tedious. Among Meyersí ipse dixits, she also proves to be mighty latitudinarian when it comes to teenage sex and relationships, but when the going gets rough, she buckles her knees and tries to retract her statement and once again, get preachy and speechy. Iím sure the title brought some objections.

With Alan Alda, Judy Greer, Delta Burke, Bette Midler, Lauren Holly, Ashley Johnson and Ana Gastayer.

Final Verdict: D+.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=3906&reviewer=172
originally posted: 09/23/01 04:53:21
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

4/06/13 CC I usually hate romcoms, but great performance from Mel & great review. 4 stars
4/02/11 Monday Morning No excuse for a 165-minute running time. Way excessive. 2 stars
9/14/08 Bill H I hated the musical montage the most. 1 stars
8/19/08 Shaun Wallner Never laughed so hard in my Life!! 5 stars
5/29/08 PAUL SHORTT WOMEN ARE FROM VENUS; MEN ARE FROM THE GUTTER - TYPE ATTITUDE 1 stars
2/09/08 Samantha P funny film, with great soundtrack! 4 stars
12/20/07 Wendell Maness Women are not too smart, easy to cheat on! 3 stars
7/11/07 Tiffany Losco funny, cute movie 5 stars
3/07/07 Stanley Thai A funny film and well-acted. 4 stars
7/11/06 srii romantic pretty funny moview 4 stars
7/11/06 David Cohen I refuse to believe women are as stupid as this movie portrays them 1 stars
5/24/06 ffffffffffffffffffff its romantic 4 stars
3/28/06 Brian Meyer Taking Mr. "Sexiest man alive" down a peg is as fun as Scwarzenegger's "JUNIOR" 2 stars
9/05/05 Katie It was great! I loved it! 5 stars
4/27/05 chandrakanth k s soft ramance which is soothing 4 stars
9/14/04 Jack Sommersby TV-style development of TV-ish story premise. Well-acted, though. 2 stars
8/08/04 indian boy awesome movie one of the greatest 5 stars
9/16/03 Fluffy Ears Henkelschmidt IV Worst acting and unfunniest film of the year 1 stars
7/31/03 omar "surfur" youssef Well-casted, well-written, and well-made. A hilarious must-see! One of Gibson's finest. 5 stars
7/24/03 Kit Pretty funny movie 4 stars
7/18/03 Chris A little to commercialize but still fun as a whole. Ranges from hillarious to mild but fun. 4 stars
4/09/03 JL I thought this was a cute, light hearted movie. 3 stars
2/26/03 GMan Aaaaah....Helen Hunt....I would fuck you.... 2 stars
1/22/03 Pinkline Jones An insult to the intelligence. Gibson is simply awful. 1 stars
12/04/02 Gazza E Really good. One of the better romantic comedies of recent years. 4 stars
10/23/02 Charles Tatum Cloying and cutesy 2 stars
7/05/02 KMG It was okay....not used to seeing Mel in anything but crime or period pieces 3 stars
6/07/02 stud good 4 stars
3/28/02 Sery I thought this movie was so cute. Helen Hunt is a great actress. Jake-the voices ARE real 4 stars
2/20/02 Xaver Entertaining and fun. Not profound...it wasn't meant to be. 4 stars
1/09/02 hilary awesome 5 stars
1/08/02 Mr. Hat Mel Gibson is cool. I love this movie. 5 stars
12/28/01 Jake Struck by lighting? Is that healthy? The women's voices were phony at times and annoying! 2 stars
10/02/01 Kirk Well, at least it was different. Seeing Mel in pantyhose was worth the price of admission! 4 stars
10/02/01 Andrew Carden Pretty Funny and Delightful Movie. 4 stars
9/28/01 Vanmarsenille Rohnny nice way to spend an evening 4 stars
8/28/01 Anastasiou Dimitris Give the money of your ticket to a homeless!!! 1 stars
7/29/01 Jennifer Gaissert Loved Mel dancing with the hat, but poorly written 3 stars
7/28/01 Henry Ginsberg Fit women .Crap movie . 2 stars
7/24/01 SJKelley Expectations land like a thud. MsAsh's review is ridiculous. 2 stars
7/23/01 D.R. Unresolved to me- ok "you're fired but I still love-please stay" Very good otherwise 4 stars
7/18/01 KMK no real laughs. waste of time 1 stars
7/17/01 Piz Predictable, flat, boring, no surprises, no chemistry, What were Gibson and Hunt thinking? 2 stars
6/30/01 martin this review sucks - it's a great film 5 stars
6/13/01 J Excellent Comedy but err..."not-so" excellent drama overall a good movie. 4 stars
6/12/01 Terrie Smith A couple of good moments; Gibson & Hunt lack charisma as a romantic team.. 3 stars
6/09/01 Turtle After the first, juicy hour, crap is sandwiched into the film, and the end doesn't save it. 3 stars
5/30/01 Thatguy Gibson's cool, for the first hour. The rest sucks. 2 stars
5/22/01 Monday Morning Chick flick for female Mel fans. Otherwise very unremarkable. 3 stars
5/14/01 Movie Freek Cute, but disposable. 3 stars
5/14/01 Babybelle well I loved it...nice cosy mel-ting chocolate movie 5 stars
5/09/01 The Bomb 69 fun entertainment 4 stars
4/05/01 Hawkeye Who knew Mel could dance? Funny as hell to watch, if predictable. 4 stars
3/08/01 Ed Lewandowski Has its moments. Mainly boring. 3 stars
2/27/01 Matthew Bartley Echh..it was so-so 3 stars
2/20/01 voyant A few good moments, but mostly disappointing. Wait for the video. 3 stars
2/18/01 Avenger Girl Very predictable, but Mel and Helen play great roles. Worth the money to see it 4 stars
2/15/01 Michael Nicholls No...nobody wants it! 1 stars
2/10/01 Franny Streder It was so awesome. Mel Gibson is so hot. 5 stars
2/10/01 Cathy Poirier very good movie, sexy Mel 5 stars
2/09/01 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi Thank god Mel Gibson can't read my mind...I'd be thinking very dirty thoughts. >=) 4 stars
1/23/01 Piz long AND predictable...what a combo! 2 stars
1/23/01 Christopher Ruggles This film was a great film to see. I would go and pay the 7 dollars to see it again.=-) 5 stars
1/21/01 Teresa Maloney I loved it! 4 stars
1/20/01 mazi mimir 1 stars
1/19/01 JRN516 very very good 4 stars
1/19/01 Nick Excellent 5 stars
1/16/01 Belinda Way too long. 2 stars
1/15/01 JRN516 I LIKE VERY FEW MOVIES. THIS ONE MAKDE ME FEEL GOOD THROUGH THE ENTIRE MOVIE 5 stars
1/03/01 Collegebrat19 This was a great movie I laughed the whole time. Mel Gibson gives an excellent performace. 5 stars
1/03/01 RAINBOW GREAT SHOW VERY FUNNY! DEFINATELY WORTH THE MONEY 5 stars
1/03/01 Zavon Too much crammed in to too short a space...there's a superior film trying to get out here. 3 stars
1/02/01 Hamburger the worst movie I've seen in a long time 1 stars
1/02/01 Jenny-My-Fur ok so we know helen and mel rock, but i am sorry this movie blew! 3 stars
1/01/01 Dario Better than what the critics say! 4 stars
12/30/00 Bassam So greet 4 stars
12/28/00 Sansnet Watkins I liked it; I thought the writing was pretty truthful and that Mel looked great 4 stars
12/28/00 Andrea The only funny parts were the ones already in the previews....it was dumb 1 stars
12/23/00 Monique A fantastic girly movie! 5 stars
12/21/00 orpy A few laughs, not believable but light entertainment 4 stars
12/20/00 poetcdh Good laughs, nice romantic comedy 4 stars
12/19/00 John Lyons Pretty good movie, Helen Hunt looked great! 4 stars
12/19/00 denise Great premise, poorly executed, should be titled "What stero-typical women want" 2 stars
12/18/00 fishie An Ok movie, a little thin in the storyline. Good one to wait and rent it. 4 stars
12/17/00 Angus moorehead Mel Gibson! What is the attraction? a mediocre actor, always been. 2 stars
12/16/00 Erik C. Thauvin God forbid us "men" would admit enjoying this movie. 4 stars
12/16/00 Boy In The Designer Bubble Just came back from this flick. Oh my god, Mel looked better in, Man Without A Face. 1 stars
12/16/00 Louis THIS MOVIE SUCKS! 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  15-Dec-2000 (PG-13)
  DVD: 16-Jan-2007

UK
  N/A

Australia
  11-Jan-2001 (M)


Directed by
  Nancy Meyers

Written by
  Josh Goldsmith
  Kathy Yuspa

Cast
  Mel Gibson
  Helen Hunt
  Marisa Tomei
  Alan Alda
  Lauren Holly
  Bette Midler



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast