More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.42

Awesome: 18.64%
Worth A Look: 11.86%
Average: 6.78%
Pretty Bad: 18.64%
Total Crap44.07%

4 reviews, 35 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


AntiTrust
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Greg Muskewitz

"Forlani and Cook cannot keep this from being Anti-Interesting."
1 stars

Cyber-yarn for cyber-obsessives. A bunch of adults, accoutered in kids clothing, spend time in a garage all day computing away, hoping to discover the next “e-thing.”

Bill Gatesian/motivational-like speaker (Tim Robbins) tries to recruit two, but gets only one (Ryan Phillippe, who more and more speaks as though he has a muffler or something in his mouth). The techie mogul has ulterior motives to control the world (cue insane and sinister laughter), and as Phillippe puts all this together, he thinks he can stop it by himself. Movies like Antitrust make me wish Y2K had actually happened. It consists of arcane silliness, where little attempt is made to make the cyber mumbo-jumbo conducive. There are a few translatable jokes (“Monica Lewinsky’s transcripts didn’t get this many hits,” or “You have a girlfriend? Like, a three-dimensional girlfriend?”) but as you may have guessed, humor is not Antitrust’s strength, priority, or concern. The capabilities of the computers fail to strike one as being impressive since they are shown to be limitless. Nothing we see in this movie hasn’t already been impressively shown off in more percipient versions like The Net or Virtuosity. There is never a challenge in a movie like this, where the screenwriter simply writes their way out of difficulty or improbability through some “unbelievable” loophole. One of my late New Year’s Resolution additions will be to go out of my way to ignore previews on television (considering how much TV I actually watch, that should not be a problem) and at the movies. I’ll try my best not to feel discouraged when people are looking at me oddly for plugging my ears, closing my eyes and humming really loudly. Case in point: the villainy of Tim Robbins. The preview clearly gives away that he is one of the bad guys spying on “the world [of technology geeks]” and that Phillippe’s character has yet to learn that. Yet it takes nearly half the running time of this movie before we are assured that Robbins is the crooked man, despite some horrible foreshadowing and natural suspicion. With Antitrust, I doubt having seen the trailer before I saw the movie made much of a difference, but when I think how the previews ruined Felicia’s Journey, Mumford and plenty others, not to mention setting up false hopes (Kikujiro, Psycho Beach Party, What Lies Beneath[/I[) no word like frustrating quite sums it up as well.

Directed by Peter Howitt. With Claire Forlani and Rachel Leigh Cook.

[Not to be bothered with.]

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=3908&reviewer=172
originally posted: 01/13/01 09:13:05
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/21/10 PAUL SHORTT CLEVER AND CONVINCING 3 stars
1/27/04 Eaper I liked this film so go jump, for people with a clue only. 4 stars
1/26/04 john bale Strictly for the kids is this naive bit of nonsense which does nothing for Tim Robbins 2 stars
12/17/03 Mindcrime Awesome movie! 5 stars
11/09/03 Dark Barøn Fucking crap. 1 stars
9/30/03 henry kalu awesome 5 stars
4/18/03 Jack Sommersby Dumb fun. 3 stars
11/16/02 Big Ted True Crap. 1 stars
8/30/02 The Talking Elbow Better then 95% of Teen Suspense movies... Wasn't perfect, didn't suck either. 4 stars
8/09/02 palaboy101 This movie makes Bill Gates look very bad! Great gizmos though... 3 stars
12/02/01 Anni This is fucking amazing movie...It's my all time favorite... 5 stars
11/15/01 Mike Awesome! Great for almost any computer geek out there. Very entertaining. Not for children. 4 stars
10/11/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* Read this post s l o w l y: "Hot" actors do not a good film make. Get it? Got it? Good. 1 stars
6/15/01 Tzila Seewald Love it! The computer was full amazing thing! U never know who is trustable! 5 stars
6/14/01 Juliette Realy good movie, Ryan Philippe is a nice choice for that role, Pretty boy !!!!! 5 stars
6/07/01 JanK Hot young faces and bodies to look at but the rest sucks. 2 stars
6/04/01 Geebo Unprecedented plot line, and minimal offensive material, made a great movie. 5 stars
5/30/01 Thatguy Oooh, movie producers read Slashdot. Film at 11. 2 stars
5/27/01 Jeff J Surprisingly Great! 5 stars
5/22/01 Box of Chocolates I'm a heterosexual guy but even I admit Ryan Philippe is hot. This movie is dull, though 2 stars
5/16/01 Rampage I give this movie a F for bad acting and wasted cast. Damn you Ryan Philippe! 1 stars
5/07/01 Kate Awesome movie! Very suspenseful plus Ryan Phillippe is a really good actor and wicked hot!! 5 stars
5/06/01 blah blah great especially the costumes 5 stars
2/05/01 Stuntman I understand computer lingo, you goddam twerps and I hated that movie! 1 stars
1/29/01 Nic If you don't understand computer lingo, don't see this movie. I do, and I loved it! 5 stars
1/26/01 Boy In The Designer Bubble I didn't know Bill Gates was an actor? He did a good job in this flick. 1 stars
1/21/01 bob jones vapid, pandering, schlocky, worse than hackers 1 stars
1/19/01 Ground Zero more like a rehash of Hackers 2 stars
1/16/01 alien being a techie geek, I was impressed by the references to open source vs. monopolies. 4 stars
1/15/01 Frankly Being a computer geek, I actually enjoyed it. Paper-thin plot, but good to just go with. 4 stars
1/14/01 Jenny-My-Fur it was a good flick, better than a lot of the other crap out there 5 stars
1/14/01 Cenic Rachel Leigh Cook's character helped complete it so it would be done by its set launch. 4 stars
1/14/01 Jayne Downley I thinks it gets a bad wrap for all the faux-tech stuff. It's not bad. 4 stars
1/13/01 movie chick It wasn't bad. It could have had more suspense. 3 stars
1/12/01 Gariess Tim Robbins should be severely beaten for having anything to do with this outrage of a fil 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  12-Jan-2001 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  25-Apr-2001 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast