More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.3

Awesome: 20.83%
Worth A Look35.83%
Average: 11.67%
Pretty Bad: 15.83%
Total Crap: 15.83%

4 reviews, 96 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Event Horizon
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"The director of Mortal Kombat brings you something even lamer."
1 stars

All style, no substance.

It's too bad a movie would squander a cast with such potential and striking visuals. But this movie does it.

This movie tries to do something that just really isn't done anymore: it tries to scare you outright. Not scare you and make you laugh, like with Scream, or scare you in a psychological sense, like Silence of the Lambs. No, this is your basic fright movie, complete with music that starts off really soft and then BUILDS UP...and then stops completely when the shock is supposed to hit you. Don't get me wrong; I jumped a lot during the course of this movie, but I jump pretty easily, like at bank openings. It's not even that the film is that gory; most of the gore (the little that remains) is shown in quick flashes and jump cuts. There's buildup, but no payoff, in what we're supposed to see. Apparently there's no suspense in the future, either.

The plot itself is pretty insignificant. It's about a black hole where something bad happened, and not coincidentally, the script itself has several gaping black holes in it as well. Plot problems? Oh yes. Why is only half of the crew hallucinating? If nothing can move faster than the speed of light (as one crew member points out early on), why does it take only 56 days (that's right: DAYS) to get from Earth to Neptune? And why is the only other African-American crew member aside from Laurence Fishburne reduced to mere comic relief? There's no backstory to the characters, no insight into who they are, and we never really completely learn what happened to the "Event Horizon" (the ship, not the movie) in the seven years it's been missing, although we can assume that the ship, like the script, was lost in space).

Laurence Fishburne, Kathleen Quinlan, Sam Neill, Joely Richardson...al wasted. The script is hokey enough, but having them try to talk in sci-fi technobabble just takes it over the line.

The only saving grace of this film? Visuals. The sets (built in London's massive Pinewood Studios) are huge and incredibly intricate. The effects are impressive for the most part, although not scientifically sound (Jack Noseworthy floating out into space sans spacesuit. He should've burst like a grape in a microwave. We couldn't be so lucky.). But it's just not enough to save it.

There's better bad sci-fi for you to waste your time on.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=391&reviewer=7
originally posted: 09/02/98 06:14:53
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

10/30/16 morris campbell good effects thats about it & im not a horror snob 1 stars
1/22/16 lmjnptp USA 3 stars
4/13/14 Proximus centauri Completely underrated & overlooked 5 stars
11/03/13 The Big D Good, clean, comic book-style sci-fi fun--great effects! 4 stars
7/30/11 joe fucking awesome 5 stars
9/14/10 bored mom Opens nicely, but then degrades into dreck with a cheesy boogieman, bad Hell themes, etc. 3 stars
8/04/09 the dork knight Underrated movie that attracts a lot of irrational hate from horror snobs. 4 stars
12/31/08 Freela Oh god, the eye gouging....I had to sleep in my contact lenses that night! Freaked me out! 4 stars
11/14/08 Jonn I first watched it when i was 8 scared me shitless now its almost funny 4 stars
10/04/08 deen mark Good horor movie, liked it. 4 stars
6/01/08 Vinnywonder Not awful, not a masterpiece, and very scary 4 stars
3/17/08 dev awsome movie, this reviewer dosent know what the hell they are talking about 5 stars
3/15/08 Eric KATHLEEN QUINLAN AND LAURENCE FISHBOURNE WERE GREAT. IT WAS A GOOD ATTEMPT. 4 stars
3/01/08 Ivana Mann Spooky! More horror than science fiction...Freddy Krueger meets 2001. Worth a gander! 3 stars
9/05/07 Jubei I've always liked this movie.Almost Hellraiser in outer space. 4 stars
7/02/07 johnnyfog A few really scary parts. Sam Neil is a creepy mutherfucker. 4 stars
4/19/07 Stevo UK Boring, lonely and deppressing, the only people that will like this are miserable goths. 1 stars
7/11/06 Adrian Wonderful idea, just wasn't pulled off too great, decent acting as well..wasn't THAT gory.. 3 stars
6/04/06 William Goss Relatively decent sci-fi rehash that looks great and holds up quite well. 4 stars
5/10/06 sweetgrrl1972 The horror, the horror! (That I actually paid money to see this!) 2 stars
3/11/06 Sam very scary 5 stars
8/29/05 Blissful Johnny 'Saw this on opening day not knowing anything about it. I was pleasantly surprised...scary 4 stars
8/29/05 Jabberjaw Almost as good as CUBE. 4 stars
8/28/05 hicks THE HAUNTING in space...and not bad for what it is. 4 stars
8/28/05 Joker Better than it has any right to be...that first hour is top-notch! 4 stars
8/27/05 cam-ron What? A Paul Andersuck movie I actually didn't hate?!?! Noooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!!!! 4 stars
8/26/05 Termite PWSA's only halfway decent film...I still insist that someone else directed it... 4 stars
6/30/05 Naka I hate Paul Anderson, I hate films like this...yet I enjoyed myself. 4 stars
6/10/05 Indrid Cold A loud mishmash of scifi and horror concepts. Quite stupid. 2 stars
6/08/05 JD Decent creepy sci/fi horror. 4 stars
2/19/05 LilyM Took 2 days to watch this cuz I could only watch it in 20 minute spurts before I zoned out. 1 stars
12/30/04 Dan Good movie 4 stars
10/24/04 HankHill Excellent balance of presentation and having the viewer fill in the blanks. 5 stars
8/26/04 R.W. Welch Watchable til the finale' which dissolves into overdone goofiness. 2 stars
8/26/04 Ortman This film is so bad that the only thing that could increase it's level of suckiness would b 1 stars
8/01/04 Scully Let me get this right. A ship gets lost... and ends up in hell? 2 stars
7/31/04 Kate Loathesome and dull, anti-intellectual and BADLY edited 1 stars
6/12/04 FranklyFrank Suggest Ignoring the actors and just watch the ship, poor DVD as well. 2 stars
3/20/04 Pap Antoaneta Iuliana The perfect horror-sf movie 5 stars
3/01/04 LIAM JACKSON The fuck was up with that 'Burning Man' character? good flick though. 5 stars
2/23/04 Naturezrevenge About as scary as a care bear. Totally ripped "Hellraiser" comics. Not enough plot or gore. 3 stars
2/18/04 Kyle I'ts by far my favorite movie ever 5 stars
2/05/04 john bends over backward to be original but ends a up plain bad 1 stars
1/14/04 Helius Believe it or not, Paul Anderson did something right. 4 stars
11/11/03 Rafael Yes, it was a bad script, but I can't deny that the movie as a whole gave me the shivers. 4 stars
10/24/03 william wallace where we're going,you wont need eyes too see!class film 5 stars
9/10/03 looney anyone that rips out their own eyes is ok in my book, woo 4 stars
9/10/03 McNasty How can holding your eyeballs in your hands and intoning Latin get a poor review? Eyeballs! 4 stars
8/28/03 anna Agree with Adam B. Reviewer more concerned with sniffing own farts than intelligent review. 5 stars
8/25/03 Russell I think the movie is great, and I'd like to see a sequel. 5 stars
6/22/03 Johnny The movie's horror puts the likes of jason and freddy to shame...keep the lights on...... 4 stars
1/15/03 Adam Bishop "The Ship That Went To Hell"! Good movie, good premise. Want Sequel. Unfairly reviewed. 5 stars
1/01/03 Jack Sommersby Scary and well-directed. Good leads, but film has been badly re-cut for U.S. release. 4 stars
12/19/02 Getchell Williams Very cool... and freaky! 5 stars
11/29/02 Charles Tatum Slow and unmoving 2 stars
11/12/02 YES Scary, super suspenseful horror thriller. Sam Neill is great! 5 stars
10/28/02 snowconehead this skippy is the shiznit 5 stars
7/09/02 tim ferriday ace 5 stars
6/21/02 Bart Weak and derivative 2 stars
5/10/02 connie knight kurt russell breakdown. i love kurt russell 5 stars
4/06/02 Veronica Tatterworth Yuck! Sam Neill egregiously wasted. And what's with the evil ship being cross-shaped?!? 1 stars
3/18/02 INCUBATOR Not a super script, but definetly nice to watch 4 stars
12/11/01 Andreas Krantz I love it!!! 5 stars
9/21/01 Redwork amazing on so many levels, it showed in visual form, 1 persons description of 'Pure Evil' 5 stars
8/06/01 badfish good special effects,great movie 4 stars
5/12/01 Geebo Far too much gore, however, excellent action and suspense 2 stars
5/10/01 Trevor Vos scary, intense movie - who needs to think? Just have fun! 5 stars
4/20/01 Matthew Bartley Hey we've already seen The Shining, Carrie, Seven, Alien etc. 2 stars
4/07/01 xyl an amazing depiction of our greatest fear: being out of control 5 stars
3/17/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) They tried to do "Seven" in space, it looks like to me...and failed... 3 stars
3/17/01 Bionic Booger Quite effective until the last 15-20 minutes. Excellent musical score, fx, and atmosphere. 4 stars
1/26/01 Diego Romero Hellraiser in space,nuff said! 5 stars
1/16/01 Aurora If you really want a treat, watch the quick flashes on frame by frame, now that is freaky. 5 stars
12/06/00 Cristopher Revilla it's bullshit, please, no sequel. You like it, CRAM IT UP YOUR ASS, baby!!!!! 1 stars
11/29/00 The Evil Penguin pretty dang scary but the dialogue is so spotty 3 stars
4/16/00 JDC Good: visuals, sense of menace. Bad: pacing, script. Could have been better, but not bad 4 stars
10/11/99 Weird Andy Hey, I kinda liked it! 4 stars
6/15/99 Dylan I dont get the mostly negative attitude towards this movie. Worth seeing. 4 stars
3/30/99 Ryan_A No, no, I wanna be lame here. 1 stars
3/07/99 CYaniDERuSH All of you who were to stupid to apreaciate this mastery of sci-fi/horror be lame elseware 5 stars
3/02/99 THE Juicester DO not see this! 1 stars
11/25/98 DrEvil Passable gothic horror space opera. Cool art direction. Could have been better/worse. 4 stars
11/15/98 Barrie doesn't even deserve one star. Worst Fucking Film Ever Ever Made, Ever. EVER. 1 stars
11/14/98 Per Kihlborg Nice one... 4 stars
11/12/98 Jules Luc Besson has sold out. Bastard. If you want to scare me, make me care first... 2 stars
10/27/98 cyanide rush this film is a classic baby 5 stars
10/24/98 Vincent An uneven mess to be sure, but some GREAT, HORRIFIC sequences make it worth seeing 4 stars
9/29/98 Johny A mess 2 stars
9/21/98 MR HOLLYWOOD i threw up,shit in my pants & nearly went deaf with THX,but its not the best 4 stars
9/02/98 f*r*o*s*t*y AHHH! Sam Neill is the devil! 1 stars
8/30/98 Matt the plot holes cost it a star 4 stars
8/25/98 Miss Stress ifa ship has been missing for 7 years i say leave it be 2 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball Where's my escape shuttle!?!?!?! 1 stars
8/23/98 Mister Whoopee Kath Quinlan is a yummuy-mummy. But... 2 stars
8/18/98 zubilicious my friend puked after one of the scenes.the gore was a bit much at times. 3 stars
8/17/98 Mike F Some parts scared me. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  15-Aug-1997 (R)
  DVD: 18-Apr-2006

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Feb-1997




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast