More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.35

Awesome69.55%
Worth A Look: 13.15%
Average: 6.23%
Pretty Bad: 4.5%
Total Crap: 6.57%

12 reviews, 217 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Starry Eyes by Jay Seaver

American Jesus by Jay Seaver

Coastlines by Jack Sommersby

Joe by Jay Seaver

Raid 2, The by Brett Gallman

Crimes Against Humanity by Jay Seaver

Murder at 1600 by Charles Tatum

Mr. Bean's Holiday by Charles Tatum

Quiet Ones, The (2014) by Daniel Kelly

Missing Picture, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Requiem for a Dream
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Greg Muskewitz

"It renews your appreciation for film!"
5 stars

One of my favorite things about this profession is "discovering" new talent. Chances are, if I'm going to make a big deal out of it, it will receive a substantial amount of critical backing. It's almost a sixth sense, a gift of being prescient --I don't make a point of something because I think all the critics will, I do it because I'm impressed. And it is, admitedtly a nice feeling to find out afterwards that others are in, or following your steps, so to say. That was the case for "Pi," writer/director Darren Aronofsky's brilliantly stunning debut. I instantly recognized his work and his style as something I immensely enjoyed, and his follow up, "Requiem for a Dream" is in no way a let down. As a matter of fact, "Requiem for a Dream" is one of the best films I've seen in 2000.

To give it a superficial label, "Requiem" is a junkie movie. An unordinary junkie movie. An unordinary hyperkinetic junkie movie. An unordinary, highly stylized, gritty hyperkinetic junkie movie --unlike anything you've seen before. Adapted from his own novel, Hubert Selby, Jr. and Aronofsky tell the tale of four lost souls trying to break away from the hole they've been placed in, hoping to find happiness in some sort of material possession. It sounds like something platitudinous, but you've never seen it done like this.

Harry Goldfarb (Jared Leto) and friend Tyrone (Marlon Wayans) are druggies and pushers. They're from the impecunious streets of Brooklyn, and their master plan is to make some money with the drugs they've got, buy better stuff, use a little, sell the rest, and then buy the "real" stuff and permanently retire off of their profits. Marion (Jennifer Connelly) is Harry's girlfriend, and when they interact, you get the feeling that they're really in love. She wants a happy, mapped and secured life, and Harry (the entrepreneur) can offer that. Marion wants escape and independence from her parents, and the money Harry and Tyrone will score should secure it.

Lastly is Sara Goldfarb (Ellen Burstyn), Harry's mother. He's all she has left in the world, until she's notified she will be called to be on a TV program ("I'm somebody now Harry. Somebody likes me. It's a reason to get up in the morning.") --and the cultish, brainwashing show she does watch is quite odd on its own. She becomes completely obsessed and it ultimately destroys her, not just by getting addicted to drugs for weightloss ("Pep? Ma, I can here you grindin' your teeth from here."), but by becoming delusional and oblivious to her real needs. As the title suggests, it's a tragic --on all counts-- outcome.

The immediate feeling following "Requiem for a Dream" is uncomfortable and cold; a strong feeling of being disturbed. It's a gritty, wry, grotesque slice of unfair life. Aronofsky involves you from the get-go of the story. You don't necessarily like the characters or what they do, but you understand their struggle, you sympathize --in some shape or form, we're all after it. It's more than just fitting in, it's finding a place in life and being comfortable with it. There's a strong sense of deterioration; the film manages to convincingly show it and progressively stay on it at a compelling rate.

"Requiem for a Dream" is destined, like "Pi," to go down as a cult classic, though this felt more as though it was its goal as compared to "Pi," which in the lineage of "Eraserhead," just found itself there naturally and unintentionally.

Aronofsky's visual and storytelling style is unique and original. It sets forth something many directors only wish they could imitate. He made "Pi," with Matthew Libatique's expertise grainy black-and-white photography look stunning and visually empowering. Now in color, Libatique's brilliant, vibrant scheme makes such adept use of it, that the color is some of the best cinematically available. Libatique's usage of the camera and colors is largely noticed through the contrasts and daedal compositions. There are several technicalities, such as some split-screen splicing and awkward POV shots that don't flow with the rest, but otherwise, Jay Rabinowitz's editing, and again Clint Mansell's haunting, electric score complete the impressive technical side.

One of Aronofsky's strong traits in "Pi" was a stock routine of Max taking his pills. Here Aronofsky reuses the concept rigorously in two routines: Sara taking her pills, and Harry and Tyrone shooting up. (Speedy edits, too fast to note, were something like: cutting the drug/boiling it/wrapping belt on arm/entry of drugs into bloodstream/dilation of eyes.) It's obviously not an advocacy for the drugs, it stands out way against them. Usually I don't like scenes where drugs are used, but it's done in such an unconventional and non-offensive, stylish way, it serves as a support. It is unmistakably Aronofskian.

Leto turns in a mature, formidable performance --no doubt something he will grab attention with. He really becomes the character of Harry. (It was nice to see him visit Coney Island, so desolate and deteriorated since my father's childhood; since the way it looked in "The Little Fugitive.") Connelly, younger in appearance every time I see her, is very catchy and well photographed. She has begun to auspiciously take on after Patricia Arquette's calm and cool stature in films. (However, there is one unnecessary and gratuitously tawdry scene that involves a body double for Connelly, a tube of lubricant, and a dual anal prod. The seamy pornographic montage is mercifully cut up into flashes which don't last too long. It's really the only thorn this faces.) Wayans, although hilariously silly in "Scary Movie" shows here that he has serious talent. Marlon Wayans really has some acting chops, and it was great to see him use them. Best of all is Burstyn. Her Jewish incarnation and careful observation is a paragon of becoming the character and making it live. (Even more so than Jeffrey Wright did in "Shaft.") Burstyn envelops Sara and goes through a transubstantiation so metamorphic, so real, it's disturbing but so well done. It's a performance that's going to be noticed and talked about.

"Pi" was beat out by a hair in 1998 for my number one slot by "Pleasantville." I think that happened because in "Pleasantville," good was the dominant substance, and it's general happiness managed to wing it slightly ahead. Now two years later, "Pi" is a much more impressionable film for me (although I still love "Pleasantville"). It was a simple choice of good over melancholy. Aronofsky has proved himself one of my favorite filmmakers with just two films. He brings me to places I've never been. They let you experience something not offered anywhere else. I strongly anticipate anything he does, and "Requiem for a Dream" is really a film you must see. As unnerving and grotesque as it may be, it paints a portrait that can never be recreated. This film stays with you and haunts you long after you see it. Films like this are invigorating. Not only do they renew your passion and appreciation for film, but it amplifies it!

Final Verdict: A+.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=3914&reviewer=172
originally posted: 10/20/00 10:27:58
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

6/30/13 satya how the hell burstyn didn,t get an oscar....shame 5 stars
2/14/13 amol i bet if anyone can forget this movie and its soundtrack , the most depressing movie 5 stars
2/09/12 David Hollingsworth Depressing, riveting, and well-acted 5 stars
3/16/11 Dylan Im never watching it again. I don't need to. Ill never forget it 4 stars
4/30/10 Marilyn Treat your refrigerator with respect...you never know 4 stars
4/24/10 GP A haunting masterpiece. Almost transcendental. 5 stars
3/05/10 TJFfkA gSLuUEPP 1 stars
2/27/10 Captain Ted So depressing/disturbing, I bought DVD then tossed in garbage. 4 stars
8/25/09 jeffo dont care about drug addicts or their pain, ill pass. 1 stars
2/23/09 shark fukin amazing film didnt get into it at first but after a while. 5 stars
12/16/08 /Martis Good to see most people possess deeper appreciation. This is a masterpiece. 5 stars
11/15/08 Karina i can't believe anyone would call this film horrible. 5 stars
9/10/08 PAUL SHORTT AN UNRELENTINGLY GRIM DRAMA OF DESOLATION AND DESPAIR 1 stars
5/09/08 JAL Supreme realest/best movie ever/ gives me the same intense feeling since the first time i saw it 5 stars
5/06/08 Simon Wow amazing film. Leaves my head buzzing after each viewing.Definitly my favourite film. 5 stars
5/02/08 Greets dull and boring, 2 hours of stating the obvious about these type of stupid heroin fuckheads 1 stars
10/04/07 Kristis i loved it! amazing acting & overall very good story line. 5 stars
7/30/07 brian just because a movie is graphic does not mean it will be good. Terrible acting. 1 stars
6/06/07 David Pollastrini found it to be pretty dull 1 stars
5/09/07 Nic A film thats standing in its own- With a big massive neon light saying MASTERPIECE - AMAZIN 5 stars
5/04/07 malakogavlis no other film can be compared to that masterpiece 5 stars
3/28/07 fools♫gold Sure, there's more to EVERY movie than "people" think. Not bad; not a masterpiece. 4 stars
12/16/06 Mike K Best movie I've ever seen! AMAZING 5 stars
11/24/06 Doug What can I say? 5 stars
9/29/06 Ambrielle AMAZING. Actors are simply BRILLIANT in their portayals of junkie life. Music was awesome! 5 stars
9/22/06 Pritchett 'Never saw the appeal of this film. TRAINSPOTTING and PI are both infinitely better. 1 stars
4/30/06 ederl this movie sucks!! 1 stars
4/27/06 MP Bartley Jittery style covers the emotional emptiness, but it has effective shock value. 4 stars
3/03/06 Tanya loved it the drug seens were great 5 stars
2/17/06 Suhail disturbing but a must see for all junkes 5 stars
12/26/05 lisa it's sara's own decision to lose weight, because she want to fit in her red dress 5 stars
12/17/05 matt good film but maybe a little preachy 4 stars
10/16/05 Johnny Definitely the best movie of 2000. 5 stars
10/05/05 Jesse Taylor The best movie of 2000. One of my all time favourites. Burstyn is mesmerizing. 5 stars
9/06/05 Chris Roll This is a movie for people who've either been there or have been close to someone who has 5 stars
8/25/05 8=====D It is quite ghey 1 stars
8/03/05 ALDO Overacted, overdone, ultra-hip MTV style shit. Bad in a Boondock Saintian way 1 stars
7/27/05 CJ Should be required viewing (its also a book, READ IT) 5 stars
7/01/05 Brian Akin to having a 10th grade life-ed essay screamed in your face. 1 stars
5/12/05 MCKROB i'll never do drugs after watching this flick... 5 stars
5/02/05 MeredithL Harrowing, realistic 5 stars
4/04/05 Daveman Has its moments, but overall leaves nothing to the imagination. 2 stars
4/04/05 Vince A mind blowing experience. The actors really shine. 5 stars
3/25/05 indrid cold Don't see what's so great about it, except a peek at Connelly's carpet. 3 stars
3/07/05 papillon excellent 5 stars
2/27/05 Michael More to the movie than people think. 5 stars
2/02/05 Steve Michaud And Julia Roberts won the Oscar over Ellen Burstyn???? 5 stars
1/31/05 New Jersey Rules Fuckin' great. 5 stars
1/09/05 Abbath Nicely filmed, poorly acted and written. Completely and utterly overrated. 2 stars
12/13/04 david grohl Excellent movie... incrdulous 5 stars
12/07/04 Kurt Cobain Easily the best of 2000. Shocking. 5 stars
10/25/04 Tom Ciorciari best film of 200o. Period. That and Ellen Burstyn's best performance. Ever. 5 stars
9/26/04 Tor Honolulu I confess I hate people who hate this movie. There, I said it 5 stars
9/14/04 malcolm after hearing so much about it some of the shock factor was lost on me.extremely well made 4 stars
7/09/04 Tony The most shocking and disturing movie I've ever seen. Disturbingly brilliant. 5 stars
5/07/04 wylene I've seen this story line up close and personal 5 stars
4/28/04 Jon A movie with a serious moral doesnt have to have catharsis but this movie fakFUCK OVERKILL! 2 stars
4/09/04 A F If not for the great Screenplay...Then watch it for the Cinematograpy!! 5 stars
3/26/04 gromm Oh. My. Fucking. God. Showcase's strongest warning wasn't enough. 5 stars
3/16/04 Epitomi It was too disturbing I stared at the wall for about 15 minutes after it went off 4 stars
2/24/04 mike guess what? heroin is bad for you. there, i just saved you 2 hours. 2 stars
2/23/04 Naturezrevenge Transcendental. If you liked this (and if you know whats good for u), see "PI" (same dir) 5 stars
2/13/04 Kai Captivating in its portrayal of sinking into the mire with no emotional catharsis in sight 5 stars
1/29/04 Zeus A simplistic preachy message that is nonetheless delivered with power, conviction and grace 4 stars
1/24/04 Elena this film was stunning, shocking and provocative. disturbing yet beautiful. 5 stars
1/15/04 Tiffinee Life altering movie- the best ever. 5 stars
12/27/03 Zion I love this film. It haunts me. I cant say enough great things about it. 5 stars
12/20/03 Alice F*cking awesome!!!!! 5 stars
12/15/03 Mike This is the best movie I've ever seen 5 stars
12/09/03 Samuel A really great movie!! 5 stars
11/01/03 Honolulu Tur More to offer its audience than 99%of all other movies..no kidding & I mean that literally 5 stars
9/21/03 Laurie Ann Buckley Greatest movie ever. Excellent soundtrack. 5 stars
9/02/03 Vince A haunting experience 5 stars
8/28/03 Mr. Hat Renegade is so right. Aronofsky is unbelievably brilliant. It's not just showing off style! 5 stars
8/26/03 Zoran Radic Simply the best 5 stars
8/02/03 Renegade Bushido Forget the Say No to Drugs campaign, just show the kiddies this! 5 stars
7/31/03 Nicole Without a doubt, the most depressing movie I have ever seen. The end made me nautious 4 stars
7/22/03 Rose Joslin One of the worst movies I have ever seen. I thought this would be a funny movie about danci 1 stars
7/17/03 Lindsey I love it.... 5 stars
7/08/03 Kris B. Mind blowing, a masterpiece, not for the weak of heart or mind. 5 stars
5/20/03 your worse goddamn nightmare Makes you really feel the drag of an addict. It's a heavy, but incredible film. Great... 5 stars
5/17/03 Mr. Hat (I'm Back Mo'Fos!) Aronofsky deserves every Best Director award there is!!! 5 stars
5/12/03 stevo very disappointing after the stunning pi, one-dimensional and predictable; vicious though 3 stars
5/09/03 Jack Bourbon Have mercy on me on my pathetic being, O Great and Terrible Refrigerator!!! 4 stars
5/07/03 leroyjones its pretty good...a little overratted...but somewhat realistic 4 stars
4/23/03 Spunky G A bit bleak, but great light/dark contrast and cinematagraphy 4 stars
4/16/03 cinkcool great 5 stars
4/13/03 Jack Sommersby Showy camerawork at service of overly familiar story. Unrevealing and boring. 1 stars
4/06/03 Phil M. Aficionado Horribly depressing + engaging; Burstyn? Incredible. Shower please. Wow. 4 stars
3/23/03 Rachel absolutely incredible...one of the best movies I've seen 5 stars
3/22/03 Skankin' inThePit excellent movie but really sad at the end 5 stars
3/15/03 arwen oddstar really hits home, brought me out of it. 5 stars
3/15/03 Taylor Fladgate The American version of "Trainspotting". Outstanding. 5 stars
3/01/03 Kyle Incredible. Should be required viewings for high school students 5 stars
1/18/03 gökçen aslan it is really a sad but not an unbelievable story .Everything was quiet predictable 4 stars
1/16/03 serbay yurduseven a Perfect Film from Aronofsky 5 stars
1/13/03 Vince one of the only films that leaves me in a cold sweat. 5 stars
12/28/02 grardo great music, good acting... one of the best movies 5 stars
12/04/02 The Talking Elbow Horribly, horribly grim. But it leaves you wide-eyed, and takes you on an emotion trip. 5 stars
11/21/02 Bruno Sympathy for the characters who destroyed their own lives? They got what they deserved. 1 stars
10/06/02 moestifer the bitchslap reviewer is right -- kinda good looking, that's all 3 stars
9/26/02 Morally Sound My favorite movie! Matthew Libatique's cinematography kick ass! 5 stars
9/06/02 ButterNutButtCrunch Its the best drug related movie!!!!! 5 stars
9/01/02 Robbie Banfitch excellent drama 5 stars
8/28/02 Anonymous Connelly is HOT. 4 stars
8/19/02 Mr. Hat (I'm Back!) In Stanley Kubrick's version of a cartoon, a Smokey the Bear episode is taken seriously. 4 stars
8/14/02 conman Amazing. Takes filmaking to a new level. 5 stars
8/04/02 nanojath Sucked ass. message: junkies don't really roll in the big score. Rent Superfly instead. 2 stars
8/01/02 GOOD the best educational drug movie ever, like fear and loathing with a pulse 5 stars
7/31/02 I Can't Swim Watching movies over 30yrs now, this tops them all by several thousand miles 5 stars
7/29/02 Cuboidz W O W 5 stars
7/27/02 sdjfsdkjf slow at times but the ending hits you. Leto's arm was offff but that violin score was great 5 stars
7/09/02 .Choadushouse. Definatly one of the best films ever made. Geniuswork. A masterpiece. 5 stars
7/08/02 Party Animal Ass to Ass! 5 stars
6/20/02 Robbie Banfitch The best film ever yo. I like pizza 5 stars
6/17/02 Thomas Spaulding I haven't seen trainspotting yet, but fuck it, this is better 5 stars
6/10/02 Ryan Hill a masterpiece! 5 stars
5/30/02 JD pretentious crap but still better than gummo if that says anything 1 stars
4/30/02 Rebecca terrible and over rated, but ellen did fantastic, still terrible 1 stars
4/28/02 Butterbean If you care more about the movie's production than anything else, you will love this one. 3 stars
4/27/02 coollisa it's a fucking awesome movie. It's the greatest film ever! 5 stars
4/24/02 DEE The director overfed the audience what was going on in the characters' minds. 4 stars
4/10/02 Caiphn Terrific film. Ellen Burstyn was incredible. 5 stars
3/01/02 Party Animal Ass to Ass! 5 stars
2/28/02 Alan Smithee A good but flawed film that makes Trainspotting look like a Disney flick. 4 stars
2/24/02 lizzietizzie not the feel-god movie of the year... but it was great... 5 stars
2/17/02 Clarance See this fucking movie! WOW! I you won't believe your eyes! 5 stars
2/02/02 Clarance HOLY FUCKIN SHIT 5 stars
1/31/02 Don Hite Burstyn is absolutely incredible! One of the best movies I've ever seen! 5 stars
1/15/02 Caulfield The horror of everyday life that we are too blind to notice is revealed to us here. 5 stars
1/12/02 Doug Wow. Im just sitting here stunned. Again, WOW. 5 stars
1/08/02 Spyguy2 Oh man was this wicked sick...a masterpiece...and Jennifer Connelly is so fucking HOT 5 stars
12/15/01 Ian Barr Best direction ever? I don't know, but definitely most EFFECTIVE. Awesome performances, too 5 stars
12/06/01 Bada Bing Crosby Nothing even comes close; movie is quantum 5 stars
12/01/01 Jeff Wilson If they showed this instead of DARE, there would be no drug abuse. 5 stars
10/30/01 Marc music and cinematography made this movie incredible 5 stars
10/27/01 Dimitri One of the most disturbing films I've ever seen. About all manner of habits, not just drug 5 stars
10/22/01 Cookie Cutter Powerful but really depressing. 4 stars
10/19/01 Gia Carangi Intense directing and cinematography. I expected more but got little 3 stars
10/11/01 daniboy impressive. a masterpiece 5 stars
10/11/01 Candie Apple This was the best anti-drug paraphernalia I have ever seen 5 stars
10/02/01 Paul Harris For once music, story, acting and direction come together to make a masterpiece. 5 stars
9/30/01 marcianne a rare masterpiece, love it! 5 stars
9/29/01 Phoenix Powerful, disturbing, and unforgettable 5 stars
9/23/01 mleonard hard to watch at times; very realistic; wonderfully creative imagery 4 stars
9/08/01 Josh Absolutely amazing... shocking, but amazing 5 stars
9/02/01 perverted pixie Oh the humanity!! 5 stars
8/29/01 Baphomet What a great movie; unlike the mainstream Hollywood bullshit saturated with drug references 5 stars
8/22/01 Captain Marvel Art sans content - hence artifice. It's entirely forgettable. Thank God. 1 stars
8/12/01 Monster W. Kung Powerful, yet very depressing anti-drug movie. 4 stars
8/08/01 Johnny Madwreck i was stunned, thought i hated it, then later realized I just saw a fuckin awesome movie. 5 stars
8/04/01 Timm One word: AMAZING 5 stars
7/20/01 VinnylFreak55 Vest film i have seen i a while. Blows Trainspotting out of the water as far as reality 5 stars
7/04/01 jim dyer addiction made real, I was there 5 stars
7/02/01 Simeon Briggs This is a BRILLIANT movie, not just another drugs flick 5 stars
6/30/01 Pop will eat itself disturbing, ballsy, and intelligent-it's the anti-hollywood blockbuster 5 stars
6/15/01 Doug Jablin A superior followup to Pie. Very similiar stylistically A heroin movie on acid. 5 stars
6/11/01 Liz wow, amazing film. not for the faint of heart, but definately beautifully made. 5 stars
6/11/01 ben made for tv plot/acting with corny mtv/sesame street cinematography. Conservative message. 2 stars
6/09/01 The Bomb 69 disturbing, I felt sick after this ended (in a good way) Burstyn should have won the Oscar! 5 stars
6/08/01 Trevor Vos Best film of 2000 - a lot like A Clockwork Orange 5 stars
6/08/01 Chuck Capouie You've got to see this movie! 5 stars
6/06/01 Jimbo Its great to have our eyes opened from time to time. 4 stars
6/06/01 Cole This is what they should show kids in middle school. Truly an outstanding and unique film. 5 stars
6/05/01 Psyko Doug Intense movie- Fenris's comment says it all. 5 stars
6/01/01 Bada Bing Crosby Very glad more people will see this beyond-brilliant movie on video & PPV 5 stars
5/30/01 Heather Great movie! 5 stars
5/29/01 Fenris Fuck Julia Roberts, Ellen Burstyn got screwed. Best movie of the year. 5 stars
5/27/01 A.K. Unsettling, but highly engrossing. One of the best films of the year.. 5 stars
5/26/01 svetlana i think i've found a new favorite director... 5 stars
5/24/01 greensweater Shallow characters, cool visuals, 2hr antidrugprop 3 stars
5/24/01 Basil Ellen Burstyn should have won the Oscar. 5 stars
5/02/01 Siggy Risky+ambitious but hits the nail on the spot.If Aronofsky continues this he'll be an icon 5 stars
4/10/01 Mic Incredibly powerful. Should show this to all teenagers as part of drugs education. 5 stars
3/22/01 Belinda Garbage 1 stars
3/19/01 Elendil Something that makes you stop and think afterwards 5 stars
3/19/01 J.Arcane Over rated! Mr 'Nofsky will do better, you just wait... 2 stars
3/17/01 Spetters I really needed a drink after seeing this movie. 5 stars
3/15/01 k.j.tomko Strong, v. well crafted. Script might'vebeen better 4 stars
3/14/01 Paperplate UFO I think it's time for Aronofsky to pop the prozac. 4 stars
3/14/01 Bionic Booger Stark contrast between the dreams and their reality hits hard but makes for a good film. 4 stars
3/12/01 skye not ALL that, but close to it. muchtravelledterritory,stylishlydelivered.EllenBgetstheOscar 4 stars
3/11/01 Elizabeth This movie left ME feeling devastated. Ellen Burstyn more than deserves the Oscar 5 stars
3/04/01 Adam Freeman its like someone remembered their whole dream, from start to finish. Full on. 5 stars
2/26/01 Andy A must see for any lover of good film making 5 stars
2/24/01 Marie Left me psychologically scarred for life. 5 stars
2/22/01 Damien An unrelenting ride to hell. I still can't stop thinking about it. 4 stars
2/21/01 Sascha Winter Brilliant direction of a potentially disasterous topic 5 stars
2/21/01 J. Bravo Totally gutwrenching - like an assault on your psche. 5 stars
2/19/01 Daniel Hutt fantastic 5 stars
2/13/01 matthew smith a very impressive film 4 stars
2/12/01 neil bartlett not for everyone, but a film you won't forget. The ultimate dancing machine is a total drip 5 stars
2/04/01 Aiken Drum I came out of the cinema tingling, an experience like no other film I've seen 5 stars
2/03/01 Chris I can't remember ever being made so uneasy by a movie 5 stars
1/30/01 Sarcaztix Great movie .. well directed .. a must see 5 stars
1/30/01 JT Alderman Amazing! Best film since American Beauty! 5 stars
1/22/01 Evan Price 2000's best film??? Possibly. Terrifying drug horror... 5 stars
1/14/01 Tiger Exposes many addictions, and the how quickly they drive us to despair (beyond reform) 4 stars
12/30/00 Charles Excruciating vision of self-deluded addicts' descent into their separate hells 5 stars
12/28/00 Sansnet Watkins The most powerful movie I've ever seen. 5 stars
12/17/00 Doug Dogg I've never sweated in a movie theatre before seeing this film, Aronofsky is one ill muthafu 5 stars
12/03/00 vitamin_D would have chopped of my own arm to get out ofseeing this shit 1 stars
11/27/00 Diana Knight Truly brilliant performances and filmmaking. 5 stars
11/26/00 Liam Sky When it's over you'll feel like you just got the crap beat out of you. Brilliant! 5 stars
11/25/00 ALiaS damn.......ummm, well, damn, absolutly amazing, i was afraid to walk to my car afterwords 5 stars
11/24/00 erez w. amazing! must see for everyone 4 stars
11/21/00 The Bill Head The best movie of the year!!Great acting, directing, writing..disturbing/wonderful 5 stars
11/19/00 Uncleben Excellent/Painfully Beautiful 5 stars
11/18/00 Mr. X Odd editing choices detracted from the great story. 4 stars
11/17/00 XMikeX Year's Best!! Huge fucking bitchslap. Can't wait for Aronofsky's Batman! 5 stars
11/09/00 Thor-Leo Blew me out of my seat, ruined my day. Heaviest film I've ever seen. 5 stars
11/09/00 frankko all i can say is ... wow 5 stars
11/07/00 Reverend Krule holy shit, marlon wayans can act, an' act well at that! 5 stars
11/07/00 :93: Best I've seen all year 5 stars
11/03/00 Heather Very offbeat, a little gory at times but one of this year's best 5 stars
11/02/00 Dialm4matt Best film of the decade 5 stars
10/30/00 Kriperace More art than entertainment--deeply disturbing 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  03-Nov-2000 (NR)
  DVD: 26-Feb-2002

UK
  N/A

Australia
  08-Feb-2001 (MA)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2013, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast