More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.35

Awesome69.42%
Worth A Look: 13.4%
Average: 6.19%
Pretty Bad: 4.47%
Total Crap: 6.53%

12 reviews, 219 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Assassinaut by Jay Seaver

Dead Don't Die, The by alejandroariera

Dead Don't Die, The by Peter Sobczynski

Shaft (2019) by Peter Sobczynski

Men in Black: International by Peter Sobczynski

Chasing the Dragon 2: Wild Wild Bunch by Jay Seaver

Hole in the Ground, The by Jay Seaver

Knife+Heart by Jay Seaver

Booksmart by Jay Seaver

Dark Phoenix by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Requiem for a Dream
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Tom Ciorciari

"Inside the downward spiral."
5 stars

Films that decry the evils of drug abuse have long been a mainstay on the big screen. From the hyperactive camp of REEFER MADNESS (“Play faster! Play faster!”) to Sinatra’s strung out trumpet player in MAN WITH THE GOLDEN ARM to Gary Oldman’s mesmerizing film debut as doomed punk rocker Sid Vicious in Alex Cox’s overlooked SID AND NANCY, the drug addict has been a fascinating character. And yet the drug addict as portrayed in film has almost always been someone whose character is outside the mainstream: the jazz musician; the rock’n roll star; the whacked out veteran; or scummy criminal. With his flawless adaptation of Hubert Selby, Jr.’s brilliant 1978 novel “Requiem For A Dream” director Darren Aronofsky presents the drug addict as your son, your daughter, your neighbor, your mother; throwing the phrase “there but for the grace of God go I” into a new and terrifyingly salient light.

Working from a screenplay co-written with the author, Aronofsky quickly introduces us to Sara Goldfarb (Ellen Burstyn), a 70ish widow living a typically sedentary life in a Coney island high-rise; her sweet, though drug-addled son Harry (Jared Leto), his pal Tyrone (Marlon Wayans), and girlfriend, the troubled rich girl Marion (Jennifer Connelly). Slavishly following the structure of Selby’s brutal, brilliant source material Aronofsky follows the downward trajectory of these characters as their schemes are revealed to be nothing more than the whispiest of pipe dreams, fueled by naiveté and hobbled by the drugs that, at least in Sara’s case, are inadvertently yet inexorably linked to their plans. Harry and Tyrone imagine purchasing a pound of pure heroin which they will cut and make a fortune from. With his split Harry will help Marion open a boutique that will sell her clothing designs and they will live happily ever after. But a sudden freeze in incoming product and the trio’s increasing individual habits leave both their stock and cash flow depleted. Desperate, Harry and Tyrone embark on a disastrous road trip down south while Marion learns what it really means to be a party girl. For Sara, the dream of appearing on her favorite television show (a sort of Tony Robbins self-help infomercial that would seem to be airing 24 hours a day), resplendent in the red dress she wore at Harry’s high school graduation, when her husband was still alive, her son was yet to be hooked and life was markedly better. But to fit into that mythic dress she must first lose weight and finally, with the help of a prescription-happy medico she is able to shed the pounds, sacrificing both her physical and mental health (killer fridge, anyone?) in the process as she takes to increasing her dosages on her own.

As Selby chose not to judge his characters so does Aronofsky; leaving the audience to make up their own minds. Nor does the film ever take on a preachy tone. Instead the film simply posits that for every action there is an equal and opposite reaction; karma exists and is played out before our eyes. Harry and Tyrone are thieves. Early on we see them steal Sara’s TV and pawn it, and though Selby and Aronofsky present this as a sad, yet somewhat humorous, burlesque when the pawnbroker sarcastically observes that they brought the cart as well “this time”, one must assume that their thievery exists beyond weekly pawnings of Sara’s admittedly cheap television set. that Aronofsky chooses not to confront this could arguably be a time constraint issue, but is more than likely due to his desire for the audience to relate to his “heroes”. Likewise marion is a well-off little princess living off mom and dad whilst not taking a bit of responsibility for herself, having found some romantic image of freedom pretending to live the life of a Brooklyn boho. She’s a manipulator who is aware of how attractive she is to men, if even she doesn’t see it herself, and uses this to her advantage, which makes it all the more tragic and ironic when she is forced to cash in on the sole source of capital. As for sara, in her own words she’s “old” and “alone” and these things terrify her. her best years are behind her and the thought of putting on that red dress is what gets her out of bed in the morning. Proving that naiveté can be a fatal thing Sara embarks on a journey with the simple aspiration of feeling that her life once more has some purpose – any purpose – only to be sucked into an amphetamine vortex that will leave her, quite literally, a shell of her former self.

In lesser hands these characters might have been portrayed as two knuckleheaded punks, a rich bitch hottie and a foolish old biddy, all of whom gets what’s coming to them. Or worse, four innocents preyed upon by the big bad drugs. Instead Aronofsky presents them as flawed, all-too-human, and lets the story carry them, a sympathetic observer himself, no more able to steer them out of harm’s way than we are.

Building further on the endlessly inventive visual language he’s utilized for his feature debut, Pi, Aronofsky, editor Jay Rabinowitz and cinematographer Matthew Labatique dazzle the eye without ever falling into the gimmickry of Natural Born Killers-era Oliver Stone, creating a vivid portrait of Coney Island as viewed through the prism of his protagonists’ individual eyes that reaches its breathtaking peak as Sara spirals into virtual incoherence. The powerful visuals are only further enhanced by Clint Mansell’s dramatic score. Performed with a damning bias (the film’s only acquiescence to judging the characters) by Kronos Quartet, the staccato main motif feels as if it’s hurrying the characters to their fates. (In a curious note the score was utilized in, among other places, the trailers for Peter Jackson’s Lord Of The Rings films![?])

And though the technical proficiency exhibited throughout is brilliant it is, ultimately, the actors that sell Requiem. Each of the four leads delivers what are, to date, career best performances. Jared Leto who has, up to now, been best known for his sulky good looks and turn as the unrequited object of Clare Danes affections on “My So-Called Life”, takes a quantum leap as Harry. Just out of his teens, he is not so far removed from childhood that when he pushes his mother’s TV past the group of women parked outside the building sunning themselves in their folding chairs on his way to the pawnshop he can’t help but favor them with a mildly embarrassed “hello”. His Harry is, in his own way, as naive in his belief that a good life can be gotten from selling drugs as Sara’s is in her belief that she will appear as a contestant on the Tappy Tippens show and her life with magically be what it once has been.

Had I never seen Marlon Wayans, or been aware of the comedic lineage of the Wayans clan, I would have wondered just where the hell this phenomenally talented young actor came from. As it is I’m wondering why he isn’t doing more drama and fewer Scary Movie sequels. When comedians play it straight very good things can happen (Robin Williams in The World According To Garp, Jerry Lewis in Scorsese’s King Of Comedy, 2004 Oscar winner Jamie Foxx in Ray), and Marlon Wayans has earned himself a spot at the very top of that list. Unlike Harry, and to greater extent Marion, who would seem to be almost slumming in the earlier scenes, this world is Tyrone’s. his dream of escape is truly that. Whereas Harry and Marion have sunken into the tenement lifestyle, Tyrone is from the tenements. More together than his partner, Tyrone is nevertheless so mired in low expectation (one wonders if Tyrone alone understands that his dream, like those of the others, is just that) that he is powerless to take control, even when he sees the way things are headed.

Of the four leads Jennifer Connelly’s Marion Silver could easily have been the least sympathetic. A self-indulgent rich girl whose only obligation is to attend therapy regularly, which she spitefully refuses to. And Marion has a built-in escape hatch: one phone call and she could be living the privileged life once more with mommy and daddy in Manhattan Beach. Instead the plays house with Harry, their lives a blur of cute teenaged rooftop snuggling and drug-fueled parties; squandering opportunities that the others could only dream of for the “freedom” they’re desperate to escape. Yet marion’s dabbling is offset by her emotional instability. She may be a spoiled rich kid, but she has neither the sense nor the ability to self-censure to see what she’s doing to herself. And it is marion who pushes a bad situation to extremes when she surrenders with nary a fight to her addiction.

Yet brilliant though these fine young actors may be, it is the seasoned lioness, Ellen Burstyn, who steals the film, turning in a performance that truly is one for the ages. Burstyn’s Sara is the heart and heartache of Requiem. A sad woman living out her remaining years in her small old lady’s apartment, a phone call soliciting for contestants on her favorite show will elevate her (even her chair on the sidewalk out front is moved to a revered spot in the line), give her a renewed enthusiasm for life, before ultimately undoing it. And yet Burstyn’s strongest scenes are not necessarily those in which she is in the fill throes of her addiction (lesser actors have been able to convey the horrors of withdrawal, if not with the measure of acuity or harrowing depths as Burstyn), but the quieter ones in which the true horror of her life, the totality of her loneliness, is expressed. Perhaps none better than the scene in which, newly svelte, she defends her diet pill use to Harry (of all people) – just one of the beautiful aspects of the scene being Harry’s horror at his mother’s unbeknownst addiction. The terror in her eyes as she acknowledges that she is “old” is simply devastating.

A treasure for serious cinephiles and a virtual master class for actors, Darren Aronofsky’s, at times unpleasant, harrowing, yet surprisingly tender REQUIEM FOR A DREAM will break your heart in the most unexpected ways. And dark though REQUIEM may be, it is most likely the best film on this subject that we will ever see.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=3914&reviewer=384
originally posted: 02/28/06 02:34:10
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/21/17 morris campbell harrowing the best anti-drug movie there is 5 stars
6/28/15 stanley welles a powerful tale of addiction and self-destruction 4 stars
6/30/13 satya how the hell burstyn didn,t get an oscar....shame 5 stars
2/14/13 amol i bet if anyone can forget this movie and its soundtrack , the most depressing movie 5 stars
2/09/12 David Hollingsworth Depressing, riveting, and well-acted 5 stars
3/16/11 Dylan Im never watching it again. I don't need to. Ill never forget it 4 stars
4/30/10 Marilyn Treat your refrigerator with respect...you never know 4 stars
4/24/10 GP A haunting masterpiece. Almost transcendental. 5 stars
3/05/10 TJFfkA gSLuUEPP 1 stars
2/27/10 Captain Ted So depressing/disturbing, I bought DVD then tossed in garbage. 4 stars
8/25/09 jeffo dont care about drug addicts or their pain, ill pass. 1 stars
2/23/09 shark fukin amazing film didnt get into it at first but after a while. 5 stars
12/16/08 /Martis Good to see most people possess deeper appreciation. This is a masterpiece. 5 stars
11/15/08 Karina i can't believe anyone would call this film horrible. 5 stars
9/10/08 PAUL SHORTT AN UNRELENTINGLY GRIM DRAMA OF DESOLATION AND DESPAIR 1 stars
5/09/08 JAL Supreme realest/best movie ever/ gives me the same intense feeling since the first time i saw it 5 stars
5/06/08 Simon Wow amazing film. Leaves my head buzzing after each viewing.Definitly my favourite film. 5 stars
5/02/08 Greets dull and boring, 2 hours of stating the obvious about these type of stupid heroin fuckheads 1 stars
10/04/07 Kristis i loved it! amazing acting & overall very good story line. 5 stars
7/30/07 brian just because a movie is graphic does not mean it will be good. Terrible acting. 1 stars
6/06/07 David Pollastrini found it to be pretty dull 1 stars
5/09/07 Nic A film thats standing in its own- With a big massive neon light saying MASTERPIECE - AMAZIN 5 stars
5/04/07 malakogavlis no other film can be compared to that masterpiece 5 stars
3/28/07 fools♫gold Sure, there's more to EVERY movie than "people" think. Not bad; not a masterpiece. 4 stars
12/16/06 Mike K Best movie I've ever seen! AMAZING 5 stars
11/24/06 Doug What can I say? 5 stars
9/29/06 Ambrielle AMAZING. Actors are simply BRILLIANT in their portayals of junkie life. Music was awesome! 5 stars
9/22/06 Pritchett 'Never saw the appeal of this film. TRAINSPOTTING and PI are both infinitely better. 1 stars
4/30/06 ederl this movie sucks!! 1 stars
4/27/06 MP Bartley Jittery style covers the emotional emptiness, but it has effective shock value. 4 stars
3/03/06 Tanya loved it the drug seens were great 5 stars
2/17/06 Suhail disturbing but a must see for all junkes 5 stars
12/26/05 lisa it's sara's own decision to lose weight, because she want to fit in her red dress 5 stars
12/17/05 matt good film but maybe a little preachy 4 stars
10/16/05 Johnny Definitely the best movie of 2000. 5 stars
10/05/05 Jesse Taylor The best movie of 2000. One of my all time favourites. Burstyn is mesmerizing. 5 stars
9/06/05 Chris Roll This is a movie for people who've either been there or have been close to someone who has 5 stars
8/25/05 8=====D It is quite ghey 1 stars
8/03/05 ALDO Overacted, overdone, ultra-hip MTV style shit. Bad in a Boondock Saintian way 1 stars
7/27/05 CJ Should be required viewing (its also a book, READ IT) 5 stars
7/01/05 Brian Akin to having a 10th grade life-ed essay screamed in your face. 1 stars
5/12/05 MCKROB i'll never do drugs after watching this flick... 5 stars
5/02/05 MeredithL Harrowing, realistic 5 stars
4/04/05 Daveman Has its moments, but overall leaves nothing to the imagination. 2 stars
4/04/05 Vince A mind blowing experience. The actors really shine. 5 stars
3/25/05 indrid cold Don't see what's so great about it, except a peek at Connelly's carpet. 3 stars
3/07/05 papillon excellent 5 stars
2/27/05 Michael More to the movie than people think. 5 stars
2/02/05 Steve Michaud And Julia Roberts won the Oscar over Ellen Burstyn???? 5 stars
1/31/05 New Jersey Rules Fuckin' great. 5 stars
1/09/05 Abbath Nicely filmed, poorly acted and written. Completely and utterly overrated. 2 stars
12/13/04 david grohl Excellent movie... incrdulous 5 stars
12/07/04 Kurt Cobain Easily the best of 2000. Shocking. 5 stars
10/25/04 Tom Ciorciari best film of 200o. Period. That and Ellen Burstyn's best performance. Ever. 5 stars
9/26/04 Tor Honolulu I confess I hate people who hate this movie. There, I said it 5 stars
9/14/04 malcolm after hearing so much about it some of the shock factor was lost on me.extremely well made 4 stars
7/09/04 Tony The most shocking and disturing movie I've ever seen. Disturbingly brilliant. 5 stars
5/07/04 wylene I've seen this story line up close and personal 5 stars
4/28/04 Jon A movie with a serious moral doesnt have to have catharsis but this movie fakFUCK OVERKILL! 2 stars
4/09/04 A F If not for the great Screenplay...Then watch it for the Cinematograpy!! 5 stars
3/26/04 gromm Oh. My. Fucking. God. Showcase's strongest warning wasn't enough. 5 stars
3/16/04 Epitomi It was too disturbing I stared at the wall for about 15 minutes after it went off 4 stars
2/24/04 mike guess what? heroin is bad for you. there, i just saved you 2 hours. 2 stars
2/23/04 Naturezrevenge Transcendental. If you liked this (and if you know whats good for u), see "PI" (same dir) 5 stars
2/13/04 Kai Captivating in its portrayal of sinking into the mire with no emotional catharsis in sight 5 stars
1/29/04 Zeus A simplistic preachy message that is nonetheless delivered with power, conviction and grace 4 stars
1/24/04 Elena this film was stunning, shocking and provocative. disturbing yet beautiful. 5 stars
1/15/04 Tiffinee Life altering movie- the best ever. 5 stars
12/27/03 Zion I love this film. It haunts me. I cant say enough great things about it. 5 stars
12/20/03 Alice F*cking awesome!!!!! 5 stars
12/15/03 Mike This is the best movie I've ever seen 5 stars
12/09/03 Samuel A really great movie!! 5 stars
11/01/03 Honolulu Tur More to offer its audience than 99%of all other movies..no kidding & I mean that literally 5 stars
9/21/03 Laurie Ann Buckley Greatest movie ever. Excellent soundtrack. 5 stars
9/02/03 Vince A haunting experience 5 stars
8/28/03 Mr. Hat Renegade is so right. Aronofsky is unbelievably brilliant. It's not just showing off style! 5 stars
8/26/03 Zoran Radic Simply the best 5 stars
8/02/03 Renegade Bushido Forget the Say No to Drugs campaign, just show the kiddies this! 5 stars
7/31/03 Nicole Without a doubt, the most depressing movie I have ever seen. The end made me nautious 4 stars
7/22/03 Rose Joslin One of the worst movies I have ever seen. I thought this would be a funny movie about danci 1 stars
7/17/03 Lindsey I love it.... 5 stars
7/08/03 Kris B. Mind blowing, a masterpiece, not for the weak of heart or mind. 5 stars
5/20/03 your worse goddamn nightmare Makes you really feel the drag of an addict. It's a heavy, but incredible film. Great... 5 stars
5/17/03 Mr. Hat (I'm Back Mo'Fos!) Aronofsky deserves every Best Director award there is!!! 5 stars
5/12/03 stevo very disappointing after the stunning pi, one-dimensional and predictable; vicious though 3 stars
5/09/03 Jack Bourbon Have mercy on me on my pathetic being, O Great and Terrible Refrigerator!!! 4 stars
5/07/03 leroyjones its pretty good...a little overratted...but somewhat realistic 4 stars
4/23/03 Spunky G A bit bleak, but great light/dark contrast and cinematagraphy 4 stars
4/16/03 cinkcool great 5 stars
4/13/03 Jack Sommersby Showy camerawork at service of overly familiar story. Unrevealing and boring. 1 stars
4/06/03 Phil M. Aficionado Horribly depressing + engaging; Burstyn? Incredible. Shower please. Wow. 4 stars
3/23/03 Rachel absolutely incredible...one of the best movies I've seen 5 stars
3/22/03 Skankin' inThePit excellent movie but really sad at the end 5 stars
3/15/03 arwen oddstar really hits home, brought me out of it. 5 stars
3/15/03 Taylor Fladgate The American version of "Trainspotting". Outstanding. 5 stars
3/01/03 Kyle Incredible. Should be required viewings for high school students 5 stars
1/18/03 gökçen aslan it is really a sad but not an unbelievable story .Everything was quiet predictable 4 stars
1/16/03 serbay yurduseven a Perfect Film from Aronofsky 5 stars
1/13/03 Vince one of the only films that leaves me in a cold sweat. 5 stars
12/28/02 grardo great music, good acting... one of the best movies 5 stars
12/04/02 The Talking Elbow Horribly, horribly grim. But it leaves you wide-eyed, and takes you on an emotion trip. 5 stars
11/21/02 Bruno Sympathy for the characters who destroyed their own lives? They got what they deserved. 1 stars
10/06/02 moestifer the bitchslap reviewer is right -- kinda good looking, that's all 3 stars
9/26/02 Morally Sound My favorite movie! Matthew Libatique's cinematography kick ass! 5 stars
9/06/02 ButterNutButtCrunch Its the best drug related movie!!!!! 5 stars
9/01/02 Robbie Banfitch excellent drama 5 stars
8/28/02 Anonymous Connelly is HOT. 4 stars
8/19/02 Mr. Hat (I'm Back!) In Stanley Kubrick's version of a cartoon, a Smokey the Bear episode is taken seriously. 4 stars
8/14/02 conman Amazing. Takes filmaking to a new level. 5 stars
8/04/02 nanojath Sucked ass. message: junkies don't really roll in the big score. Rent Superfly instead. 2 stars
8/01/02 GOOD the best educational drug movie ever, like fear and loathing with a pulse 5 stars
7/31/02 I Can't Swim Watching movies over 30yrs now, this tops them all by several thousand miles 5 stars
7/29/02 Cuboidz W O W 5 stars
7/27/02 sdjfsdkjf slow at times but the ending hits you. Leto's arm was offff but that violin score was great 5 stars
7/09/02 .Choadushouse. Definatly one of the best films ever made. Geniuswork. A masterpiece. 5 stars
7/08/02 Party Animal Ass to Ass! 5 stars
6/20/02 Robbie Banfitch The best film ever yo. I like pizza 5 stars
6/17/02 Thomas Spaulding I haven't seen trainspotting yet, but fuck it, this is better 5 stars
6/10/02 Ryan Hill a masterpiece! 5 stars
5/30/02 JD pretentious crap but still better than gummo if that says anything 1 stars
4/30/02 Rebecca terrible and over rated, but ellen did fantastic, still terrible 1 stars
4/28/02 Butterbean If you care more about the movie's production than anything else, you will love this one. 3 stars
4/27/02 coollisa it's a fucking awesome movie. It's the greatest film ever! 5 stars
4/24/02 DEE The director overfed the audience what was going on in the characters' minds. 4 stars
4/10/02 Caiphn Terrific film. Ellen Burstyn was incredible. 5 stars
3/01/02 Party Animal Ass to Ass! 5 stars
2/28/02 Alan Smithee A good but flawed film that makes Trainspotting look like a Disney flick. 4 stars
2/24/02 lizzietizzie not the feel-god movie of the year... but it was great... 5 stars
2/17/02 Clarance See this fucking movie! WOW! I you won't believe your eyes! 5 stars
2/02/02 Clarance HOLY FUCKIN SHIT 5 stars
1/31/02 Don Hite Burstyn is absolutely incredible! One of the best movies I've ever seen! 5 stars
1/15/02 Caulfield The horror of everyday life that we are too blind to notice is revealed to us here. 5 stars
1/12/02 Doug Wow. Im just sitting here stunned. Again, WOW. 5 stars
1/08/02 Spyguy2 Oh man was this wicked sick...a masterpiece...and Jennifer Connelly is so fucking HOT 5 stars
12/15/01 Ian Barr Best direction ever? I don't know, but definitely most EFFECTIVE. Awesome performances, too 5 stars
12/06/01 Bada Bing Crosby Nothing even comes close; movie is quantum 5 stars
12/01/01 Jeff Wilson If they showed this instead of DARE, there would be no drug abuse. 5 stars
10/30/01 Marc music and cinematography made this movie incredible 5 stars
10/27/01 Dimitri One of the most disturbing films I've ever seen. About all manner of habits, not just drug 5 stars
10/22/01 Cookie Cutter Powerful but really depressing. 4 stars
10/19/01 Gia Carangi Intense directing and cinematography. I expected more but got little 3 stars
10/11/01 daniboy impressive. a masterpiece 5 stars
10/11/01 Candie Apple This was the best anti-drug paraphernalia I have ever seen 5 stars
10/02/01 Paul Harris For once music, story, acting and direction come together to make a masterpiece. 5 stars
9/30/01 marcianne a rare masterpiece, love it! 5 stars
9/29/01 Phoenix Powerful, disturbing, and unforgettable 5 stars
9/23/01 mleonard hard to watch at times; very realistic; wonderfully creative imagery 4 stars
9/08/01 Josh Absolutely amazing... shocking, but amazing 5 stars
9/02/01 perverted pixie Oh the humanity!! 5 stars
8/29/01 Baphomet What a great movie; unlike the mainstream Hollywood bullshit saturated with drug references 5 stars
8/22/01 Captain Marvel Art sans content - hence artifice. It's entirely forgettable. Thank God. 1 stars
8/12/01 Monster W. Kung Powerful, yet very depressing anti-drug movie. 4 stars
8/08/01 Johnny Madwreck i was stunned, thought i hated it, then later realized I just saw a fuckin awesome movie. 5 stars
8/04/01 Timm One word: AMAZING 5 stars
7/20/01 VinnylFreak55 Vest film i have seen i a while. Blows Trainspotting out of the water as far as reality 5 stars
7/04/01 jim dyer addiction made real, I was there 5 stars
7/02/01 Simeon Briggs This is a BRILLIANT movie, not just another drugs flick 5 stars
6/30/01 Pop will eat itself disturbing, ballsy, and intelligent-it's the anti-hollywood blockbuster 5 stars
6/15/01 Doug Jablin A superior followup to Pie. Very similiar stylistically A heroin movie on acid. 5 stars
6/11/01 Liz wow, amazing film. not for the faint of heart, but definately beautifully made. 5 stars
6/11/01 ben made for tv plot/acting with corny mtv/sesame street cinematography. Conservative message. 2 stars
6/09/01 The Bomb 69 disturbing, I felt sick after this ended (in a good way) Burstyn should have won the Oscar! 5 stars
6/08/01 Trevor Vos Best film of 2000 - a lot like A Clockwork Orange 5 stars
6/08/01 Chuck Capouie You've got to see this movie! 5 stars
6/06/01 Jimbo Its great to have our eyes opened from time to time. 4 stars
6/06/01 Cole This is what they should show kids in middle school. Truly an outstanding and unique film. 5 stars
6/05/01 Psyko Doug Intense movie- Fenris's comment says it all. 5 stars
6/01/01 Bada Bing Crosby Very glad more people will see this beyond-brilliant movie on video & PPV 5 stars
5/30/01 Heather Great movie! 5 stars
5/29/01 Fenris Fuck Julia Roberts, Ellen Burstyn got screwed. Best movie of the year. 5 stars
5/27/01 A.K. Unsettling, but highly engrossing. One of the best films of the year.. 5 stars
5/26/01 svetlana i think i've found a new favorite director... 5 stars
5/24/01 greensweater Shallow characters, cool visuals, 2hr antidrugprop 3 stars
5/24/01 Basil Ellen Burstyn should have won the Oscar. 5 stars
5/02/01 Siggy Risky+ambitious but hits the nail on the spot.If Aronofsky continues this he'll be an icon 5 stars
4/10/01 Mic Incredibly powerful. Should show this to all teenagers as part of drugs education. 5 stars
3/22/01 Belinda Garbage 1 stars
3/19/01 Elendil Something that makes you stop and think afterwards 5 stars
3/19/01 J.Arcane Over rated! Mr 'Nofsky will do better, you just wait... 2 stars
3/17/01 Spetters I really needed a drink after seeing this movie. 5 stars
3/15/01 k.j.tomko Strong, v. well crafted. Script might'vebeen better 4 stars
3/14/01 Paperplate UFO I think it's time for Aronofsky to pop the prozac. 4 stars
3/14/01 Bionic Booger Stark contrast between the dreams and their reality hits hard but makes for a good film. 4 stars
3/12/01 skye not ALL that, but close to it. muchtravelledterritory,stylishlydelivered.EllenBgetstheOscar 4 stars
3/11/01 Elizabeth This movie left ME feeling devastated. Ellen Burstyn more than deserves the Oscar 5 stars
3/04/01 Adam Freeman its like someone remembered their whole dream, from start to finish. Full on. 5 stars
2/26/01 Andy A must see for any lover of good film making 5 stars
2/24/01 Marie Left me psychologically scarred for life. 5 stars
2/22/01 Damien An unrelenting ride to hell. I still can't stop thinking about it. 4 stars
2/21/01 Sascha Winter Brilliant direction of a potentially disasterous topic 5 stars
2/21/01 J. Bravo Totally gutwrenching - like an assault on your psche. 5 stars
2/19/01 Daniel Hutt fantastic 5 stars
2/13/01 matthew smith a very impressive film 4 stars
2/12/01 neil bartlett not for everyone, but a film you won't forget. The ultimate dancing machine is a total drip 5 stars
2/04/01 Aiken Drum I came out of the cinema tingling, an experience like no other film I've seen 5 stars
2/03/01 Chris I can't remember ever being made so uneasy by a movie 5 stars
1/30/01 Sarcaztix Great movie .. well directed .. a must see 5 stars
1/30/01 JT Alderman Amazing! Best film since American Beauty! 5 stars
1/22/01 Evan Price 2000's best film??? Possibly. Terrifying drug horror... 5 stars
1/14/01 Tiger Exposes many addictions, and the how quickly they drive us to despair (beyond reform) 4 stars
12/30/00 Charles Excruciating vision of self-deluded addicts' descent into their separate hells 5 stars
12/28/00 Sansnet Watkins The most powerful movie I've ever seen. 5 stars
12/17/00 Doug Dogg I've never sweated in a movie theatre before seeing this film, Aronofsky is one ill muthafu 5 stars
12/03/00 vitamin_D would have chopped of my own arm to get out ofseeing this shit 1 stars
11/27/00 Diana Knight Truly brilliant performances and filmmaking. 5 stars
11/26/00 Liam Sky When it's over you'll feel like you just got the crap beat out of you. Brilliant! 5 stars
11/25/00 ALiaS damn.......ummm, well, damn, absolutly amazing, i was afraid to walk to my car afterwords 5 stars
11/24/00 erez w. amazing! must see for everyone 4 stars
11/21/00 The Bill Head The best movie of the year!!Great acting, directing, writing..disturbing/wonderful 5 stars
11/19/00 Uncleben Excellent/Painfully Beautiful 5 stars
11/18/00 Mr. X Odd editing choices detracted from the great story. 4 stars
11/17/00 XMikeX Year's Best!! Huge fucking bitchslap. Can't wait for Aronofsky's Batman! 5 stars
11/09/00 Thor-Leo Blew me out of my seat, ruined my day. Heaviest film I've ever seen. 5 stars
11/09/00 frankko all i can say is ... wow 5 stars
11/07/00 Reverend Krule holy shit, marlon wayans can act, an' act well at that! 5 stars
11/07/00 :93: Best I've seen all year 5 stars
11/03/00 Heather Very offbeat, a little gory at times but one of this year's best 5 stars
11/02/00 Dialm4matt Best film of the decade 5 stars
10/30/00 Kriperace More art than entertainment--deeply disturbing 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  03-Nov-2000 (NR)
  DVD: 26-Feb-2002

UK
  N/A

Australia
  08-Feb-2001 (MA)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast