More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.53

Awesome: 17.61%
Worth A Look45.77%
Average: 21.13%
Pretty Bad: 2.82%
Total Crap: 12.68%

13 reviews, 64 user ratings


Latest Reviews

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

Breadwinner, The by Jay Seaver

Endless, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Nurse Betty
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Slyder

"Will leave a sweet and sour taste in your mouth."
4 stars

I went to watch this with my film class over at the theater, and when I left, I left pretty neutral. Supposedly this movie was like a black comedy. Well, sure as hell it was, but the thing is that I've never seen a black comedy LIKE THIS ONE. That’s one reason that led me to believe that I've seen one of the most original movies of this year (I've yet to see Being John Malkovich).

Good old Betty (played in a charming way by Renee Zellweger) is a waitress in a diner at Kansas City, who just wants to finish her nursing degree, and never miss a soap opera episode of "A Reason To Love," where his idol, Dr. David Ravell (Greg Kinnear in a respectable supporting role) is the star of the hospital where the soap opera takes place. Well, that sounds original, doesn't it? In the diner we also meet one of the most unusual buddies in moviemaking, Charlie (Morgan Freeman in a superb performance), and his sidekick Wesley (Chris Rock in another great performance). I won't reveal the rest of these two, only to say that the only reason that they are in Kansas City is for a job (not that kind of a job).

That’s where Betty's husband, Del (Aaron Eckhart), who's a car dealer, comes into play. She seems not interested in Betty anymore since he even cheats on her. Then these two guys come to Betty's house, ask for the job, and Del gets murdered in a violent way (I won't say more about it because I want to surprise you), why? Because its a drug job, what else? Betty witnesses this, but at the same time she's watching "A reason To Love." She enters into some kind of amnesia or schizophrenia, which makes her forget about her husband and drive off in a car that her husband let her borrow. At the end they have to chase her because in that car, that’s where the drug is. Now that was original. Some people may question this, but hey, even though I haven't seen it, that portal in Being John Malkovich worked out, didn't it?

One of the things I've got from this movie is that it blends comedy and violence in a way that when you see it, it all goes smoothly. In some places, it may not, and you'll feel the sense of "What the hell" in some scenes, but that affects little, if any, on the rest of the movie. The performances of the actors help a lot in this movie to have its effect. The key character, Betty, was played in a great way. I'm still impressed that Renee could pull it off in what I see, a difficult task (just watch the scenes where he meets Dr. Ravell, then you'll know). Probably if it wasn't for that, the movie would have probably been less effective.

Well, it also depends on a few more things too. The plot was well written, with a good message, and Neil LaBute's direction was very good. I've yet to watch his previous works, "In The Company Of Men," and "Your Friends and Neighbors." But what I've seen here, the way he directs the film, was good enough to be up to my standards. The ending is great until the very end, which I thought it was exaggerated, even for a comedy, but for the most part, this dark, road comedy movie worked out for me.

In the end, I must recommend that you watch this movie with a normal state of mind, but watch out. You won't leave the theater with a smile or a frown; you'll leave in a pretty neutral state of mind. But that will not always mean that you hated it.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=3915&reviewer=235
originally posted: 12/09/00 03:53:27
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell snide portrait of mental illness 1 stars
5/23/08 PAUL SHORTT A WIERDLY UNEVEN, REPUGNANT, SOUR, DISSATISFYING EXPERIENCE 1 stars
3/17/08 Pamela White Renee makes the movie 4 stars
2/10/07 Frank Rountree Entertaining, goofy movie, not bad 3 stars
7/18/06 David Cohen Mental illness, ain't it a hoot? 1 stars
12/16/05 R.W.Welch Has a delightfully flaky streak to it. Zellweger nails it here. 4 stars
10/11/05 Carolyn Rathburn Good film, didn't like the scalping part though 4 stars
8/09/05 C. Fidance I really liked it a lot. Thought it was fun to see Morgan in this kind of a role. 5 stars
8/07/05 Charlene Javier Renee before she sold-out. 4 stars
8/05/05 Nate Frary It was nice to see LaButte branch out a little. 4 stars
8/04/05 Carolyn Rathburn love Renee and Morgan, kind-of strange movie 4 stars
8/03/05 Eric Rollins Fine actors wasted on a mediocre story. 2 stars
2/02/04 Rocko gave me a head ache 1 stars
12/01/03 Mote Falange Incredibly original 5 stars
11/29/03 Samuel Chris Rock and Morgan Freeman save the film... 4 stars
7/06/03 Jack Sommersby Another meandering stink bomb from the talentless Neil LaBute. 1 stars
6/20/03 George Jung Amazing movie. 5 stars
4/30/03 R.W. Welch Works well in the early going but hits some false notes later on. Original though. 4 stars
11/20/02 Caiphn Not bad at all. 3 stars
8/24/02 Vito Pixie Even when Morgan Freeman shouts expletives, he's an incredible class act. Great performance 5 stars
8/06/02 Tulsa Slut Fractured bits of this&that add up to mildly amusing. 3 stars
6/04/02 I'm in (L) with a Jedi very very very good 5 stars
5/20/02 siro The on-screen chemistry between Freeman and Rock is wonderful.... 5 stars
4/08/02 hum not what i expected. unusual and very good 4 stars
3/01/02 Chowie Very very very good 5 stars
1/06/02 Andrew Carden Reene Is Hard To Not Like...Such A Distinguished and Loveable Actress. 4 stars
12/04/01 Bada Bing Crosby Fantastic, memorable, unique and boy am I glad I liked it so much, it feels great 5 stars
10/22/01 Mr. Hat (formerly Joe Zappa) One of the bloodiest, nastiest, freakiest flicks I've ever seen. 3 stars
9/05/01 luana very good 5 stars
8/16/01 Belinda Very over rated. Not the slightest bit funny. 1 stars
7/24/01 Bud A no brainer romp. A fun night out. Rene is just right. 3 stars
7/08/01 Don't waste your money on this one Even looking past all of the insults against midwesterners, I would still say it sucked. 1 stars
6/26/01 Hugo Felix - Southern California Great adventure. Good comic relief but induced reflection. 5 stars
6/17/01 artpaws Great concept; execution is TERRIBLE: pacing drawn out and lifeless 2 stars
5/01/01 Monday Morning The first violent chick flick I've encountered. Original story...should see just for that. 4 stars
4/09/01 PatrickG. Below average film, few laughs, overall boring! Stupid story! 2 stars
4/03/01 perverted pixie "I'm the law. I don't gotta do nothing." Sheer class. 5 stars
3/19/01 Shawn Chris Rock's talent was under-utilized. 3 stars
3/19/01 arcoiris original; slyly hilarious 4 stars
3/15/01 k.j.tomko Average. 3 stars
2/21/01 Rich Did not get enough attention; Renee rules 4 stars
1/12/01 Matt69 The scalping scene fucking rocked. 3 stars
11/26/00 Cristopher Revilla interesing, you won't love it or hate it, you'll be neutral 4 stars
11/04/00 Rob Nothing like "Fargo". Walked out. Unbelievable, unfunny, actors sucked (except mulletboy) 1 stars
10/28/00 toe.3 WHY??? Who gave this guy the money for this?! 1 stars
10/17/00 master.node Distracting while you watch, but there's ultimately no depth to the movie. 3 stars
10/12/00 Mr. X It doesn't know what sort of movie it wants to be. 3 stars
10/05/00 Bonnie This is one of the most original films I've seen this whole year. 4 stars
9/26/00 YelloMiata@AOL.COM Close your eyes for five seconds, enjoy the rest of the movie. 4 stars
9/25/00 malcolm MsAsh, above, is a dumb ass. 4 stars
9/18/00 Suzz has an "American Beauty" quality about it in the juxtapositioning of extreme violence with 4 stars
9/17/00 McAss Harrison Ford is the killer! 4 stars
9/17/00 KAM What's w/all the hype? This movie is not that good 3 stars
9/16/00 john smith i loved it ...Fargoish and then some ... just loved it 5 stars
9/15/00 mary collins would have been comical if annoying nurse had been viciously killed 1 stars
9/15/00 Jeppe Very good - feelgood, excellent casting, nice twisty plot. 4 stars
9/13/00 PJ Freeman is perfect, the direction is great, and the comedy works big time, really funny. 4 stars
9/13/00 Jokko You guys are holding the marketing against it. That's too bad. Freeman rocks. Great script. 4 stars
9/13/00 Movie Freek sorry. best film of the year as far as i'm concerned :) 5 stars
9/11/00 tnt a very forgetable film 2 stars
9/10/00 Boy In The Designer Bubble There should be a nurse in all theaters to revive all comatose movie goers during this film 1 stars
9/10/00 chuck Where was the comedy? 1 stars
9/10/00 Austin its alright, this movie takes too long to get funny. 3 stars
9/10/00 jonnyA hee hee , 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  08-Sep-2000 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  23-Aug-2001 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast