More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.8

Awesome53.33%
Worth A Look: 20%
Average: 2.67%
Pretty Bad: 1.33%
Total Crap: 22.67%

4 reviews, 51 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Cannibal! The Musical
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chris Parry

"Go see BASEketball instead. This is basically a student film."
1 stars

Disappointing. Not their fault, but disappointing regardless.

This was the first film that Trey Parker and Matt Stone (creators of South Park) made, and as such it's a decent enough first effort.

What's diappointing about it is that it's all of a sudden been released merely because these two hepcats are flavor of the month. It's a blatant marketing ploy. This film just isn't up to release standards. The distributors are trying to get people to see it based soley on the fact that it has the South Park guys involved.

The film, as I said, is a fair enough first effort. There is some funny moments, some very Troma blood and guts, and some musical numbers that border on humorous, but it's not enough for a wide release to be warranted.

Cannibal: The Musical is just not worth your money.

Leave "Cannibal" on the shelf and go see "BASEketball" instead. The same people are in it, and they're better. Much better.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=392&reviewer=1
originally posted: 08/31/98 02:39:05
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

5/16/12 Sheryl Granholm Catchy tunes, cannibalism, and a severe disregard for historical accuracy. Sign me up! 5 stars
5/12/12 matthew thompson dalldorf A tromasterpiece! 5 stars
12/21/10 Moose Rapper Let's build a fuckin' snowman! 5 stars
3/16/09 Josie Cotton is a goddess Another masterpiece from Troma. 5 stars
6/05/06 mary really funny 5 stars
6/01/06 Tiffany One of Trey's Best. I loved it!!!!!!!! 5 stars
5/23/06 Agent Sands Good, funny bits. Great music. 4 stars
11/21/05 chris brilliant film and a good laugh to!! 5 stars
5/04/05 rogsamsy In the words of Anna Nicol Smith "Fricken Genius!" 5 stars
1/15/05 tom funtastic 5 stars
10/08/04 nancy the music is great - best student film ever!!!! 4 stars
7/16/04 tatum Funnier than anything on the overrated "South Park" 4 stars
4/11/04 Wildcarde1 I loved it, made with no budget looks hollywood its just funny 5 stars
2/28/04 Josh AN AMAZING MASTERPIECE! 5 stars
1/17/04 defproc I hope that review is as satirical as the movie's clichéd hollywood humour... 5 stars
1/15/04 Kieran Bennett I absolutly loved it, its fucking hilarious. 5 stars
5/27/03 Chad Actually, even with the horrible production values (i.e. NO BUDGET) this is hilarious! 5 stars
5/22/03 Y2mckay "Fudge, Packer?" Uneven, but with genuine moments of hilarity 4 stars
4/26/03 Morally Sound Shpadoinklely funny. Probably the funnienst movie ever! 5 stars
4/20/03 Jack Sommersby Simply awful. Just because it's eccentric doesn't make it a success. 1 stars
9/06/02 Chancey Thunderpants Ugh, innane and just fucking moronic. Stone/Parker are the stupidest motherfuckers alive. 1 stars
1/10/02 Mr. Hat (formerly Joe Zappa) The only good Troma movie. The "South Park" dudes are two of the funniest people ever. 4 stars
12/29/01 Andrew Carden Tries Hard To Be Funny, but It's Crappy and Badly Done. 1 stars
8/07/01 Joe Zappa Cool. 3 stars
7/20/01 Gus It just sucks 1 stars
6/20/01 Aaron Dixon Perhaps the single most funniest movie I've ever seen. Definitely worth seeing 5 stars
2/15/01 LOOBER Very funny at times, gory, entertaining and original. Trey Parker's first film. 5 stars
1/04/01 SHANE BRADY THIS MOVIE KICKED ASS!! DONT BELIVE WHAT THE GAY CRITICS SAY. GO SEE IT YOU'LL BE HAPPY!! 5 stars
12/25/00 Paul Damn funny. Much funnier than South Park 5 stars
11/05/00 sickboy The greatest thing Trey Parker has ever done. 5 stars
10/27/00 Jason Kinsey it is the greatsest film of the 20th century 4 stars
5/31/00 Michael Grimm some good, some boring, but throughly original 4 stars
5/01/00 Jack Dill Hilarious and wonderful! Brings back the movie musical from the dead, and eats it! 5 stars
3/16/00 perverted pixie Southpark boys in monty python wannabe. It has its moments. 5 stars
7/31/99 RJR AMERICA'S MONTY PYTHON! BRAVO! 5 stars
7/26/99 C.F.Kane Sometimes very fuuny, sometimes very flat, but always very original. 4 stars
7/15/99 GothamDK One of the worst films I have ever seen and I like South Park. 1 stars
2/03/99 Michelle Me Belle This is the funnest movie, what other geniouses would have thought up a funny musical! 5 stars
11/29/98 d`d` Sortof a Pythonesque, Zuckerish, Mel Brooksey latex and goo type a thing... Love it! 5 stars
11/21/98 Orbital Syntax It rocks!!! That's all there is to say!!!! 5 stars
11/21/98 Wedgie Funny-assed film with addictive tunes and Japanese idians. Need I say more?!! 5 stars
11/21/98 Orbital Syntax It rocks!!! That's all there is to say!!!! 5 stars
11/21/98 Wedgie Funny-assed film with addictive tunes and Japanese idians. Need I say more?!! 5 stars
11/21/98 Orbital Syntax It rocks!!! That's all there is to say!!!! 5 stars
11/21/98 Wedgie Funny-assed film with addictive tunes and Japanese idians. Need I say more?!! 5 stars
11/21/98 Slate This movie kicks ass!!! It is a must see! Everytime I see it, I fucking die laughing!! 5 stars
10/25/98 Lord Of The Dunce Pretty average. The copy I saw had nearly no sound. 2 stars
10/14/98 Alex F. In'freakin credible! Must see it on the big screen with hundreds of drunken people! Crazy! 5 stars
9/14/98 Chip Taylor Trey and Matt are the new all-stars of comedy, today. See it imediatelly. 5 stars
9/08/98 Johny Hot and cold moments. More of the latter sadly. 2.5 rounded up for creativity. 3 stars
8/25/98 Miss Stress they're cannibals, and they sing hahahahahahahahahahaha 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Dec-1996 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A


Directed by
  Trey Parker

Written by
  Trey Parker
  Jason McHugh

Cast
  Trey Parker
  Dian Bachar
  Matt Stone



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast