More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.8

Awesome53.33%
Worth A Look: 20%
Average: 2.67%
Pretty Bad: 1.33%
Total Crap: 22.67%

4 reviews, 51 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Discovery, The by Jay Seaver

Song to Song by Peter Sobczynski

Assignment, The (2016) by Rob Gonsalves

Who's Crazy? by Rob Gonsalves

They Call Me Jeeg by Rob Gonsalves

Beauty and the Beast (2017) by Peter Sobczynski

Belko Experiment, The by Peter Sobczynski

Personal Shopper by alejandroariera

All Governments Lie: Truth, Deception, and the Spirit of I.F. Stone by Greg Ursic

Your Name by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Cannibal! The Musical
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Superfly

"Shpadoinkle!"
5 stars

I hate to disagree with OZ, but I am a huge Trey Parker fan and I would love anything this man touched. This is his first feature film and it has some flaws, but it still kicks ass. It may not be as good as BASEketball or South Park: Bigger, Longer & Uncut, but it's better than Orgazmo.

First off, I love cannibals. The thought of someone craving human flesh fascinates me for some reason. Then you cross that with a Rogers & Hammerstein musical and you've got this movie. It was made while Trey Parker and Matt Stone were in college for $125,000 and Trey Parker was kicked out in the process because he spent all his time on this movie and neglected his studies.

This movie brought back the musical comedy, even though nobody saw it at the time of release. The movie has been available since it was released about 4 years ago or so by Troma, but just recently it was re-released and put on DVD and priced to own on video. I bought a previously viewed copy of it for $40 a couple years ago after I saw BASEketball and Orgazmo.

The plot of the movie is the true story of Alferd Packer, the only man ever convicted of cannibalism in the United States. He is a cult hero in Colorado, from what I gather. It presents Alferd Packer's side of the story, maintaining that he is innocent and it mixes the story with humorous musical numbers and gross out humor.

The production value isn't the best, since it's a period piece and made with a low budget. Most of the costumes aren't very convincing, but... just look past that.

Just give it a chance!

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=392&reviewer=17
originally posted: 05/31/00 10:32:29
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

5/16/12 Sheryl Granholm Catchy tunes, cannibalism, and a severe disregard for historical accuracy. Sign me up! 5 stars
5/12/12 matthew thompson dalldorf A tromasterpiece! 5 stars
12/21/10 Moose Rapper Let's build a fuckin' snowman! 5 stars
3/16/09 Josie Cotton is a goddess Another masterpiece from Troma. 5 stars
6/05/06 mary really funny 5 stars
6/01/06 Tiffany One of Trey's Best. I loved it!!!!!!!! 5 stars
5/23/06 Agent Sands Good, funny bits. Great music. 4 stars
11/21/05 chris brilliant film and a good laugh to!! 5 stars
5/04/05 rogsamsy In the words of Anna Nicol Smith "Fricken Genius!" 5 stars
1/15/05 tom funtastic 5 stars
10/08/04 nancy the music is great - best student film ever!!!! 4 stars
7/16/04 tatum Funnier than anything on the overrated "South Park" 4 stars
4/11/04 Wildcarde1 I loved it, made with no budget looks hollywood its just funny 5 stars
2/28/04 Josh AN AMAZING MASTERPIECE! 5 stars
1/17/04 defproc I hope that review is as satirical as the movie's clichéd hollywood humour... 5 stars
1/15/04 Kieran Bennett I absolutly loved it, its fucking hilarious. 5 stars
5/27/03 Chad Actually, even with the horrible production values (i.e. NO BUDGET) this is hilarious! 5 stars
5/22/03 Y2mckay "Fudge, Packer?" Uneven, but with genuine moments of hilarity 4 stars
4/26/03 Morally Sound Shpadoinklely funny. Probably the funnienst movie ever! 5 stars
4/20/03 Jack Sommersby Simply awful. Just because it's eccentric doesn't make it a success. 1 stars
9/06/02 Chancey Thunderpants Ugh, innane and just fucking moronic. Stone/Parker are the stupidest motherfuckers alive. 1 stars
1/10/02 Mr. Hat (formerly Joe Zappa) The only good Troma movie. The "South Park" dudes are two of the funniest people ever. 4 stars
12/29/01 Andrew Carden Tries Hard To Be Funny, but It's Crappy and Badly Done. 1 stars
8/07/01 Joe Zappa Cool. 3 stars
7/20/01 Gus It just sucks 1 stars
6/20/01 Aaron Dixon Perhaps the single most funniest movie I've ever seen. Definitely worth seeing 5 stars
2/15/01 LOOBER Very funny at times, gory, entertaining and original. Trey Parker's first film. 5 stars
1/04/01 SHANE BRADY THIS MOVIE KICKED ASS!! DONT BELIVE WHAT THE GAY CRITICS SAY. GO SEE IT YOU'LL BE HAPPY!! 5 stars
12/25/00 Paul Damn funny. Much funnier than South Park 5 stars
11/05/00 sickboy The greatest thing Trey Parker has ever done. 5 stars
10/27/00 Jason Kinsey it is the greatsest film of the 20th century 4 stars
5/31/00 Michael Grimm some good, some boring, but throughly original 4 stars
5/01/00 Jack Dill Hilarious and wonderful! Brings back the movie musical from the dead, and eats it! 5 stars
3/16/00 perverted pixie Southpark boys in monty python wannabe. It has its moments. 5 stars
7/31/99 RJR AMERICA'S MONTY PYTHON! BRAVO! 5 stars
7/26/99 C.F.Kane Sometimes very fuuny, sometimes very flat, but always very original. 4 stars
7/15/99 GothamDK One of the worst films I have ever seen and I like South Park. 1 stars
2/03/99 Michelle Me Belle This is the funnest movie, what other geniouses would have thought up a funny musical! 5 stars
11/29/98 d`d` Sortof a Pythonesque, Zuckerish, Mel Brooksey latex and goo type a thing... Love it! 5 stars
11/21/98 Orbital Syntax It rocks!!! That's all there is to say!!!! 5 stars
11/21/98 Wedgie Funny-assed film with addictive tunes and Japanese idians. Need I say more?!! 5 stars
11/21/98 Orbital Syntax It rocks!!! That's all there is to say!!!! 5 stars
11/21/98 Wedgie Funny-assed film with addictive tunes and Japanese idians. Need I say more?!! 5 stars
11/21/98 Orbital Syntax It rocks!!! That's all there is to say!!!! 5 stars
11/21/98 Wedgie Funny-assed film with addictive tunes and Japanese idians. Need I say more?!! 5 stars
11/21/98 Slate This movie kicks ass!!! It is a must see! Everytime I see it, I fucking die laughing!! 5 stars
10/25/98 Lord Of The Dunce Pretty average. The copy I saw had nearly no sound. 2 stars
10/14/98 Alex F. In'freakin credible! Must see it on the big screen with hundreds of drunken people! Crazy! 5 stars
9/14/98 Chip Taylor Trey and Matt are the new all-stars of comedy, today. See it imediatelly. 5 stars
9/08/98 Johny Hot and cold moments. More of the latter sadly. 2.5 rounded up for creativity. 3 stars
8/25/98 Miss Stress they're cannibals, and they sing hahahahahahahahahahaha 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Dec-1996 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A


Directed by
  Trey Parker

Written by
  Trey Parker
  Jason McHugh

Cast
  Trey Parker
  Dian Bachar
  Matt Stone



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2016, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast