More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.8

Awesome53.33%
Worth A Look: 20%
Average: 2.67%
Pretty Bad: 1.33%
Total Crap: 22.67%

4 reviews, 51 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Long Night in a Dead City by Rob Gonsalves

All the Rage: Saved by Sarno by Rob Gonsalves

Street Fighting Men by Jay Seaver

Transformers: The Last Knight by Peter Sobczynski

Warriors of the Dawn by Jay Seaver

My Cousin Rachel (2017) by Jay Seaver

47 Meters Down by Jay Seaver

Cars 3 by Peter Sobczynski

It Comes at Night by Jay Seaver

Mummy, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Cannibal! The Musical
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Greg Muskewitz

"Bankrupt."
1 stars

From the creators of South Park, Orgasmo and BASEketball, this previously unreleased piece of trash was their first attempt into gross-out, demented entertainment.

The premise begins with a group of Mormon miners stranded in the mountainous snow, and one of them in particular going crazy and tearing the rest limb-from-limb and eating them. Following that, the movie flashes forward to the present where the man accused is standing trial. A local reporter visits him in his cell as he recounts, in rather mundane and impecunious detail (as opposed to the grisly opener), his version of the true account. Distributed by Trauma Films, the less-than-shoestringer is an uninspired collection of laughless, sophomore and half-assed gags. Apart from the blood-soaked and graphic introduction, an example of the budgetary bankruptcy is when one of the miners is mauled and killed, the body they carry around is a dressed-up dummy doll. Not even the utter pathetic, misshapen badness of it warrants any humor in any shape, manner, or form.

Directed by Trey Parker. With Parker, Matt Stone and Stan Brakhage.

[Not to be bothered with.]

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=392&reviewer=172
originally posted: 12/20/03 14:43:57
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

5/16/12 Sheryl Granholm Catchy tunes, cannibalism, and a severe disregard for historical accuracy. Sign me up! 5 stars
5/12/12 matthew thompson dalldorf A tromasterpiece! 5 stars
12/21/10 Moose Rapper Let's build a fuckin' snowman! 5 stars
3/16/09 Josie Cotton is a goddess Another masterpiece from Troma. 5 stars
6/05/06 mary really funny 5 stars
6/01/06 Tiffany One of Trey's Best. I loved it!!!!!!!! 5 stars
5/23/06 Agent Sands Good, funny bits. Great music. 4 stars
11/21/05 chris brilliant film and a good laugh to!! 5 stars
5/04/05 rogsamsy In the words of Anna Nicol Smith "Fricken Genius!" 5 stars
1/15/05 tom funtastic 5 stars
10/08/04 nancy the music is great - best student film ever!!!! 4 stars
7/16/04 tatum Funnier than anything on the overrated "South Park" 4 stars
4/11/04 Wildcarde1 I loved it, made with no budget looks hollywood its just funny 5 stars
2/28/04 Josh AN AMAZING MASTERPIECE! 5 stars
1/17/04 defproc I hope that review is as satirical as the movie's clichéd hollywood humour... 5 stars
1/15/04 Kieran Bennett I absolutly loved it, its fucking hilarious. 5 stars
5/27/03 Chad Actually, even with the horrible production values (i.e. NO BUDGET) this is hilarious! 5 stars
5/22/03 Y2mckay "Fudge, Packer?" Uneven, but with genuine moments of hilarity 4 stars
4/26/03 Morally Sound Shpadoinklely funny. Probably the funnienst movie ever! 5 stars
4/20/03 Jack Sommersby Simply awful. Just because it's eccentric doesn't make it a success. 1 stars
9/06/02 Chancey Thunderpants Ugh, innane and just fucking moronic. Stone/Parker are the stupidest motherfuckers alive. 1 stars
1/10/02 Mr. Hat (formerly Joe Zappa) The only good Troma movie. The "South Park" dudes are two of the funniest people ever. 4 stars
12/29/01 Andrew Carden Tries Hard To Be Funny, but It's Crappy and Badly Done. 1 stars
8/07/01 Joe Zappa Cool. 3 stars
7/20/01 Gus It just sucks 1 stars
6/20/01 Aaron Dixon Perhaps the single most funniest movie I've ever seen. Definitely worth seeing 5 stars
2/15/01 LOOBER Very funny at times, gory, entertaining and original. Trey Parker's first film. 5 stars
1/04/01 SHANE BRADY THIS MOVIE KICKED ASS!! DONT BELIVE WHAT THE GAY CRITICS SAY. GO SEE IT YOU'LL BE HAPPY!! 5 stars
12/25/00 Paul Damn funny. Much funnier than South Park 5 stars
11/05/00 sickboy The greatest thing Trey Parker has ever done. 5 stars
10/27/00 Jason Kinsey it is the greatsest film of the 20th century 4 stars
5/31/00 Michael Grimm some good, some boring, but throughly original 4 stars
5/01/00 Jack Dill Hilarious and wonderful! Brings back the movie musical from the dead, and eats it! 5 stars
3/16/00 perverted pixie Southpark boys in monty python wannabe. It has its moments. 5 stars
7/31/99 RJR AMERICA'S MONTY PYTHON! BRAVO! 5 stars
7/26/99 C.F.Kane Sometimes very fuuny, sometimes very flat, but always very original. 4 stars
7/15/99 GothamDK One of the worst films I have ever seen and I like South Park. 1 stars
2/03/99 Michelle Me Belle This is the funnest movie, what other geniouses would have thought up a funny musical! 5 stars
11/29/98 d`d` Sortof a Pythonesque, Zuckerish, Mel Brooksey latex and goo type a thing... Love it! 5 stars
11/21/98 Orbital Syntax It rocks!!! That's all there is to say!!!! 5 stars
11/21/98 Wedgie Funny-assed film with addictive tunes and Japanese idians. Need I say more?!! 5 stars
11/21/98 Orbital Syntax It rocks!!! That's all there is to say!!!! 5 stars
11/21/98 Wedgie Funny-assed film with addictive tunes and Japanese idians. Need I say more?!! 5 stars
11/21/98 Orbital Syntax It rocks!!! That's all there is to say!!!! 5 stars
11/21/98 Wedgie Funny-assed film with addictive tunes and Japanese idians. Need I say more?!! 5 stars
11/21/98 Slate This movie kicks ass!!! It is a must see! Everytime I see it, I fucking die laughing!! 5 stars
10/25/98 Lord Of The Dunce Pretty average. The copy I saw had nearly no sound. 2 stars
10/14/98 Alex F. In'freakin credible! Must see it on the big screen with hundreds of drunken people! Crazy! 5 stars
9/14/98 Chip Taylor Trey and Matt are the new all-stars of comedy, today. See it imediatelly. 5 stars
9/08/98 Johny Hot and cold moments. More of the latter sadly. 2.5 rounded up for creativity. 3 stars
8/25/98 Miss Stress they're cannibals, and they sing hahahahahahahahahahaha 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Dec-1996 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A


Directed by
  Trey Parker

Written by
  Trey Parker
  Jason McHugh

Cast
  Trey Parker
  Dian Bachar
  Matt Stone



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast