More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.8

Awesome53.33%
Worth A Look: 20%
Average: 2.67%
Pretty Bad: 1.33%
Total Crap: 22.67%

4 reviews, 51 user ratings



Cannibal! The Musical
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by DarkHorse

"Trey Stone and Matt Parker\.Matt Stone and Trey Parker"
4 stars

South Park's Trey Parker was the writer, star and director of this musical parody of the "Alferd Packer: THE HUMAN CANNIBAL" legend. This guy didn't do it for thrills or lure of a swanky three-picture deal....He did it for love.

Cannibal! The Musical is a feature that Trey Parker made while in college. After several rejections from major studios, the movie fell into the hands of Troma, a studio best known for its Toxic Avenger series. Lloyd Kaufman had already done a lot of cinematic slop before Toxie, but we'll get to that at a later date.

Back to the story...

Alferd is minding his own beeswax when a pack of those evil sons-of-bitches that we all hate comes into the picture. Trappers. Slimy, scheming trappers.

The REAL problem, which still looms today, is with the violent trappers. One of these trappers covets Alferd's one true love. His angel. His...uhhh...his horse.

The story is retold by a timid Packer (Trey Parker) from his jail cell as he awaits execution. He builds a wooden house inside his cell. He loves a horse in a most unnatural way, yet love blooms between Packer and a HUMAN reporter. How could this man be a killer?

If you go away with anything from this film it will be a bunch of wacko songs stuck in your head. “Let’s Build a Snowman”, “Schpidoinkle Day” and “Lets Hang the Bastard” are among the many highlights.

A great college film by a great creator. Trey Parker is much more talented than a lot of people give him credit for. If you want to see the roots of South Park, look no further.

In all seriousness, evidence has been found to support the story that Alferd offered all along. Ballistics confirmed that he did indeed shoot the “last survivor” (who supposedly killed the rest of the party). I’m betting that real men couldn’t give a shit one way or the other. He died like a hundred years ago. May he rest in peace and/or be ripped apart by hungry jackals for all eternity if he did do it. Fuck it. I have a burrito in the microwave.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=392&reviewer=167
originally posted: 05/22/03 15:20:42
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

5/16/12 Sheryl Granholm Catchy tunes, cannibalism, and a severe disregard for historical accuracy. Sign me up! 5 stars
5/12/12 matthew thompson dalldorf A tromasterpiece! 5 stars
12/21/10 Moose Rapper Let's build a fuckin' snowman! 5 stars
3/16/09 Josie Cotton is a goddess Another masterpiece from Troma. 5 stars
6/05/06 mary really funny 5 stars
6/01/06 Tiffany One of Trey's Best. I loved it!!!!!!!! 5 stars
5/23/06 Agent Sands Good, funny bits. Great music. 4 stars
11/21/05 chris brilliant film and a good laugh to!! 5 stars
5/04/05 rogsamsy In the words of Anna Nicol Smith "Fricken Genius!" 5 stars
1/15/05 tom funtastic 5 stars
10/08/04 nancy the music is great - best student film ever!!!! 4 stars
7/16/04 tatum Funnier than anything on the overrated "South Park" 4 stars
4/11/04 Wildcarde1 I loved it, made with no budget looks hollywood its just funny 5 stars
2/28/04 Josh AN AMAZING MASTERPIECE! 5 stars
1/17/04 defproc I hope that review is as satirical as the movie's clichéd hollywood humour... 5 stars
1/15/04 Kieran Bennett I absolutly loved it, its fucking hilarious. 5 stars
5/27/03 Chad Actually, even with the horrible production values (i.e. NO BUDGET) this is hilarious! 5 stars
5/22/03 Y2mckay "Fudge, Packer?" Uneven, but with genuine moments of hilarity 4 stars
4/26/03 Morally Sound Shpadoinklely funny. Probably the funnienst movie ever! 5 stars
4/20/03 Jack Sommersby Simply awful. Just because it's eccentric doesn't make it a success. 1 stars
9/06/02 Chancey Thunderpants Ugh, innane and just fucking moronic. Stone/Parker are the stupidest motherfuckers alive. 1 stars
1/10/02 Mr. Hat (formerly Joe Zappa) The only good Troma movie. The "South Park" dudes are two of the funniest people ever. 4 stars
12/29/01 Andrew Carden Tries Hard To Be Funny, but It's Crappy and Badly Done. 1 stars
8/07/01 Joe Zappa Cool. 3 stars
7/20/01 Gus It just sucks 1 stars
6/20/01 Aaron Dixon Perhaps the single most funniest movie I've ever seen. Definitely worth seeing 5 stars
2/15/01 LOOBER Very funny at times, gory, entertaining and original. Trey Parker's first film. 5 stars
1/04/01 SHANE BRADY THIS MOVIE KICKED ASS!! DONT BELIVE WHAT THE GAY CRITICS SAY. GO SEE IT YOU'LL BE HAPPY!! 5 stars
12/25/00 Paul Damn funny. Much funnier than South Park 5 stars
11/05/00 sickboy The greatest thing Trey Parker has ever done. 5 stars
10/27/00 Jason Kinsey it is the greatsest film of the 20th century 4 stars
5/31/00 Michael Grimm some good, some boring, but throughly original 4 stars
5/01/00 Jack Dill Hilarious and wonderful! Brings back the movie musical from the dead, and eats it! 5 stars
3/16/00 perverted pixie Southpark boys in monty python wannabe. It has its moments. 5 stars
7/31/99 RJR AMERICA'S MONTY PYTHON! BRAVO! 5 stars
7/26/99 C.F.Kane Sometimes very fuuny, sometimes very flat, but always very original. 4 stars
7/15/99 GothamDK One of the worst films I have ever seen and I like South Park. 1 stars
2/03/99 Michelle Me Belle This is the funnest movie, what other geniouses would have thought up a funny musical! 5 stars
11/29/98 d`d` Sortof a Pythonesque, Zuckerish, Mel Brooksey latex and goo type a thing... Love it! 5 stars
11/21/98 Orbital Syntax It rocks!!! That's all there is to say!!!! 5 stars
11/21/98 Wedgie Funny-assed film with addictive tunes and Japanese idians. Need I say more?!! 5 stars
11/21/98 Orbital Syntax It rocks!!! That's all there is to say!!!! 5 stars
11/21/98 Wedgie Funny-assed film with addictive tunes and Japanese idians. Need I say more?!! 5 stars
11/21/98 Orbital Syntax It rocks!!! That's all there is to say!!!! 5 stars
11/21/98 Wedgie Funny-assed film with addictive tunes and Japanese idians. Need I say more?!! 5 stars
11/21/98 Slate This movie kicks ass!!! It is a must see! Everytime I see it, I fucking die laughing!! 5 stars
10/25/98 Lord Of The Dunce Pretty average. The copy I saw had nearly no sound. 2 stars
10/14/98 Alex F. In'freakin credible! Must see it on the big screen with hundreds of drunken people! Crazy! 5 stars
9/14/98 Chip Taylor Trey and Matt are the new all-stars of comedy, today. See it imediatelly. 5 stars
9/08/98 Johny Hot and cold moments. More of the latter sadly. 2.5 rounded up for creativity. 3 stars
8/25/98 Miss Stress they're cannibals, and they sing hahahahahahahahahahaha 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Dec-1996 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A


Directed by
  Trey Parker

Written by
  Trey Parker
  Jason McHugh

Cast
  Trey Parker
  Dian Bachar
  Matt Stone



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast