More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.71

Awesome: 27.33%
Worth A Look44.1%
Average: 6.83%
Pretty Bad: 15.53%
Total Crap: 6.21%

10 reviews, 101 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Finding Vivian Maier by Jay Seaver

Dom Hemingway by Jay Seaver

Game of Death, The (2000) by Charles Tatum

Blue Ruin by Jay Seaver

That Demon Within by Jay Seaver

Transcendence by Brett Gallman

Amazing Spider-Man 2, The by Daniel Kelly

Hysteria by Jack Sommersby

Congress, The by Jay Seaver

Love Eternal by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Blade 2
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Scott Weinberg

"More of the same - although that's not necessarily an awful thing."
4 stars

"If you liked the first one, odds are you'll have a ball with Part 2." You'll hear this analysis rather often where several sequels are concerned, but it's never been more true than in the case of Blade 2. More of a less plot-heavy remake than an actual story continuation, Blade 2 is not interested in anything beyond quick-cut, flashy action sequences and CGI bloodletting. And to the millions adored the original film...there's nothing wrong with that.

One would be somewhat insane to expect something of cinematic substance from a movie called Blade 2, but while this sequel features more than its share of exciting action scenes and deliriously creepy gory bits - it's woefully lacking in the narrative department. Blade 2 is all premise and no plot, which makes the numerous scenes that occur in between the action sequences the pinnacle of all things tiresome.

But why carp about the dialogue and plot exposition of a comic book/horror sequel that's meant as nothing more than a slick and slimy gorefest? Fans of Blade will undoubtedly appreciate the further adventures of the tortured vampire hunter and this sequel's gleeful reliance on gross-out carnage may win over a few new fans of its own.

If the original Blade displayed a slight over-reliance on bloated backstory, the sequel goes completely in the opposite direction; Blade 2 has virtually no plot whatsoever. The movie is a barely-connected series of sleek, bloody and kinetic action sequences. Given the sheer lack of anything else substantial, it's a damn good thing the fight scenes are really freakin' entertaining.

As is often the case in genre sequels, the plot can be described in one sentence: Blade is reluctantly forced to team up with a squadron of vampire commandoes in an effort to thwart the wholly disgusting Reapers. Since these new creatures love nothing more than to snack daily on vampire blood, it's logical that the undead feel the need to defend themselves. Blade steps in because after all the vampires are gone, humans will undoubtedly be next on the buffet.

While the concept of a 'vampire squadron' would seemingly lend itself well to a sort of 'undead Dirty Dozen' vibe, none of the supporting characters are fleshed out or made the least bit interesting. A series of admittedly exciting vampire attacks manages to whittle down the number of undead commandos, thereby setting the stage for a big Blade vs. Boss Reaper death-match.

Wesley Snipes returns to the role as Blade, and he's required to do nothing more than sneer, slice and kung-fu chop to his heart's content. Given Snipes' relatively meager acting chops, it's no wonder he enjoys playing the rather dimensionless hero. Kris Kristofferson returns to the thankless sidekick role as Whistler for no logical reason - other than he was in the original. Ron Perlman has some fun as the most outspoken member of the vampire squad, while Leonor Varela is stone-cold wooden as Blade's potential undead love interest.

Guillermo del Toro (Mimic) takes over directorial duties from Stephen Norrington (Death Machine) and the transition is (for the most part) a successful one. While the original Blade seemed notably more sleek and shiny, the sequel is a decidedly darker affair, with most of the action taking place in dark hallways and drippy sewers. Much like the original, Blade 2 benefits greatly from a cranium-pounding techno-rock score which lends the comic-book carnage a frenzied and rousing pulse.

On the whole, Blade 2 is a tough movie to knock because it does manage to deliver the goods, particularly for fans of bloody cinematic mayhem. Some movies coast along solely on the strength of their "good parts" and Blade 2 certainly fits that classification. The film has a laundry list of minor shortcomings, but the numerous scenes of gory mayhem are worth the price of admission...if "gory mayhem" is your idea of a good time.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=3922&reviewer=128
originally posted: 03/23/02 17:24:20
[printer] printer-friendly format  
Marvel Characters: For more in the Marvel Characters series, click here.

User Comments

8/18/09 PD On the 8th day, God Made Blade 2. This is the Greatest Movie Ever Made! 5 stars
9/03/08 Shaun Wallner Bloody Awesome!!! 5 stars
7/23/08 JM Synth Boring, incoherent and unpleasent 2 stars
6/22/08 David V Step down from the first. 2 stars
6/17/07 al smith far better than the oringinal.great action sequences 5 stars
4/12/07 rimrhino As much as I liked the first, this one was MUCH better. 5 stars
1/21/07 del Infinitely better than that festering turd of an original. 4 stars
11/30/06 Stanley Thai Probably the best flick in the franchise. 4 stars
9/03/06 Dragon The Artist Enough with the nerdy video game concepts, Like I said,shoulda been in a more "vampiric"era 2 stars
8/02/06 dan just as good as the first film 5 stars
4/02/06 Onions! Onions! Geekiest film ever made 1 stars
3/29/06 Josh Standlee Honestly, this is one of my top 10 favorite movies of all time!!!! 5 stars
2/12/06 dresdan same old boring crap, but fairly well made 2 stars
8/28/05 Jabberjaw INFINITELY better than the straight-to-video quality original. 5 stars
8/17/05 ES Even better than the original= kick ass 5 stars
8/11/05 AmandaGhost Yes, it outdid the original, but...so does just about any shitty movie... 5 stars
8/11/05 celia At least Snipes doesn't do anymore of that "Home Alone"-esque "Yesssss" crap here... 5 stars
8/10/05 Krull Guillermo del Toro can do no wrong...well...except maybe MIMIC... 5 stars
8/09/05 Dredd Definitely severed heads and shoulder above the toilet bowl original... 5 stars
8/08/05 Chris Redfield Blade 1 = Feces. Blade 2 = Surprisingly, a blast. Trinity, uh, haven't seen yet... 5 stars
8/08/05 Usagi Yojimbo People LIKED the original piece of dross and HATED this?!?!?! What a world we live in... 5 stars
8/08/05 Jasper Makes the original look like...well...the turd that it is...del Toro RULES!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
7/22/05 Martin A sympathetic enough "villian" and outstanding choreagraphy. 4 stars
7/09/05 Moctezuma A sequel that although not as good as the first, is still a good sequel 4 stars
12/14/04 Alf Awesome film! 5 stars
12/10/04 Jason Kaul WAY too much CGI.It would have been very good if it didn't look so cartoonish. But it does. 2 stars
12/05/04 Gray real vamps vs fag goth + Wesley Snipes? me like! 5 stars
5/10/04 Daveman Major improvement over the tedious original. More action less pretentiousness and plotholes 3 stars
1/16/04 Dean great effects 4 stars
1/13/04 American Slasher Goddess A little better then the original, it has more gore, too,but still far from being good. 2 stars
9/24/03 jack when i saw this movie, i went home and bit my dog on the neck! awesome flick! 5 stars
9/22/03 Rick Howells #1 fan!!!!!!! best movie ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
8/05/03 I Would Better than original with a better plot, better pacing and better effects. 2 and 1/2 stars 2 stars
7/27/03 Rona Dissatisfying sequel to a fantastic original. Formulaic. Lacked intensity. 2 stars
6/11/03 Brannie Herez Brannie, This movie looks sooo bad that i wont even bother to pay for movie tickets. 1 stars
6/08/03 Ripper Who cares about the story, Blade is the ultimate badazz 4 stars
6/08/03 Pete Pure crap 1 stars
6/05/03 Charles Tatum Cool 4 stars
5/20/03 Mr Yellow GRREEAAT 5 stars
4/14/03 Doopy Nomak wasn't as good a villain as Frost was but it's still a decent superhero flick. 4 stars
4/08/03 B. McNeal This film kick major arse! 5 stars
3/06/03 Dina Smith This was an alright movie. Better than ''Vampires'' anyway 3 stars
2/13/03 Loyd This movie is good but the thing is that its the same thing as the first.Blade needs blood. 4 stars
2/06/03 123 like the zombies, characters in this movie are lifeless 3 stars
1/21/03 Andy Bronson if you enjoyed the action in this movie search the net for Donnie Yen films 4 stars
11/30/02 Susan Great film, adored the action sequences 5 stars
11/03/02 Rob Entertaining but dumb! 4 stars
10/24/02 Interrog8 Lacked what made the first one great. But it was still fun. 4 stars
10/07/02 Tweeter I enjoyed the special effects and gada love the hottie vampire played by Leonor Varela 4 stars
10/01/02 some dude the soundtrack was bad i didnt like it the house of pain techno music wasnt on it 5 stars
9/29/02 Morally Sound A sequel that stays true to the original and doesn't loose it like most others. 5 stars
9/26/02 Tim A sequel that was even better than attack of the craps this summer. 5 stars
9/21/02 palaboy101 Blade is the coolest vampire movie to date... This sequel further establishes that! 5 stars
9/18/02 Danielle Ophelia Gloppy gore, dark & dirty atmosphere, and kung-fu battles set to techno music...I'm happy. 4 stars
9/13/02 John McNew Hey, Phoenix. The top critics seem to like it, Roger Ebert gave it 3.5/4 stars 4 stars
9/09/02 othree actually a solid movie, one ? thou when did vampires become ninjas 4 stars
9/01/02 Doc Shock Great mindless action entertainment, if you're in the mood for that sort of thing. 4 stars
8/22/02 jade It was like one hell of a rollercoaster ride!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
8/18/02 Shams Huque Fine entertainment! 5 stars
7/15/02 JS With fight scenes like that, it should've been called Blade II: Smackdown 4 stars
7/15/02 ! Awesome special effects, blade 1 was better, third would be the same AGAIN... 4 stars
6/26/02 Jonathan Davis good movie, no bell curve, more like an up down straight up movie 4 stars
6/26/02 Natalie Stonecipher An endurance test. Worse than wiping my butt with sandpaper! 1 stars
6/20/02 Jenny Tullwartz Filmed in Prague but not worth Czeching out. Interminable & monotonous. 1 stars
5/18/02 Phoenix Even better than the first, which was great. What the fuck is those movie critics problem. 5 stars
5/17/02 big t awsome 5 stars
4/25/02 Shane Robert Myers This WAY!!!!!! better than the 1st one & alot more action & thrills!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
4/22/02 Bruce WOW! I was impressed! tons of action and thrills 5 stars
4/09/02 Eloise lotsa fighting - not much else. B1 was much better 3 stars
4/08/02 Jim Lots of action, but kinda disgusting even by my standards! 4 stars
4/08/02 Koitus The first one was MUCH better. This one is OK, as long as you go with the right mindset! 3 stars
4/08/02 Brian Movie kicked ass, possibly the best horror/action i've ever seen! 5 stars
4/05/02 Daniel Fuck you if you don' t like it 5 stars
4/05/02 Obi Wan I loved all the action sequences, no matrix ripoffs, good fight scenes! NEXT!!! 4 stars
4/03/02 Titus Poor plot, poor dialogue, unsatisfying action sequences, idiot characters. Frustrating. 2 stars
4/01/02 M. Lloyd More mindlees violence than you can shake a stick at. Get a big tub of popcorn for this one 4 stars
4/01/02 KMG If I wanted low-budget action garbage I would've watched a Stalloner 1 stars
3/29/02 DAN WRIGHT HELLO PLOT WHERE ARE YOU, OH THERE YOU ARE BUT YOUR ALL FULL OF HOLES 1 stars
3/29/02 Janine Lay I love Wesley Snipes, What can I say? I agree, plot sucks but great gore and fights 4 stars
3/28/02 Spyguy2 A nut-filled turd. 2 stars
3/28/02 melissa Blade II was the best movie I've seen in years, it really does the vampires justice 5 stars
3/28/02 malcolm super-violent, choppy story,not as good as the first 2 stars
3/28/02 wintermute I am still cleaning gizz of my movie seat 5 stars
3/26/02 Daedalus Why do my comments get deleted? I want people to know Blade 2 sucks. 2 stars
3/26/02 the Knave Well, other than being a CGI-enhanced repeat of the first movie's plot, it was fun. 4 stars
3/25/02 Roy Smith Violent. Gory. Bring the kids! Why is Whistler alive though? 4 stars
3/25/02 ntwrage It was shit, a big steaming pil of shit. 1 stars
3/25/02 Mike Miller Bad Ass Fucking Sequal to a Bad Ass fucking Movie! 5 stars
3/25/02 Rockitman007 pretty good sequal 4 stars
3/25/02 Veronica Foxx aka The Raven-Haired Temptress Well, I'm a sucker for vampires, blood, gore and other gross crap. Thoroughly enjoyable. 4 stars
3/25/02 UnkleFukka Peter/Claude...go suck a Canadian dick 5 stars
3/24/02 Peter Very bad! Absolutely ridiculous!!! Another american trash movie! For low I.Q. 1 stars
3/24/02 Claude A piece of shit! 1 stars
3/24/02 Brilanna This was much better than the first one. It was packed with non stop action. 5 stars
3/24/02 john WHO CAN STOP BLADE?!... 5 stars
3/24/02 Mikey Levy I am fat 5 stars
3/23/02 Daedalus Too many tired old plot devices. Action made it only slightly enjoyable at best. 2 stars
3/23/02 The Bomb 69 nice storyline with the mutated vamps, blood and gore is good 4 stars
3/23/02 E unreal movie, just plain fun 5 stars
3/23/02 WorkingClassDog If you are not looking for action stay home. 5 stars
3/23/02 Butterbean The action scenes weren't as impressive, but the storyline is much better! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  22-Mar-2002 (R)
  DVD: 03-Feb-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  11-Jul-2002




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2013, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast