More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.69

Awesome83.59%
Worth A Look: 8.05%
Average: 3.72%
Pretty Bad: 3.1%
Total Crap: 1.55%

3 reviews, 305 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Goodfellas
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Jack Sommersby

"Been-There/Done-That"
2 stars

There were four gangster pictures that came out in 1990: "Miller's Crossing" and "The Godfather Part III" and "State of Grace" and "Goodfellas." My favorite of the lot is the one from the Coen brothers.

Outstanding in directing, editing and photography, Martin Scorsese's Goodfellas is a sterling example of filmmaking virtuosity. Throughout its two hours and twenty-five minutes you're never likely to be bored even though the screenplay that director Scorsese co-wrote with Nicholas Pileggi (based on his non-fiction book) never has the contextual quality worthy of all the technical expertise bestowed upon it. Overall, despite some standout scenes, it's awfully familiar stuff -- like Brian De Palma's abominable Scarface remake from seven years prior, it rubs our noses in the visceral elements of the crime world without breathing much in the way of fresh life into it, and expects a lengthy running time to give the audience the impression they're witnessing something "epic." It also shares with Scarface the same central flaw: an inadequate, downright-nonexistent dramatic interpretation. Which is a shame in that this is the first starring role for Ray Liotta, who previously impressed with his darkly intense work as Melanie Griffith's ex-convict boyfriend in Something Wild -- he had a nervy unpredictability that gave the second half of that overrated film some juice. Talented and charismatic, Liotta headlining a major motion picture had promise, but his Henry Hill, a mid-level part-Irish/part-Italian New York gangster who grew up in the life from his early teens, simply doesn't have the interesting layers for the picture to sustain itself. Henry is our eyes and ears into the underworld - well, "underworld" isn't the right word in that the criminality rampant in Henry's Brooklyn neighborhood is anything but covert: the mob boss Pauline (Paul Sorvino) runs things out of a pizzeria, with the gang hanging around inside and outside day and night, doing business and issuing orders and even occasionally brutalizing (like assaulting the local mailman and threatening him with a short-lived lifespan if he delivers any more mail to Henry's home from the school about Henry's habitual absences so he can run numbers and park cars and run errands for the men, and much to his poorly paid father's chagrin, pulling in more money than him). The picture spans from 1955 to 1980, and it's quite the casualty that Henry remains just as much a blank at the end as he was twenty-five years earlier: there's nothing resembling a through-line charting either an emotional progression or degradation; and because we're never actively engaged in Henry, we have absolutely no stake in his ultimate fate.

Not since Stanley Kubrick's lackadaisical Full Metal Jacket has there been such a vapid cinematic exercise that gets all the physical details right but hasn't so much as a shred of dramatic power. Through all the stunning production design and graphic violence we have trouble ascertaining what exactly Scorsese is going for, except for perpetrating a grandiose version of his 1973 also-Brooklyn-set Mean Streets on us and trying to call it revelatory. Narrative has never been this director's strong suit, but we're swept along for about an hour by the fluid camera movements and crackerjack editing because they're so ungodly brought off -- these are first-rate contributions that can't be ignored, but they're always emphasizing the physical and never pointing up or accentuating the emotional. Scorsese loves using the camera as an active participant: on two separate occasions he uses one long unbroken take to take us inside a restaurant or nightclub frequented by the Mob, and we see the regulars and the preferential treatment afforded them; Scorsese wants us absorbed in the milieu, seduced by the luxurious side of the life, which the velvety cinematography by Michael Ballhaus (who lit Scorsese's After Hours) lovingly details. He also gives us sudden outbursts of violence, usually perpetrated by Henry's hothead of a childhood friend Tommy (Joe Pesci), a genuine sociopath who can shoot an errand boy dead for mouthing off to him and insist that everyone at his table keep playing cards. There's also the legendary, much-feared Jimmy Conway (Robert De Niro), who at the age of twenty-eight helped tutor teenagers Henry and Paulie ("Never rat on your friends, and always keep your mouth shut"); it's Jimmy, the cool-headed of the lot, who masterminds the big and little scores, ranging from hijacking trucks full of cigarettes and televisions, stealing large sums of cash being transported at the airport. But for all the cash they make out with they're always in need of another score because they spend it as fast as it comes in on lavish meals, extravagant tipping, fancy houses and apartments for their wives and mistresses. So when cocaine is becoming popular, even after Paulie puts out a stern warning not to deal in it (why, we're not exactly sure) these three start trafficking in it (Henry has a connection in Pittsburgh) because the incredible profit margin is just too lucrative to pass up.

With its painstaking attention to detail, Goodfellas is sometimes alluring stuff, and with Scorsese's operatic direction it's very easy for the audience to be swept along by the visual grandeur of it all. But after a while we find ourselves distanced from the goings-on because they become monotonous and aren't rooted in anything particular -- it's fancy-pants window dressing with nothing underneath. The picture has no core, because Henry, who's in just about every scene, hasn't one. As a teenager, Henry used up eight aprons tending to a wounded man unknown to him who stumbled to the pizzeria storefront after being shot, much to the chagrin of the guys (a waste of aprons, they grumbled, along with police attention when the ambulance arrived), and his now-adult self is conflicted when Jimmy confides in him that he's going to take out a motormouth member of their squad. Both Jimmy and Tommy kill, but Henry doesn't, which is a cheap trick employed by the moviemakers to keep their leading character from losing all audience sympathy. And Henry's wife Karen (Lorraine Bracco), who starts out repelled by Henry's illegal activities and frustrated at his infidelities, and who eventually becomes just as much a cokehead as him, turns her back on the values of her religious upbringing. That a life of crime is all-encompassing corruptive is hardly news, and because Scorsese is interested only in the visual possibilities of the well-worn material he's put himself in the untenable artistic position of trotting out an array of moral degenerates and refusing to unearth any dimensionality -- it's not just that the characters are shallow but that they've been shallowly conceived. Francis Coppola's The Godfather, which was far from flawless, at least provided the character of Michael Corleone with something of a dramatic arc as he progressed from someone who wanted nothing to do with his Mafia-don father's "business" to someone who, with no kicking or screaming, abandoned his morality to save and preserve it. By contrast, Henry is a passive-observer protagonist who narrates the proceedings for us, and he has no weight. And neither does Liotta, who's devoid of both personality and appeal, along with the magnetism that would give us a clue what draws women to Henry. Maybe it's the lack of underpinnings of the role that doomed him, but Liotta is detrimentally bland.

De Niro, who has even less to work with than Liotta, doesn't seem to have come up with anything new: as usual, he conveys intelligence and the train of thought; what's missing is the element of wit, surprise. (He gave a much fuller performance as the illiterate, down-on-his-luck blue-collar laborer in Stanley & Iris earlier in the year.) Pesci makes a much more forceful impression; then again, he has the showiest part (similar to the one De Niro played in Mean Streets), though his abrasive jackanapes routine does grow tiresome after a while. Bracco starts out in fine control but is eventually undone when her character is reduced to cheap hysterics. The best performance, and the only one that feels genuine, is Sorvino's -- as Paulie, the man everyone answers to, he uses his considerable heft understatedly, his eyes unnervingly, especially in the scene where Paulie has taken Henry aside and warned him about dealing cocaine. Four years prior in Blake Edwards's farce A Fine Mess Sorvino was broadly funny as an opera-singing Mafioso; here, much less actorish than Marlon Brando in The Godfather, he gives Paulie gravitas, rootedness, and the picture loses a great deal of goodwill when he's off-screen. And there are notable contributions in smaller roles, particularly from Tony Darrow as a nerve-frazzled restaurateur, Chuck Low as a hairpiece salesman who doesn't know when to stop needling Jimmy, and Debi Mazar as one of Henry's mistresses. No less praiseworthy is the dynamite work from Scorsese's longtime, Oscar-winning editor Thelma Schoonmaker, which is a performance in and of itself, with the razor-sharp scene transitions ahead of us by a crucial second or two. The pulsating soundtrack, chock-full of spot-on pop hits from the various decades, helps propel us along, as well. And the immaculate production and costume designs couldn't be bettered. But they're all at the service of a second-rate screenplay that leaves no cliche unturned. In Scorsese's previous picture, the miraculous The Last Temptation of Christ, you sensed a director challenged, working his beliefs and feelings out along the way -- it was an "experience," all right, for both the viewer and the filmmaker. Yet with Goodfellas Scorsese's back on too-familiar ground, and while his directing may never have been more impressive, the picture is much ado about nothing. The behind-the-times Scorsese is still taking seriously what Jonathan Demme's colorful 1988 Married to the Mob already kidded the pants off of.

For great Scorsese check out "The Last Temptation of Christ" and "The Last Waltz."

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=393&reviewer=327
originally posted: 03/19/13 11:40:19
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell great & gritty fuck the haters 5 stars
4/24/16 Ken Not only one of the best gangster movies, but, also one of the best movies ever created. 5 stars
4/21/16 Nick One of the best movies ever. 5 stars
9/22/15 Kyndal Smith One of the best mob movies ever! 5 stars
8/30/15 victor diaz I always wondered why there wasnt a ton more movies like this 5 stars
3/01/15 dan longino MOST SHIITIEST MOVIE EVER MADE, AWFUL, AND REALLY PATHETIC 1 stars
9/24/14 Jerry Saravia Aside from borrowing liberally from Pauline Kael's review, not a bad review 5 stars
9/18/14 Jeff WIlder My number one Film of all-time. Classic. 5 stars
3/24/14 Justin R. How can you not like this? It's a classic. 5 stars
4/02/13 Caleb Never thought this was as great as it's been cracked up to be either. 3 stars
3/20/13 Daniel M. Along with "Raging Bull", Scorsese's best 5 stars
3/02/12 stanley welles cinematic magic 5 stars
9/05/11 Scot DeCristofaro as accurate & true account of the underworld….great acting, wonderful story line..loses it 4 stars
7/25/10 art "OH WOW",yet another "GANGSTER MOVIE"! 1 stars
6/08/10 Flathead King An enjoyable film to watch but characterization is not its strong point. 3 stars
6/08/10 David Hollingsworth Would watch every 5 minutes if humanly possible 5 stars
6/06/10 User Name Goodfellas loss to Dances With Wolves at the 1990 Oscars is a travesty. 5 stars
4/08/10 art FORGET ABOUT IT! 1 stars
3/25/10 Jeff Don't forget about viewing this film, if you haven't seen it! 5 stars
3/21/10 art forget it about IT! 1 stars
1/08/10 Dane Youssef Best of 1990. One of Scorsese's finest. We go over a length of a great lifetime. Operatic. 5 stars
10/30/09 Omar I can't praise this film enough. A must-see. 5 stars
10/29/09 Billy Moron 1 stars
1/16/09 Vito Corleone not bad, but I've seen better 4 stars
1/15/09 FrankNFurter The finest American movie ever made.Unfettered brilliance! 5 stars
9/22/08 don Amazing 5 stars
9/17/08 Jeph Screenplay/acting: superior! Must-see. 5 stars
9/11/08 PAUL SHORTT TECHNICALLY BRILLIANT BUT WHOLLY UNEXCEPTABLY REPELLENT 2 stars
8/11/08 George Barksdale One of the best 5 stars
2/26/08 pkr - 'hey, let's do a gangster-movie about wannabe-gangsters!' -"Oki-doki!' 3 stars
2/18/08 Pamela White great mob story 5 stars
2/16/08 Gerald My #1 favorite film. 5 stars
10/26/07 Sagan It never gets old. 5 stars
10/20/07 Quigley Lives up to the name it's made for itself. Every bit a masterpiece. Essential film viewing 5 stars
7/25/07 Jimmy Bambino The most one liners of all movies, even more than Cint E. movies. 5 stars
6/28/07 David Pollastrini brilliant. Pesci is hilarious 5 stars
5/12/07 Derek Great Movie! Saw parts on TV. Then rented it and loved it. 5 stars
4/21/07 Adrian This movie is garb and it put me to sleep, Scarface destroys this. 2 stars
3/15/07 johnny greastest gangster movie ever made,sad thing is...there will nebver be another like it....e 5 stars
2/14/07 action movie fan dragged too much-like taxi driver and the departed alot better 3 stars
2/13/07 The chode Awesome. 5 stars
12/22/06 Eric Phelps Not enough great things to say about this film. 5 stars
12/17/06 Denise Badness at its best! Scorsese is beyond brilliant 5 stars
11/12/06 cody I saw this movie own tv, it lot cool in it but is no godfather flim. 3 stars
10/09/06 Bugsy Liked Casino better but still good. 4 stars
9/29/06 Josh Racine Every minute of this film is awesome. 5 stars
8/14/06 Sharon definatly powerful and gives you a good look at mob life 5 stars
6/01/06 abcdefz Arguably the best film of all time; inarguably the most masterful 5 stars
4/30/06 Joshua Best gangster movie ever! 5 stars
3/18/06 MP Bartley Utterly superficial...but what superficiality it is! 5 stars
3/17/06 HL A Wild Ride...Great Entertainment. 5 stars
1/28/06 Reklc Second best only to Once upon a time in America and The Godfather 1& 2. 5 stars
11/28/05 HL A wonderful ride with gangsters...Pesci and the boys from New Yaawk. Great filmaking! 5 stars
11/25/05 Agent Sands One of the top five greatest films ever made. Period. 5 stars
11/18/05 John Dog Best movie of the 1990s. 5 stars
11/16/05 bluntgrl One of the best movies ever made 5 stars
11/12/05 Jim sleeth Awesome, a real look at the mob. Surperb acting from all cast members 5 stars
11/08/05 millersxing violent and poignant; superb! 5 stars
11/05/05 PAG One of the top 20 movies of all time. 5 stars
10/16/05 Moctezuma Excellent! A top notch mob picture! 5 stars
10/14/05 ram1brn good movie well done 5 stars
10/07/05 Johnny The best mob movie, without a doubt. 5 stars
9/30/05 Indrid Cold Didn't blow me away, but certainly well done. 4 stars
9/29/05 Michael Blower One of the top 5 movies of ALL time 5 stars
9/22/05 Fritz Engrossing and very entertaining insider's look at the mob. 5 stars
9/08/05 bac my favorite mob movie 5 stars
9/08/05 Johnny Best gangster movie ever. 5 stars
6/13/05 Agent Sands One of the greatest movies ever made. Period. 100% perfect. 5 stars
5/29/05 Jake The Best Mob movie of the 90's! 5 stars
5/19/05 wendy rogers Awesome Movie....I can watch it over and over again! 5 stars
5/06/05 Regis The best gangster movie ever made. 5 stars
4/21/05 Colleen Goldrick Foget about it SEE IT 5 stars
4/11/05 Ann Lemire Very good 5 stars
3/24/05 matjaž entertaining and pretty clever(Scorsese what are you doing now) 4 stars
3/24/05 Colleen Goldrick Timeless 5 stars
3/23/05 eddie fan #1 the best mafia movie in history, fuckers 5 stars
3/09/05 Los Daddy Please Shut Pesci up...Bang...Thank you...Ranks with Godfather...Loved it 5 stars
3/08/05 Taylor Fladgate Scorsese's finest moment 5 stars
2/19/05 sam bonner best mob movie ever made- and Scorsese's best directing job 5 stars
2/18/05 susee this is scorsese we wanted to see.not bio picking 5 stars
1/27/05 Jeff Anderson MY FAVORITE FILM OF ALL TIME!! Liotta, DeNiro, Bracco, Sorvino, and especially Pesci RULE!! 5 stars
1/04/05 magaafi touching, well acte funny gangster/drama & comedy. dont c it>? ur a dikhed! that simple!!! 5 stars
11/11/04 colin chandler the best gangsta flick around a tru classic fo real 5 stars
10/23/04 UMER in a way its even better than GODFATHER and thats saying something,isn't it? 5 stars
9/26/04 Imitate a Red Sox Fan My life changed when I saw Sorvino cut garlic w/a razor blade 5 stars
8/16/04 Peter James An amazing feat captured on film...note: Raf...Pacino was in the Godfather not Goodfellas 5 stars
8/16/04 amy the best gangster film of all time 5 stars
8/03/04 Evan Funny , Funy How ? Do I amuse you ? 5 stars
8/02/04 Raf Milis Pacino is amazing, the real violence of gang warfare is awesome..thank you Scorsese 5 stars
7/08/04 Spinz WOW plus joe pecsi was the best ani-hero EVER 5 stars
6/15/04 Lizzy The best movie ever produced 5 stars
6/04/04 Betty White All hail Lorraine Bracco! 5 stars
5/30/04 king eric By george, what a great film 5 stars
5/25/04 C Vega A movie that undoubtedly is up there with the godfather as one of the best gangster movies 5 stars
5/06/04 J.Peckerfoot There is nothing left to say bout this film,except to my unborn kids-watch it! 5 stars
5/01/04 Read it, Seen it, Done it Turns the romanticism of The Godfather on its ear with the real life violence of gangsters 5 stars
4/26/04 The man with the plan A great and soon to be a classic mafiosa film.... 5 stars
4/01/04 jesus' rotting corpse Thou shalt go an' watch this movie! 5 stars
3/31/04 sansho Terrific (if still short of awesome) 5 stars
3/28/04 Agent Sands A damned masterpiece. An epic & totally accurate gangster movie. 5 stars
3/24/04 Lord Haw Haw Go get your fuckin' shine box. 5 stars
3/22/04 Shannon Drinkwater If you don't like this movie there is a lot wrong with you. 5 stars
3/02/04 Moses "You talkin' to me?" Roth Classic Mafia movie.. 5 stars
1/24/04 CC Great 5 stars
1/21/04 Betty White Dark, masterful crime drama with Bracco & Pesci powerhouses. 5 stars
12/26/03 steve irwin Pesci and De Niro are kings!!! 5 stars
12/20/03 john one of the best gangster movies ever made 5 stars
12/07/03 ROY L. CAIN,JR. Great story, great characters, great soundtrack, and great direction. BADA BING BADA BOOM! 5 stars
10/08/03 Lesterwink23 This is my all-time favorite movie. Goodfellas kicks some serious ass. 5 stars
9/23/03 jack this movie made me go to a bar and switchblade someone who was sitting there drinking. 5 stars
9/22/03 Darryl Bad language doesn't offend me, but in such excess it's just DUMB and gets on my nerves. 2 stars
8/08/03 Horses Delight Movie of the century. 5 stars
7/07/03 Brian Best mob flick period. 5 stars
7/06/03 john_cord The Godfather has nothing on this. 5 stars
6/22/03 Jack Sommersby (the REAL one) Entertaining but cliched and dramatically muffled. 3 stars
6/19/03 Jackie Chan It is my favourite film, best film of all time 5 stars
6/01/03 bryan superb magic excellant 5 stars
5/23/03 Ryan F. Yes its good. NO its not as good as the Godfather. No its not Scorsese's best film 4 stars
5/21/03 Rob Kavanagh makes the godfather look tame 5 stars
5/15/03 joshx42 Even better then the Godfather 5 stars
5/13/03 Mr. Hat (I'm Back, Mo'fos!!!) De Niro, Pesci, Scorsese, Liotta, Bracco, all fucking Oscar-worthy! 5 stars
5/12/03 Jack Bourbon WAAAAAAAAAAY overrated. [Ever heard of The Godfather(s!)] Not the film's fault, though. 5 stars
4/17/03 Jon "Thumb the Toad" Lyrik Awesome stuff. Scorsese's best film. 5 stars
4/14/03 Dr. Vinkenstein Mafia Rules! 5 stars
4/12/03 John Best Mafia film of all time 5 stars
4/11/03 Cesar Best movie ever done 5 stars
4/06/03 Dark Barøn 0% Total crap. Not surprising. 5 stars
4/02/03 Mr. Do brilliant 5 stars
3/25/03 Jack Sommersby Entertaining and colorful, but it's dramatically limited and familiar stuff, folks. 3 stars
3/18/03 Shadaan Felfeli I loved the film,loved the cast...Lorraine Bracco is hot !! 5 stars
3/11/03 Tommy Linds The greatest gangster film ever made 5 stars
2/13/03 acidman Fanfuckingtastic. 5 stars
2/11/03 Aussie Film Maker The film that SHOULD have won an oscar in 1990. A classic you want to see again and again. 5 stars
2/10/03 pimpin this is a sweet fuckin movie 5 stars
2/07/03 GBFH go get your shinebox! 5 stars
2/06/03 123 maybe one of the best mafia movie ever, despite lengthy run it grips me the whole time 5 stars
1/29/03 lisa Joe Pesci is cute 3 stars
1/29/03 wintermute Great example of what coked out binging will do to your life 4 stars
1/28/03 The Aussie Film Reviewer Liotta is better in NARC, but this is a quality film. 4 stars
12/29/02 rotten s. milk So good! 5 stars
12/03/02 Matt way overrated 3 stars
11/29/02 SHAWSHANK REDEMPTION Xcellent Film 5 stars
11/27/02 Alex Brosky BRILLIANT 5 stars
11/25/02 Mason My favorite of all time 5 stars
11/22/02 Joe sweet 5 stars
11/22/02 dead goooooooooooooood 5 stars
11/21/02 Mason Better than the Godfather 5 stars
11/16/02 CVJ This one has definetly got a place in my top ten greatest films of all time 5 stars
11/14/02 djpinkieraye kick ass film you can't beat it just look at the camera angles and order of scenes 5 stars
11/09/02 Steve close to perfection 5 stars
11/07/02 melswick i love the film...its brilliant..fooled ya abt the boring bit..lol 5 stars
10/16/02 resident evil very good film,great performance by joe pesci especially and robert de nero 5 stars
9/27/02 DemonHawk Actually, I thought this movie was kinda boring, no offense or anything. 3 stars
8/16/02 Scott Great movie. so great.........DANCE SPIDER DANCE!!!! 5 stars
8/08/02 ! Really entertaining stuff :D 5 stars
7/31/02 GOOD a better film that the godfather 5 stars
7/27/02 karen goldstein seriously must be in the top 5 movies ever made!!!! all actors outstanding!!!! 5 stars
7/19/02 Shams Huque As good as filmmaking gets! 5 stars
7/12/02 KMG WHOA! 5 stars
6/12/02 Hulahula Funny how? like a clown? I'm here to amuse you? 5 stars
5/25/02 Charles Tatum Better than "Casino" 5 stars
4/10/02 The Grinch Excellent! De Niro and Pesci at their best. 5 stars
4/02/02 lauren mccreight without a doubt one of the best movies of the 90's 5 stars
3/24/02 JG What can I say? 5 stars
3/22/02 rodney d anyone who said anything under fucking awesome is dumb ignant 5 stars
3/14/02 Shams Huque Absolutely Superb. Watch this AND Casino, and be mesmerised... 5 stars
1/05/02 Magnum Craphole Overrated. 4 stars
12/26/01 frank my n°1 5 stars
12/13/01 Dominik Duprelle It can't really be faulted-unless you don't like violence-or America! 5 stars
12/01/01 Mark Conway Good movie, plot drags a bit though, peci is the man, and makes the movie what it is. 4 stars
11/30/01 Cookie Cutter I'm sorry, but The Godfather leaves this for shit. 4 stars
11/25/01 Caiphn "Shut-up, Spider!" *boom* 5 stars
11/16/01 CAPO BEST MOB MOVIE EVER, JOE PESCI FUCKING RULES!! 5 stars
11/11/01 samir sadek Excalent movie 5 stars
10/28/01 DaMobster If you like ganster movies than your gunna shit your pants over how great this one is. 5 stars
9/16/01 Mr. Hat (formerly Joe Zappa) Awesome. 5 stars
9/09/01 damnman damn, good ass movie, joe pesci is the best actor, godfather dont got shit on thismovie 5 stars
9/03/01 Butterbean Joe Peci gave me the chills! One of the few Oscars that was well deserved. 5 stars
8/12/01 totally staggering- left me dizzy the first time I saw it. 5 stars
8/09/01 E-Funk The most ruthless gangster movie ever made...an inch short of Godfather status. 5 stars
7/29/01 JesseL If you think this film is realistic, you are from Iowa. 4 stars
7/28/01 Henry Ginsberg One of the best gangster movies ever made .A masterpiece! 5 stars
7/20/01 skye recently saw it again. the best. 5 stars
7/18/01 Stu I've watched GoodFellas at least 15 times and it's still FUCKING amusing! 5 stars
7/13/01 AUSTINHARLEY69@AOL.com This was a very deep mafia film,it showed the fucking truth!!! 5 stars
7/07/01 TLsmooth For some reason looking at Liotta gives me gas. It's the Liotta effect. 5 stars
7/03/01 taj Most entertaining 'mobster' movie I've ever seen. Nearly flawless. 5 stars
6/23/01 erik the movieman Even better than the Godfather and that's quite an accomplishment!!! 5 stars
6/16/01 Bada Bing Crosby Fuck you, pay me 5 stars
5/28/01 Connor Dueck one of my favorite movies. 5 stars
5/04/01 The Jedi Droid Scorsese is a genius, loved this film 5 stars
5/03/01 Gracy Lionheart Maybe it's a guy thing...I liked the movie, but it isn't my favorite of its genre. 4 stars
4/24/01 Lindsay Morrison Perfect view of the mafia, and very interesting! 5 stars
4/18/01 Clark The finest gangster film, bar none 5 stars
4/17/01 gloria loved it. 5 stars
4/16/01 SaySi When American films were great 5 stars
4/15/01 dsfare fftt 5 stars
4/12/01 Jesse L Did I say something funny...Do I amuse you? 5 stars
4/11/01 totally Staggering. One of the best, ever. 5 stars
4/06/01 Padraic Coffey One of the greatest movies ever made, and the best crime movie I've ever seen. 5 stars
3/31/01 Jesse L Pesci makes it... 5 stars
3/25/01 Monster W. Kung Good... but not a patch on The Godfather! 4 stars
3/22/01 Thomas J. we need more just like 'em! 5 stars
3/19/01 Michael Nicholls Makes the Godfather look like 'Bugsy Malone', truly the greatest Mafia movie ever! 5 stars
3/08/01 Sanja Is there something to add? 5 stars
3/06/01 Shams Huque Best mafia movie ever. Scorsese is a legend! 5 stars
3/03/01 Patrick Dobbins The Best Movie I Have Ever Seen 5 stars
2/26/01 skye that's what i'm talking about. best flick of the 90s 5 stars
2/25/01 Schpydah What, are you kidding? Perfect...PERFECT. I never tire of watching it. 5 stars
2/20/01 Nick Berger nothin to say that hasnt been said, its just really ill 5 stars
2/14/01 David Great 5 stars
2/06/01 Classicdog A true classic!!! Besides the Godfather this is it. The Best of the mob films. 5 stars
2/06/01 shaggy the movie rocked 4 stars
2/05/01 doug best gangster movie ever 5 stars
1/21/01 James Quinn So, do you think Scorsese tells his wife everything? 5 stars
1/12/01 Lord Raymos Hell yeah! A classic. 5 stars
1/12/01 Skip Great use of Phil Spector music. Great camera work. Great acting. Great everything! 5 stars
1/01/01 Msitrab Awesome movie, excellent 5 stars
12/31/00 alex simply the best movie ever! 5 stars
12/24/00 bub Awesome!!! Joe Pesci is psychotic. His best ever!!!! 5 stars
12/13/00 Mikey masterpiece 5 stars
12/01/00 bob great! 5 stars
11/29/00 SP a great film of a great Pileggi book 5 stars
11/28/00 Cristopher Revilla it's no godfather, but its still one of the best films ever 5 stars
11/21/00 The Bill Head A true masterpiece-one of the best of the 90s. 5 stars
11/20/00 The EVIL Penguin a quintessential film 5 stars
11/18/00 Brandon Darin It is absolutely the best Mob Movie ever created 5 stars
11/18/00 salvo very good, Joe Pesci is excellent 5 stars
11/15/00 Tiffany The best film ever!!! 5 stars
11/10/00 bruno fantastic 5 stars
10/28/00 Mic Why is it that these women always have to scream and bitch? It's almost a cliche. 3 stars
10/26/00 Terrie Smith Well done; hard to beat the DeNiro/Liotta/Pesci/Sorvino quartet. 5 stars
10/26/00 JC23 Onr of my top 5 favorites of all time 5 stars
10/20/00 patrick young great movie, best film of the millenium 5 stars
10/02/00 Tony Ashton inspiring 5 stars
10/02/00 Madoc69 great film among the best mafia films ever 5 stars
9/20/00 Jeff virtuoso filmmaking 5 stars
9/19/00 White Rabbit (Awesome) doesn't do it justice 5 stars
8/05/00 Elvisfan its not awesome, its AWESOME 5 stars
6/04/00 OS One of the best of the 90's 5 stars
6/01/00 Jimmy I love this film, superb. 5 stars
5/19/00 Steve A great movie, one of my favorites 5 stars
4/07/00 Gremlin A classic mob movie. 5 stars
4/04/00 movieman comparisons to "The Godfather" are inevitable but I think this film stands on its own 5 stars
4/03/00 PJ Hunley you fucking Moron Mic you Dick- The movie you put down is a justafied Masterpiece 5 stars
4/03/00 Eric Croefield What the fuck is wrong with people who didn't love this movie?! 5 stars
3/01/00 Mic Neither the protagonist nor the mafia is very engaging in this treatment. 3 stars
2/26/00 tyler taylor my favorite movie--just awesome 5 stars
2/15/00 Hunley Who cares about this guy anyway? He isn't even an interesting criminal. 2 stars
2/12/00 Skye Chapman best of the decade 5 stars
1/27/00 Ed Wood Martin Scorsese is a genius 5 stars
1/26/00 Jericho perfection 5 stars
1/21/00 movieman Awesome 5 stars
1/20/00 ripley HELL YEAH!!!! 5 stars
1/17/00 victor one of the best movies ever 5 stars
1/17/00 Dirk Diggler a flat out masterpiece 5 stars
1/14/00 Fuck Yeah!! Movie perfection-pure and simple! 5 stars
1/13/00 henry hill an amazing movie 5 stars
1/13/00 GoodFella this is one hell of a movie!! 5 stars
1/13/00 jerry g a great movie 5 stars
1/13/00 mick d this is a great movie! watch it! 5 stars
1/13/00 master this film should be worshiped 5 stars
1/10/00 dr.d one of the best films i have seen 5 stars
10/25/99 will bow before the majesty of this amazing film! bow! 5 stars
10/10/99 SJKelley I've seen the Godfather. I know The Godfather. And you, Goodfellas, are no Godfather. 4 stars
10/05/99 Bozo I amuse you? This is a great movie that should have won Best Pic & Director 5 stars
9/25/99 Josh Graves Now THIS is a movie. I worship this film. 5 stars
9/25/99 alyssa What a great movie. How often have you overheard Pesci's line in conversation? line 5 stars
9/25/99 Jeff M Great mob movie, maybe the best, the camera work is mind-blowing 5 stars
9/20/99 Weird Andy mmm...That's what Daddy likes... 5 stars
8/21/99 SaMhaiaN my absoloute favorite movie of all time.And trust me,I've seen a lot! 5 stars
8/01/99 George How does the movie of the decade not win movie of the year? What da fucks up with that? 5 stars
8/01/99 Obi Wan Off Da Hook!!! A very good film..and Joe Pesci is a God!!! 5 stars
7/05/99 Ben Leostein Rating: ***½ (out of ****) Category: "Very Good" 5 stars
7/04/99 J-Dogg A great, funny, fast film. I really like when Liotta smashes that guy's nose. 4 stars
6/28/99 Ricardo Remarkable, Unforgettable, every good 'able' that can exist 5 stars
6/15/99 Dylan 'For as long as i can remember ive always wanted to be a gangster'. pure excellence. 5 stars
5/04/99 Big Dog says fuck 284 times in it! 5 stars
4/26/99 Michael Grimm don't compare to Godfather, and take it for what it is: GREAT!! 5 stars
4/19/99 jimmy jam ROCK AND ROLL 5 stars
4/15/99 Jon Jackson Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh I Love It!!! 5 stars
3/25/99 James Coffey Best mob movie ever!!! 5 stars
3/03/99 bill stanbar you talking to me? 5 stars
2/19/99 Piz For DeNero and Pesci alone...good mob movie, rushed towards the end 4 stars
2/01/99 Vick Di Brecci Best movie of the 90s, Liotta's perf among best ever, filmmaking and acting stellar 5 stars
1/28/99 donkey_dew Martin Scorsese is truely a God Among Directors. 5 stars
1/20/99 C Dub SOLID!!! 5 stars
1/06/99 Schizofrenic Awesome! Just awesome! 5 stars
12/13/98 Binky Liotta was weak, but everything else was a stand-out winner. 4 stars
12/04/98 Matthew J. Soucy Scorsese at the apex of his career. Pesci and De Niro are fascinating. 5 stars
11/29/98 Mike F it DOESN'T go on too long. I wish it didn't end. 5 stars
11/25/98 Mr.Pink I watched this movie at least 20 times and it still doesn't get boring! A masterpiece! 5 stars
11/24/98 little jerry At 2hrs would have been a real humdinger but as usual with Scorsese it goes on too long. 4 stars
10/29/98 Silent Rob Scorsese best bits all rolled into one package. They don't come much slicker than this! 5 stars
10/18/98 Kwyjibo Did this dumb fuck below even see this movie? It was a landmark! Awesome! 5 stars
10/07/98 Maegs Blew me out of the water. 5 stars
9/28/98 Brandon B. Scorsese knows how to make a film. 5 stars
9/24/98 Nate Dogg No comment needed...this movie rulesmy ass.... 5 stars
9/07/98 BBReBozo Fuck Brando/Fuck Coppola/Fuck Godfather. This is THE Mob movie. 5 stars
9/04/98 Badass The best mob movie ever made. It created the 90's fast paced action flick. A true original. 5 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball Sweeeeet. 5 stars
8/23/98 James McCauley Right up there with The Godfather I and II. 5 stars
8/18/98 {{{OZ}}} No dispute here. Goodfellas will remain a classic. What a shame Pesci went to hell. 5 stars
8/18/98 Johny I can't believe this didn't win best picture 5 stars
8/17/98 Mike F This has got to be one of the best movies in the world. I can watch it over and over. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  28-Sep-1990 (R)
  DVD: 17-Aug-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Feb-1991 (R)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast