More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.5

Awesome75.18%
Worth A Look: 8.76%
Average: 10.95%
Pretty Bad: 1.46%
Total Crap: 3.65%

5 reviews, 107 user ratings



Dead Alive
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by DarkHorse

"Bloody, ballsy and funny as hell. Definately not for the squemish..."
5 stars

When it comes to Zombie flicks they generally fall into two categories; The cheesy low-budget stuff, which I love, and the ones played strictly for laughs. Dead Alive fuses the best elements of both and throws in some unexpected twists.

Dead Alive is a movie where most of the enjoyment comes in the form of graphic, and often hilarious, bursts of carnage that do an excellent job at catching the viewer off-guard.

I won't give away any of these parts in this review. I highly recommend that you check this one out without doing too much research. I have seen a few reviews and plot synopsis' out there that give away some of the best parts. Fortunately, I saw the movie before anyone had an oppurtunity to spoil some of the best moments or I would have been one pissed-off camper.

Don't even look at the back of the box. Here is all you need to know about Dead Alive to decide if it is your kind of movie...

1. It is a zombie movie. If you aren't a fan of the genre you may not have as much fun as I did watching it. Even still, if you like your gore by the bucket then you should find much to like about this one.

2. The acting is 90% better than 90% of the other Zombie flicks out there. 'nuff said...

3. Dead Alive is really gross As I mentioned above, there are blood 'n guts to spare in this puppy. This movie probably sets some sort of record for sheer volume of blood per minute.

4. It doesn't take itself too seriously. The one liners are well placed and their delivery is dead-on. Some parts are so intentionally corny and crude that you can't help but like it. At the same time, there are scenes of realistic violence that off-set the humorous parts quite nicely.

5. It doesn't wear out it's welcome The pacing is brisk and the story does a great job at holding your attention. Every time I watch it I get a little misty towards the end because I am not quite ready for the credits to roll(That is saying a lot coming from someone with the attention span of a hemped-up chiuahua.)

That is all I'm giving you.

If you are still interested after reading this far then I think it is a safe bet that you will enjoy it as much as I did.

In my eyes, this is an instant horror classic. Simliar in tone to movies like Re-animator and Return of The Living Dead. This is among my favorite Zombie flicks of all time and I have seen a few. Ask Scott.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=4011&reviewer=167
originally posted: 02/29/00 05:30:00
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell the best gore movie ever for strong stomachs only 4 stars
11/27/11 joshuaprater1979 Very funny gross-out! 5 stars
10/08/11 Mitchell Fletcher One of the worst movies I have ever seen 1 stars
6/05/11 Aardvarki Loved it, but you have a point about the lack of actual horror. 4 stars
5/11/10 Keith Yoocell Loved it since I first watched at the age of 12 5 stars
2/07/10 elton good movie 4 stars
11/25/09 mort a heart preening in the mirror using lung hands? hell yes. 5 stars
10/19/09 Mikey i agree with the majority on here - f'in' fanTASTIC movie! 5 stars
3/04/09 Jebus Absolutely awesome zombie movie. 5 stars
1/06/09 Tim The worst movie of all time. Belongs in a museum. 5 stars
11/22/08 Shaun Wallner Awesome Story! 5 stars
9/04/08 Frontage best. horror-comedy. EVER 5 stars
7/13/08 Alex Spivey giant zombie baby 5 stars
6/23/08 mr.mike Do not enter into it lightly 4 stars
6/21/08 Bill Shook my head at the sheer adacity of the gore! Could only watch in slack jawed amazement. 4 stars
12/16/07 Bnorm most outrageous movie ive ever seen; the baby getting thrown was unexplicably hilarious 5 stars
11/21/07 Jett promising beginning, but quickly slips into monotony 2 stars
9/04/07 rob idiotic 2 stars
3/17/07 matthew an absolute riot! hilarious and kicks ass, you won't believe the gore 5 stars
12/18/06 William Goss Exahaustingly gruesome, with a doozy of a climax. 3 stars
8/21/06 bill hedges what a fun movie!not for everyone,but a hoot! i am in love with DIANA PENALVER 5 stars
6/02/06 LC This movie is outrageous! 5 stars
2/27/06 chris f totally awesome!!!! 5 stars
8/07/05 Eric Wilson One of the best zombie flicks ever!!! 5 stars
8/01/05 Kankasaur Like smoking cheap tobacco, sure you get your guilty pleasure, but is it worth the nausea? 3 stars
7/07/05 Isaac Baranoff Peter Jackson's BEST FILM! The Lord of the Rings trilogy is overrated! 5 stars
6/25/05 John flawed but better than this review lets on 5 stars
6/03/05 deadwiz This movie is classic, gory and fun. 4 stars
3/18/05 indrid cold The splatterfest to end all splatterfests. But is it "good"? Of course not. 4 stars
3/17/05 ELI acting + script are awful. But I don't give a fuck! :) Best stupid movie ever! 5 stars
1/05/05 magaafi this is THE shizznick./ 5 stars
12/12/04 Tom Benton Jackson's pre-"Rings" masterpiece; the most digusting, gory film ever made 5 stars
12/08/04 Marco D Man you suck! That's the greatest gory movie I've ever seen. And I saw *many* of those... 5 stars
7/21/04 Harry J The best of gore, that's for sure. You gotta see it !!!! 5 stars
7/07/04 Disgruntled Me Man you're lame this movie is awesome, lame-o's shouldn't watch horror 5 stars
5/05/04 dead next door could be a lot better 3 stars
4/22/04 Lord Durvok 2 Elena obviously missed the point entirely. 5 stars
4/07/04 Sig wow... LoL! 5 stars
3/30/04 Tom This movie kicks such serious a$$! It is SO FUNNY! 5 stars
3/21/04 Samuel fuckin awesome! 5 stars
3/18/04 Umbrella Corporation. Elena... PLZ! Go home to your fuckin' RESIDENT EVIL & PET SAMETARY DVD's. THIS IS DA SHITZZ 5 stars
1/24/04 Elena Overrated. The special effects are childish and plot is a bag of flaming dog crap 1 stars
12/14/03 Isabelle Millaire Verry good!!! 5 stars
11/30/03 john pure genius ! 5 stars
10/29/03 ZF ingenious. 5 stars
10/23/03 Lord Durvok II DANG IT!!! Jon Lyrik stole my idea! Well... "That's my one-liner you're pissing on!" 4 stars
6/12/03 Jon Lyrik This movie kicks ass for the LORD! 5 stars
5/05/03 Peter the Great I had to vomit sometimes but I laughed a lot 5 stars
3/25/03 Dark Barøn Evil Intestines, living head, baby zombie in the blender. Juice anyone? 5 stars
3/11/03 beehotch If you disagree with my rating, I will eat your face. 5 stars
1/18/03 Mighty Tid Check out the snapshots of Lionel's Dad and his lover. Holy Wienershnitzel!! 5 stars
12/27/02 Scott Malbranque Superb. Hilarious. Ingenious. Brilliant. I have a 9 inch chubber. 5 stars
11/01/02 Zaw Funny as hell. 5 stars
10/29/02 Bård Aase Dead alive rules 5 stars
10/28/02 Joseph James I heard about it, thought it would be stupid, watched it, loved it, and had a zombie baby. 5 stars
9/22/02 Morally Sound See the "Unrated" version if you can find it! 5 stars
9/10/02 .Choadushouse. Watching the whole movie can be boring. But certain scenes make it completely worth it. 4 stars
7/29/02 Captain Midol My life was incomplete until this. You'll never look at a lawnmower the same way again... 5 stars
7/24/02 Malarkey Highwater Paquita was hot, but I could've done without the monster boobs at the end. Fuck 4 stars
7/11/02 James It's time for some Divine Intervention!!! 5 stars
5/22/02 mike anderson greatflick. nothing else to it. 5 stars
5/17/02 Dave Beatty All I have to say is this is one SWEET ASS MOVIE! 5 stars
4/26/02 Charles Tatum Gross and hilarious, like me 5 stars
4/22/02 Someone sweeeeeeeeet 5 stars
4/15/02 Y2McKay blows his mother. DA BEST! 5 stars
4/09/02 Rockitman007 Right up there with the Evil Dead: "I kick ass for the Lord!" 5 stars
4/07/02 Film Dude Whoever hated this movie must like classy pictures like Kazaam, or Freddy Got Fingered. 5 stars
3/28/02 NeuroManson I kick ass for the lord!!! Say no mother fucking more... 5 stars
3/01/02 Axe Murderer THIS MOVIE IS EVIL!!.....BUY IT!..RENT IT....JUST FUCKING SEE IT!! 5 stars
2/28/02 Alan Smithee The bloodiest movie ever made. The lawnmower scene is hilarious. 5 stars
2/19/02 Adolf Oliver Nipples Congrats on Peter J. on doing LOTR! Oh yeah, the movie was sweet too. 5 stars
1/22/02 Nathan Cocks Hip Hooray for Peter J! Vile, disgusting and so damn funny you'll be laughing til you spew! 5 stars
12/12/01 Shane Robert Myers!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Who ever says this sucks they suck! this movie... RULES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
12/09/01 Keith Fuck yeah!! Gore galore! Definitely worth buying for all genre fans 5 stars
12/04/01 auroradae it was gross. not funny, not scary, not good. just gross, in a stupid way 1 stars
11/20/01 Chris K. Hard to believe that the director of DEAD ALIVE is working on THE LORD OF THE RINGS! 5 stars
11/16/01 Geto Smurf This is the shit. This is a REAL zombie movie! 5 stars
8/26/01 Kyle AWESOME! 5 stars
8/10/01 Mental Duck Awesome... spot the Peter Jackson cameo as the assistant. 5 stars
8/02/01 King Jackass This movie is one of my favorites! 5 stars
7/21/01 gus it stinks 1 stars
7/15/01 Violent J See this now, or go to hell. 5 stars
7/07/01 Best gore movie ever! My name sez it all mothafucka! 5 stars
7/06/01 Dan Fucking Brittant, Best Horror Movie I've Scene. No Movies Have This Much Gore,Troma's Close 5 stars
7/01/01 kingjackass222 my fav movie ever! 5 stars
6/30/01 Erik you Bastard you Took This Out of the Top 20 Simply kicks motha fuckin ass! 5 stars
6/30/01 Gored Gus Has everything you want except nudity- damn. But still pretty good! 5 stars
6/29/01 Da Zombie FUCKING SHIT VICTORY!!!! 5 stars
6/29/01 Movies 'R Kewl my opinion: ---------------------------------------------------> 5 stars
6/23/01 erik the movieman Probably the grossest film I've ever seen. It's great, but not GREAT! 4 stars
6/18/01 steel flesh one of the greatest horror movies ive ever seen. 5 stars
6/13/01 Joe Blow Fuckin awesum! 5 stars
6/08/01 Horrorluver THIS MOVIES GOT EVERYTHING! VIOLENCE, HUMOR, AND GOOD ACTING! GO RENT THIS RIGHT NOW! 5 stars
6/08/01 Mr. Eff It's the bomb. Fans of this movie should also check out Meet the Feebles. 5 stars
6/03/01 King Jackass has funnier supporting actor than puffy the dog in something about mary! the baby is awesom 5 stars
5/13/01 Axe Murderer .....kicks fucking ass.......... 5 stars
5/05/01 Rael The Hamlet of Cannibal Zombie Films! 5 stars
2/21/01 Ken Limbocker Totally gross. Totally funny (if you like gross). A disgusting classic. Loved it. 5 stars
2/07/01 m Absolutely fabulous. Hollywood could learn A LOT from this Kiwi film. 5 stars
11/09/00 JOeBlow Greatest zombie movie.. no wait.. movie.. ever. Period. 5 stars
10/23/00 sickboy Amazing. Up there with, if not surpassing, the Evil Dead trilogy. 5 stars
9/03/00 Somnabulist Has a zany horror spirit, but the acting/story/scares all are old hat 1 stars
8/30/00 Craig K. Best horror movie out their! 5 stars
8/15/00 Terrie Smith No words to describe this one; standouts are the kung-fu priest and the zombie baby. 4 stars
7/09/00 Adam Great scene with a lawnmower 5 stars
5/28/00 daghost Definitely the goriest, funniest, best movie in film history!!!!! 5 stars
4/03/00 Josh Goriest Movie Ever and its a lot of fun!!! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Oct-1992 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast