More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.52

Awesome: 16%
Worth A Look48%
Average: 16%
Pretty Bad: 12%
Total Crap: 8%

1 review, 19 user ratings



Snow White: A Tale of Terror
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Rob Gonsalves

"Not your grandmother's Snow White."
4 stars

1997 was a busy and interesting year for Sigourney Weaver. In addition to 'Alien Resurrection' and 'The Ice Storm,' she starred in this little-seen variation on the Grimm fable. Itís a dark and intense movie, filled with physical and emotional pain.

In this telling, Snow White is Lillian (Monica Keena), whose mother died while pregnant with her. Her father (Sam Neill) remarries Lady Claudia (Weaver), who has a shady past and is apparently manipulated and corrupted by her magic mirror. Claudia, encouraged by the mirror, grows more and more jealous of Lillian and conspires with her mute brother to get her out of the way.

Escaping through the woods, Lillian encounters a group of men (one is a dwarf) who distrust her at first but eventually help her. A bit cold and remote ó and in spots a tad draggy ó this is the sort of movie you admire more than love, but itís well-mounted and compelling, with a queen-hell performance by Weaver as a flawed woman pushed over the edge into murderous mania.

I never knew Weaver could look this evil and frightening ó and thatís before she appears in make-up in Claudiaís old-crone disguise to give Lillian a poison apple.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=402&reviewer=416
originally posted: 03/11/07 10:58:30
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

6/23/10 Kim Barry Creepy, dark, twisted. Sigourney was great! 5 stars
4/11/10 Ed If you are a Disney fan, forget it. This version is a gripping adult take on the original. 4 stars
10/29/07 Keko Sigourney was brilliant 4 stars
3/07/07 David Cohen Better than I expected (Hey Sigourny, learn how to lip-synch!) 4 stars
8/04/05 ^podo one of my favorite movie 5 stars
7/02/04 jane spectacular 5 stars
5/20/04 The More You Know Monica WHO? Sigourney WHY? Bitch! WHICH? 1 stars
12/01/03 I Would What was the fucking point? 2 stars
3/27/03 Jen Sigourney Weaver is perfect. Nice creepy twist on the fairy tale. 4 stars
11/15/02 Stevo Good idea, but a shitty film. 1 stars
4/06/02 Junshi Meh, passable, nice atmosphere, although it should be more tim burtonish. 3 stars
11/03/01 Andrew Carden Gross Makeup and Costumes Ruin What Could Be and Sometimes Is A Cool Film. 3 stars
8/24/01 Basil Sigourney Weaver was excellent. 5 stars
5/04/01 Leo Actually pretty nice 4 stars
5/03/01 Gracy Lionheart I don't like Snow White, but this film was actually ok. 3 stars
2/19/01 gloryroad not worth the trouble of watching, not even very spooky 2 stars
8/25/98 Miss Stress it was too creepy for me. 3 stars
8/18/98 bizzy not complete crap, but still Snow White and that's just bad 2 stars
8/18/98 {{{OZ}}} Not as bland as I thought it would be. Kinda trippy at times. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  24-Aug-1997 (R)
  DVD: 13-Aug-2002

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast