More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.71

Awesome: 14.29%
Worth A Look: 25.71%
Average: 11.43%
Pretty Bad: 14.29%
Total Crap34.29%

2 reviews, 23 user ratings



Excess Baggage
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"Alicia's slightly more cringe-worthy here than in Batman & Robin."
1 stars

This movie sucked.

Oh, if only I could give this movie no stars.

I'm not really a fan of Alicia Silverstone, but I rather enjoyed her performance in Clueless. Granted, I attribute that more to writer-director Amy Heckerling. Nonetheless, I went to see Excess Baggage based on Alicia's Clueless turn.

Big mistake.

Baggage is a mess. The story's jumbled, the characters are merely fingernail sketches, and the actors (most of whom aren't very good) are in turn hampered by that. Silverstone is content to slide by on her ability to blow smoke out her mouth and nose at the same time. It's her movie, literally (she had a role in producing it), and she just doesn't take control. Christopher Walken is again eerie and somewhat menacing (shocking, I know), although his relationship with Alicia's character is never really explained. NYPD Blue's Nick Turturro is stuck in the thankless role of a thug, and Harry Connick, Jr. adds considerable proof to my belief that he should stick to crooning and leave the acting to others. Only Benecio Del Toro stands out in this film. His performance is filled with weird James Dean-type movements and Brando-style mumbles, but that's ultimately what makes it funny.

Despite that, avoid this movie. If you want Del Toro, see him in The Usual Suspects.

Skip it.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=406&reviewer=7
originally posted: 08/24/98 23:55:50
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

4/27/14 PAUL SHORTT TRIVIAL, FLACCID COMEDY 1 stars
2/06/13 geoff bonomassa Love it 5 stars
12/26/09 tony log cabin,mansion,bmw ,benz,money,no tax. best movie ever. 5 stars
3/04/08 Me I absolutely love this movie. I'm sorry but were not children we can all figure out roles 5 stars
5/29/07 Sugarfoot Dopey romantic comedy that wastes a good cast. 1 stars
2/28/05 Gray had potenticial but could had been MUCH better 3 stars
2/02/05 Darlene Groetz The movie in which Alicia Silverstone became a zombie of the tragic wands. 3 stars
4/01/03 Jack Sommersby Uneven and badly developed. Cast is appealing, though. 2 stars
11/27/01 Sibia I thought this movie was funny and charming. Especially the scene by the lake. 5 stars
7/11/01 lisa pethetic. but del toro is sooo cute 4 stars
5/05/01 Gracy Lionheart It was a strange movie, but it was well done. 4 stars
4/19/01 Tam Zzzzzzz. Didn't deserve a cinema release, lacked charisma. 2 stars
4/18/01 Ash All good ,cept the ending 5 stars
12/27/00 Emily i actually really enjoyed it. it was very well-done. 4 stars
11/04/99 Mickey "Father Death" MacJohnstmyster Oooooooh ,This was bad .Shame the movie title Clueless was already taken . Zoo-ee Zoo-ee 1 stars
8/24/99 Elizaveta ohh, criminy. 1 stars
3/16/99 Ah Dooey Ee-yuck. Ee-yuck. 1 stars
1/16/99 Dasha It's been a long time since I saw a movie -that- BAD. 1 stars
9/02/98 f*r*o*s*t*y Benecio Del Toro's character was the only good thing about this movie. 3 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball Boo-yah. Boooooo. 2 stars
8/23/98 Mister Whoopee I didn't warm. I slept. 2 stars
8/19/98 SUPS surprised, no sucking, the chunky rich girl falling for sexy thug story warmed me.... 3 stars
8/19/98 {{{OZ}}} The world's most appropriate title ever. Lay off the donuts, 'Licia. 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  29-Aug-1997 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Feb-1997




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast