More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.54

Awesome65.28%
Worth A Look: 29.17%
Average: 1.39%
Pretty Bad: 2.78%
Total Crap: 1.39%

2 reviews, 60 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Fish Called Wanda, A
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by rotten f. milk

"It's so good, you can slap my fishy ass and call me Wanda."
5 stars

John Cleese, Michael Palin, Kevin Kline and Jamie Lee Curtis that is one power packed line-up in every sense of the phrase. Power in terms of their Hollywood status in the mid to late-1980s and packed in terms of the star studded line-up they lend to WANDA.

A FISH CALLED WANDA itself is one kick-ass flick. Analytically speaking, it's interesting for it's unique ability to intertwine the comedic strengths of both English comedy and American comedy.

WANDA takes place in England, where a trio of bumbling thieves (Curtis, Kline and Palin) intend on finding a key (hidden in a fish tank, no less) to an abundant amount of monetary booty. During the process however, Curtis' character, Wanda, falls in love with a multi-lingual Solicitor (that's British for "lawyer") named Reggie Leach (hey, isn't that Carey Grant? HELL NO! It's JOHN MOTHER FUCKING CLEESE!).

Here-in the yuks ensue.

The English humour, encapsulated by it's up-front slap stick is represented by Kevin Kline who plays Wanda's partner-in-crime and boyfriend, Otto. Kline does well to play Otto as an extroverted jerk and the name calling and constant cries of "asshole!" are reminiscent of Cleese's Fawlty Towers. Palin himself, is the bumbling sidekick. His major plot-story finds him attempting to kill an old lady, but instead kills her dogs. This, in itself is hilarious because Palin's character is a self-professed animal lover and from this conflict, we get some prime rate mother fucking slapstick, baby.

The American humour, the constant set 'em up, set 'em up n' knock 'em down, is acheived by the conflict of the romance between Leach and Wanda. In that respect, it shapes itself like very much a regular romantic comedy.

All in all, see this movie because (again) analytically speaking it's one mother fucking riotous movie. It just kicks all father fucking (that's just as good as mother fucking) ass.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=410&reviewer=3
originally posted: 07/03/99 15:08:59
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/27/10 PAUL SHORTT CLEVER COMEDY WITH GOOD PERFORMANCES 4 stars
1/01/10 Dane Youssef The very definition of madcap British comedy w/an all-star cast. Everything's ready to snap 4 stars
3/23/08 Billy absurd n' outrageous 1 stars
11/08/07 Bitchflaps Much better than the Python movies. Very funny and very entertaining. 5 stars
8/09/07 John Aster Habig One fricking scene with JC & MP, that's a rip off!!! 3 stars
5/26/06 Kimberly Dull I love this movie. It's one of my favorite comedies of all time. 5 stars
7/24/05 C Vega a classic classic film..remember..the london underground is not a political movement! 5 stars
5/31/05 John Aster Habig bit overrated not enuf Palin but Cleese + Kline r histeryrical together 4 stars
3/26/05 MaryBeth Isaac One of my favortie comedies of all time. Mr. Kline as Otto was brilliant 5 stars
1/30/05 DM Fucking funny. Kevin Kline, John Cleese, Jamie Lee Curtis and Michael Palin rule. 5 stars
11/16/04 Littlepurch Great cast great homour. Nice to see such a great bunch of people together. Palin funniest. 5 stars
2/17/04 john bale Classic English Comedy - with a standout cast - don't miss. 5 stars
12/20/03 john one of the best comedies ever made - almost as good as the best Monty Python films 5 stars
11/16/03 AshFan May I kiss you? No, you f*cking can't! 4 stars
9/22/03 gman finally a british humor film that won over dim-witted crotch humour americana 5 stars
5/25/03 R.W. Welch Raucous crime farce has something to offend everybody -- also lots of laughs. 4 stars
5/23/03 mr. Pink A classic comedy with great acting! Palin-Kline confrontations are howlers! 5 stars
4/08/03 Mystique very very very good comedy 5 stars
4/01/03 Jack Sommersby Not as consistently funny as its cracked up to be, but it's still good fun. 4 stars
2/03/03 Charles Tatum A riot 5 stars
11/27/02 Jack Wolverton Best Comedy of the last 40 years. 5 stars
7/12/02 KMG Kevin Kline, Jamie Lee, Cleese....what more could you want??? 4 stars
7/11/02 CVJ NWO Excellent film with no bad points about it 5 stars
7/08/02 JAMESAMANIA OOOOOOOOOOOOOWWWWWWWWW wicked i like COD 5 stars
4/16/02 Film Dude See this. Do it. Now. 5 stars
2/20/02 Xaver A nice comedy. 4 stars
1/10/02 Spyguy2 One of the funniest movies EVER!!! Kevin Kline as Otto - "Don't call me STUPID!!!" 5 stars
1/05/02 specialK ages just fine 5 stars
11/05/01 Porscha I thought I'd hate it, but it was funny & well-done after all. Props to Cleese and Curtis 5 stars
9/09/01 Gary Consistently funny and 4 stars
9/04/01 I love movies for pure comedy, you can't do better than this 5 stars
8/30/01 Henry Ginsberg A brilliant crime comady with several memerable moments. 5 stars
8/08/01 KC Au One of my favorite comedies! My favorite line : "Ew...avoid the green ones." 5 stars
8/07/01 Joe Zappa "A Fish Called Wanda" is very funny. Michael Palin and Kevin Kline are hilarious! 4 stars
6/02/01 King Jackass Do you speak french? 5 stars
4/01/01 Jesse L Kline makes this one of the best ever comedies. 5 stars
2/16/01 Jake This was way overrated! Parts were funny but it was just too mean-natured 2 stars
2/04/01 Avenger girl This movie was unreal and hilarious, Kline was incredible Clesse great as usual 5 stars
10/22/00 YOUR Movie Expert I've got 4 words for ya: DON'T CALL ME STUPID!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
6/11/00 nefarious So funny it makes you choke 5 stars
5/01/00 Steve Layne The first half wasn't that funny, but the second half is pretty damn funny. 4 stars
1/14/00 k.tomkowski superb and charming 5 stars
10/19/99 Erik Brand The most hilarious movie ever made 5 stars
6/15/99 Dylan Very comical. Michael Palin is very, very funny. 4 stars
6/01/99 bobby yea yea yea yea yea yea yea yea yea yea 5 stars
5/20/99 Javachik The best non-Python movie I've ever seen! 5 stars
5/03/99 The Bomb 69 Kevin Kline deserved that Oscar. 5 stars
1/15/99 Dasha Clever and funny. 5 stars
11/14/98 Jules Twisted and funny. Kevin Kline's high point. 5 stars
10/17/98 Mr Showbiz Stupidity has never been funnier. 5 stars
10/13/98 jym not for me 2 stars
9/26/98 Maegs Easily one of the funniest ever made 5 stars
9/19/98 J-Guy I laughed. A lot. 4 stars
9/18/98 Couch Potato Critic A classic film that will live on as one of the funniest films ever made. 5 stars
9/16/98 Chuck-D the best post-monty-python film from the group. Really funny. "I used to kill for the CIA" 5 stars
9/15/98 Badass "Don't call me stupid" 5 stars
8/29/98 Johny Funny 4 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball Fierce Creatures ruined this film for me. Well.. kind of. It was still good. 4 stars
8/21/98 rotten f. milk It's a sweet, sweet film. Funny as fuck. 5 stars
8/19/98 {{{OZ}}} A classic. A must-see. Funny as fuck. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  15-Jul-1988 (R)
  DVD: 21-Nov-2006

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Feb-1989 (MA)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast