More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.57

Awesome: 17.86%
Worth A Look48.21%
Average: 14.29%
Pretty Bad: 12.5%
Total Crap: 7.14%

4 reviews, 32 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Loving Vincent by Jay Seaver

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


In & Out
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by spork-girl

"Who knew Kline could dance like that?"
4 stars

YAY! Gay men! *sigh* Let me try to explain to you the profound dissapointment this movie instilled deep within my soul.

Not that it wasn't a good movie. I was funny as hell and very well directed and acted and blah blah blah it ruled.

I have a confession to make. I'm a fag hag. Well, I would be if all the fags I know weren't already taken by three or four hags. As a hag, it is my ultimate fantasy is to find a man that has all the attractive qualities of gay men, but likes girls. By "attractive" i mean is sensitive, warm, likes to talk, is, oh, say, not a frat boy asshole, thinks every once in a while, and not always about sex. Every gay sterotype is played up in this movie, and *sniff* the ending which shattered my hope of ever finding a straight man that cool made me want to cry.

However, every other aspect of this movie scored high with me. I found it very clever. A lighthearted treatment of a subject everyone takes so damned seriously. It was time for a change towards this. Hurrah for the people who made this! And Hurrah for Kline. he does a very good job. Cusak is delightful. I can so identify...except for the part of the oscar winner having a crush on me, I'm still waiting on that. Selleck is just the man. I love him. He's so cool. Mmmmm Magnum...

Sorry. Where was I? Oh yes. This movie is good and everyone shoudl see it even tightassed closetcase frat boys and their equally closed minded girlfriends because gays are funny as well as being cute and smart and able to dance. And my grandmother should see this. But she won't because (whisper) homosexuals (/whispering) are going to hell and stuff.

Rather laugh with the sinners than cry with the saints! The sinners are much mroe fun! 4 sporks.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=417&reviewer=6
originally posted: 09/09/98 08:00:03
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

12/29/11 Victoria-nola Philadelphia Story meets Philadelphia. Gay in-jokes and film references. 5 stars
12/20/08 PAUL SHORTT SHODDY, CONTRIVED AND MORALLY IRRESPONSIBLE 1 stars
7/27/08 The Dork Knight Irritating. 2 stars
3/05/07 William Goss Kline is better than thoroughly safe romp about his sexuality. Props to Selleck. 3 stars
1/26/07 Bitchflaps Cute film, though nothing special. 3 stars
9/13/05 R.W. Welch Played a shade overbroad but has some good comic bits. 3 stars
8/15/05 love funny, pro gay movie. I like it vey much! 4 stars
12/12/04 Jim What a wonderful window treatment! 4 stars
7/16/04 DM Surprisingly funny, aside from overly sappy ending 4 stars
10/10/03 JimmyC Terrible Movie 1 stars
3/21/03 Jack Sommersby Nothing great, but it gets the job done. Selleck is the standout. 3 stars
11/23/02 Charles Tatum Funny until "Spartacus" inspired finale 4 stars
9/09/02 Movie guy A GREAT FILM I LOVED MATT DAMON IN THIS FILM 5 stars
1/23/02 Doug Very funny. The dance scene is the best. 5 stars
1/21/02 Spencer Lent Not even funny 2 stars
11/23/01 Andrew Carden Good Performances By Cusack and Newhart, but Horrible For Kline. 3 stars
9/18/01 Butterbean Kline whines nonstop. Cusack and Dillion are the ones to watch for. 3 stars
8/08/01 KC Au What did you expect from a movie based on some real-life acceptance speech?!? 2 stars
4/15/00 Elvisfan Best part was hearing 'YMCA' over closing credits & Cusack great as always 4 stars
2/06/00 Kyle Broflovski If you have gay friends, watch this with them. It makes almost brutal sense. 4 stars
2/19/99 Melissa Only Cusack is worth your time. BLAH 2 stars
2/19/99 Piz Boring comedy that makes you smile, but no laughs, Matt Dillon was funniest, c'mon 2 stars
2/09/99 Gary I kept waiting for the movie to get good, and it never did. Not entertaining at all. 1 stars
1/28/99 donkey_dew This shit sucks. SUCKS. 1 stars
1/03/99 Dasha Very funny and smart. Kevin Kline is great. 5 stars
11/24/98 Mr.Pink Beginnig is very funny, but it soon becomes less amusing and ending sucked 2 stars
10/28/98 Silent Rob I'm straight, but I felt somewhat offended on a gay behest. What happened? 2 stars
9/28/98 Heather Lots of laughs and sterotypical characters! No, really, I liked it! 4 stars
9/06/98 Admiral Mung Bean Soda (+/- 12db) The ending left me confused about the movie's sexuality. 3 stars
8/25/98 Pete I liked it. Joan Cusack and Kline were both amazing. Rest of cast was good. 4 stars
8/25/98 Mister Whoopee Didn't hate it. Good cast. 4 stars
8/20/98 The Man With The Helmet Kline and Selleck? Perfect casting. The story is kinda lame, but it has it's moments. 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  19-Sep-1997 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A


Directed by
  Frank Oz

Written by
  Paul Rudnick

Cast
  Kevin Kline
  Joan Cusack
  Matt Dillon
  Debbie Reynolds
  Wilford Brimley
  Bob Newhart
  Tom Selleck



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast