More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.57

Awesome: 17.86%
Worth A Look48.21%
Average: 14.29%
Pretty Bad: 12.5%
Total Crap: 7.14%

4 reviews, 32 user ratings



In & Out
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"Not bad."
4 stars

Don't take any of it seriously.

Whereas movies like Philadelphia and Chasing Amy explore sexuality in dramatic terms, In & Out throws drama out the window and wallows in stereotypes. It skewers gay men (Streisand references abound), as well as supermodels (a model picks up a phone in an Indiana hotel and realizes it's a rotary dial. She pushes the holes.), small-town ideals, the media, and English teachers, among others. Plus it's got Bob Newhart.

I'll be honest: I laughed a lot. It's absurd and funny, as long as you realize that the very stereotypes you're laughing at are just that: steroetypes. It's a farce, and it knows it's a farce. That's a rarity.

Kevin Kline is fine here, and the always enjoyable Joan Cusack brings in a fine performance as Kline's beleagured fiancee. Lots of throwaway lines, and some broad physical comedy as well.

Only Selleck seems a little ill at ease. Not with his character, just the way that he's portraying him. He seems a little too smug.

On the whole, though, a nice diversion for an afternoon.

I think we all really want to be macho men. Or not.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=417&reviewer=7
originally posted: 08/25/98 01:00:58
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

12/29/11 Victoria-nola Philadelphia Story meets Philadelphia. Gay in-jokes and film references. 5 stars
12/20/08 PAUL SHORTT SHODDY, CONTRIVED AND MORALLY IRRESPONSIBLE 1 stars
7/27/08 The Dork Knight Irritating. 2 stars
3/05/07 William Goss Kline is better than thoroughly safe romp about his sexuality. Props to Selleck. 3 stars
1/26/07 Bitchflaps Cute film, though nothing special. 3 stars
9/13/05 R.W. Welch Played a shade overbroad but has some good comic bits. 3 stars
8/15/05 love funny, pro gay movie. I like it vey much! 4 stars
12/12/04 Jim What a wonderful window treatment! 4 stars
7/16/04 DM Surprisingly funny, aside from overly sappy ending 4 stars
10/10/03 JimmyC Terrible Movie 1 stars
3/21/03 Jack Sommersby Nothing great, but it gets the job done. Selleck is the standout. 3 stars
11/23/02 Charles Tatum Funny until "Spartacus" inspired finale 4 stars
9/09/02 Movie guy A GREAT FILM I LOVED MATT DAMON IN THIS FILM 5 stars
1/23/02 Doug Very funny. The dance scene is the best. 5 stars
1/21/02 Spencer Lent Not even funny 2 stars
11/23/01 Andrew Carden Good Performances By Cusack and Newhart, but Horrible For Kline. 3 stars
9/18/01 Butterbean Kline whines nonstop. Cusack and Dillion are the ones to watch for. 3 stars
8/08/01 KC Au What did you expect from a movie based on some real-life acceptance speech?!? 2 stars
4/15/00 Elvisfan Best part was hearing 'YMCA' over closing credits & Cusack great as always 4 stars
2/06/00 Kyle Broflovski If you have gay friends, watch this with them. It makes almost brutal sense. 4 stars
2/19/99 Melissa Only Cusack is worth your time. BLAH 2 stars
2/19/99 Piz Boring comedy that makes you smile, but no laughs, Matt Dillon was funniest, c'mon 2 stars
2/09/99 Gary I kept waiting for the movie to get good, and it never did. Not entertaining at all. 1 stars
1/28/99 donkey_dew This shit sucks. SUCKS. 1 stars
1/03/99 Dasha Very funny and smart. Kevin Kline is great. 5 stars
11/24/98 Mr.Pink Beginnig is very funny, but it soon becomes less amusing and ending sucked 2 stars
10/28/98 Silent Rob I'm straight, but I felt somewhat offended on a gay behest. What happened? 2 stars
9/28/98 Heather Lots of laughs and sterotypical characters! No, really, I liked it! 4 stars
9/06/98 Admiral Mung Bean Soda (+/- 12db) The ending left me confused about the movie's sexuality. 3 stars
8/25/98 Pete I liked it. Joan Cusack and Kline were both amazing. Rest of cast was good. 4 stars
8/25/98 Mister Whoopee Didn't hate it. Good cast. 4 stars
8/20/98 The Man With The Helmet Kline and Selleck? Perfect casting. The story is kinda lame, but it has it's moments. 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  19-Sep-1997 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A


Directed by
  Frank Oz

Written by
  Paul Rudnick

Cast
  Kevin Kline
  Joan Cusack
  Matt Dillon
  Debbie Reynolds
  Wilford Brimley
  Bob Newhart
  Tom Selleck



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast