More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.95

Awesome: 10.26%
Worth A Look37.18%
Average: 15.38%
Pretty Bad: 11.54%
Total Crap: 25.64%

4 reviews, 54 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Little Woods by Jay Seaver

Avengers: Endgame by Lybarger

Avengers: Endgame by Peter Sobczynski

Glass (2019) by Rob Gonsalves

Man Who Killed Don Quixote, The by Rob Gonsalves

Hellboy (2019) by Jay Seaver

Clickbait by Jay Seaver

Her Smell by Peter Sobczynski

Under the Silver Lake by Peter Sobczynski

Chaperone, The (2019) by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Disturbing Behavior
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by The Opinionator

"Truly the worst horror movie ever made."
1 stars

Without exaggeration, the single worst movie ever made.

Disturbing Behavior (horror 1998), recently released on video by MGM, leaves audiences shifting in their seats and biting their fingernails – out of fear that the movie will never end. The filmmakers would have you believe that Disturbing Behavior is a fun addition to the horror genre. In truth, this movie can hardly be classified as horror because nothing – I mean nothing – is scary here. The feeling of dread so masterfully evoked in movies like The Changeling and Alien simply does not exist in Disturbing Behavior.

Fans of the genre generally admit that most horror movies, even the great ones, are formulaic. I personally love good horror movies, formula or no formula. Still, this movie takes the formula a step too far. There is nothing – once again I stress nothing – original about Disturbing Behavior. The characters are so cliched and idiotic that this reviewer will not legitimize them with mention of the actors who played them. These nameless, faceless characters begin the movie in the hallways of Cradle Bay High, a school where the good students have been brainwashed via cranial implant and are now forcing the bad kids to join them. But the Blue Ribbon Society is far from perfect; its members commit murder whenever they become sexually aroused. The murder is usually accompanied by witty sayings like, “I need my fluids.” Coming-of-age sexual frustration is the expected domain of teenage horror flicks, so the premise is not, in itself, disappointing. No, the disappointment sets in when you notice how little the writers cared about the realism of their own script: The janitor is apparently just pretending to be stupid so he can, in his own words, see just how interesting people are; the sirens the janitor uses to frighten rats miraculously wound a Blue Ribbon rapist, allowing his victim to escape just in time; microchips are inserted into the brain via the eyeball without damaging the eye (except for an occasional red flash seen in the pupil when a victim becomes angry or horny); and at the end of the movie, Joe Hero and friends declare that there is no hope for the Blue Ribbons and sends them careening off a cliff, into oblivion. Yes, the movie is just that stupid. Do something more useful with the three bucks you might have spent to rent this movie – use it to wipe your butt.

Any real horror fan would not use this movie to scrape the jam out of his toes.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=42&reviewer=66
originally posted: 02/02/99 21:36:33
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

10/30/16 morris campbell garbage pure garbage 1 stars
1/11/08 art a rainy day movie 2 stars
6/27/07 fools♫gold Well, it's not better than Career Oppurtunities, the new Grandma's Boy, or Family Plot. Meh 3 stars
8/19/06 Beau Katie Holmes's performance was an outstanding peice of casting and acting. good film overal 4 stars
12/14/04 drain spun yes the movie sucked but i love it anyway. did what it was supposed to- entertain. 4 stars
7/07/04 Otto von Goldschlager Katie, Nick, James & David -what's not to like 4 stars
6/25/04 American Slasher Goddess Watchable, but nothing great 3 stars
1/25/04 Elena Katie Holmes is good but this film is lame and ridiculous. 1 stars
1/18/04 Bemused Often This flick is an island of low-grade acting and an ocean of CLICHES 1 stars
12/10/03 Samuel This was a very good movie!! 5 stars
11/18/03 he a good film 4 stars
3/09/03 Jack Sommersby Creepy and atmospheric. A solid piece of work. 4 stars
12/12/02 NWO4LIFE Serves its purpose: entertains for 84 mins. The cut scenes make it even slightly better. 4 stars
8/19/02 .Choadushouse. PlotlineN'twists mo' creative then most TeenThrillers. Entertaining & Katie Holmes is HOT!! 4 stars
3/06/02 Alan Smithee Katie Homles is very easy on the eyes (great tits) but the movie blows chunks. 1 stars
1/05/02 carrie gavin. email me at danrad89@hotmail.com 5 stars
6/21/01 Ryan Phillippe gets hit by a car and it rules! This movie is equal to an 8 ball, 2 nympho supermodels, and a tap dancing lemer. 5 stars
12/06/00 Cristopher Revilla Ok, people, just because the X-files crew is here doesn't mean it's good, this film sucked 1 stars
9/28/00 Ground Zero PSI Factor meets Dawson's Creek 2 stars
9/03/00 Mr. Pink It was way too short & lobotomizing Gavin was like killing Randy Meeks from Scream. Why?! 5 stars
7/13/00 Tom Better than most teen horror films. Katie Holmes is cool. 4 stars
4/25/00 Steve Layne Gulity pleasure and gavin is one of the most interesting characters in any 90's teen movie. 4 stars
2/11/00 Kyle Broflovski Too many cliches & stereotypes to bring this potentially fucking-awesome flick to life. 3 stars
11/08/99 focus Stupid, moronic, boring, cliche, godawful. Did we forget anything? 2 stars
11/04/99 Mickey "Father Death" MacJohnstmyster It's not at all a horror rip-off , and you will enjoy it if you are not expecting Scream. 4 stars
8/16/99 Marshy Very silly film. Very derivative. Very enjoyable. For thriller fans a must. Katie Homles... 4 stars
7/19/99 SID I liked this movie, dammit. 4 stars
6/25/99 David Keech Some shrewd commentary on high school cliques does not make up for the lame script. 2 stars
5/02/99 Whitney I like James Marsden and Katie Holmes, but this was nothing special! 3 stars
4/15/99 Jon Jackson This movie is refreshing like a bottle of piss. 2 stars
3/02/99 THE Juicester Sucks not worth renting..good ideas but it just doesn't make the grade 1 stars
2/02/99 The Opinionator The single worst movie ever made 1 stars
1/15/99 Skanky As a Katie Holmes fan i'm happy to announce she's going to attend COLUMBIA MUTHAFUCKERS! 5 stars
1/10/99 twisted barbie you wont enjoy this flick if youre over 14 yrs of age... 1 stars
11/20/98 davebo this movie was better when it was called attack of the body snatchers 1 stars
11/10/98 Hugh Jass Dawson's Creek on Prozac, better than Scream and Halloween:H20, watch it for fun. 4 stars
9/28/98 John Hawkins Despite what you've heard this is a great movie! 5 stars
9/25/98 Pat Flanagan As a horror movie and Katie Holmes fan, it was pretty good, but as a movie, it wasn't great 3 stars
9/23/98 David Clark Too bad they cut 40 minutes! 4 stars
9/23/98 ShadowStar© The film's only saving grace was the fact that it eventually ended. 1 stars
9/20/98 katherine Pretty damn good 5 stars
9/18/98 Christian I thought it was not what i expected it to be but it was fun and Katie Holmes is damn fine! 4 stars
9/15/98 Gamma Katie Holmes made it worth watching. The shout to Pink Floyd was funny, but out of place 2 stars
9/14/98 Chip Taylor Enough alreadly. Teen slasher movies suck. I Know What You Did Last Summer sucked. 0 stars. 1 stars
9/13/98 Daniel Eskin Blechh I wasted 50 cents on that vile puss of a film. Though the nudity was good( brief ). 1 stars
9/11/98 katie If this movie didn't have these actors no one would watch. Needed a more elaborate plot. 2 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball Meh. 3 stars
8/22/98 Mister Whoopee It could have been much worse. It could have. 4 stars
8/16/98 f*r*o*s*t*y I've got paranoia, paranoia, that this flick really su-ucks! 2 stars
8/16/98 Miss Stress teen angst flick, katie holmes couldn't even save this one 1 stars
8/16/98 {{{OZ}}} I wanted to see it a lot cos it looked good, but... blah. 2 stars
8/16/98 rotten f. milk god bless katie holmes. 5 stars
8/15/98 roxy two words: i hate katie holmes, she's plain and boring and can't act. 1 stars
8/14/98 zubilicious its a good flick to see while under the influence of drugs. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  24-Jul-1998 (R)
  DVD: 17-Jul-2001

UK
  N/A

Australia
  18-Mar-1999 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast