More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.73

Awesome: 22.39%
Worth A Look: 8.96%
Average: 20.9%
Pretty Bad: 14.93%
Total Crap32.84%

3 reviews, 49 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

Fashionista by Jay Seaver

I Love You, Daddy by Rob Gonsalves

Jailbreak by Jay Seaver

Attraction (2017) by Jay Seaver

Thousand Junkies, A by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Practical Magic
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Erik Childress

"What's the Point?"
2 stars

Practical Magic (* Ĺ) - What was the point of this film? And thatís a legitimate question - because what is the point?

Is the film supposed to be about two complete opposite sisters who happen to be witches and the lives they have to lead? How about the plot that kicks in about the abusive boyfriend, who gets killed, brought back to life, killed again, and then starts tormenting and possessing the sisters? What about the romantic angle of Sandra Bullockís character, who, about an hour into the film, starts to like a detective investigating the case of the missing boyfriend? This film wants to be about so much that it blows every possible angle which could have made an interesting flick. Thereís nothing interesting about the witchcraft aspect - especially since thatís supposed to be the main focus of the film - because there really isnít a whole lot of witchcraft going on - a subject much more interesting in the mediocre The Craft and the far superior The Witches of Eastwick. The film isnít very funny and I think it was meant to be a comedy. The human drama isnít that well developed because the dead boyfriend interrupts that flow and decides to turn the film into a half-assed version of The Frighteners whenever it feels like it. And the romantic angle doesnít really spark because itís too little and way too late into the film for me to care.

This is just a mess of a movie that needed another rewrite or ten before it got my money.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=427&reviewer=198
originally posted: 02/17/00 05:16:34
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

6/20/11 pwhite98270 Cute movie Sandra was the star in this one 4 stars
1/19/11 PAUL SHORTT UNSATISFYING ADAPTATION DESPITE LIKEABLE STARS 1 stars
5/25/09 Anonymous Didn't like this movie but wanted to point out that HE TOOK THE KEYS when we went to pee. 1 stars
5/14/08 Sherrie If you have an imagination, hope in love, and love to believe, then you'll love this movie! 5 stars
1/01/07 del You all like to eat your own poop, don't you? 1 stars
11/01/05 jen gray amazing 5 stars
11/01/05 con sauer this has Sandy in it so it/s good 5 stars
1/31/05 Bonnie James I really liked thus film. 5 stars
1/18/05 Paul The actors, story, and music were superb. I've seen it 3-times and would watch it again! 5 stars
11/27/04 Jim Okay witch hijinx. Probably the last time Bullock would get billing over Kidman. 3 stars
7/07/04 Kate Movie was very interesting, would watch again. 5 stars
7/07/04 Ray Watched it a couple of times, great movie 5 stars
7/07/04 Ashley I liked the movie so much, I bought the DVD! 5 stars
7/07/04 Liz The movie was great!!! I think they need a 2nd movie. 5 stars
6/17/04 rebecca loved it 4 stars
2/22/04 LimeLight I actually really love this movie despite the comments made by most of the other reviewers. 4 stars
7/07/02 hilarydsur total crap 1 stars
5/25/02 aadd asadad 5 stars
4/04/02 cat I love this movie, me and my sister watch in all the time together. It's sweet! 5 stars
2/09/02 Shelley Howard Never before thought I could like Nicole Kidman even less than Sandra Bullock! 1 stars
11/12/01 Gracy Lionheart Boring and long...I am glad I wasn't the one who rented it. 1 stars
11/04/01 Hunter SANDRA-BEAUTIFUL Nicole-NO TALENT, TRIES TO HARD! GET A LIFE. 1 stars
10/23/01 Andrew Carden I Couldn't Really Figure Out The Point To This Trash. 1 stars
7/17/01 Josh Tybur Girls not even that hot 2 stars
6/23/01 Justin Cheung Not bad, Sandra and Nicole work pretty well together, good flick 5 stars
6/14/01 Gary Bleurgh... well, Stockard Channing was funny. Kinda. 1 stars
2/14/01 Richard Wright This irredeemable piece of faectal matter deserves 2 total craps.. EVERYONE JOIN IN!! 1 stars
2/07/01 CATHERINE JAVIER VERY NICE AND CUTE STORY 5 stars
3/28/00 Richard Wright The worst film I have ever seen. It makes me feel physically sick just thinking about it. 1 stars
3/24/00 Lesley yeh right! 3 stars
2/06/00 Kyle Broflovski Are critics just completely eat up with the dumbass??? THIS IS KILLER!!!!!!! 5 stars
1/04/00 Nice Guy Eddie Bad acting, bad direction... and this is coming from a Bullock and Kidman fan! 1 stars
10/31/99 Lindsey This was kinda a good movie, but certainly not the greatest. 3 stars
9/25/99 JED Not a bad movie confusing but a rather bit charming film. 3 stars
8/16/99 Marshy Mixes too many styles. Kidman annoys, and Bullock sleepwalks thru. If fan of either, see it 2 stars
4/16/99 bizzy eeeewwww. barely like the book. 2 stars
4/10/99 Michael Grimm kidman and Bullock go at it!!!!!!!!! 4 stars
3/27/99 Rob Mckechnie If it wasn't for horny nicole, i would have fallen asleep in the first 5 minutes. 2 stars
2/20/99 MR HOLLYWOOD!! SANDRA BULLOCKS MOVIE,wrong director,Channing/Weist are a waste but worth it,kidman's lost. 4 stars
12/03/98 Kirgo Pointless, confused...but I really liked it, perhaps I have a brain tumor! 4 stars
11/24/98 Fred Does Bullock pick scripts by saying eenie-meenie-miny-moe? Even my date hated this one. 1 stars
11/20/98 evil buffy k, anyone who's read even part of this book would know how hard this movie sucks. 1 stars
11/13/98 Bad Kosh Totally screwed. End of story. 3 stars
10/26/98 Ashley SO Fucking awesome. After that movie I wanted to cast spells too. 5 stars
10/23/98 Jon Dye A fucking chick flick if ever there was one. 1 stars
10/22/98 Negative Creep A movie whereKidman doesnt make me puke Gotta be worth somethin Bullock stilloutclasses her 3 stars
10/17/98 Mr Showbiz This movie was cursed with a confused script and the wrong director. 3 stars
9/29/98 Marty in St.Louis Every witch movie sucks ass 1 stars
8/28/98 Mister Whoopee Ugh. Bullock. At least she shows some emotion in this film. Too many subplots. 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  16-Oct-1998 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  04-Feb-1999 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast