More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.14

Awesome: 9.64%
Worth A Look: 4.82%
Average: 16.87%
Pretty Bad: 27.71%
Total Crap40.96%

8 reviews, 35 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Blue Streak
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by the Grinch

"Emmanuel Lewis in a role that will inspire you!"
2 stars

While it occasionally delivers a few chuckles, Blue Streak is about as predictable as a sitcom on the WB network.

Okay, here's the deal. I have to admit that Martin Lawrence's show "Martin" was a guilty pleasure of mine...it's one of those shows that you watch, but don't want to admit to people that you watch. "Friends? Naw, I don't watch that crap...what time is it? Quarter to nine? Um..I gotta go!" But having a successful sitcom does not make you capable of carrying a comedy/action film by yourself.

And these lameass excuses to play other characters 'incognito'...sorry, Shanene and the "Gold tootheses" guy were funny on "Martin", but they're gettin old here. Lawrence is not as talented an impressionist as, say, Eddie Murphy or Billy Crystal. He seems able to convincingly emulate someone you might meet at your local bus station at 2 a.m. in the morning, but that's to be the extent of his talents.

Blue Streak just doesn't flow well enough for an action film, and just doesn't deliver enough laughs to be a full-on comedy. What seems like an initially good idea turns more predictable than a gag on a UPN sitcom.

I'll give it 3 scooby snacks because there were a few funny moments, plus I kinda like Dave Shapell...but ultimately, I'm being gracious with that rating as it's just too predictable, and many of the characters are about as bright as the clientele at a Jerry Lewis film festival.

And William Forsythe is suffering from type-casting worse than Chris Walken.

Gary Coleman returns in "Yet ANOTHER 48 hrs"! Oh yeah, guess who directed this? That's right, the same guy who did "Flubber" and "Encino Man". HOLD ME BACK! I say: wait for video.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=428&reviewer=156
originally posted: 10/01/99 10:56:45
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

1/08/16 David Hollingsworth unfunny and boring 1 stars
6/27/10 PAUL SHORTT CORNY AND UNEVEN 1 stars
8/19/08 Shaun Wallner This was a funny movie. 5 stars
11/29/07 Total Crap This movie is embarrasingly bad for Martin, and Luke Wilson is a wimp. Stupid just stupid. 2 stars
2/01/07 AJ Muller ONE funny scene-the interrogation. The rest is rancid gorilla vomit. Really. 1 stars
1/06/07 johnnyfog Actually, you know what, its watchable. Lawrence still belongs in hell though 3 stars
9/26/06 Paul I thought it was pretty good, better then ntional security 4 stars
9/13/06 Bmac Any Martin Lawrence move is aut-greatness 5 stars
3/12/06 Chris Wilbik I loved this movie and can watch it over and over. 5 stars
7/07/05 Indrid Cold A few surprisingly funny scenes, but yet another waste of Lawrence's abilities. 2 stars
2/06/05 ALDO not bad....my favorite martin lawrence film 3 stars
9/21/04 Naka No. Just...just no. God. 1 stars
7/28/04 Mike Devans a few good laughs 3 stars
7/17/04 Mina Elias great 5 stars
9/04/03 judy chavez it was okay 3 stars
4/11/03 Jack Sommersby Cliche-ridden without too many comic moments for thr talented Lawrence. 2 stars
1/02/03 johnathan holmes its okay and it gives me tips on acting when i become an actor in the future, like in 2008 5 stars
7/29/02 Croweater Martin Lawrence sucks, enough said. 1 stars
6/20/02 Film Dude The guiltiest of pleasures... everything else with Martin sucks, though. 4 stars
12/03/01 Poop It made me want to choke on my own cock 1 stars
8/07/01 Joe Zappa It's a shame.It was such a good plot, yet they had to fuck it up by casting Martin Lawrence 3 stars
9/13/00 Boy In The Designer Bubble RacStep'N Fetchit lives, and his new name is Martin Lawrence! 1 stars
3/11/00 Will MAAAAH-TIIIIIIIIIIN!!!!!! 1 stars
2/12/00 arnold funny but not hilarious.also a tad bit annoying 3 stars
11/28/99 Lisa It was a stupid movie 1 stars
11/25/99 Chris Yong I love it! Very funny. 4 stars
11/23/99 Elwood Hell i liked it! 5 stars
11/11/99 Dinks It SUCKED!! 1 stars
10/17/99 JimBob I dont even like Martin Lawrence, but got good guffa's , and a couple belly laughs. 5 stars
10/08/99 Jorge C. Awesome Movie! 5 stars
10/01/99 ladislau "standard"means "good" and it's accepted by everyone.Matin is funny! 4 stars
10/01/99 Steven Kelly This film was amusing, but not side-splitting. 3 stars
9/30/99 Meepos Can studio types please get over Martin Lawrence? the dude is just not funny. 2 stars
9/24/99 Sherry Good for a rental... 3 stars
9/19/99 Mr Showbiz The gags aren't funny, and what's worse, they're predictable. 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  17-Sep-1999

UK
  N/A

Australia
  04-Nov-1999 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast