More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.14

Awesome: 9.64%
Worth A Look: 4.82%
Average: 16.87%
Pretty Bad: 27.71%
Total Crap40.96%

8 reviews, 35 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Laplace's Witch by Jay Seaver

Eighth Grade by Peter Sobczynski

Unfriended: Dark Web by Peter Sobczynski

Mamma Mia: Here We Go Again! by Peter Sobczynski

Boiled Angels: The Trial of Mike Diana by Jay Seaver

Buy Bust by Jay Seaver

Isle of Dogs by Rob Gonsalves

Room Laundering by Jay Seaver

Mega Time Squad by Jay Seaver

Profile by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Blue Streak
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Filmnet

"Dumb, unfunny, pointless."
1 stars

A jewel thief, Miles Logan (Martin Lawrence) hides a jewel in a building and 2 years later has to retrieve it from what is now a police station by going undercover as a cop.

The second rate Eddie Murphy gags provide a few amusingly ironic moments but for the most part itís an unbelievable, run of the mill no-brainer and everyone in the film seems to have an IQ of 50.

The funniest parts were when Miles shows some cheering white cops how to bash their suspects to get information and near the end when a French criminal has to work out whether Miles is a cop or criminal.

You could argue that the film has a message that cops need to get a little dirty and get around the left wing laws to get justice but that may be reading too much into yet another piece of Hollywood junk.

If you enjoyed Life then this may be your kind of movie, but otherwise catch it on a TV rerun in 5 years time! (Gawain McLachlan--filmnet.org.au)

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=428&reviewer=169
originally posted: 12/20/99 14:49:24
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

1/08/16 David Hollingsworth unfunny and boring 1 stars
6/27/10 PAUL SHORTT CORNY AND UNEVEN 1 stars
8/19/08 Shaun Wallner This was a funny movie. 5 stars
11/29/07 Total Crap This movie is embarrasingly bad for Martin, and Luke Wilson is a wimp. Stupid just stupid. 2 stars
2/01/07 AJ Muller ONE funny scene-the interrogation. The rest is rancid gorilla vomit. Really. 1 stars
1/06/07 johnnyfog Actually, you know what, its watchable. Lawrence still belongs in hell though 3 stars
9/26/06 Paul I thought it was pretty good, better then ntional security 4 stars
9/13/06 Bmac Any Martin Lawrence move is aut-greatness 5 stars
3/12/06 Chris Wilbik I loved this movie and can watch it over and over. 5 stars
7/07/05 Indrid Cold A few surprisingly funny scenes, but yet another waste of Lawrence's abilities. 2 stars
2/06/05 ALDO not bad....my favorite martin lawrence film 3 stars
9/21/04 Naka No. Just...just no. God. 1 stars
7/28/04 Mike Devans a few good laughs 3 stars
7/17/04 Mina Elias great 5 stars
9/04/03 judy chavez it was okay 3 stars
4/11/03 Jack Sommersby Cliche-ridden without too many comic moments for thr talented Lawrence. 2 stars
1/02/03 johnathan holmes its okay and it gives me tips on acting when i become an actor in the future, like in 2008 5 stars
7/29/02 Croweater Martin Lawrence sucks, enough said. 1 stars
6/20/02 Film Dude The guiltiest of pleasures... everything else with Martin sucks, though. 4 stars
12/03/01 Poop It made me want to choke on my own cock 1 stars
8/07/01 Joe Zappa It's a shame.It was such a good plot, yet they had to fuck it up by casting Martin Lawrence 3 stars
9/13/00 Boy In The Designer Bubble RacStep'N Fetchit lives, and his new name is Martin Lawrence! 1 stars
3/11/00 Will MAAAAH-TIIIIIIIIIIN!!!!!! 1 stars
2/12/00 arnold funny but not hilarious.also a tad bit annoying 3 stars
11/28/99 Lisa It was a stupid movie 1 stars
11/25/99 Chris Yong I love it! Very funny. 4 stars
11/23/99 Elwood Hell i liked it! 5 stars
11/11/99 Dinks It SUCKED!! 1 stars
10/17/99 JimBob I dont even like Martin Lawrence, but got good guffa's , and a couple belly laughs. 5 stars
10/08/99 Jorge C. Awesome Movie! 5 stars
10/01/99 ladislau "standard"means "good" and it's accepted by everyone.Matin is funny! 4 stars
10/01/99 Steven Kelly This film was amusing, but not side-splitting. 3 stars
9/30/99 Meepos Can studio types please get over Martin Lawrence? the dude is just not funny. 2 stars
9/24/99 Sherry Good for a rental... 3 stars
9/19/99 Mr Showbiz The gags aren't funny, and what's worse, they're predictable. 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  17-Sep-1999

UK
  N/A

Australia
  04-Nov-1999 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast