More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.14

Awesome: 9.64%
Worth A Look: 4.82%
Average: 16.87%
Pretty Bad: 27.71%
Total Crap40.96%

8 reviews, 35 user ratings



Blue Streak
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by spork-girl

"believe that? well, sorry, i don't."
1 stars

in a word? sucks.

i was tempted to leave my review at that, since if you saw a preview, and you still thought this was going to be a great movie, you are clearly beyond all hope and are probably at the wrong website. but i think the admins would yell at me and i'm a coward at heart, so i will elaborate.

combining two genres is a difficult task. well, i never thought it was THAT difficult, but apparently the makers of this movie found it extremely difficult since they failed so miserably. don't get me wrong, it was at times funny, and it was at times, well, action. definately no suspense. and it was more funny despite the script than because of it. and by this i mean that dave chapelle was funny. the end. oh, and actually, some of the "white people are dumb" jokes were funny too. some of them. but considering the movie rests on those, it pretty much failed.

the plot is: martin lawrence is a great jewel theif. uhm, YEAH RIGHT. ok, suspension of disbelief for a moment... he steals a big diamond, gets backstabbed, goes to jail, gets out, and goes looking for the diamond that he hid when he got caught. the building is now a police department, and he needs a way in. so he spends faaar too much time jumping around the streets of l.a. like a madman. too much time not only because it got boring, but mostly because maritn lawrence really does jump around the streets of large metropoilitan areas like a madman, in real life, brandishing guns, and that's not funny, ok? it's scary and sad, not funny. he finally pretends to be a cop, tricks whitey into believing him (i must pause for a moment and say that 4 minutes of any of dave chapelle's standup, which is essentially the same joke, is infinately more funny than anything in this movie) and spends the rest of the movie being supercop. ok, uhm... no.

he simply doesn't make me believe any of it, so i don't understand how anyone else could believe him in the slightest, so martin lawrence pretty much ruins the movie. not that there was much to ruin, i mean, come on, the pursuit south of the border into the freedom of mexico land deal at the end?

no, sweety, i don't buy it, you're not fooling anyone here, you suck and you should go back to *attmpting* to molest women on your unentertaining self titled tv sitcom, k? believe THAT. 1 spork.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=428&reviewer=6
originally posted: 10/01/99 07:06:06
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

1/08/16 David Hollingsworth unfunny and boring 1 stars
6/27/10 PAUL SHORTT CORNY AND UNEVEN 1 stars
8/19/08 Shaun Wallner This was a funny movie. 5 stars
11/29/07 Total Crap This movie is embarrasingly bad for Martin, and Luke Wilson is a wimp. Stupid just stupid. 2 stars
2/01/07 AJ Muller ONE funny scene-the interrogation. The rest is rancid gorilla vomit. Really. 1 stars
1/06/07 johnnyfog Actually, you know what, its watchable. Lawrence still belongs in hell though 3 stars
9/26/06 Paul I thought it was pretty good, better then ntional security 4 stars
9/13/06 Bmac Any Martin Lawrence move is aut-greatness 5 stars
3/12/06 Chris Wilbik I loved this movie and can watch it over and over. 5 stars
7/07/05 Indrid Cold A few surprisingly funny scenes, but yet another waste of Lawrence's abilities. 2 stars
2/06/05 ALDO not bad....my favorite martin lawrence film 3 stars
9/21/04 Naka No. Just...just no. God. 1 stars
7/28/04 Mike Devans a few good laughs 3 stars
7/17/04 Mina Elias great 5 stars
9/04/03 judy chavez it was okay 3 stars
4/11/03 Jack Sommersby Cliche-ridden without too many comic moments for thr talented Lawrence. 2 stars
1/02/03 johnathan holmes its okay and it gives me tips on acting when i become an actor in the future, like in 2008 5 stars
7/29/02 Croweater Martin Lawrence sucks, enough said. 1 stars
6/20/02 Film Dude The guiltiest of pleasures... everything else with Martin sucks, though. 4 stars
12/03/01 Poop It made me want to choke on my own cock 1 stars
8/07/01 Joe Zappa It's a shame.It was such a good plot, yet they had to fuck it up by casting Martin Lawrence 3 stars
9/13/00 Boy In The Designer Bubble RacStep'N Fetchit lives, and his new name is Martin Lawrence! 1 stars
3/11/00 Will MAAAAH-TIIIIIIIIIIN!!!!!! 1 stars
2/12/00 arnold funny but not hilarious.also a tad bit annoying 3 stars
11/28/99 Lisa It was a stupid movie 1 stars
11/25/99 Chris Yong I love it! Very funny. 4 stars
11/23/99 Elwood Hell i liked it! 5 stars
11/11/99 Dinks It SUCKED!! 1 stars
10/17/99 JimBob I dont even like Martin Lawrence, but got good guffa's , and a couple belly laughs. 5 stars
10/08/99 Jorge C. Awesome Movie! 5 stars
10/01/99 ladislau "standard"means "good" and it's accepted by everyone.Matin is funny! 4 stars
10/01/99 Steven Kelly This film was amusing, but not side-splitting. 3 stars
9/30/99 Meepos Can studio types please get over Martin Lawrence? the dude is just not funny. 2 stars
9/24/99 Sherry Good for a rental... 3 stars
9/19/99 Mr Showbiz The gags aren't funny, and what's worse, they're predictable. 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  17-Sep-1999

UK
  N/A

Australia
  04-Nov-1999 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast