More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 

Overall Rating

Awesome: 2.78%
Worth A Look: 2.78%
Pretty Bad: 27.78%
Total Crap: 30.56%

2 reviews, 24 user ratings

Latest Reviews

Bound for the Fields, the Mountains, and the Seacoast by Jay Seaver

Trumbo (2015) by Jay Seaver

Creed by Peter Sobczynski

Joseph: King of Dreams by Jaycie

Good Dinosaur, The by Jay Seaver

Good Dinosaur, The by alejandroariera

Victor Frankenstein by Jay Seaver

Exhibition (1975) by Charles Tatum

D2: The Mighty Ducks by Jaycie

By the Sea by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed

Holy Man
[] Buy posters from this movie
by K-Dog

"Just a harmless rom-com-drama"
3 stars

Heres something that I didn't expect....

A film in which Eddie Murphy totally acts subtly! And he is very good at it. No laughs, just smirks.

Well this film is basically a love story , a story of a man on his own pilgrimige (Eddie Murphy), and a criticism of the TV networks.
It would take too long to tell the story so I won't, but suffice to say here again the plot is rehashed and familiar (You know if the hero makes a mistake and appears cruel, all will be resolved)

Jeff Goldblum is the other main lead (as a tv exec.) He is very good but still playing himself, he's likable enough. But Eddie murphy overshadows him as the harmless holy man.

This film is not demanding, and it is just a harmless rom-com-drama, which should be seen on video instead of cinema.

So it's harmless enough, just not outstanding.

link directly to this review at
originally posted: 09/01/98 23:08:37
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

8/30/09 the dork knight Cheerful movie, but no real message or funny jokes. 3 stars
10/28/08 Mack A fun movie with alot of heart, Goldblum and Murphy shine in particular. 3 stars
6/28/08 John Millheim Very, very, very boring, I fell asleep 1 stars
11/26/07 Tony S This movie has a wonderful moral theme, I loved it. Made me feel real good about myself. 5 stars
12/01/05 hibbyX Oh, Eddie, Eddie, Eddie...what happened to you? 1 stars
8/25/05 ES if eddie murphy is in this and he doesn't do anything, is it worth seeing? 2 stars
6/07/05 Anthony G movie sucks? 1 stars
4/29/04 X An unholy mess 1 stars
1/15/02 Andrew Carden Eddie Murphy Is The Only Reason To See This. 3 stars
10/16/01 Mr. Hat After a few times, it sort of sucks, but Eddie and Jeff are cool. 3 stars
8/08/01 TLsmooth You are a we-todd-it if you even remotely enjoyed this shithole. 1 stars
6/12/00 Dimlight Holy crap Batman 2 stars
4/07/00 SID I don't know what to think. It wasn't really funny, but it was entertaining, I guess. 3 stars
2/21/00 arnold horrible 1 stars
3/13/99 Ah Dooey Zzzzzzzap! Holy shit! 3 stars
12/13/98 Carl A great family film with a great message: swallow your pride and do what is right! 4 stars
12/05/98 frank the watchman very nice flick 3 stars
12/03/98 chi-fan Just shoot me now. This movie was zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz.... 1 stars
11/23/98 Michelle Manning I can't believe I stayed in the theater !! 1 stars
10/19/98 Dark Horizons Not really a good choice for a come back film. 2 stars
10/18/98 Kwyjibo Oh. My. God. 1 stars
10/17/98 Mr Showbiz What in Godís name was Eddie Murphy thinking? 2 stars
10/13/98 grunter JUST AVERAGE is JUST NOT GOOD ENOUGH - Murphy's a has-been. 1 stars
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:

Discuss this movie in our forum

  09-Oct-1998 (PG)


  05-Nov-1998 (PG)

Directed by
  Stephen Herek

Written by
  Tim Schulman

  Eddie Murphy
  Jeff Goldblum
  Robert Loggia
  Kelly Preston
  John Cryer
  Soupy Sales

Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast