More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.91

Awesome59.84%
Worth A Look: 11.68%
Average: 4.33%
Pretty Bad: 8.14%
Total Crap: 16.01%

18 reviews, 654 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Cat and the Canary, The (1927) by Jay Seaver

#Stuck by Jay Seaver

Fury (2014) by Jay Seaver

Book of Life, The (2014) by Jay Seaver

Golden Era, The by Jay Seaver

Maze Runner, The by Daniel Kelly

Art and Craft by Jay Seaver

One Chance by Jay Seaver

St. Vincent by Peter Sobczynski

Wyrmwood by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Moulin Rouge!
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Rob Gonsalves

"Restless, headache-provoking "musical."
2 stars

What to do with a movie like Baz Luhrmann's 'Moulin Rouge'? It demands to be taken on its own glitzy, stylized terms.

It has been described as the love-it-or-hate-it movie of the season -- much like 2000's equally bold (and far superior) musical Dancer in the Dark -- but I didn't love it or hate it; mostly I just stared at it in a trance of indifference, trying to stay awake. If you enjoyed Luhrmann's other two shimmering pop artifacts -- Strictly Ballroom and especially Romeo + Juliet -- chances are you'll fall in love with Moulin Rouge. If you like your films with a little less pizzazz and a little more substance, you'd do well to sit out this dance.

Luhrmann and co-writer Craig Pearce have constructed Moulin Rouge (which has nothing in particular to do with the 1952 John Huston film, except that it features Henri de Toulouse-Lautrec, played a bit too avidly by John Leguizamo) not as a musical, exactly, but as a riff on The Musical. As in Pearl Harbor, everything in it is appropriated from somewhere else. For instance, here you have Christian (Ewan McGregor), a sensitive writer who loses his heart to dynamic courtesan Satine (Nicole Kidman). In a few ways, this could be called an uncredited remake of Cabaret, only without the troublesome Nazi milieu, except that it swipes from so many other sources that, ha-ha, no single creator has enough grounds for a lawsuit.

The "plot" is wafer-thin: Christian and Satine, who are working on some sort of show called Spectacular Spectacular, are frustrated in their affair by the attentions of a sneering duke (Richard Roxburgh) who wants Satine to himself. Rather stupidly, Christian and Satine craft their show as a veiled parallel to their own situation; also rather stupidly, the Duke takes forever to see the parallel even when someone in his presence, describing Christian's fictitious counterpart, slips and says "starving writer" instead of "starving sitar player."

It's probably no use to attack Moulin Rouge on logical grounds. Luhrmann thinks in terms of fragments, moments, visual opportunities. Working with the boldly painting cinematographer Donald McAlpine, who has a rich sense of color and an unerring sense for how to frame an interesting composition, Luhrmann sabotages McAlpine's work, more often than not, by being too restless in the editing room. I often say of editing-happy directors, "If you don't like a shot, wait two seconds and it'll change"; here it's more like "If you like a shot, don't get too attached to it, because in two seconds it'll change."

Christian and Satine often serenade each other, using snippets of modern-day rock love ballads, which I guess is supposed to make this turn-of-the-century romantic fable more relevant to the teenagers of the turn of this century. I almost never felt that the pop songs (including Elton John, the Beatles, David Bowie, and many others) worked for the movie, and in one case -- when a group of men break into the chorus of Nirvana's "Smells Like Teen Spirit" -- I found it embarrassing. Kidman and McGregor aren't really singers; they sell their crooning more on attitude than on skill, and that goes for their overall performances, too. McGregor has the right look -- brilliant eyes, brilliant teeth -- for a big-movie-musical leading man, and Kidman is breathtaking in her many costume changes, but when they have to be still and communicate with each other it's amateur hour (and, I hasten to add, they haven't been amateurish elsewhere). They simply have no chemistry.

I wish I could support Moulin Rouge, because it's certainly not timid (except, perhaps, for the choice of soundtrack tunes slavishly geared to teens) and there's nothing else out there remotely like it. It's the sort of overstuffed extravaganza that, if it works for you, really works for you, and if it doesn't, really doesn't. Talent and, yes, vision have gone into this project. Baz Luhrmann isn't a hack; you feel he believes passionately in what he puts on the screen (much like Paul Thomas Anderson, another virtuoso who swings for the fence and misses), and some of the movie's enraptured lack of irony is refreshing.

Luhrmann is straining to achieve something new, original, different. He should've started with the script.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=4303&reviewer=416
originally posted: 01/11/07 10:19:38
[printer] printer-friendly format  
For more in the Australian series, click here.

User Comments

7/17/14 ickxyiam USA 4 stars
4/29/14 xwhlmyipzf USA 2 stars
12/16/13 Vicki R good movie 4 stars
1/10/13 Michael Hernandez Nicole Kidman at her prime 5 stars
12/13/12 susanna_lsy wonderful movie that i have ever watched 5 stars
9/17/12 VLTampa One of my favorite movies. The music is great. 5 stars
9/03/12 Geoff Herbert Unbelievably, chronically bad movie making. Keep him away from any futute movie stunt. 1 stars
6/20/12 Jordan Kentris This is one of my all time favourite movies. Nicole Kidman and Ewan McGregor are amazing. 5 stars
10/14/11 ashley rexrode this a classic now!!! so sad! 5 stars
10/02/11 7thstranger Love the music! Excellent soundtrack! 4 stars
9/06/11 sylvia jastrzebski great movie to see!!!! 5 stars
5/30/11 Dorothy great singers 4 stars
4/18/11 Dorothy Rozdilsky The film gets too serious 3 stars
4/11/11 Lilli BEST MOVIE EVER 5 stars
3/14/11 Katie Fogle Great movie! 5 stars
1/22/11 Beverley M Sporck Highly entertaining, eye and ear candy for most. 5 stars
9/11/10 Barbara Leaf Terrible acting, worse singing - Nicole Kidman stunk on ice. 2 stars
6/13/10 Julia You can diss the movie, but NOT McGregor's and Kidman's voices. They are beautiful. 5 stars
12/06/09 internet gambling casino tip 2 stars
12/06/09 Jeff Wilder More style than substance sure. But what style it is! 5 stars
11/22/09 tip reviews 2 stars
11/21/09 health insurance self employed click here 5 stars
11/16/09 tips auto insurance comparison 1 stars
11/11/09 click here win now 5 stars
11/06/09 mental health care visit now 1 stars
10/30/09 win now directory 5 stars
9/23/09 win now guide 4 stars
9/15/09 online poker sites directory 3 stars
9/04/09 visit now win now 3 stars
8/29/09 login click here 5 stars
8/23/09 tips how to play poker 5 stars
8/07/09 Sean Best movie of 2001. Not a big fan of musicals in general, but this one is just stunning! 5 stars
7/05/09 canadian auto insurance quotes car insurance new driver 5 stars
6/08/09 free party poker poker home 4 stars
6/05/09 Karina Hi everyone. What is the use of a house if you haven't got a tolerable planet to put it on? 2 stars
6/04/09 visit guide 2 stars
6/03/09 Lore Hi. The gem cannot be polished without friction, nor man perfected without trials. Help me! 5 stars
4/17/09 stacey best movie ever yur crazy not to love it!! 5 stars
3/30/09 R Lan bad musical. Worst rendition of Roxanne I've ever heard. 2 stars
3/30/09 Renee How are you. I love my past. I love my present. I'm not ashamed of what I've had, and I'm n 1 stars
3/20/09 grattis kasino click 3 stars
3/18/09 login doyle s room 2 stars
3/05/09 brian Lurhmann reinvents musical; initially all style no substance, but in the long run it works! 4 stars
2/20/09 Petr Král Untasty, puffy, stupid plot and obvious tendency to shock 1 stars
1/08/09 login directory 2 stars
1/01/09 Anne B Fabulous - one of the best films I've seen - deserved the accolades it got. 5 stars
12/24/08 Morgan Anyone who hates this movie must be a sociopath not to see the emotion behind the story! 5 stars
12/12/08 kristen i love this movie ppl who hate it are hatters 5 stars
10/03/08 Anthony E Very bad. Fell asleep woke up and the nightmare was still on. 1 stars
9/22/08 APyott an overrated piece of crap. really. 1 stars
9/04/08 Rachel Musicals normally don't do it for me, but Moulin Rouge was great. Improves on a rewatch too 5 stars
7/06/08 Jason Strickland My wife and I love sitting down to watch this movie! 4 stars
7/04/08 Leah One of my favourite movies, despite Ewan's extremely distracting mole. 5 stars
5/21/08 PAUL SHORTT A GLORIOUSLY EXCESSIVE, LAVISHLY DECORATED FAILURE 2 stars
5/17/08 Izabella Its optically beautiful, but irritating, annoying, melodramatic, campy, delirious, arrogant 3 stars
4/28/08 Christy one of my favorite movies 4 stars
3/31/08 kelsey lee loved loved loved. choreography and singing is amazing, but couldve used more original song 5 stars
3/02/08 Jackie Hated it - Nicole Kidman can't sing! 1 stars
9/20/07 Jen Unreal. I LOVED it! Ewan is charming and can really sing! 5 stars
7/19/07 bookworm Had to catch my breath after I watched it. INCREDIBLE!!!!! 5 stars
7/12/07 as i loved this movie-my fav. 5 stars
5/06/07 Matt The worst movie I've ever seen in my life! 1 stars
4/15/07 Matt Awful!!! 1 stars
3/16/07 becca I loved it so much. My favorite movie of all time 5 stars
12/26/06 johnnyfog Its better on dvd. When you can, you know, stop it from moving. 4 stars
12/19/06 alannah i luv it its totaly like achicogo wanna be tho but its still GREAT 5 stars
12/18/06 Just Me BreathTaking!! I loved the Music 5 stars
12/17/06 magnolia This is my favourite movie ever! It's amazing. Ewan is the best!!! 5 stars
12/13/06 jdean62 Can watch this over and over again! Excellent ! 5 stars
12/12/06 Angela Saunders Very interesting, well casted, emotional, definitely worth watching!!! 4 stars
12/05/06 Sienna Williams I thought it was the best movie I have ever seen. 5 stars
10/27/06 DaYi If you don't pay good attention you'll miss the love message that the mouvie hasto offer! 5 stars
9/30/06 Tamara D. Leonard Total Crap 1 stars
9/02/06 L?L m?Z $p@Zm0 loved every minute of it why cant life be like it! xxxx MOULIN ROUGE! xxx 5 stars
8/17/06 Mary Beth shallow and disturbing 2 stars
6/28/06 joe koski love the movie thats why i have it on DVD 5 stars
6/16/06 Annie This movie Rocks hehe Like the music actors and just the whole thing story! 5 stars
6/08/06 Peggy Doty Surprized on how good it was. 4 stars
5/30/06 Heidi I love it! My all time favorite movie. The songs are incredible. 5 stars
5/24/06 Rachel it's a great movie, and whoever hasn't seen it, should 5 stars
5/20/06 chienne I tend to walk out of anything Kidman's in, she stuffs up every film she's in. 1 stars
5/19/06 Amber Pifer Wonderfully manic and over the top musical 5 stars
5/11/06 Agent Sands Cleverly made. 4 stars
5/05/06 dionwr WAY over the top--I loved it 4 stars
5/04/06 Christopher Lindstrom If you love musicals, it's a must see! 4 stars
5/02/06 Ryan_A Music, set to music. 5 stars
5/02/06 William Goss Fun, set to music. 4 stars
5/02/06 David Cornelius Ass, set to music. 1 stars
5/02/06 HBS-SH bill gates gets his 5 stars
4/29/06 Joseph Guilliams Dangoures and Bueatiful 4 stars
4/20/06 Becky Ewan McGregor is a great actor. "Roxanne" always gives me chills 5 stars
3/30/06 Sarahjo I really liked this movie it just made want to sing,dance,cry and laugh.It was extordinary! 5 stars
3/13/06 Roderick Cromar Over-rated. 2 stars
2/06/06 steve jones Total crap. Has no flow, no direction. i cannot see why anyone like it 1 stars
1/24/06 Slavisa THIS IS THE BEST FILM EVER! Nicole Kidman and Ewan McGregor are the best as well as Baz!!! 5 stars
1/03/06 Wiseman How any one likes this blows my mind away, you guys must smoke alot of Crack. 1 stars
11/25/05 Idiot_for_LMP One of Kidman's finest performances. Great actress. 5 stars
11/20/05 Cathal I just want to agree with Steve. Moulin Rouge! really is THE BEST FUCKING MOVIE EVER!!!!!! 5 stars
11/14/05 jenny this movie rocks! Nicole Kidmans best performance 5 stars
11/12/05 Jim sleeth Nothing wrong with watching Nicole Kidman for two hours 4 stars
11/05/05 LOVETHISMOVIE i love this movie 5 stars
11/01/05 noops very nice love story having some Bollywood (indian) touch 4 stars
11/01/05 Rick Jordan INcredible... 5 stars
10/28/05 alannah owens it is soo great i love it i watch it @ least once a week!!! 5 stars
10/06/05 claire hobbd fantastic, the best film in the world 5 stars
9/25/05 Leonor Espinoza Me encanto la peli, un amor dificil, pero no imposible! y que calidad de actorasos! 5 stars
9/14/05 Jonathon Holmes total crap 1 stars
9/13/05 bbbr too boring of nicole kidman 1 stars
9/13/05 ray mero I prefer Strictly Ballroom. Luhrmann's far too boringly manic here. 1 stars
9/13/05 ray mero I prefer Strictly Ballroom. Luhrmann's far too boringly manic here. 1 stars
9/13/05 ray mero I prefer Strictly Ballroom. Luhrmann's far too boringly manic here. 1 stars
9/08/05 paki_munda campy fun 4 stars
8/25/05 kate i cant get enough of moulin rouge, i crave it like a delicious piece of chocolate.i love it 5 stars
8/19/05 Jeffrey The critic who 2** this must have been on crack. Fantastic! 5 stars
8/15/05 .:*paris*:. i luv this movie.its amazing and entertaining a very good masterpiece 5 stars
8/12/05 ES Ah the musical, how crappy thou are = wife made me watch it 1 stars
7/26/05 Mattie Darden An amazing film that combines comedy and tragedy in a most peculiar, but astounding way. 5 stars
6/09/05 Jeanne Oh my God, I was embarrassed to watch this thing. Toe-curlingly bad. 1 stars
5/30/05 Ch33zTRON totally original! music was a fresh twist on classics! 5 stars
5/30/05 littlemissstar the remake of the songs totally destroy the movie. it makes the movie unoriginal 2 stars
5/27/05 koketso ndlovu it was very very very nice 5 stars
5/07/05 Gretchen I was disappointed in the acting... however the music was worth it! 3 stars
5/02/05 Alyson Come what may, this will always be a fantastic romance! And whoa Ewan can act and sing! 5 stars
4/23/05 H Lin a new kind of classic 5 stars
4/18/05 Rhianna Correa For some reason.....I liked it.... 4 stars
4/11/05 Ann Lemire Rather take a nap 2 stars
4/01/05 failingloser roooooooooooxanne! 5 stars
4/01/05 craig varney maudlin rouge made me cry pour me another drink 2 stars
3/23/05 heidi kukta totally disappointed in this one...didn't even finish it 1 stars
3/02/05 Colleen Goldrick I guess im the only one who HATED this movie 1 stars
2/18/05 Missy Mc I love musicals, but this was way overrated. 2 stars
2/10/05 Colleen Goldrick Just Never Got this one 1 stars
2/05/05 Susan Chamberlain Totally bored. I fell asleep. 2 stars
2/01/05 Eworm Not bad for a film/musical. Better than I expected. 4 stars
1/31/05 Katherine Frazier I absolutely loved the music - who would have thought? 5 stars
1/30/05 dana hammell excellent movie, we need more musicals like this 5 stars
1/24/05 Croweater Visually stunning, but ultimately shallow 2 stars
1/17/05 Lenny Truly appalling. Take some more coke, Baz. 1 stars
1/14/05 Turtle Wild, exuberant, and overall very refreshing. Visually astounding and emotionally hinging. 4 stars
1/01/05 Kiss Me Satine I love love love this film, I pity pity pity anyone who can't appreciate it 5 stars
12/25/04 Melissa My favorite movie ever!!! I could watch it every day. If you like musicals, you'll love it. 5 stars
12/05/04 Kristina Williams I loved this flick. Nicole and Ewan were fantastic together! 5 stars
11/27/04 MC what an adventure... sit back and enjoy! 5 stars
11/22/04 Bobby THE Best movie ever!! Tearjerking, brilliant, well-acted, original... I love this movie!!! 5 stars
11/18/04 Cathriona A visual masterpiece recognised only by artistic eyes. 5 stars
11/15/04 Monster W. Kung A putrid piece of shit. 1 stars
11/11/04 Sarah This film is the best tear jurker and if u dnt like it u must of been drunk wen u watched i 5 stars
10/30/04 HL Visual Feast . See it...but music has puke potential. 4 stars
10/13/04 Mel The best movie ever made. 5 stars
9/08/04 JeffK Couldn't stand to watch it. 1 stars
8/17/04 Jessica Awesome!! The Greatest! 5 stars
7/28/04 starrchilde Brilliant! 5 stars
7/27/04 lets call me sapphy I and I know that those of you who aren't cynical and drunk 5 stars
7/24/04 Sam This is the best film ever made. 5 stars
7/22/04 Scarlett Plot is fantastic, I love the characters, I cryed the first time I saw it. 5 stars
7/19/04 Karla I thought this was the worst movie ever!! 1 stars
7/13/04 Alaska It brings out every feeling you've ever had...best movie ever 5 stars
7/13/04 Tictoria Vimson This is a sign, the apocalypse is coming! 1 stars
7/08/04 Anne Marie the best film ever 5 stars
7/05/04 DM Visually stunning, and at times amazing, but to gaudy for its own good 3 stars
7/04/04 Ionicera I remember this plot from the Wedding Singer 3 stars
7/01/04 Vicky Timson "Moulin Rouge" seems more like a reason for a soundtrack than a film. 1 stars
6/26/04 Jackie Fabulous movie, I'm still in love with it 5 stars
6/25/04 John Thomas total crap a waste of film 1 stars
6/17/04 Jewelies Exposing McGregor's Vocal Talents and Blowing me Away Visually 5 stars
6/17/04 Kristy Campitelli this is the gratest movie of all time. 5 stars
6/03/04 Angel Good if you get the joke, frenetic and nausea inducing for most. 3 stars
5/07/04 Ross trash this movie 1 stars
5/05/04 porwaig 0oirhg[o` 3 stars
4/28/04 Danielle This movie is awesome, I loved it from start to finish. Kidman and McGregor are so great! 5 stars
4/11/04 Jessica I love this movie! It showed me just how strong love can be and did it greatly with song! 5 stars
3/31/04 sansho Flashy overbearing style over substance 1 stars
3/11/04 Nicole-me-lady Lovey dovey love it! 5 stars
3/11/04 Dingleburt HamsterPink An arty farty badly edited piece of cellu-void 1 stars
3/06/04 Jaco Visser The one movie which sowed me love! The best musical ever! 5 stars
2/26/04 john either the story connects with you or it doesn't - it didn't with me - 3 stars
1/24/04 Elena This movie was so boring and so cheesy. The love story was lame and forgettable. GARBAGE! 1 stars
1/23/04 JCDunkDogs did for movie musicals what Dick Vermiel did for the Rams! 5 stars
1/14/04 R.W. Welch Imaginatively done musical with top flight performances. 4 stars
1/08/04 sarah oh god, steve, you're such a fanboy schmuck. 3 stars
12/21/03 William I like the music 5 stars
12/20/03 Pigdaddy Truckdriver Ewan MacGregor is soo cute!!! 5 stars
10/27/03 Vira YOU PEOPLE ARE STUIPD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
9/24/03 Amy Wonderful! 5 stars
9/16/03 Javier Anzil Imprecionante 5 stars
9/13/03 Monster W. Kung Craptacular, craptacular! 1 stars
8/17/03 Summer Its absolutely sensational. Give it a chance - you know you're deeper than American Pie. 5 stars
7/30/03 Jake Nerotic mess! I can't relate to this theater stuff, I'm dizzy! The editor should be hit! 2 stars
7/28/03 KevinProv Entertains on many levels. A great movie. Dont watch it on HBO. MUST be watched widescreen 5 stars
7/25/03 nicole kidman not to be big headed but this film is the bomb and i look fit in it kylie let the film down 5 stars
6/23/03 the Grinch 2 * for Henry&June, 4* for this crap? Absinthe drinking indeed! Luhrman is a HACK! 2 stars
6/22/03 John Aster Habig pretencious eye candy Rocky Horror Picture Show style Spice World substance for dragqueens 1 stars
6/02/03 alyssa fucking awesome movie! 5 stars
5/19/03 Jack Sommersby Visual overkill to the nth degree. 1 stars
5/16/03 Sarah A (AKA Mio298) I fell in love with this movie at first sight.... 5 stars
5/14/03 Vanessa I am obsessed with the movie. It creates an old time world that I'd become infatuated with. 5 stars
5/13/03 mary is the best movie, i loved it 5 stars
5/06/03 King of the Kebabs Amateurish and pretentious Art - Kidman smoulders like a potato 1 stars
5/06/03 Elaine O'Rourke A dead horse re-beaten with modern pop lyrics. Ugh. 2 stars
5/02/03 Ruth After I saw this I needed a dramamine... yick! 1 stars
4/17/03 Jon "Thumb the Toad" Lyrik Wow. 5 stars
4/13/03 Mr. Do Gosh.. how cute. 1 stars
4/12/03 Bloody Vixen This movie are for the now Jaded Hollywood 5 stars
4/05/03 Meg Spectacular , Spectacular 5 stars
4/03/03 Regy Operates on a visceral level. You're either receptive to the frequency or you're not. 5 stars
4/01/03 Stefani Best Movie in the World!! 5 stars
3/31/03 Jennyfer The acting was perfectly in sync and the music fit seamlessly with the plot. 5 stars
3/31/03 Joesco The flashiness exceeds the content and agree the 'love' medley is the best part 3 stars
3/27/03 WhiteboyRuss ****1/2 our of 5 stars. 5 stars
3/13/03 Khylaren Good music - good singing - love story/comedy. Loved it. 5 stars
3/12/03 cat this film is soooo cool. its almost unbeliavable 5 stars
3/02/03 JH Coverse Nothing when compared to "Chicago". It actually is pretty bad, and that's a compliment 1 stars
2/28/03 Francy A lover of romantic music can't help being absorbed by this wonderful film! 5 stars
2/24/03 Nina Scott-Stoddart I love opera and art (I'm both a professional opera singer and a painter) and I HATED this. 1 stars
2/16/03 lauren spectacular yet somehow intimidating. 4 stars
2/13/03 Christy Sollegue the film is nice 4 stars
2/11/03 Ubu the Ripper Nicole Kidman Destroys What Could Have Been a Great Movie 1 stars
2/09/03 Rick Spectacular,Spectacular !!! 5 stars
2/08/03 Maegs Consumption, La Vie Boheme, doomed love, Diamonds---what more could you ask for? 5 stars
2/08/03 Jack Sommersby Too much frenetic cutting, not enough generated interest. A real displeasure. 2 stars
2/01/03 dionwr FUCK RATIONALITY! LET'S HAVE FUN! 5 stars
2/01/03 croweater Big on flash and style, but small on substance and heart. 2 stars
1/29/03 fraz relentlessly over the top colour and movement, weak story, misplaced music, but creative 4 stars
1/26/03 Smiff most people bashing it don't understand it. listen to the commentaries, it's not stupid 4 stars
1/25/03 TLsmooth Gay!!!!! 1 stars
1/22/03 Pinkline Jones Second rate acting - atrocious editing - crap 1 stars
1/16/03 John Bale Style in plenty, little substance. Visual Musical easy to watch not only for Nicole. 4 stars
1/07/03 missy best movie ever 5 stars
1/01/03 John Aster Habig Luhrmann does it again puts style ahead of substance 1 stars
12/29/02 Martin Lines taken from pop songs strung together. Rarely do things get stupider. 1 stars
12/28/02 Ally Gator Complete over-the-top fun! 5 stars
12/28/02 The Talking Elbow Argh! This movie sucked! The love seemed fake, the villains not believable, it lacked heart 2 stars
12/03/02 Matt tentative about a musical, I loved it's appropriations 4 stars
11/28/02 Chelsea Pickett beautiful 5 stars
11/22/02 Jonny Starbucks It was truly artisic mastery on the part of the director. Its array of wonder was stunning. 5 stars
11/22/02 shannon it was the best movis 5 stars
11/21/02 K4SHFLOW A FILM STARRING THE REAL LIFE STAR CELEBRITY BANGER HERSELF-NICOLE KIDMAN 1 stars
11/20/02 Ionicera visually appealing, but a very derivative story with boring characters 2 stars
11/16/02 Emily BEST MOVIE EVER MADE 5 stars
11/07/02 Fiona Pye A hypnotic barrage of pure colour and movement - amazing 5 stars
11/04/02 kooler Like being trapped in a drag queen's wet dream. 2 stars
10/20/02 Nicole, Clarice, and Gwen whoever made this site needs to curl up and fucking die! you have no right to judge Nicole 5 stars
10/16/02 Chancey Sugarpants Painful to sit through. Colorful, pretty.. yes. Annoying... even bigger yes. 1 stars
10/11/02 Brenda it was the best movie ever 5 stars
10/07/02 TheOthersFan Extravagant, lavish, and utterly devoid of depth. Worst movie of all time, except for A.I. 1 stars
10/03/02 jb Outstanding 5 stars
9/29/02 Peter Sherlock Perfect fun 5 stars
9/28/02 Elizabeth Anne Platt Among the best movies I have seen in my life! 5 stars
9/23/02 snowconehead its exactly what the rating says it is, its pretty and its crap 2 stars
9/19/02 k only teenage wannabe's say they like it. sucks beyond belief 1 stars
9/15/02 Kate B. Moulin Rouge is the best film i have ever ever seen!! Its a feast for the eyes!! 5 stars
9/13/02 Jon Annoying... yet strangely captivating (!?) 4 stars
9/06/02 I Can't Swim Ewan can sing AND act; ditto Broadbent..was anyone else in the cast? 5 stars
9/05/02 Grant Chambers Amazing 5 stars
8/29/02 Tiffany This movie was a bold move on Baz's part and I thought the music was very well choosen. 5 stars
8/22/02 stacy i loved this movie! 5 stars
8/18/02 ms_madmartigan This movie was definetely different! in a good way! 5 stars
8/14/02 Bryan Brooks Unnecessary audio nonsense. Elton John must be pissed. 2 stars
8/13/02 radium Jaw dropped almost all the time. Hell of ride! 5 stars
8/11/02 Michael Carruthers Moulin Rouge is everything you want out of a movie experience and more. 5 stars
8/06/02 Lauren A fabulous movie, Nicole Kidman and Ewan McGregor are amazing 5 stars
7/30/02 Gerald I LOVED THE MOVIE 5 stars
7/20/02 artemishia i wished she would fresking die from the beggining. i hate that nicole kidman skank! 1 stars
7/16/02 Bada Bing Crosby worth it to see Ewan & Broadbent only. Did not respond emotionally..was I supposed to? 4 stars
7/12/02 STEVE I HATE THIS MOVIE!!LIKE I HATE MIB 2.SEE THE OTHERS, IT IS SO MUCH BETTER 1 stars
7/08/02 Girl 9 Dragged on for quite a while...but yet had a touching ending that saves it from sucking ass 2 stars
7/04/02 TLsmooth The worst piece of Troll shit ever made. 1 stars
6/19/02 Lisa Tridgell My favourite film!The songs, the passion, the excitement! 5 stars
6/11/02 erick Watch it twice the second, it will totally kick ass, you will love, i did 5 stars
6/10/02 Me The worst movie ever made 1 stars
6/02/02 Chris While watching you made feel tempted to wonder if someone spiked your drink. 4 stars
5/26/02 I'm in (L) with a Jedi i bawl my eyes out more and more each time i c this movie its my all time fav, or 1 of dem. 5 stars
5/20/02 Kristen 2nd best movie ever made 5 stars
5/17/02 Jake What guy would find this fun? I think the editing in this movie broke records.. sh*t!!!!!!! 1 stars
5/15/02 hbotis@hotmail.com hey, knock off that made for silly gay men thing, it's fab! 5 stars
5/14/02 Cracked head Bad beyond words. 1 stars
4/30/02 Robin loved it....love Ewan.......loved Nicole.....love Baz's version 5 stars
4/30/02 eric kang its a horrible film that should be outlawed 2 stars
4/30/02 Akemi Yamaguchi See it just to hear/see the fabu Ewan McGregor sing--Best Picture of 2001, (after Momento) 5 stars
4/19/02 Silver Flame Hated it. Gave me a headache and it was just so cliche! 1 stars
4/16/02 fatima jilani a pretty good insight into what theatre's are all about..way to go kidman 5 stars
4/14/02 NewcastleBoy Pretentious, Poorly Directed Crap Of The Worst Kind.... 1 stars
4/14/02 Josh and Kristen This movie was a once in a lifetime experience that no one should pass up. 5 stars
4/14/02 Alex Wisz Spectacular! Spectacular! An more apt description can't be found 5 stars
4/10/02 Erika I laughed, I cried, I simply loved it 5 stars
4/09/02 Mrsbaapeepers I just flat out really liked this movie 5 stars
4/06/02 jungmin park incredible gem! 5 stars
4/05/02 Edfink Lombardo The most inventive movie of the year...actually takes risks worthy of being taken! 5 stars
4/04/02 cat It is about time the same old genres of film get an inventive boost from Moulin Rouge 5 stars
3/31/02 Rockitman007 This movie was Baz's Acid Trip........Which is not necessarly a bad thing 4 stars
3/30/02 Danielle Ophelia An explosive and hyperkinetic reworking of what might have been a cliche love story. 5 stars
3/28/02 NeuroManson Duh, watch as MTV addled morons gobble up tripe like starving Ethiopians! 1 stars
3/25/02 Tim Dawg This movie sucks ass! 1 stars
3/25/02 TLsmooth I'm not gay, not a female, not a moron, and not a dipshit. Therefore, I loathe this film 1 stars
3/24/02 Jake No...... 1 stars
3/24/02 Z mizzi Nicole and Ewan are Marvelous! the singing, dancing is splendid! 5 stars
3/23/02 Jessica Ewan mcGregor and Nicole Kidman are AWESOME!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
3/22/02 kym i reckon this was really a good movie i mean you gotta admide it that every girl dreams 5 stars
3/21/02 Mickey This movie is absolutely incredible. I can't seem to stop watching it 5 stars
3/20/02 Danielle Plouffe This is the best movie that has ever been made!!!!! 5 stars
3/19/02 Iona Hughes People who say they didn't like this film must have been lying! 5 stars
3/18/02 Jonathan Visual affects were nice... pop songs were very out of place, should of written their own 3 stars
3/16/02 Likeaveagan spectacular spectacular! 5 stars
3/15/02 Anthony Kidman is great. But the direction and the script acould of been better. Disappointing. 2 stars
3/15/02 cARa my fave of 01 next to memento 5 stars
3/13/02 megan the best fucking film of the century!!!! 5 stars
3/12/02 Pierre einfach geil der film 5 stars
3/11/02 Courtney silvester i fuckin luved the movie it's the the best mutherfuckin movie in the world! 5 stars
3/06/02 CoffeeVixen a movie can not get better than this, it has everything, what else can be said? 5 stars
3/04/02 mrs. mcgregor baz luhrman rocks! totally original eye candy. 5 stars
3/01/02 Gracy Lionheart A completely average movie that provides lots of laughs. Especially "Like a virgen" 3 stars
2/28/02 Chowie This was amazing! Ewan is great and a voice like that could send chills down your spine! 5 stars
2/28/02 Alan Smithee Ms. Kidman is hot, but the movie is an over-directed (and headache inducing) mess. 2 stars
2/27/02 rebecca the below needs to realize a beautiful mind was an overrated piece of dick sweat 5 stars
2/24/02 Bill Muhr Moulin Rouge is an overrated piece of shit! 1 stars
2/23/02 Shrike Completely original and exhilerating romantic musical 4 stars
2/23/02 April Ewan McGregor has an amazing voice, unbelievable. I loved the music. Gorgeous. 5 stars
2/23/02 Gibbo Wonderful - but where on earth will Baz go next? 5 stars
2/19/02 n1k0l3 Find a big pile of dogshit. Spray with glitter. Lots of glitter. This is Moulin Rouge. 2 stars
2/18/02 Sean Kerr Stunning! Unique and brilliantly done. 5 stars
2/17/02 Mark Lloyd Great music kept me to the end, boring plot though 4 stars
2/15/02 Sumit karki it's musical blockbuster 5 stars
2/15/02 Michael Votto One of the best musicals ever! 5 stars
2/13/02 Bob Anderson Oh my god. This is awful. 1 stars
2/13/02 Shelly Howard Best Picture? Nicole Kidman best Actress? What's the academy snortin'? 3 stars
2/13/02 C Gillan It's a movie like no other. That in itself should be enough. 5 stars
2/10/02 koopatroopa I normaly despise musicals, this however is a fucking amazing movie. 5 stars
2/07/02 Phil M. Afficianado Lavish, but spectacularly pointless and boring. Couldn't finish it 2 stars
2/06/02 INCUBATOR Superior modern musical 5 stars
2/05/02 Melanie and Melinda I have seen this movie 37 Times in the Theatre while my sister has seen this 50 times 5 stars
2/05/02 Frances Uh...It was ok but whoa love story SHITE overload. I can't stand that "Come what may" CRAP 4 stars
2/03/02 Diane What junk - I kept waiting for an improvement, but all that happened was that it got worse! 1 stars
2/02/02 Sara I thought this movie was simply brilliant.. maybe it went over ppl's heads? -lol- 5 stars
2/01/02 JesseL What a disappointment 2 stars
1/31/02 Don Hite Mind-numbing.... good set design doesn't make up for complete lack of substance... 1 stars
1/31/02 Alysia Bylund I loved it especially Ewan Mcgregor's smile HOTTIE... :) 5 stars
1/30/02 Ashly I loved the movie I think it is one of my Favorites 5 stars
1/29/02 Girl 9 Hmmm.... 3 stars
1/24/02 Elliot The movie was the message. It wouldn't stop with those zany zooms. 1 stars
1/24/02 TERRY MANTO I LOVED IT 5 stars
1/24/02 Peter I almost left halfway through this movie. It is devoid of quality. 1 stars
1/21/02 Joe Smaltz 1 stars
1/21/02 Leon Trotsky You'll have an excellent evening if you leave after the first 15 minutes. 1 stars
1/19/02 Linda (very middle-aged) Bold, original, experimental, utterly heartfelt: A MASTERPIECE!!! 5 stars
1/17/02 Mongo I want this director given a serious, serious beating for this abomination 1 stars
1/17/02 Jockstud Who knew Nicole Kidman could sing? Visually & musically stunning! 5 stars
1/16/02 David A. Overall, a big bore, but does reveal prostitution for the scam fraud that it is. 3 stars
1/13/02 Zara it pushes love like hollywood hasn't in a long time. something worth to see and live by. 5 stars
1/09/02 Rebecca Best movie of the year! Nicole and Ewan have stunning voices and a wonderful actin ability 5 stars
1/05/02 J. Lujan This picture was, visually and artistically, stunning. Seductive comedy/drama. I love it!!! 5 stars
1/02/02 AntSun85 best movie of the year and a future cult classic! 5 stars
1/01/02 Rikki It is the best movie I have ever seen. 5 stars
12/31/01 The Bomb 69 conflicted, wanted to hate it but I couldn't, I feel gay all of the sudden 4 stars
12/31/01 Johnny Walker A beautifully musical story! Tha first 25 min were kinda queer, but after that... wow 5 stars
12/27/01 Flick Chick broadway-type nonsensical crap - very shallow plot, good music. 2 stars
12/27/01 Drew I'd rather have root canal than sit through this thing again 1 stars
12/27/01 J Gave me rather mixed feelings, liked the 1st half, disliked the 2nd. I've seen better. 3 stars
12/25/01 Still barfing Who told that cow that she could sing or dance? And her acting... PUKE! 1 stars
12/24/01 jeremy marlton there is something subtly australian which gives the movie is's extra star 5 stars
12/23/01 Monster W. Kung To me, it just doesn't work. Go see a Broadway play, at least they can sing. 1 stars
12/22/01 Sumit Karki it is the one of the best musical movie whichever i had seen. 5 stars
12/22/01 Ryan sucked don't waste your money 1 stars
12/21/01 Tinka Sure to divide audiences - but damn, I have fallen hard for this one. 5 stars
12/15/01 Sian Brilliant film - my new favorite 5 stars
12/09/01 Aly Its one of the best film I have ever seen! 5 stars
12/07/01 Rachael fucking awesome!!!!! 5 stars
12/03/01 Heather Kicks Ass! 5 stars
12/02/01 Mike Russell Without a doubt the best film of 2001! 5 stars
12/02/01 zoomar boring old pop songs badly sung. All Kitch and cliche. I walked out. 1 stars
11/25/01 Victor A great movie! 5 stars
11/22/01 Michael Steve in Prague's review? Perfect. All-explaining. EXACTLY. Best movie ever made, the end. 5 stars
11/20/01 Hot Kiss The movie was awesome! 5 stars
11/20/01 silver-ravens-cross A very colourful and inventive film cmplete with new and old themes and icongraph y 5 stars
11/04/01 Hunter WOULD HAVE BEEN BETTER WITHOUT KIDMAN-NOW I KNOW WHY TOM DUMPED HER A**! 1 stars
10/27/01 Jane Porter Fantastic set/costumes, very clever/funny 4 stars
10/27/01 jaime louise elms i loved it 5 stars
10/24/01 natalie ferinac i loved it soo much that i have gotten the red dress from moulin rough made for my prom! 5 stars
10/24/01 paech gorgeous camp eye candy, witty too 5 stars
10/23/01 Tony A wonderful movie - pure enjoyment 5 stars
10/15/01 Aurora Breathtaking! A spectacular roller coaster! It's fireworks more than a movie! 5 stars
10/13/01 Bevan R. Clark The heavy handed visuals pounded me into submission and I liked it! 4 stars
10/10/01 Kooler vapid, empty crap with a big shiny bow on it is still vapid, empty crap. 1 stars
10/08/01 Kat Slattery Left me gasping for breath!and made me fall in love with Baz Luhrman's style again 5 stars
9/25/01 Mark Kenna Spectacular!! Spectacular!! Excellent Arrangements, Fantastic Raw Voices, Visually Stunning 5 stars
9/25/01 Jenny G. Conde It's the most beautiful movie ever!!! 5 stars
9/22/01 Erik Stunning! A very simple story, told in an incredibly powerful way. 5 stars
9/17/01 Andrea it has everything from great music to wonderful actors to a cute story line 5 stars
9/17/01 Matthew Bartley Mad as a monkey in a hat.But marvellous!! 5 stars
9/09/01 Gary Visually explosive, innovative, artstic, emotionally involving, funny and fucking awesome. 5 stars
9/07/01 Michael Smith Wonderfully original, visually stunning (all that red!) voluptuous music with wicked wit. 5 stars
9/05/01 Robin Grant It grows on you as you watch it.You want to see it again and again. Can't wait for the DVD 5 stars
9/04/01 Emma Tan Is damn good, i love this movie very much, is touch one deeply in the heart !!!! 5 stars
9/01/01 Leslie Moulin Rough is my Favorite Movie. Ewan's picture is on the dash board of my car 5 stars
8/31/01 melody so good! i didn't realize that their singing voice is that good! 5 stars
8/30/01 Critic Craptacular! Craptacular! 2 stars
8/29/01 pogi pile of shit 1 stars
8/26/01 The Boy In The Designer Bubble Should have cast Vanessa Williams. A beauty who can sing. 3 stars
8/24/01 Justine : ) This is the best movie EVER! I love Ewan McGregor! 5 stars
8/12/01 Lynn As you say "FUCKING AWESOME"!!!! 5 stars
8/11/01 Chris Anderson One of the best musicals ive ever seen! 5 stars
8/07/01 MsJuniper What was that? MTV on meth / PCP cocktail? bloody awful eye candy. 1 stars
8/06/01 Roy Smith The most ridiculously overedited overproduced Shakespear in Love ripoff ever made! 2 stars
8/06/01 E-Funk Inspired...goddamn, this movie was good. 5 stars
8/05/01 Darian Perez Amazing! Its more like a theatrical show than a movie!!! 5 stars
8/04/01 Stephanie C. Great Movie 5 stars
8/01/01 YOU ARE ALL PATHETIC LUMPS OF HUMAN CLAY ABSOLUTELY THE WORST MOVIE I HAVE EVER SEEN! YOU ARE ALL IDIOTS. MORONS! 1 stars
7/27/01 Adam Hughes Fucking awesome 5 stars
7/27/01 flashfyre almost as bad as 1970's "Sgt. Pepper" 2 stars
7/27/01 Ann "Moulin Rouge" is one of my all-time favorite movies! It's funny, sad, touching...the best! 5 stars
7/27/01 judith greatest movie of all time, beat rocky horror within the first 3 minutes! 5 stars
7/26/01 Clara It was fantastic. If you didn't like it then you were trying too hard 5 stars
7/26/01 Chris This movie was awesome and so complex you would have to see it again 'cause all the detail 5 stars
7/25/01 Troy in Australia Will shape musicals for years to come. 5 stars
7/25/01 Pelham This is, quite simply, one of, if not the, best movie(s) to come out of Hollywood ever 5 stars
7/25/01 SOMEONE WITH TASTE THE WORST PIECE OF CINEMATIC GARBAGE SINCE AUSTIN POWERS THE SPY WHO FAGGED ME! 1 stars
7/25/01 Chris Cheng If you like musicals, you'll love this movie! 5 stars
7/24/01 Angelvoice this was a beautiful movie, full of so much emotion and incredibly visual, dizzying scenes 5 stars
7/23/01 Manoj Kumar Verma Great Piece of Work. 4 stars
7/23/01 charlesc In the future, many filmmakers are going to name this movie a major influence. 5 stars
7/23/01 Jillian Thompson This movie was so fantastic. I love it! The soundtrack is spectacular too! Moulin kicks ass 5 stars
7/23/01 anusface complete utter trash 1 stars
7/22/01 karen Excellent show !!!!! I love it!!! 5 stars
7/21/01 Jessica i think that moulin rouge was the greatest movie ever and it still is and it always will be 5 stars
7/20/01 Victor I've seen it three times and that's just the beginning. It REALLY IS FUCKING AWESOME!!!!! 5 stars
7/20/01 Sinjin Nguyen This movie was a BIG WASTE OF TIME. Nicole Kidman can't act at all, McGregor was good. 1 stars
7/20/01 skye ouch 1 stars
7/20/01 Shauna Taylor This movie kicked so much ass! It kicked all the asses of all the movies ever made! 5 stars
7/19/01 Irene Coombs It was an excellent musical and music was amazing. 5 stars
7/19/01 Laura Had to go again to make sure it was for real. This film is phenomenal! I was swept away. 5 stars
7/18/01 Ella The Best Movie I've ever seen Ewan Mc Gregor is the cutest guy in the whole world 5 stars
7/18/01 Christine Very trippy but a great movie 5 stars
7/17/01 Jessie Johnson Nicole and Ewan were great together and the singing was awesome. Cant wait for it on video 5 stars
7/16/01 Amy Dellinger I love this movie! Seen it three times with more to look forward to. My favorite movie. 5 stars
7/16/01 Sarah Carseldine It was the best movie I've seen ,ever 5 stars
7/15/01 Sarah Currell it was amazing 5 stars
7/15/01 Craig Blanchard A long music video. People expect so little from their entertainment. Fuckin stupid! 1 stars
7/15/01 Koitus After seeing Bitchslap's ratings, I was VERY disappointed. Shakespeare/Love = much better! 1 stars
7/15/01 SFMOVIELOVER drop some acid & let if FLY 5 stars
7/15/01 tnt A tremendous achievement...spectacular spectacular! 5 stars
7/14/01 Faie Oh my god...must see again, purchase video and soundtrack. Another faboulous Luhrmann flick 5 stars
7/14/01 Michelle My new favourite movie! 5 stars
7/14/01 Tom Excellent Musical 5 stars
7/14/01 Annie Fuckin fuckin brilliant!!! 5 stars
7/14/01 *~*Jessi*~* It was freakin awesome man! 5 stars
7/14/01 Lyn PHENOMENAL! 5 stars
7/13/01 Ant Great visuals and music cannot make up for a desperately disappointing sreenplay. 2 stars
7/13/01 Jennifer Belt Finally! Someone knows how to make a movie musical for the first time in maybe forty years! 5 stars
7/13/01 SeStA Fantastic film with the most amazing and inspiring actors involved. Ewan n' Nicole rock! 5 stars
7/13/01 Wicker Cow Just as great, the ninth time. 5 stars
7/12/01 a10 musically awesome...visually fast and simulating...not only humorous but tragic 5 stars
7/12/01 Glory Beautiful....a visual orgasm....abso-fucking-lutely amazing.... 5 stars
7/12/01 Rebecca It's all about truth,beauty,freedom and love. It is such a fantastic movie. 5 stars
7/12/01 rogue the plot was too predictable, ruined a nirvana song, and the director must be on crack! 1 stars
7/12/01 hum nonsence, but wonderful nonsence 5 stars
7/12/01 Matt Not worth the ink it takes to write "IT SUCKS" 1 stars
7/12/01 ad seen it 11 times... thats pretty much all i need to say 5 stars
7/12/01 Nancy Tresch Have seen it 10 times, and counting, and it hasn't even gotten to the cheap theatre yet!!! 5 stars
7/12/01 Jeannie The best film ever!!! 5 stars
7/11/01 LOVEB!TE Absolutely beautiful . . . 4 stars
7/11/01 GylzGirl I've seen it 11 times so far and it's not nearly enough. Simply Spectacular! Spectacular! 5 stars
7/11/01 Sarah Brilliant, awesome, absolutely incredible. 5 stars
7/11/01 Really New At This Absolutely rocked!!!!!!! 5 stars
7/11/01 Susan I LOVE IT!!!!!! 5 stars
7/11/01 Guy Terrifically in-your-face, funny, and post-modern. 5 stars
7/11/01 Anita terrific 5 stars
7/11/01 Viv It's Pure Candy for the eyes and the mind... 5 stars
7/10/01 "satine" bloody fantastic!! 5 stars
7/10/01 Lauren-Eve Lazar This is one of my favorite movies of all time. Absolutely spectacular! 5 stars
7/10/01 Rajdeep C Miraskar Fantastic 4 stars
7/10/01 Becca i loved it it is awesome the music blends all around a great story with twists and turns 5 stars
7/10/01 Belle I loved it. It was fun, romantic, and moving. 5 stars
7/10/01 Nan The best movie I have seen in a long ass time 5 stars
7/09/01 Jason Three words can describe it: FA-BU-LOUS!!!! 5 stars
7/09/01 loz it rocks,and boys look for the boob popping dress as it would be good look on your behalf! 5 stars
7/09/01 - - 4 stars
7/09/01 Kiri Bennett OHMIGOD! The best movie I've seen in my life! It's so incredibly amazing! 5 stars
7/09/01 laura absolutely brilliant! 5 stars
7/09/01 Anonymous I loved this flim! It was great seeing both my parents in a movie! It CAN CAN CAN!! 5 stars
7/09/01 Alexandra Ignore the doomsayers - see this film! It's fabulous. 5 stars
7/09/01 Gizzy Best of the year, by far 5 stars
7/09/01 Amy great, amazing, best movie in 2001 5 stars
7/09/01 caitlin Amazing! I saw it three times and i could see it thousands more! Go see it now! 5 stars
7/09/01 Kanoe an awesome movie that is funny yet sad...no words can describe that funny feeling inside 5 stars
7/08/01 david awesome,.... it's good. beyond words 5 stars
7/08/01 Jenny Penny From the moment the credits role, your eyes take a dazzling adventure..it's absolutely fab 5 stars
7/08/01 Cinderella This movie was the best movie I have seen in years!! 5 stars
7/08/01 Natalie The BEST movie i have ever seen - seriously!! Im such a huge Ewan & Nicole fan now!! 5 stars
7/08/01 Nick Adams I'm not sure if I'd suggest it to anyone.. great camera work & score. acting was powerful. 5 stars
7/08/01 Abby Breathtaking 5 stars
7/08/01 Sapphire The songs were really good but the story line didn't give a very lasting impression 4 stars
7/08/01 Eloise Dubois Tres bien!!!! La film es magnificente! A MUST SEE!!! 5 stars
7/08/01 Rebecca Marsh I lived this film . It was a caotic and artistic dream. It filled me with wonderment . 5 stars
7/08/01 Phillip Fabelhaft!! (Sounds almost as cool in German, doesn't it?) 5 stars
7/08/01 Vanessa This movie kicks ass 5 stars
7/07/01 Dusty Can I scream it any louder? Absolutely fabulous!!! 5 stars
7/07/01 Chaz Loved it! expecially how well the songs were done what a great new way to reinvent musicals 5 stars
7/07/01 stephanie it was intense and beautiful, i cried so hard 5 stars
7/07/01 the penguin awesome. simply awesome. 5 stars
7/07/01 Bianca sucks! 1 stars
7/07/01 Cody Giroux I don't cry at chick flicks but I had to on this movie. 5 stars
7/07/01 Ramesh Khanna Its a Love Story. A love that Lives 4 stars
7/06/01 Aaron Its out of this world......pure entertainment at its best!!!!!!! 5 stars
7/06/01 Joe D Fabo!!!!! 5 stars
7/06/01 Lauren It was God damn brilliant, loved every second of it 5 stars
7/06/01 Steve Mortkowitz Even zero is too good for this one. 1 stars
7/06/01 Dyanna A must see movie. It was great!! 5 stars
7/06/01 Steve Mortkowitz Even zero is too good for this one. 1 stars
7/06/01 natalie totally kickass, boy you wouldn't expect those voices out of ewan and nicole 5 stars
7/06/01 Jolene Miklas Baz makes you feel like you're actually inside his crazy, creative head! I love it! 5 stars
7/06/01 David Crossett I LOVE IT!! Critics are killing it..guess they don't want talent still.just special effects 5 stars
7/06/01 Max Baz Luhrmann is a genius 5 stars
7/05/01 shivkumar excellent portrayal of satine by nichole 5 stars
7/05/01 bighead I've seen it twice and loved it more each time in retrospect. a visual and audio dazzle 5 stars
7/05/01 scott weber hilarious yes,dazzling yes,clever yes,but above all,the most romantic movie i've ever seen. 5 stars
7/05/01 Lara This is a Great movie! 5 stars
7/05/01 Suzz Definitely a film to see; loved it. 5 stars
7/04/01 David Tsang Complete sensory overload! Great music and cinematography! Brilliant concept! Must see! 5 stars
7/04/01 Kurstin Blue Like a musical, mind-blowing acid trip! The best movie ever made! 5 stars
7/04/01 red rum mama How can you give such an amazing movie anything less than 5 f***ing stars!!!! 5 stars
7/04/01 Silver It's completely brilliant. Without a doubt the best movie of the summer up to date. 5 stars
7/04/01 CAMgal Tragedy is the raw material for comedy.-W.Shakespeare-........Tragedy, comedy and beauty! 5 stars
7/04/01 JDJO THe greatest thing you'll ever learn is that this movie rocks! 5 stars
7/04/01 Christine Molina If you don't discover ALL the COMEDY and BEAUTY - you've MISSED THE FUN! Go see it AGAIN!!! 5 stars
7/03/01 Oberon Awesome and Fun. 5 stars
7/03/01 Cant Tell... Its my favourite movie and I have seen it 3 times and i want to still see it again. 5 stars
7/03/01 Ellee Yaksich it was crap 4 stars
7/03/01 jen i will never stop loving this movie-come what may 5 stars
7/03/01 Jennie Rosenbaum Loved the costumes LOVED the music. its refreshing to have someone do in a movie what we al 5 stars
7/03/01 Alex Spectacular! Spectacular! no words in the vernacular cane describe this great event... 5 stars
7/03/01 Rachel LeFrancois I love this movie! 5 stars
7/03/01 Phil McKracken Spectacular Spectacular 5 stars
7/03/01 Renee mouth dropping awesomely delectable 5 stars
7/03/01 Jake Astounding! What a thrilling film. 5 stars
7/03/01 Nydia Dias Stupendous, amazing and unstoppable, there's no one word to describe this movie 5 stars
7/03/01 Friss A superb show of visuals and sound! A must see!! 5 stars
7/03/01 Ralph Great film 5 stars
7/02/01 Louise Oh my god (ands thats all i have to say) 5 stars
7/02/01 alex Best movie ever seen 5 stars
7/02/01 Bruce Best Movie Ever 5 stars
7/02/01 emily fantastic story great costumes 5 stars
7/02/01 Steven Ambrose Great Movie!!!! I would see it again 5 stars
7/02/01 colin best of the year. easily! oscar for "come whayt may". 5 stars
7/02/01 veronica EXCELLENTLY entertaining 5 stars
7/02/01 Gazz One of Baz Lurhmann's best ever!!! Fantastic piece of theatre! 5 stars
7/02/01 Jed Stunning, exhilarating. What a triumph in a bad movie year. 5 stars
7/02/01 beast2 A Truly GREAT, GREAT cinematic experience!!! 5 stars
7/02/01 Heidi Oh, man. Ewan is so great in this movie! I could see this a thousand times, and I will. 5 stars
7/02/01 Lauren Broersma This movie is the most AWESOME movie that I have ever seen! It has become my favorite movie 5 stars
7/01/01 deborah ewan mcgregor - pure lust 5 stars
7/01/01 Carla Alexandra Above all things, this story is about love. You don't need depth, because its a love story. 5 stars
7/01/01 Michelle (StarryEyes94618@aol.com) I saw it weeks ago and I'm still singing! And Ewan McGregor's fuckin hot, right ladies? 5 stars
7/01/01 Stephani I *loved* this movie! Its so amazing!! 5 stars
7/01/01 Lisa Mackenzie so amazingly original! 5 stars
7/01/01 Jo Blowski Alice In Wonderland meets Monty Python, Clockwork Orange & Wild Wild West 4 stars
7/01/01 Don Gordon Awesome, different & refreshing 5 stars
6/30/01 James Smiths Brilliant Film, Original, 9.9 out of 10 5 stars
6/30/01 lily tucker i thought is was fantastic 5 stars
6/30/01 corrie awesome....takes you home singing!!! 5 stars
6/30/01 Rich Cirivilleri Such pleasures one finds all rolled into one celluliod package. Oscar, you're on notice. 5 stars
6/29/01 Darbouka Pretty close to european style of making movies, close to perfection, gorgeous!! 5 stars
6/29/01 Robyne Lynch The new Rocky Horror 5 stars
6/29/01 Abby Breathtaking 5 stars
6/29/01 Randy Smith Kick in your imagination, ease off overblown avante garde... and you'll have fun 4 stars
6/29/01 Amy Webber the best movie I've seen in years, Ewan Mc Gregor has an awesome voice as does Kidman 5 stars
6/29/01 ScoutIsis One of the best films I've ever seen. Tragic, hilarious, touching, uplifting. 5 stars
6/29/01 Lucy Georges It's so cute and sad!!! 4 stars
6/28/01 jimmy sex sex sex sex sex thats all a film needs!!!! 5 stars
6/28/01 Renae The film is wonderful. I've never seen anything like it. Nicole and Ewan are terrific. 5 stars
6/28/01 Misto I pity the losers busyw/ their heads up their asses to appriciate the art that is this film 5 stars
6/28/01 Shannon Finally, a movie made that is actually creative. I Loved it. Best seen in the theater. 5 stars
6/28/01 wantsomepie i pity anyone who can't enjoy it 5 stars
6/28/01 jo donato I can't wait to buy my own copy. It was spectacular! 5 stars
6/28/01 Bast Whiskerkin I am duely impressed. I must own this upon DVD. 5 stars
6/28/01 Amber It's very different but it was great i would highly recomend this movie. 5 stars
6/28/01 Eric Gimme more gimme more 5 stars
6/27/01 Mary This is the worst movie that I've ever seen!!! It's just soooo bad!!! 1 stars
6/27/01 Achini I loved it, I laughed and cried. I am going to play one of the songs for my wedding. 5 stars
6/27/01 Jessica Rogers I Loved it I cryed, laght, and was shocked 5 stars
6/27/01 Aravind Saw it three times already and contemplating a fourth.. or fifth... or sixth... 5 stars
6/27/01 Carrie I loved this movie.. the music was awesome! I'm going to see it again!!! 5 stars
6/27/01 Jess This is one of my all-time favorite movies 5 stars
6/27/01 Patti A classic musical, a tragic romance and millenium special effects all set to amazing score 5 stars
6/26/01 Little Lottie Ape Absolutley the most beautiful amazing film I've seen! Can't wait till it comes out on DVD 5 stars
6/26/01 Wild Bill Started with flash and never got past the MTV stuff 2 stars
6/26/01 Sean Davis Seen it 10 times & counting...WOW!!! describes it best. 5 stars
6/26/01 Double G Excellent Movie, I'd see it again. 5 stars
6/25/01 Gizzy A beautiful, beautiful film 5 stars
6/25/01 Ionicera Eye candy, overdone, cliched 2 stars
6/25/01 Jade This film is FANTASTIC, the best I've ever seen! I've already seen it 3 times! I LOVE it! 5 stars
6/25/01 Jon Wonderful! Spectacular Spectacular! i saw it 2 nights in a row...excellent colors, costume 5 stars
6/25/01 Michelle Beautifully done. Ewan Mcgregor's wonderful voice made my heart race and my eyes tear up. 5 stars
6/25/01 gertrude mcintosh it was fantastic, ive seen it and i loved it i want to marry ewan mcgregor cause he is hot. 5 stars
6/25/01 Haley Plourde-Cole The movie is visually and emotionally stunning- I bought the soundtrack the next day 5 stars
6/25/01 Arls It was SO well done, a SPECTACULAR visual feast that makes you want to come back for more!! 5 stars
6/25/01 Lotus Spectacular! Spectacular! Visually stunning! WELL DONE!! 5 stars
6/25/01 Erin Above all it was visually awsome and almost overwhelming 5 stars
6/24/01 Tonja This is my new favorite movie, the best I've ever seen! 5 stars
6/23/01 PyThomas This could have been another Sgt. Pepper movie, but Baz managed to pull it off. 4 stars
6/23/01 betty boop boring 1 stars
6/23/01 Gary Rousing, colourful, energetic, involving... easy to gloss over any small flaws. 5 stars
6/20/01 Dylan Very Strange, but done utterly and beautifully. Very Fun.. 5 stars
6/20/01 Jim Renwick visually stunning and thats all 4 stars
6/19/01 Jeb Hagan Greg: ALL musicals are lip-synced--it's not a cheat 4 stars
6/17/01 Josh Tybur Very entertaining, but not without flaws. Suprisingly funny. 4 stars
6/17/01 spork-girl worst movie ever. exception: titanic, it's equal 1 stars
6/16/01 Ali It's like no other movie you've ever seen. That alone should be worth the ticket. 5 stars
6/15/01 Doug Jablin I thought the first half hour was amazing. After that it became predictable. 4 stars
6/14/01 Keith Horrible 1 stars
6/13/01 natasha This is a fiercely creative achievement - I loved it!! 5 stars
6/11/01 derek deems mcgregor was incrediable and the film was great if you let yourself be emmersed. 5 stars
6/10/01 CRW The second viewing was even more spectacular! 5 stars
6/09/01 AgentDS It was such a trip they should make a ride of it! 5 stars
6/09/01 Matthias loved it, and I'm not a homo either. 5 stars
6/08/01 LeRolls The best musical I've seen in a long time. 5 stars
6/08/01 Mr. X I enjoyed it enough to want to see it again, matinee price only. 4 stars
6/08/01 Murphy McC Saw it again, and I hated it even more. McGregor is the ONLY saving point. 1 stars
6/07/01 John D. It sucks hard 1 stars
6/07/01 John Roberson Too sparkly and insubstantial to evcen be entertaining. And the music is dreadfully chosen. 2 stars
6/07/01 DrFradook Luhrmann screwed the pooch on several scenes but still delightful 4 stars
6/07/01 AngieH "Artistry" tries to hide the one dimensional characters, poor acting, and boring plot. 1 stars
6/07/01 Amy This movie is, quite simply, spectacular. 5 stars
6/06/01 Pierce Lanson Wild, Wonderful Way out, and AUSTRALIAN!!!! 5 stars
6/06/01 Glen Nesbit The best film I've seen in years, Spectacular, Spectacular!! 5 stars
6/06/01 Dahni Truillo I've got every song stuck in my head. I can't stop thinking about Moulin Rouge. 5 stars
6/06/01 B. J. Meche McGregor's performance is nothing short of luminous. 5 stars
6/05/01 Anthony No comment, you just have to see it. 5 stars
6/05/01 bluebeena A wide array of emotions...it was entertaining. 4 stars
6/05/01 Jennifer It took me a couple of days to figure out if I liked it, but I've decided I did. =) 5 stars
6/05/01 Emily beautiful, amazingly sincere love story. 5 stars
6/05/01 Kathy Gillen The best of 2001...pure heaven...amazing, beautiful, sweet, full of love and passion... 5 stars
6/04/01 David M Rosonowski This movie was so freaking incredible. Spend the time to go see it, it's worth the 7 bucks. 5 stars
6/04/01 Liz i felt i was fuckin TRIPPIN while i watched this movie. god damn it sucked so bad 1 stars
6/04/01 jules so so bad it defies explanation, visions of a bad Rocky Horror-like following 1 stars
6/03/01 CRW Visually and musically spectacular, spectacular! 5 stars
6/03/01 ruth overdone shallow crap what kind of drugs was Baz on !!! 1 stars
6/03/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) The best movie I've seen this year...so far... 5 stars
6/02/01 zak this movie has it all, you will love it or hate it 5 stars
6/02/01 Jim Sucked Butt 1 stars
6/01/01 Onyx Visually spectacular spectacular, funny and loved what they did with the songs 5 stars
5/31/01 Ian Beautiful, riveting 5 stars
5/30/01 Fuck Lush Rimjob Awful is right. 1 stars
5/29/01 Vanessa Outrageously silly. lush and surreal...loved it! 5 stars
5/29/01 Legendre Do not expect it to conform to you. You must visit it. 5 stars
5/27/01 siro I am dead inside. This movie blows. 1 stars
5/27/01 Belinda Incredible masterpiece that brings back the musical! 5 stars
5/27/01 Roxxy Spectacular, Spectacular 5 stars
5/25/01 Glenn Colourful, exciting... a grand scale musical 5 stars
5/24/01 sally people are missing the point if they see no heart: it is all heart 5 stars
5/24/01 viking If you don't like this buy the Scandal'us album !!! 5 stars
5/23/01 Edward Shandis I was comfortably numb......more emotion in a morgue 2 stars
5/23/01 TimmyJ One of the worst movies I've ever seen 1 stars
5/21/01 Janice Wonderfully emotional if you aren't a jaded man 5 stars
5/12/01 Da Man from Canne Style over content. It's about 'love', but there's no emotion. 3 stars
5/10/01 nowak Wonderful experience if you dig that kind. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  01-Jun-2001 (PG-13)
  DVD: 14-Jan-2003

UK
  07-Sep-2001 (12)

Australia
  31-May-2001 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast