More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
1.92

Awesome: 9.09%
Worth A Look: 9.09%
Average: 11.36%
Pretty Bad: 5.68%
Total Crap64.77%

6 reviews, 52 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets by Rob Gonsalves

Roman J. Israel, Esq. by Peter Sobczynski

Coco (2017) by Peter Sobczynski

Prey (2017) by Jay Seaver

Lu Over the Wall by Jay Seaver

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Soldier
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Erik Childress

"Watches Invented Specifically for Soldier"
1 stars

Soldier (*) - Movies like Soldier are the reason why watches were invented. I knew from early previews that we were in trouble with this one which looked like just another variation on the premise used by Universal Soldier and Solo. Little did I know that the homage fest would end there.

There’s more recycling going on in this movie than at a homeless convention. It’s like watching Kramer and Newman collect bottles for their Michigan scam on Seinfeld. Let’s count the movies where “inspiration” was borrowed for this film by breaking down the plot. Genetically altered or trained soldiers are created for fighting by an elite chapter of the armed forces (Universal Soldier, Solo). One warrior is thrust out of the operation and is forced to help a group of outcasts fight against the very system that banished them (Mad Max Beyond Thunderdome, No Escape, Universal Soldier, Solo). Our hero will eventually fight to the death with the supreme bad ass of the group he once belonged to in the cliché started since the end of the original Lethal Weapon - the karate fight in a pouring rainstorm (Universal Soldier & Timecop). Kurt Russell usually has a pretty good eye for scripts. Even if they may seem a little silly like Stargate, he sees something in them that will work. What happened here? Kurt is literally given like 20 lines or less, at least half of them ending with the word “sir” even when talking to a woman. He makes Snake Plissken look like Leo Getz for God’s sake.

There is absolutely no structure to this film - it’s sloppy and the writing couldn’t be worse. How could the same guy who co-wrote the screenplay to Blade Runner write this film? Russell has been good and underrated in a lot of films (Backdraft, Breakdown, Executive Decision) and he’ll no doubt be good again. At only 95 minutes, it seems like a lot of footage got cut out of the film, but if it was anything like the 95 still intact, I’d just as soon lose it too. The editor must have been wearing his watch at the time.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=434&reviewer=198
originally posted: 02/17/00 05:15:20
[printer] printer-friendly format  
For more in the Tatum's Video Grab'nRun series, click here.

User Comments

4/03/13 PAUL SHORTT BRUTAL, DERIVATIVE SCIENCE-FICTION 1 stars
8/02/11 Chris F Not as bad as people say it is decent movie 4 stars
6/20/10 Jeff Wilder Awful script. Russell's not too bad. 2 stars
6/13/09 Wiseman @Q#*!$ 5 stars
3/14/08 Brant Williams The soldier's evolution into real feelings and friendships is outstanding. 5 stars
5/14/07 KingNeutron Ignore critics, this movie was totally AWESOME. Connie N + Kurt FTW! 5 stars
10/20/06 sanjay Kurt russell is awesomw as always 5 stars
8/17/05 ES The ideas presented in this film were excellent, action scenes are superb and a good story 5 stars
6/10/05 Indrid Cold Bad, but the ferocious, bone-crunching hand-to-hand combat at the end is worth it. 3 stars
5/30/05 Ruud de Graaf There is action, SF, a logic story line and Connie Neilsen. What more do you want? 4 stars
2/11/05 Jeff Anderson For all the cool & awesome talent on display, THIS FILM BLOWS! Russell walks away unscathed 1 stars
5/14/04 John surprisingly empty and predictable 2 stars
5/05/04 J.Peckerfoot Oh dear.Back away slowly from this film.Keep going.Bit more.Thats it.Keep real quiet. 1 stars
4/12/04 gromm Great premise. Good start. Soldier starts to get a soul, then the fight starts... 2 stars
2/19/04 sweetgrrl1972 The textbook definition of "Popcorn Flick"! 4 stars
1/25/04 maxpayne at nyc.com you peeps don't get it, that's all - anyone needs to be enlightened, email me 5 stars
1/07/04 y2mckay I liked this for the same reason I liked 3KM to Graceland - mindless guilty-pleasure fun 3 stars
1/06/04 tatum Ka-Boom! Yawn... 1 stars
1/01/03 Jack Sommersby Not exactly original ,but it gets the job done. Russell is typically solid. 3 stars
1/22/02 Andrew Carden I Stopped Watching It After 20 Minutes. 1 stars
11/14/01 Zizzerzazzerzuzz Enjoyable but kinda dumb. At least Goldie Hawn isn't in it. 3 stars
8/19/01 Dr. Thompson The ending stunk, but it was pretty cool until then...whats up with you people? 4 stars
7/15/01 Rampage Damn you Russell. Also whoever made that movie. Loser. 1 stars
5/01/01 Thrillhouse don't waste your money on this dirtbag 1 stars
12/04/00 Cristopher Revilla good idea, but it all goes down to shit at the end, don't watch this, save your money. 1 stars
11/14/00 Crispin Cliched but well executed. So much better than the credit it gets. 4 stars
4/29/00 Pansy Russell's dumbest movie, worse than Solo 1 stars
10/20/99 Lame-Oh boring, tasteless, stupid, and illogical 1 stars
7/20/99 Imagoner Dude, it really sucked. Kurt Russell can't even act as an action hero! 1 stars
6/10/99 Hungry Hungry Hippo Kurt Russell knows how to play an action hero..... 5 stars
5/10/99 Ah Dooey I thought the movie was good... only to be a waste of my time! 1 stars
4/16/99 Mr. Kramitall no comment 1 stars
4/13/99 Go Swans People at my screening enjoyed this film. Then again, it was near Moe. 1 stars
3/25/99 James Coffey Horrible movie. Peoples said it exists in the same universe as 'Blade Runner'(blasphemy) 1 stars
3/10/99 Oggy bad bad bad bad 1 stars
1/31/99 El Dorko God, I'm outta here after seeing this putrid crap. What the hell was that? 1 stars
1/28/99 Whiplash Mr. BBQ Bob, multiple ratings are bad, okay? Just not do it again, okay? 1 stars
12/12/98 Joseph Blow Yhe horror.... the horror 1 stars
12/05/98 Jason Stein This movie sucked hard, THE worst of 98 1 stars
12/03/98 Kirgo An awful movie that wasn't even funny awful..what a waste. 1 stars
11/24/98 Ray Russ As penance for paying to watch this piece-of-shit I blinded myself 1 stars
11/17/98 Tom Ripley Great flick; did *anyone* else like it? 4 stars
11/13/98 Swan An excellent, but misread performance! Sociologically fascinating. Will becom cult favorite 5 stars
11/12/98 Nick Rogers Boring, uninspired, sleep-inducing 1 stars
11/06/98 Mr Showbiz The most militantly bad, cookie-cutter futuristic action movie since The Postman 1 stars
10/28/98 Negative Creep Damn Fine for action. But dont look for much else. 4 stars
10/27/98 Lord Of The Dunce What a stinker. 1 stars
10/27/98 Hunk@prodigy.net I have seen anything this bad since Mafia. 1 stars
10/24/98 16 in. of swingin' meat and a bucket of balls This movie smacks of ass. You came to the wrong place if you were looking for depth. 2 stars
10/19/98 Dark Horizons Warner Bros. has yet another sure-fire dud on their hands. 2 stars
9/23/98 Couch Potato Critic Though nowhere as good as Blade Runner, I enjoyed Peoples' script but still Anderson sucks. 4 stars
8/30/98 {{{OZ}}} Very shoddy. For $2 day only. Paul Anderson is a dead set hack. 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  23-Oct-1998 (R)
  DVD: 02-Mar-1999

UK
  N/A

Australia
  26-Nov-1998 (MA)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast