More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
1.92

Awesome: 9.09%
Worth A Look: 9.09%
Average: 11.36%
Pretty Bad: 5.68%
Total Crap64.77%

6 reviews, 52 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Soldier
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Slyder

"Runs out of steam from the very beginning"
1 stars

So again, Kurt Russell embarks on another futuristic movie that unfortunately doesnít go past itís beginning. Itís big, itís loud, it sure has some good stunts, but the film is basically a no-brainer. I quite liked it, since it had plenty of action, but after the movie was finished, I was like ďWell, what the fuck was the point of the movie?Ē Thatís what a lot of people found out when they saw it. Well, except my uncle, who actually liked it. Oh well, people are different.

So, the film kicks off with a promising start, as we see how in the future, the Soldiers will be selected, right from birth. Theyíre taught to hate, kill, destroy and never fear. Throughout their lives theyíre trained to be killing machines and they become that, as we see how reliable they were during the wars they fought. But then a new breed of Soldier is created, and after a few tests, the old soldiers are now obsolete. Among the old obsolete soldiers was Todd (Russell), who was one of the chosen for the superiority tests against the other new soldier (Jason Scott Lee), so after he and two other dead soldiers are dropped in a waste disposal planet. And he finds some people that crashed there, and so on and so on, until that same New Soldier unit arrives, and the fight starts.

Now, whatís good on the film? The beginning, it would be an interesting yet scary thought of how would they select soldiers in the future. You know what technology can do

Whatís wrong with it? Everything else. After the beginning, you get some serendipity-like story that as it goes along; it just gets dumber and dumber. Russellís dialogue, which itís only a few dozen words, is understandable, but the dialogue heís given is the most ridiculous ever. All in all, what was the point of the story? It never progresses and it never says anything else. Itís like a boat sailing in a sea of water with no course at all, it just sails because it sails. Thatís the same thing with this film. It goes on and on and never reaches a point, and when it does, itís just basic formulaic shit. You know heís going to go after the bad guys immediately. The film is empty since the beginning, and your money ends up practically wasted.

Iím amazed that they spent a lot of money on this film, mostly on those little cars, but the rest was pretty much some weird bullshit wasteland, I can understand that, but I still canít understand how could lots of money be wasted on this film when al you needed was like 20 million, for the look of it. The FX were so stupid, and in one part of the story where he gets dumped in the wasteland, I thought it was way unrealistic the way he survived if the shit they dropped was as high as the height of a 100 story building. Ugh, pathetic.

The performances were unfortunately wooden. Russell is struggling all the time with the role, and the rest of the cast, Gary Busey and Jason Isaacs, they all look bored with their roles. Of course, this film basically had no point, no meaning, and ends up right where it started.

In the end, forget this movie, there are better movies than this crud, Try Universal Soldier; at least that one was decent, Solo? Pfft, bullshit, same with this film.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=434&reviewer=235
originally posted: 10/16/01 07:20:54
[printer] printer-friendly format  
For more in the Tatum's Video Grab'nRun series, click here.

User Comments

4/03/13 PAUL SHORTT BRUTAL, DERIVATIVE SCIENCE-FICTION 1 stars
8/02/11 Chris F Not as bad as people say it is decent movie 4 stars
6/20/10 Jeff Wilder Awful script. Russell's not too bad. 2 stars
6/13/09 Wiseman @Q#*!$ 5 stars
3/14/08 Brant Williams The soldier's evolution into real feelings and friendships is outstanding. 5 stars
5/14/07 KingNeutron Ignore critics, this movie was totally AWESOME. Connie N + Kurt FTW! 5 stars
10/20/06 sanjay Kurt russell is awesomw as always 5 stars
8/17/05 ES The ideas presented in this film were excellent, action scenes are superb and a good story 5 stars
6/10/05 Indrid Cold Bad, but the ferocious, bone-crunching hand-to-hand combat at the end is worth it. 3 stars
5/30/05 Ruud de Graaf There is action, SF, a logic story line and Connie Neilsen. What more do you want? 4 stars
2/11/05 Jeff Anderson For all the cool & awesome talent on display, THIS FILM BLOWS! Russell walks away unscathed 1 stars
5/14/04 John surprisingly empty and predictable 2 stars
5/05/04 J.Peckerfoot Oh dear.Back away slowly from this film.Keep going.Bit more.Thats it.Keep real quiet. 1 stars
4/12/04 gromm Great premise. Good start. Soldier starts to get a soul, then the fight starts... 2 stars
2/19/04 sweetgrrl1972 The textbook definition of "Popcorn Flick"! 4 stars
1/25/04 maxpayne at nyc.com you peeps don't get it, that's all - anyone needs to be enlightened, email me 5 stars
1/07/04 y2mckay I liked this for the same reason I liked 3KM to Graceland - mindless guilty-pleasure fun 3 stars
1/06/04 tatum Ka-Boom! Yawn... 1 stars
1/01/03 Jack Sommersby Not exactly original ,but it gets the job done. Russell is typically solid. 3 stars
1/22/02 Andrew Carden I Stopped Watching It After 20 Minutes. 1 stars
11/14/01 Zizzerzazzerzuzz Enjoyable but kinda dumb. At least Goldie Hawn isn't in it. 3 stars
8/19/01 Dr. Thompson The ending stunk, but it was pretty cool until then...whats up with you people? 4 stars
7/15/01 Rampage Damn you Russell. Also whoever made that movie. Loser. 1 stars
5/01/01 Thrillhouse don't waste your money on this dirtbag 1 stars
12/04/00 Cristopher Revilla good idea, but it all goes down to shit at the end, don't watch this, save your money. 1 stars
11/14/00 Crispin Cliched but well executed. So much better than the credit it gets. 4 stars
4/29/00 Pansy Russell's dumbest movie, worse than Solo 1 stars
10/20/99 Lame-Oh boring, tasteless, stupid, and illogical 1 stars
7/20/99 Imagoner Dude, it really sucked. Kurt Russell can't even act as an action hero! 1 stars
6/10/99 Hungry Hungry Hippo Kurt Russell knows how to play an action hero..... 5 stars
5/10/99 Ah Dooey I thought the movie was good... only to be a waste of my time! 1 stars
4/16/99 Mr. Kramitall no comment 1 stars
4/13/99 Go Swans People at my screening enjoyed this film. Then again, it was near Moe. 1 stars
3/25/99 James Coffey Horrible movie. Peoples said it exists in the same universe as 'Blade Runner'(blasphemy) 1 stars
3/10/99 Oggy bad bad bad bad 1 stars
1/31/99 El Dorko God, I'm outta here after seeing this putrid crap. What the hell was that? 1 stars
1/28/99 Whiplash Mr. BBQ Bob, multiple ratings are bad, okay? Just not do it again, okay? 1 stars
12/12/98 Joseph Blow Yhe horror.... the horror 1 stars
12/05/98 Jason Stein This movie sucked hard, THE worst of 98 1 stars
12/03/98 Kirgo An awful movie that wasn't even funny awful..what a waste. 1 stars
11/24/98 Ray Russ As penance for paying to watch this piece-of-shit I blinded myself 1 stars
11/17/98 Tom Ripley Great flick; did *anyone* else like it? 4 stars
11/13/98 Swan An excellent, but misread performance! Sociologically fascinating. Will becom cult favorite 5 stars
11/12/98 Nick Rogers Boring, uninspired, sleep-inducing 1 stars
11/06/98 Mr Showbiz The most militantly bad, cookie-cutter futuristic action movie since The Postman 1 stars
10/28/98 Negative Creep Damn Fine for action. But dont look for much else. 4 stars
10/27/98 Lord Of The Dunce What a stinker. 1 stars
10/27/98 Hunk@prodigy.net I have seen anything this bad since Mafia. 1 stars
10/24/98 16 in. of swingin' meat and a bucket of balls This movie smacks of ass. You came to the wrong place if you were looking for depth. 2 stars
10/19/98 Dark Horizons Warner Bros. has yet another sure-fire dud on their hands. 2 stars
9/23/98 Couch Potato Critic Though nowhere as good as Blade Runner, I enjoyed Peoples' script but still Anderson sucks. 4 stars
8/30/98 {{{OZ}}} Very shoddy. For $2 day only. Paul Anderson is a dead set hack. 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  23-Oct-1998 (R)
  DVD: 02-Mar-1999

UK
  N/A

Australia
  26-Nov-1998 (MA)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast