More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.41

Awesome34.42%
Worth A Look: 21.66%
Average: 13.65%
Pretty Bad: 11.28%
Total Crap: 18.99%

14 reviews, 253 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Raja Natwarlal by Jay Seaver

Search for Weng Weng, The by Jay Seaver

Creep (2014) by Jay Seaver

Kundo: Age of the Rampant by Jay Seaver

Guardian (2014) by Jay Seaver

As Above, So Below by Jay Seaver

November Man, The by Jay Seaver

Hana-Dama: The Origins by Jay Seaver

Creeping Garden, The by Jay Seaver

Seventh Code by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Unbreakable
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Erik Childress

"Title Cards Steal the Thunder of Great Premise"
3 stars

Unbreakable begins and ends with two of the worst title cards in film history. One of them plants an unnecessary seed in the minds of the audience and the second just insults them. And that’s unfortunate because M. Night Shyamalan’s follow-up to his vastly overrated The Sixth Sense has something going for it that few films released these days have – originality. Shyamalan just doesn’t know how to wield it. My best advice is for you to cover your eyes after the Touchstone Pictures logo appears and hope nobody feels the need to read out loud. Unfortunately, there’s nothing I can do to save you from the second one.

Getting off on the right track we see security guard David Dunn (Bruce Willis) getting onto the wrong track. In some freak of nature, his train derails killing over 120 passengers yet leaving David to walk away without a scratch. His wife, Audrey (Robin Wright Penn) and son, Joseph (Spencer Treat Clark) are understandably happy to see him alive, yet have been going through their own tough times together. Enter Elijah Price (Samuel L. Jackson), an independent “art” gallery owner with a mysterious disease known as osteogensis imperfecta, which renders his bones so brittle that a mere knock could snap them like a twig. Elijah seeks out David as the potential answer to his dreams and offers an interesting explanation for his survival.

To discuss Unbreakable any further from there would only ruin what isn’t ruined by the film’s opening title card. It then becomes impossible to make any critical analysis of where this film goes wrong. So I advise those still waiting to see the film to tread carefully if they don’t want to know anymore then what has been revealed in the film’s ads.

For the first hour, Unbreakable moves along on the strength of unpredictability. Our desire to discover the truth behind David’s invincibility enliven the kind of pace that would put the sleepy to rest. But when we find ourselves getting ahead of what Shyamalan wants us to know, its very easy to start getting frustrated. Perhaps the build-up sets itself up for something so spectacular, that any kind of conclusion would turn out to be a disappointment. But the best endings don’t make us wish for more in a sequel, they deliver in its own running time without the words “part two” ever becoming a factor.

The letdown begins when David gets his own sixth sense, a Christopher Walken-like trait of being able to not see where people are going to do, but what they have already done. Forget the boredom of repetitiveness when this story deserves better, but why does David develop this skill all of a sudden. Awakened by the trauma of the train wreck? Releasing the powers he’s been repressing all these years? How come he wasn’t aware of it after the car accident he lived through in his younger and more vulnerable years?

Shyamalan isn’t that good a storyteller to restrict a viewer from asking such questions during the proceedings. Even the 99.9th percentile that got fooled by The Sixth Sense should have wondered why a floating briefcase wasn’t noticed by people as Malcolm walked down the street especially since it was shown that ghosts could move objects still seen by humans, i.e. the little girl and her boxed videotape. Or how about why Malcolm never had to go to the bathroom or eat or talk to anybody in the time that he was shot to “THE NEXT FALL”!!!

Many of the same elements that made up The Sixth Sense are present here. You’ve got the character somewhat tortured by having a unique gift. There’s the one available to help that person realize their powers. Breakdowns in communication exist between the gifted and his family and like with the 10th highest grossing film of all time (as of 1999), Shyamalan blows his wad too early. Somebody needs to teach this guy the filmmaking equivalent of Tantra. Title cards aside, he even has one character describe a book by saying “this one has a surprise ending.” Hardy har har, but is it a playful joke about the ending that fooled way too many people in 1999 or another example of misguided foreshadowing.

My hatred of The Sixth Sense may be easy to bleed over into the filmmaker’s next effort. But by going into every film with an open mind, I allow myself the position of giving the film a fair chance and a solid first hour staring down at me, things were going better than even I could have hoped. But that first hour doesn’t become part of the solution therefore becoming part of the problem. It’s occasionally nice to see a filmmaker throw the three-act structure out the window and create a filmgoing experience that can border on religious. Unbreakable is not that film, primarily because it needs structure and it doesn’t have it. Like with Sixth Sense, Shyamalan writes and directs a 60-minute first act, a 40-minute second act and a 5-minute third act. Plot and character development are one thing, but if you can’t build up any significant emotions through them, you’re just wasting time. The ending to Unbreakable is as abrupt as any film conclusion you’ll ever see and its made all the worse because its precisely where the third act should be beginning. Instead, we get a title card that wraps it all up in 20 words or less.

A colleague of mine described the final title card as a punchline. I like to think of it as just a punch…in the face of its audience. Just when the film seems primed to take off, Shyamalan stops the movie with the soulless glee of a court jester, screaming “HA! I GOTCHA AGAIN!” and then running before he’s beaten by the angry mob. Also, think of the implications when you tie the opening and closing title cards together. If you’re intrigued, perhaps I’m not doing my job.

Yet Unbreakable is an intriguing film…to a point. If you’re able to stick with it, you’ll no doubt be discussing it on the way home, realizing only then that it is very good. What is good are the performances. Bruce Willis can subtly underplay these parts in his sleep by now and Samuel L. Jackson may actually be cooler here than he was in Shaft. Even Robin Wright Penn gets a lot of mileage out of an underwritten part as the wife. Spencer Treat Clark, however, will have you begging for Haley Joel Osment who could have given the scenes between David and his son more heart and believability. But with the good comes the bad, including many laughable moments like the final title card (have I driven that point home yet?) and Jackson negotiating some stairs. The worst comes at that fateful hour mark which comes equipped with the most disturbing scene I’ve witnessed in sometime; one that’s shoddily written and given the wrong approach completely. You’ll know as soon as you see it and it will take you right out of the movie.

Bottom line, is Unbreakable a bad film? Not necessarily. It has a great unique premise and many good scenes along the way. It’s better than The Sixth Sense, yet given my reputation regarding that overrated exercise in audience trickery, that’s not saying much. Shyamalan (or “Night” as he as commonly referred to) seems to know all the ambient factors of how to create an audience pleasing entertainment, just not how to bring them together. And his reliance on opening & closing “explanations” rob anyone who is paying attention to details and not just the big picture. It took Shyamalan five drafts to come up with his ending for The Sixth Sense and I guessed it in 20 minutes on opening night, devoid of any knowledge of a surprise ending. I didn’t quite pick out the ending here, partly because its not, or should not be, an ending at all. Five drafts for The Sixth Sense. He could have used a few more on Unbreakable. (NOTE: I’m also tired of Shyamalan post-predicting has career moves. In interviews for The Sixth Sense he kept saying “I’m going to write a movie called The Sixth Sense, I’m going to sell it for two million dollars and Bruce Willis is going to star in it. In the press kit for Unbreakable, Shyamalan is quoted as saying “before I wrote it, I conceived the whole movie in my head. I said I want to do it with Touchstone Pictures. I want Bruce Willis and Samuel L. Jackson to play the leads and I want it to come out at Thanksgiving.” It’s nice to see such creative freedom come from such a hack. Hey Night, shut up and go learn how to write a script and direct it.)

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=4345&reviewer=198
originally posted: 11/22/00 15:32:49
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

1/29/14 Monday Morning Just three words: Ex. Cel. Lent. 5 stars
8/23/09 killer yeah awesome 5 stars
6/27/09 devastator probably the most realistic origin superhero film of all time 5 stars
4/03/09 Dane Youssef M. NIght's absolute greatest. Of all his classics, this is the creme de la creme. 10 + + 5 stars
10/12/08 Samantha Pruitt interesting idea, Jackson's performance was realy great! 4 stars
8/27/08 Shaun Wallner This movie was Awesome!! Loved It. 5 stars
5/28/08 PAUL SHORTT WHEN IT COMES TO EXPLANATIONS, IT FLIRTS WITH MUMBO JUMBO 1 stars
2/11/08 sweetgrrl1972 The antithesis of the typical bombastic superhero film. Subtle, powerful and surprising. 5 stars
12/06/07 Pamela White the humanizing of being a superhero could have been directed better 3 stars
12/02/07 davidbobo20 this movie is wack! 1 stars
9/02/07 anouka criminally underrated masterpiece. this movie continues to move me. 5 stars
8/21/07 Jubei Unquestionably,Shyamalan's most solid piece,great study of comic books mythos applied. 5 stars
8/20/07 mark madsen i like this movie 3 stars
7/08/07 Sambadi A piece of trash! :D 1 stars
4/29/07 bite_my_ass Is this a true story>Can you tell me where to find the victim? 4 stars
4/23/07 Tracey Chambers if not for mr.jackson this movie would suck. 4 stars
4/04/07 Double M A really great movie.. seems that MNS does good movies only with Bruce Willis.. 5 stars
4/01/07 dtx120 First I thought it was slow - watched again and loved it. One of the best from M. Night. 5 stars
1/30/07 David Pollastrini didn't see that twist coming! 5 stars
1/05/07 Watch This Movie! Perhaps it's slow. The cinematography and the plot are so great, I wish it was longer. 5 stars
12/26/06 johnnyfog Doesn't hold up, but an honest effort by all. AND AWESOME MUSIC 4 stars
11/21/06 Quigley Not as good as "Sixth Sense" or "Signs," but is very original, well-acted and directed. 4 stars
8/26/06 sweetgrrl1972 An original take on the superhero film. 4 stars
8/05/06 nicklor24 one of the best comic book movie, and one of the best movies in general 5 stars
7/16/06 R.W.Welch The main problem here is that everyone in the pic seems terminally depressed. 3 stars
1/23/06 ronald fuck this movie is awesome man.Has a kubrick feel to it 5 stars
12/13/05 Tookie Willams fuck you bitches, i will haut you motheruckers from the grave! 1 stars
11/23/05 Jonathon Holmes another good Shyamalan movie, though "The Sixth Sense" was better 4 stars
11/18/05 noops another masterpiece frm shyamalan...a gr8 climax 2... 4 stars
10/28/05 cooler I loved this thriller.One of the most unique films of all time 5 stars
9/02/05 ES Coulda, shoulda been great, as is too slow, no go 3 stars
9/01/05 Eden Shyamalan starts his slide into crapness 1 stars
8/28/05 D Buckley Night always cuts his best scenes 4 stars
8/16/05 Chaz Salton a"cop-out" ending, a viewer "rip-off" 2 stars
6/28/05 R ah, the days before shyamalan completely lost his mind. 5 stars
6/22/05 Manu Ginobli Fucking rox. 5 stars
6/11/05 Rock-Steady what the fuck, you people awe morons, this movie rocks 5 stars
5/27/05 Lord Haw Haw Achingly awful. M. Night Shyster should be punched in the throat. 1 stars
5/17/05 E-FUNK Shyamalan will never make a film better than this. A masterpiece. 5 stars
5/03/05 David dunn I'm gonna get u elijah hahaha 1 stars
5/01/05 reuben rupp i was like, "wow, this movie is pretty cool-oh crap, it's over?!?" 2 stars
4/04/05 Littlepurch Good premise but it dragged and ending came out of nowhere. No comparison to 6th sense. 3 stars
3/27/05 indrid cold As always, M. Night gives us plenty of atmosphere, but the story is bizarre and weak. 3 stars
1/06/05 Archanist_101 The rating says it all...!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 4 stars
9/06/04 the bride Once again, Anthony G is a total fuckwit!! Everything about this film was excellent. 5 stars
9/04/04 Monster W. Kung (With ridiculous dramatic voice) "They call me mr. Ass"! 1 stars
8/30/04 Peter James I feel this is M. Night's best 5 stars
8/12/04 paul i thought this movie was great - youneverhadanyideawhereit would end up andthatwas gripping 4 stars
8/06/04 McGraw Nothing fantastic, but creepy, powerful, and well-made. 4 stars
8/03/04 Anthony G wtf, why does m.night make a 1 good movie(this one), then 3 dog shit movies 1 stars
7/19/04 T Anderson The must make a sequel 5 stars
7/16/04 John McIntyre M Night's worst, but not too bad 3 stars
6/28/04 Dorian Frieson Almost as good as The sixth Sense 5 stars
5/05/04 Jared that gun scene was one of the best moments in cinema, and completely appropriate as well 5 stars
5/05/04 R.W. Welch Drags much of the time though not a bad yarn overall. 3 stars
3/24/04 Dr.Lecter Well-intentioned & creative, but doesn't quite work 3 stars
3/24/04 Lord Haw Haw I'm blind. Therefore, there must be someone who can see through six inch steel plate. 1 stars
3/11/04 Brian McCarthy Without a doubt, one of the 10 worst movies I've ever seen. To talk about it will only aggr 1 stars
3/01/04 Phyllis Joy I really liked this movie! But t is set up to become a series, or at least have a sequel. 4 stars
2/09/04 john bale Intriguing but crackpot is Bruce's second less impressive Supernatural adventure. 4 stars
1/12/04 Marco I'm speechless. Too good to be true. 5 stars
1/08/04 A F Willis in the right film can add to a masterpiece 4 stars
1/03/04 david deveney like a fine wine.....gets better all the time....you watch it ....rather than drink it .... 5 stars
11/30/03 john the ultimate sleeping pill 1 stars
11/24/03 Nicole Illogical - not my kind of film 2 stars
10/21/03 Charles Tatum No one can accuse M. Night of being boring 4 stars
10/02/03 Shane Fantastic!!! Some may not have liked it, but one of best films I have ever seen. 5 stars
9/12/03 Muhammad al-Syed To many unneeded scenes. Rambling. Promising - doesn't deliver like 6th sense. 1 stars
7/28/03 Boomer Seems like this movie will be over too many peoples heads. Go watch Charlies Angels!!! 5 stars
7/21/03 francis good direction, mood, etc., but awfully stupid story 2 stars
7/06/03 Stefan Halka This film was so tedious that it was a yawn by the halfway point. 3 stars
4/10/03 Jack Bourbon The scene with the child and the gun was uproaringly hilarious! Gut-bustingly so!!! 2 stars
4/06/03 123 great movie, why do u guys review it so badly? 5 stars
3/13/03 Dragon_Slayer1_99 I do believe that this movie was the best movie that I have seen in a few years. 5 stars
2/21/03 Phil M. Aficionado Leading candidate for most preposterous premise of all time; dreck, stupid, contrived. 1 stars
1/17/03 mans0n where is the other half of the movie? it ended before anything happened! 2 stars
12/31/02 Jack Sommersby An ambitious, joyless failure. 2 stars
11/23/02 altera888 superbly crafted? what have u been smoking you deluded fool? 1 stars
11/10/02 Jeanne superbly crafted (for intelligent people only) 5 stars
10/31/02 Bring on the sequel 'Denny's crowd', fuck away! This movie is a piece of art. 5 stars
10/09/02 Chance The ending blew me away, didn't predict it unlike Sixth Sense 5 stars
10/03/02 Croweater this was one of the lamest movies of the year, to call it dull would be only half right. 1 stars
9/18/02 Russell It is the best movie ever made 5 stars
8/22/02 tommyboy overall a well made film 5 stars
8/19/02 jurassiraptor A better title would have been "Unbearable" or "Unwatchable." Fun movie, but falls short. 3 stars
8/14/02 Interrog8 2 1/2 HOURS! The story can be told in 15 minutes. So boring! 1 stars
8/08/02 Obi Wan Great movie!! Stop comparing this to Sixth Sense . . .give the movie a clean slate!!! 5 stars
7/27/02 karen goldstein stupid premise - didnt even show the train crash!! 1 stars
7/20/02 ! It's Ok, 3 stars
6/23/02 Sunil Alexander Very good. Different but make no mistake. Good. 5 stars
6/21/02 Film Dude People actually like this crap? 1 stars
5/25/02 darkjosh@hotmail.com The best superhoero/comicbook movie ever made, period. 5 stars
4/17/02 Bon Very drawn out & nothing happened! The ending SUCKED! 1 stars
4/05/02 Edfink Lombardo Thoroughly predictable...Missing a zippy pace...Takes itself way too seriously 1 stars
3/21/02 lucy fur bought it on video, taped over it the next day 1 stars
3/20/02 Aborted Gently I enjoyed it. Maybe from reading comics as a kid, this was a heroes origin. 4 stars
3/08/02 Mo Anand It's predictable, and only has one good scene (train sequence) 3 stars
2/20/02 Xaver The ending is just simply disappointing. 3 stars
2/14/02 Nighty Night Slow... but entertaining... excellent acting too!! 5 stars
11/25/01 I love movies OK, but Shyamalan is becoming the king of the Slow BoringThrillers... 3 stars
11/15/01 Michael First time in a long, long time I could never tell where the movie was taking. 5 stars
11/02/01 HotDog It was okay.. 3 stars
10/22/01 Cookie Cutter Boring, silly. A cinematic joke. I don't care if Sixth Sense was good, this sucks. 1 stars
10/07/01 Connoisseur dialogue was kind of unrealistic, otherwise a very good movie 4 stars
10/02/01 Phoenix A well told supernatural thriller. 4 stars
9/09/01 great flick Great film..you won't appreciate it if you like the "average film" 5 stars
9/08/01 Islandspud Very good 5 stars
8/28/01 ARCbird Vastly underrated............. 5 stars
8/27/01 voyant Very good despite the annoying directing. 5 stars
8/23/01 Monster W. Kung Good idea, poor dialogue, cinematography way too similar to Sixth Sense's. Disappointing. 2 stars
8/22/01 JesseL How can you make a bad movie starring Bruce Willis and Samuel L. Jackson? Here's how. 2 stars
8/19/01 Edwin Menguin Bruce Willis makes me wanna piss all over my gran, can he be cut? 4 stars
8/19/01 Dr. Thompson The only intelligent superhero movie ever 5 stars
8/14/01 seldom scene just as corny as 6th sense but with a more beliable ending 3 stars
8/14/01 I love movies just as sucky as The Sixth Sense 3 stars
8/06/01 E-Funk One of the best movies of the year...so different and masterfully directed. Awesome. 5 stars
8/04/01 DREDD Good, and original. 4 stars
7/28/01 Steve WAY too slow! If half of this movie had been cut out, it would have been a great 45 minutes 2 stars
7/27/01 SJKelley MsAsh is again unreadable. This was a very good movie with a suspect last scene. 4 stars
7/12/01 Jake An enthralling film. Spectacular. Don't listen to the morons without brains. 5 stars
7/12/01 mara z. very cool. i loved the character development. 5 stars
7/08/01 J Sixth Sense & Unbreakable are two different films this one is a classic under its own right 5 stars
7/07/01 Extensor Sorry MsAss but you lost all credability when you failed to know Samuel L. Jackson. U Suck! 5 stars
7/06/01 KR 'Unbreakable' will be regarded as a classic ten years from now. Blows '6th Sense' away. 5 stars
7/03/01 Obi Wan Loved it!! Just bought the DVD so I could watch it over and over! 5 stars
7/03/01 Monday Morning This is a great piece of movie-making and a very cool/original story. Luvved it. 5 stars
7/02/01 The Bomb 69 awesome movie, taking one star off for the story depending on lot of coincidences to happen 4 stars
6/25/01 3733366 Masterpiece. 5 stars
6/09/01 Turtle This fall.... Bruce Willis is.... SUPERMAN. Or maybe they just ripped off Big S a little. 4 stars
6/06/01 Race Bannon Anyone that's ever enjoyed a comic book will love it 5 stars
6/02/01 Tim Webster one of the most magnificent movies of all time, with a magnificent twist at the end 5 stars
5/30/01 Thatguy Strange movie - really for X-Men true believers 3 stars
5/15/01 St. Louis Rams Fan For Life It's slow, boring approach still gives the movie flavor and creativity. Kudos for M. Night 5 stars
5/11/01 The smell of danger This movie captures the total basics of marvel comics! X-men stripped down to base. 4 stars
4/26/01 ailon Interesting but slow 4 stars
4/10/01 mig128 Stop compairing this w/ his last movie, thats your problem!! Great movie making!! 5 stars
3/14/01 Air of Reality A gorgeous film - most underrated of 2000. I can't wait for M's next. 5 stars
3/01/01 Daniel Geuze Taht was the best film I ever seen 5 stars
2/27/01 Angel This film left me with a feeling of uniqueness and wonder. I loved every moment of it. 5 stars
2/24/01 Marie Very interesting, enjoyable, and slightly disturbing. 5 stars
2/04/01 Turtle Decent acting and an ending where I was left blown away. 4 stars
1/27/01 Matthew Bartley It's either really clever or really stupid. I go for the first 4 stars
1/15/01 ThEoNe3510 no comments needed....see it before someone drags you to see it 5 stars
1/12/01 Matt69 don't fuck with Mr. Glass. 4 stars
1/11/01 bart clever idea but slow, boring and totally unbelieable. But, great sound 2 stars
1/10/01 Rik This movie was weak 1 stars
1/04/01 Angus Debaser Perfect movie. Abrupt ending makes perfect sense too. Just beautiful. 5 stars
1/01/01 Johnny Figaro Deeper than 6th Sense, with less shock but more weight. Sam&Bruce rule! Ending rocks. 5 stars
12/30/00 Will just beautiful. 5 stars
12/28/00 Mike Even a very well formed and expensive turd, is a turd 1 stars
12/27/00 TomServo 1 word - really bad...oh wait thats two 1 stars
12/26/00 fishie Unique story just took to long to tell it. Great actors helped it a lot. 4 stars
12/26/00 Giovanni Tummarello REALLY disappinting, meaningless, overall boring, .. NOONE in the theather liked it. 1 stars
12/25/00 Damion Cain Damn this movie is good! Very original. Needs a sequal, and a much better costume. 5 stars
12/23/00 Jareth David Great ad campaign not giving away entire film like most trailers. Would like longer ending. 5 stars
12/20/00 malcolm awesome, anybody who says the ending was not a surprise is a lying fuck 4 stars
12/20/00 Deimos Yeoman Pure comic book joy from page to screen 5 stars
12/17/00 Tom I hate films with "single examples", the film was kinda weak, however entertaining 3 stars
12/16/00 Mrhide This movie is BOOOOOOOORING.... 1 stars
12/14/00 kim boyd loved it. hope there is a sequel w/Elijah wearing tpurple n blk. creative superhero story. 5 stars
12/14/00 Tyler Unbreakable rocks. 5 stars
12/14/00 Lucafilm Don't listen to the harpies. "Unbreakable" is a brilliant film 5 stars
12/13/00 Robert Davis After seeing "Sixth Sense", this movie is a real disappointment 2 stars
12/11/00 dan smith nice twist, but average 2 stars
12/11/00 John Jurik Briefly - thought provoking. The slower, subdued pace is suitable for the subject matter. 4 stars
12/11/00 Karen Herring Psych! look UNDER the surface (where does genius Shyamalan show up in film & why?) 5 stars
12/10/00 Sexton Hardcastle I Liked it 4 stars
12/10/00 vessejoigt Better than 6th sense 4 stars
12/09/00 John Boy Pretentious Junk! 1 stars
12/09/00 Obi Wan M. Knight is a sheer genius...I can't wait to see what he does w/Indiana Jones 4 stars
12/09/00 ntwrage awesome 5 stars
12/08/00 Kevin Please, take this movie for what it is...a realistic superhero origin. K-Dog is an idiot. 5 stars
12/08/00 Alec Scott See David Ansen's review in Newsweek 2 stars
12/07/00 SweetPhyl Samuel L. Jackson is always a winner and Shyamalan's direction is wonderful. 4 stars
12/07/00 Greg Only a good movie could inspire so many mediocre minds to be so personally insulted by it. 4 stars
12/05/00 Caryn Andreson I thought it was a great look at the "origin of the super-hero". 4 stars
12/05/00 Heather Intriguing movie, not brilliant but still worth a look 4 stars
12/05/00 Belinda The worst fucking movie I have ever ever seen! 1 stars
12/04/00 CJ So disappointed. Loved 6th Sense but this didn't work as sci-fi drama or superhero tale. 2 stars
12/04/00 Wendy Means SO much like a good British comic book. It's very powerful. 5 stars
12/04/00 Dan Shuffle A genuine rush. A REAL Alan Moore-type superhero movie. 5 stars
12/03/00 Stephen Weak - awfully glad it was a matinee($). Saving grace - father/son relationship development 2 stars
12/03/00 camisinha fucking awesome!!! 5 stars
12/03/00 DarkRomancer Nearly perfect, but in so being makes it's failures that much more glaring. Still beautiful 5 stars
12/03/00 kyle very very dull 1 stars
12/03/00 kk Bad edditing, bad acting , bad premise, overall boring 1 stars
12/03/00 Darren Shea A truly original take on a comic book origin film - and I think the ending worked very well 4 stars
12/03/00 BubbaX We liked it. Dark, moody. The explanation at the end could be done away with, though. 3 stars
12/03/00 The Way Could have been great, but went the other way instead. Slow, muddled, need-to-end ending. 2 stars
12/03/00 blaise If you liked comics, and have more then a 15 min. attention span, go see this movie. 5 stars
12/03/00 Darrell Shively moody, interesting and surprising 4 stars
12/03/00 Benjamin Lesbian I liked it, warts and all. The ending was rushed, but the movie had style. 4 stars
12/02/00 spork-girl if you didn't like, it, go rent the captain america striaght to video 5 stars
12/02/00 Phil Disapointing ending. Ending was so unexpected that it was to crazy to be good. 3 stars
12/02/00 Greyjack If M.Night would lay off the sledgehammer endings, he'd get consistent 5's; still a 4 tho. 4 stars
12/01/00 bunnyboo This movie had the worst end in the history of movie making! But Samuel Jackson was great. 2 stars
12/01/00 ntwrage If they dont turn this into a show on USA or the WB I'll be shocked! 3 stars
12/01/00 Robert Kocsis Sticks in your mind for days 5 stars
12/01/00 Bruce Willis I should've turned this down. Reality based version of X-men. Obsessed with twist endings. 2 stars
12/01/00 Anonymous Josh it was half of a good movie, what happened to the other half?! 1 stars
11/30/00 Scott the best moviemaking in years 5 stars
11/30/00 Alden Miller Great movie. But don't expect it to be the sixth Sense part II. 4 stars
11/30/00 KEvin Macintosh Wow! I think this movie should be added to a list of modern classics. Very awesome. 4 stars
11/30/00 Obi Wan Great Movie!! M.Knight and Bruce do it again!!! Loved the movie . . bring patience. 5 stars
11/30/00 Sortee deeper than it looks at first 5 stars
11/29/00 Carisa Williamson Not good at all. I thought it would be better with such a great cast, but it was bad. 2 stars
11/29/00 William Bell Boooring! 1 stars
11/29/00 Failla My husband and I thought it was a great movie! 5 stars
11/29/00 Joseph I can hear the conversation that started this movie..it was a good idea, but poor execution 2 stars
11/29/00 James D. Madara A movie Hitchcock would be proud of. Too bad it is advertised as another Sixth Sence. 4 stars
11/29/00 Dana (plaidbananas@hotmail.com) very thought provoking- worth seeing. 4 stars
11/28/00 Will what a polarizing movie. votes all over the place. :) 5 stars
11/28/00 Ryan Peatt Interesting - didnt make sense till the end. Nice parallelism. But not worth the 8 bucks 2 stars
11/28/00 Matt Snider Incredible Film!!! 5 stars
11/28/00 Tdis72 Not even close to being ranked up there with The Sixth Sense! Very Average at best! 3 stars
11/28/00 Sunny Excellent film by an excellent filmmaker 5 stars
11/28/00 Scott Rosier Another good movie that makes you think 4 stars
11/28/00 frankko took a long time to get nowhere in particular 2 stars
11/28/00 Simprini Slow and dull it is definitly not. If you can't handle a thoughtful flick, go see 6th day 5 stars
11/28/00 pipeman fun movie with interesting twists. 5 stars
11/28/00 peter McAbrew moderation. 4 stars
11/28/00 babywewe This movie is just silly 1 stars
11/28/00 Adam Miller I hate it. It builds up the supspense of a awsome ending then it turns out to be crap 1 stars
11/27/00 fattyankles Excellent movie. Eclipses 6th Sense. Very very mysterious. 5 stars
11/27/00 Mike McMannes Horrible - was there a point to the movie? Is SENTRYMAN going to be the sequel? Bad flick!! 1 stars
11/27/00 cedric loved the camera work 5 stars
11/27/00 joh what-to boring for ya? good point, who needs to f*cking think 5 stars
11/27/00 Reviewer Bob Great character development...not like X-men...though the ending left you wanting more 5 stars
11/27/00 BlindSpirit Slow moving, But have patients and you might enjoy this movie. 3 stars
11/27/00 Will saw it again, it grows on you a LOT. damn, that was good. 5 stars
11/27/00 Bob Luhimi Them best damn show i ever went to saw!!! 5 stars
11/26/00 Mad_Bunny Once you adjusted to the pace it was not bad, then the ending slaps/smacks you in the face 4 stars
11/26/00 AvidFan Flat, dull, boring and just made no sense at all and I'm a fan of Bruce. 1 stars
11/26/00 gorzek Your opinion depends entirely on what you were expecting... 5 stars
11/26/00 Crystal I'm still feeling blank about the whole thing! Just one thing, WHY? 1 stars
11/26/00 Redstone Though provoking academy award winner that stimulates the mind - NOT for adrenaline junkies 5 stars
11/26/00 chuckmfh So sloooooow, interesting effect with dark shooting 2 stars
11/26/00 peachick only if you go in with NO expectations, will you enjoy the movie 5 stars
11/26/00 Stuntman Sorry, Movie Freek, but this movie was pretty good 3 stars
11/26/00 Gary WIlkins Moved slow keeped waiting for something to happen. 2 stars
11/26/00 John McGinnis 2 out of 3 won't like it, however, it's genious. 4 stars
11/25/00 DC Sam wore PURPLE, Bruce GREEN, the intruder ORANGE...style w/ hidden elements of comic books 5 stars
11/25/00 Trufe People don't like it 'cuz it wasn't what they expected at all. The superhero angle was cool 5 stars
11/25/00 edr 6th Sense raised everyone's expectations too high. Pretty interesting flick. 4 stars
11/25/00 zeitgeist this film is for people who don't mind having to use their brain. sorry, Movie Freak 5 stars
11/25/00 frank c intelligent movie without explosions or shallow one dimensional characters. 5 stars
11/24/00 jon j enjoyable despite weird ending 4 stars
11/24/00 Tony the Lurch Very entertaining movie, Movie Freek is an idiot 4 stars
11/24/00 Finity ABSOLUTE MOTHER FUCKING HORSE SHIT 1 stars
11/23/00 forger Not bad. Good performances from BW & SLJ. Ending is telegraphed for the "special" kids. 3 stars
11/23/00 Will Sure, the ending was jarring, but it wasn't that bad, people. 4 stars
11/23/00 The Reviewer performances (willis,jackson) were good, ending was horrible. 3 stars
11/23/00 frankko some of it was interesting 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  14-Nov-2000 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  30-Nov-2000 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast