More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.41

Awesome34.32%
Worth A Look: 21.89%
Average: 13.61%
Pretty Bad: 11.24%
Total Crap: 18.93%

14 reviews, 254 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Loving Vincent by Jay Seaver

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Unbreakable
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Marc Kandel

"Shyamalan’s Best- no exceptions."
5 stars

Its time for some simple appreciation of a film I happen to love, warts and all, and consider M. Night Shyamalan’s opus in an increasingly uneven resume, happily viewed for a moment of uplifting catharsis - or when I really feel like knocking the ever-loving poopers out of something. And if you just want to go the snarky “Unwatchable” or “Unremarkable” route, you just come ‘round n’ say it to my face Sonny Jim.

To discuss the film at length is to spoil. Enough time has passed that I can discuss in detail without ruining anyone’s movie night, but if you haven’t seen it don’t taint a fresh viewing. See it, keep an open mind, and if you don’t like it, break the DVD into a few jagged shards, gently nudge ‘em up in your softest, darkest, South-most body cavity with some little care, and do twenty jumping jacks; this action will not provide any insight or enhance your enjoyment of the film, it is your gruesome penance for being a dumb bastard.

David Dunn, lone survivor of a horrific train derailment is approached by Elijah, a comic-book art purveyor suffering from a debilitating physical condition which allows him the perspective to put forth an extraordinary theory on how David survived catastrophic tragedy without a scratch while for Elijah, merely walking from one end of a room to the other presents life-threatening peril. Dubious at first, David slowly discovers the truth of his existence, but at what price?

Shyamalan’s films center around damaged people wandering perilously along the edge of the forest, close to being lost forever, discovering path and purpose (taken to a disastrous literal extreme in the misfire The Village). The surprises and supernatural elements are tools to move the central goal forward. When it works, we have a Sixth Sense, an Unbreakable, even a Signs which, plot holes aside, can be taken as a lovely tale of a man rediscovering his soul. The treat is the journey, which is where many viewers of Shyamalan’s films sometimes stray in their perceptions of the work entire. I can appreciate pulling the rug out from under someone as much as the next cafeteria prank victim- but to me that’s just icing- you tell me really grabs you more in “Sixth Sense”: Dr. Malcolm Crowe revealing his blood-soaked shirt or that veeeeeery first time some barely seen shape slithers across the hallway behind Cole as his breath freezes in his lungs? Any last minute reveal is gravy that but complements the full, sumptuous meal meticulously slaved over by the director and his sterling casts of performers.

My love of Unbreakable comes from the heart displayed in the movie from all involved, and the admiration of Shyamalan’s overhauling what makes this genre work, without cheating the viewer of the ideas and concepts that make superheroes pop. Shyamalan creates a dreary, mundane world, populated with despairing, weary characters, and injects hope and wonder- not with spectacle but quiet, carefully spooned dollops of the unreal that bring revelation, redemption, truth and horror. The film is a mélange of careful, beautiful imagery, captivating performances, and intricately stacked tension and release- all that and you still get your balls-out street justice.

The cinematography by Eduardo Serra is a sophisticated, subtle palette- Shyamalan chooses the typically comic-villainous colors of Green and Purple, further separating them into “good” and “bad” colors - the resultant look is vivid and rich, each shot hit from different angles so that each reflects what could be a different panel on a page (a more subtle approach over Ang Lee’s outright panel layouts in The Hulk). A bluish haze serves to underscore the drab world David Dunn inhabits. Our vivid colors are provided by Elijah, impeccably styled in rich purples and exaggerated tailoring, his Frederick Douglas hairdo stabbing the sky, his eyes blazing intensity whilst David mopes around in earthy olive and moss green work clothes, pale, lost and beaten, his eyes always searching.

Bruce Willis outdoes himself. David Dunn is a quiet, beaten man with little charisma or energy masking reserves of strength and nobility as he shuffles through his tattered life- numb in shock and grief. At the beginning, some may see a minor resemblance to his tired, stoic boxer Dutch of Pulp Fiction, but Dutch is far more wry, calculated and frantic, whereas David has long since lost his verve, passion and any sort of plan, and the performer is careful to present two different men whose divergences become rather obvious as the film picks up steam.

David’s progression to truth is a delicate journey of missteps, disappointments and tiny moments of wonder. One of the best hints of David’s extraordinary ability is a fun, understated scene where he and his doting son test David’s strength during a routine work-out (bolstered by a soft yet vaguely iconic ascending hero theme by James Newton Howard on strings and piano, turning in a winner on scoring chores). The scene is a nice tease: David strains to lift the not inconsiderable weight (the sound of his grip sliding against textured metal alone gives the audience a sense of tremendous effort), and even with the payoff, we must still question the veracity of Elijah’s assertions thanks to Willis’ labored, uneasy exertions. A deleted scene does exist where David lifts weight at the stadium gym where he works leaving the entire football team with their jaws agape, putting the question of his paranormal strength to bed, but this scene was rightly cut as it leaves little to the imagination, the necessary information conveyed in the much more intimate, subtle scene between David and his son which further textures their relationship.

Two scenes cement this movie for me as a thing of beauty- both amazing payoff moments from the intricate build. The first is David committing to his role and entering the lion’s den, the second Elijah’s revelation and unnerving triumph. These moments cut to the quick, simultaneously illustrating the frightening difficulty and uplifting rightness of confronting evil, and the joy, magic, and awful terror found in purpose.

David dons his Security poncho, now a costume, and steps into Pennsylvania Station. Raising his arms up he accepts himself and we feel weight lifting from him, helped again by a resounding master-stroke from composer Howard, as dialogue defers to musical purity and the playful hero-theme hinted at throughout is replaced by the real deal, an eight-note melody of calm strength and clarity with an undercurrent of warning and dilemma- a warning for evildoers, or for David himself?

In Shyamalan’s world, it’s not a matter of flying in and throttling the bad guys- there are tough choices and hard-fought battles to be had. When David confronts his chosen adversary (a horrific crime in progress versus other misdeeds where the damage is done and the victims alive and not in immediate danger) the struggle is shot from a fixed angle, and it’s an ugly site to behold, grounded in a bleak, vicious battle for survival. There are no multi-angle flips of dazzling agility, no Chinese opera kicks, flurries of parried punches, or witty dialogue exchanged- there is only quiet, inexorable, brutal justice, and our only hint that David may have some advantage is when his side doesn’t cave in as his sickeningly strong adversary savagely throws his arm into David’s ribs again and again and again, knocking him back through a wall as David tenaciously wares his foe down, locked at his throat, giving not an inch, determined to stop a madman. David’s face is obscured by his hood, an avenging spirit ripping this evil monster from the world; A riveting, bold choice by Shyamalan that deliberately avoids a sensational, climactic battle with John Buscema style comic book poses and jumpy kinetic action in favor of a realistic, prolonged, disturbing confrontation. James Newton Howard raises the volume of his music, a sad yet uplifting melody of justice as the brute’s strength slowly ebbs and David at last, fully becomes the man he is supposed to be.

And now the hard medicine- Elijah Price’s reveal. I’ll admit to being quite surprised. In fact, I was horrified and upset, as the fraction of good David struggled to bring the world throughout the film seems hopelessly buried under the immense weight of evil Elijah has committed in his search for David (yes, in that moment I weighed human lives in numbers, and didn’t even realize it until much later). It’s too much to take, David’s jaw slack in grief, disgust and disappointment, Elijah’s eyes wide, glowing, tearful in terrible joy, ecstatic to an almost sexual level as he closes the circle of his life and announces his identity. He has found his place in the world, given meaning to his pitiful condition, his hard, agonized life, and God help us, we are somehow complicit, having grown to love this man and his wonderful ideas and discoveries, to respect him, to empathize with him and worry for him as he literally breaks himself in his feverish quest.

Of course, his defeated, bitter fit in the comic-book store earlier gave us pause, a rather childish, off-putting act by a manically-depressed man that made us wonder how many marbles were actually rolling around that voluminous head, but he guided our friend, unearthed a savior, he did good… Didn’t he? It’s rare I have been so pained from a revelation on film. Even Fredo’s betrayal did not hurt so. And the flashbacks, the dead stare and jagged movement as Elijah removes himself from his crimes, punishing his unremarkable world, scattering the pieces off the board that clutter up his search for a king- it actually stung. We are privy to so many moments of beauty and pain with Elijah, from his birth to his lonely childhood to his meager triumphs and bitter disappointments, so many times where his hope might have been dimmed but wasn’t… or so we thought. At the same time, his unbridled jubilance is a stirring thing, this poor, feeble man who needed to know there was a reason he was brought into the hard, dangerous world so terribly frail and flawed. Samuel L. Jackson has done solid, memorable work, but for me his portrayal of Elijah surpasses every other great performance he has brought to the screen.

It’s these final moments of this film that will either have viewers’ jaws dropped, heartbroken perhaps, but nodding appreciatively at the only way the film could have ended, or walking away muttering curses, rolling their eyes at their perception of sloppiness, obviousness, and that text ending which takes a rather unsatisfying “Unsolved Mysteries” turn to no real purpose (that too hits a sour note with me). A friend of mine that I first saw the film with was disgusted. She felt too many things were spelled out, and the finale was stupid- she wanted the final shot to be a handshake and David’s eyes widening and then a fade, as if that would have imparted any more pathos, cleverness or information that the actual ending provided. We’re not friends anymore. Her feelings on Unbreakable are not what ended the friendship, but I’m sure that’s where it started, right in that theater, at that film. I bet she didn’t figure out anything and just made that whole thing up to appear opinionated and pithy. Filthy Whore.

These days, it's the high of chic to stomp on ol’ M. Night, and perhaps there’s something to that after the bitter disappointments of The Village, the even more poorly received Lady in the Water, which wasn’t terrible but didn’t come even close to the standards set by his prior work. There’s also that ever faithful yet debilitating hobby of pointing out flaws in the logic of The Sixth Sense and Signs (Honestly, space-faring aliens that can’t master a doorknob or grasp the concept of a wetsuit? See, I’m not immune either). But I find Unbreakable above such reproach- I don’t see very much to call B.S. on, the logic the film presents stands the test of reason and even the “twist” ending which people put so much stock in, makes perfect sense within the frame of the picture and the themes that are so important to not just this film but all Shyamalan’s works- the individual finding happiness and fulfillment by discovering and acting upon their unique, specific purpose in life.

You thought Peter Parker had problems? Try slipping on David Dunn’s shoes for a couple hours. It's a refreshing walk, and a worthwhile journey- one of my favorites.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=4345&reviewer=358
originally posted: 08/18/07 06:53:01
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell good enough cool twist at the end 4 stars
1/29/14 Monday Morning Just three words: Ex. Cel. Lent. 5 stars
8/23/09 killer yeah awesome 5 stars
6/27/09 devastator probably the most realistic origin superhero film of all time 5 stars
4/03/09 Dane Youssef M. NIght's absolute greatest. Of all his classics, this is the creme de la creme. 10 + + 5 stars
10/12/08 Samantha Pruitt interesting idea, Jackson's performance was realy great! 4 stars
8/27/08 Shaun Wallner This movie was Awesome!! Loved It. 5 stars
5/28/08 PAUL SHORTT WHEN IT COMES TO EXPLANATIONS, IT FLIRTS WITH MUMBO JUMBO 1 stars
2/11/08 sweetgrrl1972 The antithesis of the typical bombastic superhero film. Subtle, powerful and surprising. 5 stars
12/06/07 Pamela White the humanizing of being a superhero could have been directed better 3 stars
12/02/07 davidbobo20 this movie is wack! 1 stars
9/02/07 anouka criminally underrated masterpiece. this movie continues to move me. 5 stars
8/21/07 Jubei Unquestionably,Shyamalan's most solid piece,great study of comic books mythos applied. 5 stars
8/20/07 mark madsen i like this movie 3 stars
7/08/07 Sambadi A piece of trash! :D 1 stars
4/29/07 bite_my_ass Is this a true story>Can you tell me where to find the victim? 4 stars
4/23/07 Tracey Chambers if not for mr.jackson this movie would suck. 4 stars
4/04/07 Double M A really great movie.. seems that MNS does good movies only with Bruce Willis.. 5 stars
4/01/07 dtx120 First I thought it was slow - watched again and loved it. One of the best from M. Night. 5 stars
1/30/07 David Pollastrini didn't see that twist coming! 5 stars
1/05/07 Watch This Movie! Perhaps it's slow. The cinematography and the plot are so great, I wish it was longer. 5 stars
12/26/06 johnnyfog Doesn't hold up, but an honest effort by all. AND AWESOME MUSIC 4 stars
11/21/06 Quigley Not as good as "Sixth Sense" or "Signs," but is very original, well-acted and directed. 4 stars
8/26/06 sweetgrrl1972 An original take on the superhero film. 4 stars
8/05/06 nicklor24 one of the best comic book movie, and one of the best movies in general 5 stars
7/16/06 R.W.Welch The main problem here is that everyone in the pic seems terminally depressed. 3 stars
1/23/06 ronald fuck this movie is awesome man.Has a kubrick feel to it 5 stars
12/13/05 Tookie Willams fuck you bitches, i will haut you motheruckers from the grave! 1 stars
11/23/05 Jonathon Holmes another good Shyamalan movie, though "The Sixth Sense" was better 4 stars
11/18/05 noops another masterpiece frm shyamalan...a gr8 climax 2... 4 stars
10/28/05 cooler I loved this thriller.One of the most unique films of all time 5 stars
9/02/05 ES Coulda, shoulda been great, as is too slow, no go 3 stars
9/01/05 Eden Shyamalan starts his slide into crapness 1 stars
8/28/05 D Buckley Night always cuts his best scenes 4 stars
8/16/05 Chaz Salton a"cop-out" ending, a viewer "rip-off" 2 stars
6/28/05 R ah, the days before shyamalan completely lost his mind. 5 stars
6/22/05 Manu Ginobli Fucking rox. 5 stars
6/11/05 Rock-Steady what the fuck, you people awe morons, this movie rocks 5 stars
5/27/05 Lord Haw Haw Achingly awful. M. Night Shyster should be punched in the throat. 1 stars
5/17/05 E-FUNK Shyamalan will never make a film better than this. A masterpiece. 5 stars
5/03/05 David dunn I'm gonna get u elijah hahaha 1 stars
5/01/05 reuben rupp i was like, "wow, this movie is pretty cool-oh crap, it's over?!?" 2 stars
4/04/05 Littlepurch Good premise but it dragged and ending came out of nowhere. No comparison to 6th sense. 3 stars
3/27/05 indrid cold As always, M. Night gives us plenty of atmosphere, but the story is bizarre and weak. 3 stars
1/06/05 Archanist_101 The rating says it all...!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 4 stars
9/06/04 the bride Once again, Anthony G is a total fuckwit!! Everything about this film was excellent. 5 stars
9/04/04 Monster W. Kung (With ridiculous dramatic voice) "They call me mr. Ass"! 1 stars
8/30/04 Peter James I feel this is M. Night's best 5 stars
8/12/04 paul i thought this movie was great - youneverhadanyideawhereit would end up andthatwas gripping 4 stars
8/06/04 McGraw Nothing fantastic, but creepy, powerful, and well-made. 4 stars
8/03/04 Anthony G wtf, why does m.night make a 1 good movie(this one), then 3 dog shit movies 1 stars
7/19/04 T Anderson The must make a sequel 5 stars
7/16/04 John McIntyre M Night's worst, but not too bad 3 stars
6/28/04 Dorian Frieson Almost as good as The sixth Sense 5 stars
5/05/04 Jared that gun scene was one of the best moments in cinema, and completely appropriate as well 5 stars
5/05/04 R.W. Welch Drags much of the time though not a bad yarn overall. 3 stars
3/24/04 Dr.Lecter Well-intentioned & creative, but doesn't quite work 3 stars
3/24/04 Lord Haw Haw I'm blind. Therefore, there must be someone who can see through six inch steel plate. 1 stars
3/11/04 Brian McCarthy Without a doubt, one of the 10 worst movies I've ever seen. To talk about it will only aggr 1 stars
3/01/04 Phyllis Joy I really liked this movie! But t is set up to become a series, or at least have a sequel. 4 stars
2/09/04 john bale Intriguing but crackpot is Bruce's second less impressive Supernatural adventure. 4 stars
1/12/04 Marco I'm speechless. Too good to be true. 5 stars
1/08/04 A F Willis in the right film can add to a masterpiece 4 stars
1/03/04 david deveney like a fine wine.....gets better all the time....you watch it ....rather than drink it .... 5 stars
11/30/03 john the ultimate sleeping pill 1 stars
11/24/03 Nicole Illogical - not my kind of film 2 stars
10/21/03 Charles Tatum No one can accuse M. Night of being boring 4 stars
10/02/03 Shane Fantastic!!! Some may not have liked it, but one of best films I have ever seen. 5 stars
9/12/03 Muhammad al-Syed To many unneeded scenes. Rambling. Promising - doesn't deliver like 6th sense. 1 stars
7/28/03 Boomer Seems like this movie will be over too many peoples heads. Go watch Charlies Angels!!! 5 stars
7/21/03 francis good direction, mood, etc., but awfully stupid story 2 stars
7/06/03 Stefan Halka This film was so tedious that it was a yawn by the halfway point. 3 stars
4/10/03 Jack Bourbon The scene with the child and the gun was uproaringly hilarious! Gut-bustingly so!!! 2 stars
4/06/03 123 great movie, why do u guys review it so badly? 5 stars
3/13/03 Dragon_Slayer1_99 I do believe that this movie was the best movie that I have seen in a few years. 5 stars
2/21/03 Phil M. Aficionado Leading candidate for most preposterous premise of all time; dreck, stupid, contrived. 1 stars
1/17/03 mans0n where is the other half of the movie? it ended before anything happened! 2 stars
12/31/02 Jack Sommersby An ambitious, joyless failure. 2 stars
11/23/02 altera888 superbly crafted? what have u been smoking you deluded fool? 1 stars
11/10/02 Jeanne superbly crafted (for intelligent people only) 5 stars
10/31/02 Bring on the sequel 'Denny's crowd', fuck away! This movie is a piece of art. 5 stars
10/09/02 Chance The ending blew me away, didn't predict it unlike Sixth Sense 5 stars
10/03/02 Croweater this was one of the lamest movies of the year, to call it dull would be only half right. 1 stars
9/18/02 Russell It is the best movie ever made 5 stars
8/22/02 tommyboy overall a well made film 5 stars
8/19/02 jurassiraptor A better title would have been "Unbearable" or "Unwatchable." Fun movie, but falls short. 3 stars
8/14/02 Interrog8 2 1/2 HOURS! The story can be told in 15 minutes. So boring! 1 stars
8/08/02 Obi Wan Great movie!! Stop comparing this to Sixth Sense . . .give the movie a clean slate!!! 5 stars
7/27/02 karen goldstein stupid premise - didnt even show the train crash!! 1 stars
7/20/02 ! It's Ok, 3 stars
6/23/02 Sunil Alexander Very good. Different but make no mistake. Good. 5 stars
6/21/02 Film Dude People actually like this crap? 1 stars
5/25/02 darkjosh@hotmail.com The best superhoero/comicbook movie ever made, period. 5 stars
4/17/02 Bon Very drawn out & nothing happened! The ending SUCKED! 1 stars
4/05/02 Edfink Lombardo Thoroughly predictable...Missing a zippy pace...Takes itself way too seriously 1 stars
3/21/02 lucy fur bought it on video, taped over it the next day 1 stars
3/20/02 Aborted Gently I enjoyed it. Maybe from reading comics as a kid, this was a heroes origin. 4 stars
3/08/02 Mo Anand It's predictable, and only has one good scene (train sequence) 3 stars
2/20/02 Xaver The ending is just simply disappointing. 3 stars
2/14/02 Nighty Night Slow... but entertaining... excellent acting too!! 5 stars
11/25/01 I love movies OK, but Shyamalan is becoming the king of the Slow BoringThrillers... 3 stars
11/15/01 Michael First time in a long, long time I could never tell where the movie was taking. 5 stars
11/02/01 HotDog It was okay.. 3 stars
10/22/01 Cookie Cutter Boring, silly. A cinematic joke. I don't care if Sixth Sense was good, this sucks. 1 stars
10/07/01 Connoisseur dialogue was kind of unrealistic, otherwise a very good movie 4 stars
10/02/01 Phoenix A well told supernatural thriller. 4 stars
9/09/01 great flick Great film..you won't appreciate it if you like the "average film" 5 stars
9/08/01 Islandspud Very good 5 stars
8/28/01 ARCbird Vastly underrated............. 5 stars
8/27/01 voyant Very good despite the annoying directing. 5 stars
8/23/01 Monster W. Kung Good idea, poor dialogue, cinematography way too similar to Sixth Sense's. Disappointing. 2 stars
8/22/01 JesseL How can you make a bad movie starring Bruce Willis and Samuel L. Jackson? Here's how. 2 stars
8/19/01 Edwin Menguin Bruce Willis makes me wanna piss all over my gran, can he be cut? 4 stars
8/19/01 Dr. Thompson The only intelligent superhero movie ever 5 stars
8/14/01 seldom scene just as corny as 6th sense but with a more beliable ending 3 stars
8/14/01 I love movies just as sucky as The Sixth Sense 3 stars
8/06/01 E-Funk One of the best movies of the year...so different and masterfully directed. Awesome. 5 stars
8/04/01 DREDD Good, and original. 4 stars
7/28/01 Steve WAY too slow! If half of this movie had been cut out, it would have been a great 45 minutes 2 stars
7/27/01 SJKelley MsAsh is again unreadable. This was a very good movie with a suspect last scene. 4 stars
7/12/01 Jake An enthralling film. Spectacular. Don't listen to the morons without brains. 5 stars
7/12/01 mara z. very cool. i loved the character development. 5 stars
7/08/01 J Sixth Sense & Unbreakable are two different films this one is a classic under its own right 5 stars
7/07/01 Extensor Sorry MsAss but you lost all credability when you failed to know Samuel L. Jackson. U Suck! 5 stars
7/06/01 KR 'Unbreakable' will be regarded as a classic ten years from now. Blows '6th Sense' away. 5 stars
7/03/01 Obi Wan Loved it!! Just bought the DVD so I could watch it over and over! 5 stars
7/03/01 Monday Morning This is a great piece of movie-making and a very cool/original story. Luvved it. 5 stars
7/02/01 The Bomb 69 awesome movie, taking one star off for the story depending on lot of coincidences to happen 4 stars
6/25/01 3733366 Masterpiece. 5 stars
6/09/01 Turtle This fall.... Bruce Willis is.... SUPERMAN. Or maybe they just ripped off Big S a little. 4 stars
6/06/01 Race Bannon Anyone that's ever enjoyed a comic book will love it 5 stars
6/02/01 Tim Webster one of the most magnificent movies of all time, with a magnificent twist at the end 5 stars
5/30/01 Thatguy Strange movie - really for X-Men true believers 3 stars
5/15/01 St. Louis Rams Fan For Life It's slow, boring approach still gives the movie flavor and creativity. Kudos for M. Night 5 stars
5/11/01 The smell of danger This movie captures the total basics of marvel comics! X-men stripped down to base. 4 stars
4/26/01 ailon Interesting but slow 4 stars
4/10/01 mig128 Stop compairing this w/ his last movie, thats your problem!! Great movie making!! 5 stars
3/14/01 Air of Reality A gorgeous film - most underrated of 2000. I can't wait for M's next. 5 stars
3/01/01 Daniel Geuze Taht was the best film I ever seen 5 stars
2/27/01 Angel This film left me with a feeling of uniqueness and wonder. I loved every moment of it. 5 stars
2/24/01 Marie Very interesting, enjoyable, and slightly disturbing. 5 stars
2/04/01 Turtle Decent acting and an ending where I was left blown away. 4 stars
1/27/01 Matthew Bartley It's either really clever or really stupid. I go for the first 4 stars
1/15/01 ThEoNe3510 no comments needed....see it before someone drags you to see it 5 stars
1/12/01 Matt69 don't fuck with Mr. Glass. 4 stars
1/11/01 bart clever idea but slow, boring and totally unbelieable. But, great sound 2 stars
1/10/01 Rik This movie was weak 1 stars
1/04/01 Angus Debaser Perfect movie. Abrupt ending makes perfect sense too. Just beautiful. 5 stars
1/01/01 Johnny Figaro Deeper than 6th Sense, with less shock but more weight. Sam&Bruce rule! Ending rocks. 5 stars
12/30/00 Will just beautiful. 5 stars
12/28/00 Mike Even a very well formed and expensive turd, is a turd 1 stars
12/27/00 TomServo 1 word - really bad...oh wait thats two 1 stars
12/26/00 fishie Unique story just took to long to tell it. Great actors helped it a lot. 4 stars
12/26/00 Giovanni Tummarello REALLY disappinting, meaningless, overall boring, .. NOONE in the theather liked it. 1 stars
12/25/00 Damion Cain Damn this movie is good! Very original. Needs a sequal, and a much better costume. 5 stars
12/23/00 Jareth David Great ad campaign not giving away entire film like most trailers. Would like longer ending. 5 stars
12/20/00 malcolm awesome, anybody who says the ending was not a surprise is a lying fuck 4 stars
12/20/00 Deimos Yeoman Pure comic book joy from page to screen 5 stars
12/17/00 Tom I hate films with "single examples", the film was kinda weak, however entertaining 3 stars
12/16/00 Mrhide This movie is BOOOOOOOORING.... 1 stars
12/14/00 kim boyd loved it. hope there is a sequel w/Elijah wearing tpurple n blk. creative superhero story. 5 stars
12/14/00 Tyler Unbreakable rocks. 5 stars
12/14/00 Lucafilm Don't listen to the harpies. "Unbreakable" is a brilliant film 5 stars
12/13/00 Robert Davis After seeing "Sixth Sense", this movie is a real disappointment 2 stars
12/11/00 dan smith nice twist, but average 2 stars
12/11/00 John Jurik Briefly - thought provoking. The slower, subdued pace is suitable for the subject matter. 4 stars
12/11/00 Karen Herring Psych! look UNDER the surface (where does genius Shyamalan show up in film & why?) 5 stars
12/10/00 Sexton Hardcastle I Liked it 4 stars
12/10/00 vessejoigt Better than 6th sense 4 stars
12/09/00 John Boy Pretentious Junk! 1 stars
12/09/00 Obi Wan M. Knight is a sheer genius...I can't wait to see what he does w/Indiana Jones 4 stars
12/09/00 ntwrage awesome 5 stars
12/08/00 Kevin Please, take this movie for what it is...a realistic superhero origin. K-Dog is an idiot. 5 stars
12/08/00 Alec Scott See David Ansen's review in Newsweek 2 stars
12/07/00 SweetPhyl Samuel L. Jackson is always a winner and Shyamalan's direction is wonderful. 4 stars
12/07/00 Greg Only a good movie could inspire so many mediocre minds to be so personally insulted by it. 4 stars
12/05/00 Caryn Andreson I thought it was a great look at the "origin of the super-hero". 4 stars
12/05/00 Heather Intriguing movie, not brilliant but still worth a look 4 stars
12/05/00 Belinda The worst fucking movie I have ever ever seen! 1 stars
12/04/00 CJ So disappointed. Loved 6th Sense but this didn't work as sci-fi drama or superhero tale. 2 stars
12/04/00 Wendy Means SO much like a good British comic book. It's very powerful. 5 stars
12/04/00 Dan Shuffle A genuine rush. A REAL Alan Moore-type superhero movie. 5 stars
12/03/00 Stephen Weak - awfully glad it was a matinee($). Saving grace - father/son relationship development 2 stars
12/03/00 camisinha fucking awesome!!! 5 stars
12/03/00 DarkRomancer Nearly perfect, but in so being makes it's failures that much more glaring. Still beautiful 5 stars
12/03/00 kyle very very dull 1 stars
12/03/00 kk Bad edditing, bad acting , bad premise, overall boring 1 stars
12/03/00 Darren Shea A truly original take on a comic book origin film - and I think the ending worked very well 4 stars
12/03/00 BubbaX We liked it. Dark, moody. The explanation at the end could be done away with, though. 3 stars
12/03/00 The Way Could have been great, but went the other way instead. Slow, muddled, need-to-end ending. 2 stars
12/03/00 blaise If you liked comics, and have more then a 15 min. attention span, go see this movie. 5 stars
12/03/00 Darrell Shively moody, interesting and surprising 4 stars
12/03/00 Benjamin Lesbian I liked it, warts and all. The ending was rushed, but the movie had style. 4 stars
12/02/00 spork-girl if you didn't like, it, go rent the captain america striaght to video 5 stars
12/02/00 Phil Disapointing ending. Ending was so unexpected that it was to crazy to be good. 3 stars
12/02/00 Greyjack If M.Night would lay off the sledgehammer endings, he'd get consistent 5's; still a 4 tho. 4 stars
12/01/00 bunnyboo This movie had the worst end in the history of movie making! But Samuel Jackson was great. 2 stars
12/01/00 ntwrage If they dont turn this into a show on USA or the WB I'll be shocked! 3 stars
12/01/00 Robert Kocsis Sticks in your mind for days 5 stars
12/01/00 Bruce Willis I should've turned this down. Reality based version of X-men. Obsessed with twist endings. 2 stars
12/01/00 Anonymous Josh it was half of a good movie, what happened to the other half?! 1 stars
11/30/00 Scott the best moviemaking in years 5 stars
11/30/00 Alden Miller Great movie. But don't expect it to be the sixth Sense part II. 4 stars
11/30/00 KEvin Macintosh Wow! I think this movie should be added to a list of modern classics. Very awesome. 4 stars
11/30/00 Obi Wan Great Movie!! M.Knight and Bruce do it again!!! Loved the movie . . bring patience. 5 stars
11/30/00 Sortee deeper than it looks at first 5 stars
11/29/00 Carisa Williamson Not good at all. I thought it would be better with such a great cast, but it was bad. 2 stars
11/29/00 William Bell Boooring! 1 stars
11/29/00 Failla My husband and I thought it was a great movie! 5 stars
11/29/00 Joseph I can hear the conversation that started this movie..it was a good idea, but poor execution 2 stars
11/29/00 James D. Madara A movie Hitchcock would be proud of. Too bad it is advertised as another Sixth Sence. 4 stars
11/29/00 Dana (plaidbananas@hotmail.com) very thought provoking- worth seeing. 4 stars
11/28/00 Will what a polarizing movie. votes all over the place. :) 5 stars
11/28/00 Ryan Peatt Interesting - didnt make sense till the end. Nice parallelism. But not worth the 8 bucks 2 stars
11/28/00 Matt Snider Incredible Film!!! 5 stars
11/28/00 Tdis72 Not even close to being ranked up there with The Sixth Sense! Very Average at best! 3 stars
11/28/00 Sunny Excellent film by an excellent filmmaker 5 stars
11/28/00 Scott Rosier Another good movie that makes you think 4 stars
11/28/00 frankko took a long time to get nowhere in particular 2 stars
11/28/00 Simprini Slow and dull it is definitly not. If you can't handle a thoughtful flick, go see 6th day 5 stars
11/28/00 pipeman fun movie with interesting twists. 5 stars
11/28/00 peter McAbrew moderation. 4 stars
11/28/00 babywewe This movie is just silly 1 stars
11/28/00 Adam Miller I hate it. It builds up the supspense of a awsome ending then it turns out to be crap 1 stars
11/27/00 fattyankles Excellent movie. Eclipses 6th Sense. Very very mysterious. 5 stars
11/27/00 Mike McMannes Horrible - was there a point to the movie? Is SENTRYMAN going to be the sequel? Bad flick!! 1 stars
11/27/00 cedric loved the camera work 5 stars
11/27/00 joh what-to boring for ya? good point, who needs to f*cking think 5 stars
11/27/00 Reviewer Bob Great character development...not like X-men...though the ending left you wanting more 5 stars
11/27/00 BlindSpirit Slow moving, But have patients and you might enjoy this movie. 3 stars
11/27/00 Will saw it again, it grows on you a LOT. damn, that was good. 5 stars
11/27/00 Bob Luhimi Them best damn show i ever went to saw!!! 5 stars
11/26/00 Mad_Bunny Once you adjusted to the pace it was not bad, then the ending slaps/smacks you in the face 4 stars
11/26/00 AvidFan Flat, dull, boring and just made no sense at all and I'm a fan of Bruce. 1 stars
11/26/00 gorzek Your opinion depends entirely on what you were expecting... 5 stars
11/26/00 Crystal I'm still feeling blank about the whole thing! Just one thing, WHY? 1 stars
11/26/00 Redstone Though provoking academy award winner that stimulates the mind - NOT for adrenaline junkies 5 stars
11/26/00 chuckmfh So sloooooow, interesting effect with dark shooting 2 stars
11/26/00 peachick only if you go in with NO expectations, will you enjoy the movie 5 stars
11/26/00 Stuntman Sorry, Movie Freek, but this movie was pretty good 3 stars
11/26/00 Gary WIlkins Moved slow keeped waiting for something to happen. 2 stars
11/26/00 John McGinnis 2 out of 3 won't like it, however, it's genious. 4 stars
11/25/00 DC Sam wore PURPLE, Bruce GREEN, the intruder ORANGE...style w/ hidden elements of comic books 5 stars
11/25/00 Trufe People don't like it 'cuz it wasn't what they expected at all. The superhero angle was cool 5 stars
11/25/00 edr 6th Sense raised everyone's expectations too high. Pretty interesting flick. 4 stars
11/25/00 zeitgeist this film is for people who don't mind having to use their brain. sorry, Movie Freak 5 stars
11/25/00 frank c intelligent movie without explosions or shallow one dimensional characters. 5 stars
11/24/00 jon j enjoyable despite weird ending 4 stars
11/24/00 Tony the Lurch Very entertaining movie, Movie Freek is an idiot 4 stars
11/24/00 Finity ABSOLUTE MOTHER FUCKING HORSE SHIT 1 stars
11/23/00 forger Not bad. Good performances from BW & SLJ. Ending is telegraphed for the "special" kids. 3 stars
11/23/00 Will Sure, the ending was jarring, but it wasn't that bad, people. 4 stars
11/23/00 The Reviewer performances (willis,jackson) were good, ending was horrible. 3 stars
11/23/00 frankko some of it was interesting 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  14-Nov-2000 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  30-Nov-2000 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast