More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.44

Awesome: 23.01%
Worth A Look29.2%
Average: 22.12%
Pretty Bad: 20.35%
Total Crap: 5.31%

6 reviews, 77 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

Fashionista by Jay Seaver

I Love You, Daddy by Rob Gonsalves

Jailbreak by Jay Seaver

Attraction (2017) by Jay Seaver

Thousand Junkies, A by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Road Trip
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Scott Weinberg

"Dumb, gross and familiar. I dug it!"
3 stars

Bottom line: IS IT FUNNY? I could care less about how many teen movies we've seen recently. You know why? I lived through the 1980's! This current crop of teens movies is NOTHING compared to the awfulness dumped on us over a decade ago. (Oh my god, were the 80's really over TEN YEARS ago? Where's my wheelchair?) As critical as I often am, there's simply no reason to judge a teen-sex comedy as anything other than it is. Count how many times you giggle, and there you go. This one made me giggle a few times and actually laugh out loud as well, which ain't easy.

When filmmakers realize that 'originality' is pretty much impossible, they fall back on simple 'entertainment'. How successful they are usually depend on how well they stay INSIDE the genre parameters, and not out. By that I simply mean this: If it ain't broke, don't fix it.

The plot follows 4 college buddies who have to get from college A to college B over one silly weekend. Along the way, they take advantage of blind people, fat girls, black fraternity brothers, one creepy sex nurse, a vile chef, and bunches more. And while many of these ideas sound nasty on paper, Road Trip has a lightness to it that helps it avoid being really offensive. Suffice to say that all the jokes revolve around one bodily function or another, and that most of them you've seen before. But for a lame movie, Road Trip is still pretty damn funny.

The producers wisely place MTV lunatic Tom Green in the background, and he acquits himself rather well. Even considering I'm not a fan if his, I'd have to admit he made me laugh here. (His narrative explanation on why several coeds are nude is hysterical.)

For the most part the characters are likable enough to root for and laugh at, even when they're behaving just awfully. (A sex scene involving an overweight woman is really done well (in a comedy sense), and if you're offended by it, this movie is not for you anyway.)

Breckin Meyer is a bland lead and Amy Smart is a luminously beautiful girl. Ethan Supplee and Fred Ward show up in small funny roles and Seann William Scott (Stifler!) shows again that he likes to steal scenes whole. His Jim Carrey-esque mannerisms and over-the-top delivery worked well throughout.

Private School. Joy Sticks. Screwballs. Hardbodies. The Last American Virgin. My Tutor. The Princess Academy. Joy of Sex. Fraternity Vacation. Private Lessons. Until you've lived through movies like those, don't come whining to me about Road Trip being unoriginal and immature. It's got laughs.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=4347&reviewer=128
originally posted: 05/31/00 01:56:35
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/10/08 PAUL SHORTT PILES CRUDE JOKES AND GROSS-OUT HUMOUR UPON INSULTING STEREOTYPES 1 stars
8/19/08 Shaun Wallner Well Made! 5 stars
6/09/06 Anthony Feor Whatever happend to potential 3 stars
5/04/06 tapper real funny you should watch the second one 4 stars
9/14/05 matt very very funny, but plot makes no sense and tom green is funny but useless 4 stars
8/03/05 John Smith This movie RULES, IT"S THE BEST MOVIE I'VE EVER SINCE, 5 stars
7/23/05 Bad Critic An okay movie. Maybe that's because I saw the edited version! 3 stars
1/29/05 movie boi any person who cant c this is funny is a fuckd up prick. fuck u who ses it isnt! FUNNY SHIT 5 stars
8/03/04 Anthony G hahha 4 stars
5/15/04 Jake heimdahl a very great movie 4 stars
4/27/04 4x4 Talking dog rocked. Fred Ward out of control. Pretty average. 3 stars
3/28/04 Littlepurch Quite funny but disappointing compared to what I'd been told about it. 3 stars
1/08/04 A F Two funny parts in this movie. Amy Smart...num.num.num. 4 stars
9/19/03 Samuel Justus Funny! 5 stars
8/02/03 Curious George Funny 5 stars
7/25/03 R.W. Welch Occasionally amusing road pic. Two or three clever gags. 3 stars
7/25/03 3man Marginally funny and the characters are not very likeable. 2 stars
7/17/03 Hey Wat NOw? another classic from Tom Green 5 stars
6/09/03 Geo78665 Some laughs, fairly entertaining, but too often mundune. 3 stars
6/07/03 Pascal Get it, it is much better than American Pie! 5 stars
5/23/03 Mr. Hat (I'm Back, Mo'Fos!) Some funny bits, namely Sanz & Green/mouse/snake, but no moral center @ all. 3 stars
3/03/03 Jack Sommersby A bunch of been-there-before nonsense. Amy Smart is unquestionably a babe, though. 2 stars
11/23/02 Charles Tatum Dumb 1 stars
11/01/02 Jessica Davis (user-2ivfaq6.dialup.mindspring.com) male and female are NOT races, I'm I(L)WIJ! 4 stars
6/14/02 Piz A few great laughs mixed in with everything else you'd expect from a movie with this title. 4 stars
6/06/02 I'm in (L) with a Jedi a pisser, but sumhow im guessing that the male race enjooyed this more than the female race 5 stars
5/21/02 patrick mia maber davis 4 stars
4/03/02 actress var. known as Charlize Theron, Ashley Judd, and Angelina Jolie Snarrel movie! Wish I'd been in it! 5 stars
3/08/02 Mo Anand funniest of the teen comedies in my opinion 5 stars
2/20/02 Doug Funny. 5 stars
2/20/02 NWO4LIFE Watchable, some laughs, but mostly routine and forgettable teen gross-out flick. 3 stars
2/15/02 Bri Amy naked, funny. 5 stars
9/27/01 bobby mack mia amber davis fine ass hell whats her e-mail adress and send it to me at mackfrost@hotmai 5 stars
9/27/01 Butterbean Out of all those hot black studs, that girl went for that Ramen noodle. Yeah right. 3 stars
6/12/01 orlando g it sucked, but it was THE BEST! 5 stars
6/06/01 The Moorhen A little tip to the ladies.... I'm a guy who's just like Rubin :-) 4 stars
5/22/01 Eric one of my favorite movies! 5 stars
4/25/01 FREMMING FUCK TOM GREEN 1 stars
4/16/01 LiL Well, what a load of sexist horse shit 1 stars
4/16/01 Tam Hysterical. Rubin is my ideal man - why does no-one like him sexist in real life? 4 stars
4/09/01 Gary Everyone says this movie is good. The story line sucks and it is boring, but funny at time 3 stars
3/01/01 marijke great film..i just love rubin..where can i meet guys like him? 5 stars
3/01/01 Phil Peters great movie 5 stars
2/24/01 Marie Kind of funny. 3 stars
2/13/01 Egg36 It rips off a lot of movies, but its still decent. 3 stars
2/04/01 Del R Not too much Tom Green which is a good thing 4 stars
1/17/01 Gary Hardly a speck of originality but i laughed tons 3 stars
1/17/01 hippylad what a fantastic film, seann william scott is a real hottie mmmmmmmmmmm 5 stars
1/12/01 svetlana tom green's fucked up weirdness is its only saving grace 3 stars
1/12/01 Matt69 That Amy Smart bitch is so fucking hot, and tom green is one crazy motherfucker 3 stars
1/06/01 Emily funny, some great characters! 4 stars
12/28/00 Tom That ass orgasm was a fucking crackup!! and Amy Smart is HOT!! oh it's funny too : 5 stars
10/30/00 Matthew Bartley Not original by any means but who cares when it's still really funny 4 stars
9/06/00 Matthew Boxall It's me!!! 5 stars
8/29/00 Juan a few good laughs, loved tom green and the atari guy, its alright. 4 stars
7/30/00 mason no art , no "cutting edge" camera work just pure boneheaded comedy . everyone laughed , yea 4 stars
7/06/00 Pattie barraza not 2 stars
6/14/00 Barry Pinnacle of college movies. PLEASE Hollywood make more of these masterpieces! Tom Green too 5 stars
6/11/00 chouck Funnier than I expected 4 stars
6/01/00 PJ It's not great, it's not bad, it's good, but very funny 3 stars
5/31/00 PhilmPhreak Road Trip - It Doesn't Suck 5 stars
5/30/00 Michael Grimm I agree with The Bomb, hilarious movie that does copy other films 5 stars
5/28/00 The Bomb 69 so what if it copies other films!!! At least it picked a funny movie to copy. Asswipes!!! 5 stars
5/25/00 PhilmPhreak Funny. Amy Smart is hot. 3 stars
5/25/00 Denning If the Atari guy doesn't make you laugh then you need to quit taking life so seriously. 4 stars
5/24/00 Chen Kenichi Yawn, is Tom Green's 15 minutes up yet? 2 stars
5/24/00 Brian Govoni wait til the video comes out, then DON'T rent it. 1 stars
5/22/00 Clarance Great fun and a hilarious movie! 4 stars
5/22/00 Gavin Moore Grade A toilet humor, Tom Greene is funny as hell 4 stars
5/21/00 Cinesuerte American Pie 2 - French Toast tom green lied it's not that good. 3 stars
5/21/00 Reverend Krule How did i waste my money on this???? 1 stars
5/21/00 mellemel American Pie was way funnier! 3 stars
5/20/00 bobbuttons This movie was great. I laughed evertime Tom Greene was on. Great casting (esp. Kyle) 5 stars
5/16/00 Orgazmo In the tradition of 'American Pie', a raw, gross-out comedy with BIG laughs 4 stars
5/16/00 Justine Briggs At the sneak I saw on Friday the audience LOVED the movie. 4 stars
5/15/00 Thomas Ballard Lesemann Good grief. Haven't there been enough "college kid party movies" released in recent years? 2 stars
5/15/00 TOM GREEN BEST MOVIE EVER!! SAW THE SNEAK PREVIEW 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  19-May-2000 (R)
  DVD: 01-Mar-2011

UK
  N/A

Australia
  24-Aug-2000 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast