More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.44

Awesome: 23.01%
Worth A Look29.2%
Average: 22.12%
Pretty Bad: 20.35%
Total Crap: 5.31%

6 reviews, 77 user ratings



Road Trip
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"That DJ Qualls kid is freaky looking. That alone makes this worth skipping."
2 stars

"Road Trip" really, really wants to be the next "There's Something About Mary": a gross-out teen comedy that is critically praised for its outrageous, albeit crass, humor. The only thing stopping it is the fact that it's not funny, largely because it doesn't chart any new territory. We've been grossed-out before, and in ways far more clever than the ones here.

There's an old man who takes Viagra and smokes pot! Someone steals something from a blind person! The nerdy college student finally has sex! Sometimes you can overlook offensiveness because it's so taboo-breaking, it's funny. But these taboos have already been broken by other movies. Now it's just rehashing stuff we've seen before, and instead of laughing at it, we revert back to our original reaction of being either disgusted or bored by it.

University of Ithaca student Josh (Breckin Meyer) is trying to carry on a long-distance relationship with childhood sweetheart Tiffany (Rachel Blanchard), who is at college in Austin. Josh's stereotypically horny friend E.L. (Seann William Scott, last seen being decapitated -- and not soon enough -- in "Final Destination") encourages Josh to give up the idea of fidelity, however, and make hay while the sun is shining.

To that end, Josh gives in to the advances of the nubile Beth (Amy Smart) at a college party. He even agrees to let her videotape the sexual proceedings; that tape, naturally, is then accidentally mailed to Tiffany.

The dilemma now? How to apologize to Tiffany for the unfaithfulness? How to explain to Beth that this was just a one-time thing? How to regain some sense of dignity after such an embarrassing mistake?

No! The dilemma is how to get to Austin before the tape does, and keep Amy from receiving it! So Josh, E.L., and Josh's pot-smoking roommate Rubin (Paulo Costanzo) convince freshman nerd Kyle (DJ Qualls) to take his car and drive to Austin.

Before long, they destroy the car in a sequence that hints at the sort of manic fun a movie like this COULD contain. The characters and their contrasts work well against each other, making it a nice ensemble piece ... for that one scene. Apart from that, the characters are all either non-descript (like Josh, our hero, whom we know nothing about, not even his major), or generic (like the nerd Kyle who does everything in a nerdy way and eventually triumphs over his nerdiness by having random sex and is therefore no longer a nerd).

To get to Austin, the foursome steals a bus from a school for the blind; to make some cash, they sell their sperm at a sperm bank; and their pal Barry (Tom Green, MTV's latest crime against humanity) stays back at the dorms and licks a mouse before feeding it to a snake. (There's not enough mouse-licking in films these days.)

Tom Green's presence in the movie is completely unnecessary, though that might go without saying. His character is the narrator of the story, but other than that, he interacts only slightly with his classmates. And yet, his brand of deadpan stupidity is about the only funny thing in te movie. His MTV show wears thin after one or two viewings, but in small doses, his penchant for doing something asinine -- and then continuing to do it for much, much longer than you'd think he would -- can be very entertaining.

But when your only funny character is the one who could be omitted entirely without changing anything, you know your movie's in trouble.

"Road Trip" is aimed at teen-agers, but they shouldn't see it. It's far too crass and filthy, with way too much sex and nudity; besides, none of the characters learns anything, and the ultimate "moral" of the story (avoid responsibility, lie, and follow your hormones) is not one you'd want your kids embracing.

Too filthy for teens, too unfunny for adults. This movie has no audience. So long, "Road Trip."

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=4347&reviewer=247
originally posted: 07/05/03 20:16:29
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/10/08 PAUL SHORTT PILES CRUDE JOKES AND GROSS-OUT HUMOUR UPON INSULTING STEREOTYPES 1 stars
8/19/08 Shaun Wallner Well Made! 5 stars
6/09/06 Anthony Feor Whatever happend to potential 3 stars
5/04/06 tapper real funny you should watch the second one 4 stars
9/14/05 matt very very funny, but plot makes no sense and tom green is funny but useless 4 stars
8/03/05 John Smith This movie RULES, IT"S THE BEST MOVIE I'VE EVER SINCE, 5 stars
7/23/05 Bad Critic An okay movie. Maybe that's because I saw the edited version! 3 stars
1/29/05 movie boi any person who cant c this is funny is a fuckd up prick. fuck u who ses it isnt! FUNNY SHIT 5 stars
8/03/04 Anthony G hahha 4 stars
5/15/04 Jake heimdahl a very great movie 4 stars
4/27/04 4x4 Talking dog rocked. Fred Ward out of control. Pretty average. 3 stars
3/28/04 Littlepurch Quite funny but disappointing compared to what I'd been told about it. 3 stars
1/08/04 A F Two funny parts in this movie. Amy Smart...num.num.num. 4 stars
9/19/03 Samuel Justus Funny! 5 stars
8/02/03 Curious George Funny 5 stars
7/25/03 R.W. Welch Occasionally amusing road pic. Two or three clever gags. 3 stars
7/25/03 3man Marginally funny and the characters are not very likeable. 2 stars
7/17/03 Hey Wat NOw? another classic from Tom Green 5 stars
6/09/03 Geo78665 Some laughs, fairly entertaining, but too often mundune. 3 stars
6/07/03 Pascal Get it, it is much better than American Pie! 5 stars
5/23/03 Mr. Hat (I'm Back, Mo'Fos!) Some funny bits, namely Sanz & Green/mouse/snake, but no moral center @ all. 3 stars
3/03/03 Jack Sommersby A bunch of been-there-before nonsense. Amy Smart is unquestionably a babe, though. 2 stars
11/23/02 Charles Tatum Dumb 1 stars
11/01/02 Jessica Davis (user-2ivfaq6.dialup.mindspring.com) male and female are NOT races, I'm I(L)WIJ! 4 stars
6/14/02 Piz A few great laughs mixed in with everything else you'd expect from a movie with this title. 4 stars
6/06/02 I'm in (L) with a Jedi a pisser, but sumhow im guessing that the male race enjooyed this more than the female race 5 stars
5/21/02 patrick mia maber davis 4 stars
4/03/02 actress var. known as Charlize Theron, Ashley Judd, and Angelina Jolie Snarrel movie! Wish I'd been in it! 5 stars
3/08/02 Mo Anand funniest of the teen comedies in my opinion 5 stars
2/20/02 Doug Funny. 5 stars
2/20/02 NWO4LIFE Watchable, some laughs, but mostly routine and forgettable teen gross-out flick. 3 stars
2/15/02 Bri Amy naked, funny. 5 stars
9/27/01 bobby mack mia amber davis fine ass hell whats her e-mail adress and send it to me at mackfrost@hotmai 5 stars
9/27/01 Butterbean Out of all those hot black studs, that girl went for that Ramen noodle. Yeah right. 3 stars
6/12/01 orlando g it sucked, but it was THE BEST! 5 stars
6/06/01 The Moorhen A little tip to the ladies.... I'm a guy who's just like Rubin :-) 4 stars
5/22/01 Eric one of my favorite movies! 5 stars
4/25/01 FREMMING FUCK TOM GREEN 1 stars
4/16/01 LiL Well, what a load of sexist horse shit 1 stars
4/16/01 Tam Hysterical. Rubin is my ideal man - why does no-one like him sexist in real life? 4 stars
4/09/01 Gary Everyone says this movie is good. The story line sucks and it is boring, but funny at time 3 stars
3/01/01 marijke great film..i just love rubin..where can i meet guys like him? 5 stars
3/01/01 Phil Peters great movie 5 stars
2/24/01 Marie Kind of funny. 3 stars
2/13/01 Egg36 It rips off a lot of movies, but its still decent. 3 stars
2/04/01 Del R Not too much Tom Green which is a good thing 4 stars
1/17/01 Gary Hardly a speck of originality but i laughed tons 3 stars
1/17/01 hippylad what a fantastic film, seann william scott is a real hottie mmmmmmmmmmm 5 stars
1/12/01 svetlana tom green's fucked up weirdness is its only saving grace 3 stars
1/12/01 Matt69 That Amy Smart bitch is so fucking hot, and tom green is one crazy motherfucker 3 stars
1/06/01 Emily funny, some great characters! 4 stars
12/28/00 Tom That ass orgasm was a fucking crackup!! and Amy Smart is HOT!! oh it's funny too : 5 stars
10/30/00 Matthew Bartley Not original by any means but who cares when it's still really funny 4 stars
9/06/00 Matthew Boxall It's me!!! 5 stars
8/29/00 Juan a few good laughs, loved tom green and the atari guy, its alright. 4 stars
7/30/00 mason no art , no "cutting edge" camera work just pure boneheaded comedy . everyone laughed , yea 4 stars
7/06/00 Pattie barraza not 2 stars
6/14/00 Barry Pinnacle of college movies. PLEASE Hollywood make more of these masterpieces! Tom Green too 5 stars
6/11/00 chouck Funnier than I expected 4 stars
6/01/00 PJ It's not great, it's not bad, it's good, but very funny 3 stars
5/31/00 PhilmPhreak Road Trip - It Doesn't Suck 5 stars
5/30/00 Michael Grimm I agree with The Bomb, hilarious movie that does copy other films 5 stars
5/28/00 The Bomb 69 so what if it copies other films!!! At least it picked a funny movie to copy. Asswipes!!! 5 stars
5/25/00 PhilmPhreak Funny. Amy Smart is hot. 3 stars
5/25/00 Denning If the Atari guy doesn't make you laugh then you need to quit taking life so seriously. 4 stars
5/24/00 Chen Kenichi Yawn, is Tom Green's 15 minutes up yet? 2 stars
5/24/00 Brian Govoni wait til the video comes out, then DON'T rent it. 1 stars
5/22/00 Clarance Great fun and a hilarious movie! 4 stars
5/22/00 Gavin Moore Grade A toilet humor, Tom Greene is funny as hell 4 stars
5/21/00 Cinesuerte American Pie 2 - French Toast tom green lied it's not that good. 3 stars
5/21/00 Reverend Krule How did i waste my money on this???? 1 stars
5/21/00 mellemel American Pie was way funnier! 3 stars
5/20/00 bobbuttons This movie was great. I laughed evertime Tom Greene was on. Great casting (esp. Kyle) 5 stars
5/16/00 Orgazmo In the tradition of 'American Pie', a raw, gross-out comedy with BIG laughs 4 stars
5/16/00 Justine Briggs At the sneak I saw on Friday the audience LOVED the movie. 4 stars
5/15/00 Thomas Ballard Lesemann Good grief. Haven't there been enough "college kid party movies" released in recent years? 2 stars
5/15/00 TOM GREEN BEST MOVIE EVER!! SAW THE SNEAK PREVIEW 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  19-May-2000 (R)
  DVD: 01-Mar-2011

UK
  N/A

Australia
  24-Aug-2000 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast