More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.44

Awesome: 23.01%
Worth A Look29.2%
Average: 22.12%
Pretty Bad: 20.35%
Total Crap: 5.31%

6 reviews, 77 user ratings


Latest Reviews

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

Almost Coming, Almost Dying by Jay Seaver

Blade Runner 2049 by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Road Trip
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by PyThomas

"What a 100-minute-long, strange trip it's been."
4 stars

I admit it... I'm what is sometimes known as a "chubby chaser". While there are a number of normal-weight women that turn me on (like Sarah Gellar, Laetitia Casta, JenniCAM), it is my honest belief that the more plump of the female species are just as capable of being voluptuous and sexy as the rib-cage-outline-types. Since I tip the scale at over 230 pounds myself, I prefer to lust after those my own size. And out of all the hotties that were in Road Trip, I was drawn to the large black sista with the cute face, I believe her name is Mia Amber Davis.

In that one scene in Road Trip, I wished I was that one guy getting laid by that huge black chick. I don't give a shit what anyone thinks, daaaaamn, she was fine.

That is one of the many hilarious moments in Road Trip, a mainstream college-boy comedy produced by the legendary (as far as frat-boy favorite comedies are concerned, anyway) Ivan Reitman and directed by Todd Phillips, that is played mainly for laughs. Breckin "I Look Like A Younger Bill Maher" Meyer is the lead character here: Josh, a college freshman at Ithaca University, upstate New York, still pining for his high school sweetheart, Tiffany (Rachel "Once Clueless" Blanchard). Tiffany has migrated all the way to the "University of Austin". I mean, honestly, what does the University of Texas stand to lose by associating themselves with this film? As a quasi-Longhorn, I wouldn't mind it one bit.

Josh makes a video love-letter to Tiffany. Josh goes to a party the next night and hooks up with Beth (Amy "Should I Really Mention I Was In 'The 70s' Miniseries?" Smart), who apparently was a big fan of "Sex, Lies and Videotape", and they make a video of them gettin' it on. Josh mails THAT tape to Tiffany by mistake and freaks. He needs to intercept that relationship-killer package before Tiffany gets her hands on it, and here is where the actual road trip comes in.

Also along for Josh's 1800-mile trek from Ithaca to Austin is E.L. (Seann "That's TWO N's" William Scott, fresh off his asshole turn in American Pie) the wiseass, Kyle (D.J. "The Next Eddie Deezen" Qualls) the geek, and Rubin (Paulo "I Look Like A Younger Jerry Seinfeld" Costanzo) the brain.

Yes, the infamous Tom Green is in this film, but it's not as big a role as the promotional materials want you to believe. He DOES help the film along in the weird-humor quotient, and his performance in trying to feed Rubin's boa constrictor is reminiscent of Bill Murray's obsessive-dopey gopher hunter in Caddyshack. Also look for cameos by Ethan Suplee, Andy Dick, Fred Ward and Wedding Singer hip-hop grandma Ellen Albertini Dow.

Gross-out humor is here in spades as well, most memorably in the diner scene involving french toast. No dead bodies. Sixteen breasts. One explosion. Pepper-spray fu. Fire-extinguisher fu. Sorry, lapsed into Joe Bob Briggs mode for a minute there.

If you're looking for an intelligent plot with not a lot of silly cliches, then no, this film isn't for you. But if you don't give a shit about any of that, and just want a laugh-your-ass-off film with a bunch of bare-breasted women, than go ahead and give this Road Trip a spin.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=4347&reviewer=9
originally posted: 05/30/00 13:54:21
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/10/08 PAUL SHORTT PILES CRUDE JOKES AND GROSS-OUT HUMOUR UPON INSULTING STEREOTYPES 1 stars
8/19/08 Shaun Wallner Well Made! 5 stars
6/09/06 Anthony Feor Whatever happend to potential 3 stars
5/04/06 tapper real funny you should watch the second one 4 stars
9/14/05 matt very very funny, but plot makes no sense and tom green is funny but useless 4 stars
8/03/05 John Smith This movie RULES, IT"S THE BEST MOVIE I'VE EVER SINCE, 5 stars
7/23/05 Bad Critic An okay movie. Maybe that's because I saw the edited version! 3 stars
1/29/05 movie boi any person who cant c this is funny is a fuckd up prick. fuck u who ses it isnt! FUNNY SHIT 5 stars
8/03/04 Anthony G hahha 4 stars
5/15/04 Jake heimdahl a very great movie 4 stars
4/27/04 4x4 Talking dog rocked. Fred Ward out of control. Pretty average. 3 stars
3/28/04 Littlepurch Quite funny but disappointing compared to what I'd been told about it. 3 stars
1/08/04 A F Two funny parts in this movie. Amy Smart...num.num.num. 4 stars
9/19/03 Samuel Justus Funny! 5 stars
8/02/03 Curious George Funny 5 stars
7/25/03 R.W. Welch Occasionally amusing road pic. Two or three clever gags. 3 stars
7/25/03 3man Marginally funny and the characters are not very likeable. 2 stars
7/17/03 Hey Wat NOw? another classic from Tom Green 5 stars
6/09/03 Geo78665 Some laughs, fairly entertaining, but too often mundune. 3 stars
6/07/03 Pascal Get it, it is much better than American Pie! 5 stars
5/23/03 Mr. Hat (I'm Back, Mo'Fos!) Some funny bits, namely Sanz & Green/mouse/snake, but no moral center @ all. 3 stars
3/03/03 Jack Sommersby A bunch of been-there-before nonsense. Amy Smart is unquestionably a babe, though. 2 stars
11/23/02 Charles Tatum Dumb 1 stars
11/01/02 Jessica Davis (user-2ivfaq6.dialup.mindspring.com) male and female are NOT races, I'm I(L)WIJ! 4 stars
6/14/02 Piz A few great laughs mixed in with everything else you'd expect from a movie with this title. 4 stars
6/06/02 I'm in (L) with a Jedi a pisser, but sumhow im guessing that the male race enjooyed this more than the female race 5 stars
5/21/02 patrick mia maber davis 4 stars
4/03/02 actress var. known as Charlize Theron, Ashley Judd, and Angelina Jolie Snarrel movie! Wish I'd been in it! 5 stars
3/08/02 Mo Anand funniest of the teen comedies in my opinion 5 stars
2/20/02 Doug Funny. 5 stars
2/20/02 NWO4LIFE Watchable, some laughs, but mostly routine and forgettable teen gross-out flick. 3 stars
2/15/02 Bri Amy naked, funny. 5 stars
9/27/01 bobby mack mia amber davis fine ass hell whats her e-mail adress and send it to me at mackfrost@hotmai 5 stars
9/27/01 Butterbean Out of all those hot black studs, that girl went for that Ramen noodle. Yeah right. 3 stars
6/12/01 orlando g it sucked, but it was THE BEST! 5 stars
6/06/01 The Moorhen A little tip to the ladies.... I'm a guy who's just like Rubin :-) 4 stars
5/22/01 Eric one of my favorite movies! 5 stars
4/25/01 FREMMING FUCK TOM GREEN 1 stars
4/16/01 LiL Well, what a load of sexist horse shit 1 stars
4/16/01 Tam Hysterical. Rubin is my ideal man - why does no-one like him sexist in real life? 4 stars
4/09/01 Gary Everyone says this movie is good. The story line sucks and it is boring, but funny at time 3 stars
3/01/01 marijke great film..i just love rubin..where can i meet guys like him? 5 stars
3/01/01 Phil Peters great movie 5 stars
2/24/01 Marie Kind of funny. 3 stars
2/13/01 Egg36 It rips off a lot of movies, but its still decent. 3 stars
2/04/01 Del R Not too much Tom Green which is a good thing 4 stars
1/17/01 Gary Hardly a speck of originality but i laughed tons 3 stars
1/17/01 hippylad what a fantastic film, seann william scott is a real hottie mmmmmmmmmmm 5 stars
1/12/01 svetlana tom green's fucked up weirdness is its only saving grace 3 stars
1/12/01 Matt69 That Amy Smart bitch is so fucking hot, and tom green is one crazy motherfucker 3 stars
1/06/01 Emily funny, some great characters! 4 stars
12/28/00 Tom That ass orgasm was a fucking crackup!! and Amy Smart is HOT!! oh it's funny too : 5 stars
10/30/00 Matthew Bartley Not original by any means but who cares when it's still really funny 4 stars
9/06/00 Matthew Boxall It's me!!! 5 stars
8/29/00 Juan a few good laughs, loved tom green and the atari guy, its alright. 4 stars
7/30/00 mason no art , no "cutting edge" camera work just pure boneheaded comedy . everyone laughed , yea 4 stars
7/06/00 Pattie barraza not 2 stars
6/14/00 Barry Pinnacle of college movies. PLEASE Hollywood make more of these masterpieces! Tom Green too 5 stars
6/11/00 chouck Funnier than I expected 4 stars
6/01/00 PJ It's not great, it's not bad, it's good, but very funny 3 stars
5/31/00 PhilmPhreak Road Trip - It Doesn't Suck 5 stars
5/30/00 Michael Grimm I agree with The Bomb, hilarious movie that does copy other films 5 stars
5/28/00 The Bomb 69 so what if it copies other films!!! At least it picked a funny movie to copy. Asswipes!!! 5 stars
5/25/00 PhilmPhreak Funny. Amy Smart is hot. 3 stars
5/25/00 Denning If the Atari guy doesn't make you laugh then you need to quit taking life so seriously. 4 stars
5/24/00 Chen Kenichi Yawn, is Tom Green's 15 minutes up yet? 2 stars
5/24/00 Brian Govoni wait til the video comes out, then DON'T rent it. 1 stars
5/22/00 Clarance Great fun and a hilarious movie! 4 stars
5/22/00 Gavin Moore Grade A toilet humor, Tom Greene is funny as hell 4 stars
5/21/00 Cinesuerte American Pie 2 - French Toast tom green lied it's not that good. 3 stars
5/21/00 Reverend Krule How did i waste my money on this???? 1 stars
5/21/00 mellemel American Pie was way funnier! 3 stars
5/20/00 bobbuttons This movie was great. I laughed evertime Tom Greene was on. Great casting (esp. Kyle) 5 stars
5/16/00 Orgazmo In the tradition of 'American Pie', a raw, gross-out comedy with BIG laughs 4 stars
5/16/00 Justine Briggs At the sneak I saw on Friday the audience LOVED the movie. 4 stars
5/15/00 Thomas Ballard Lesemann Good grief. Haven't there been enough "college kid party movies" released in recent years? 2 stars
5/15/00 TOM GREEN BEST MOVIE EVER!! SAW THE SNEAK PREVIEW 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  19-May-2000 (R)
  DVD: 01-Mar-2011

UK
  N/A

Australia
  24-Aug-2000 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast