More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.53

Awesome: 6.25%
Worth A Look: 16.25%
Average32.5%
Pretty Bad: 13.75%
Total Crap: 31.25%

7 reviews, 38 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets by Rob Gonsalves

Roman J. Israel, Esq. by Peter Sobczynski

Coco (2017) by Peter Sobczynski

Prey (2017) by Jay Seaver

Lu Over the Wall by Jay Seaver

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Big Momma's House
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Superfly

"Not quite as bad as it could have been..."
3 stars

I was expecting this to be a one star movie all the way. It has Martin Lawrence as a FBI agent dressed up as an old fat lady for God's sake. If that's not a bad concept, I don't know what is. But, surprisingly enough, it wasn't all that terrible.

Martin Lawrence does say "Damn!" a few times and it is very predictable and Martin Lawrence continues to follow in Eddie Murphy's footsteps (which is not a good thing, BTW)... but it was very funny at times.

Martin Lawrence plays Malcolm, who has to portray Big Momma to solve a case involving some stolen bank money. Big Momma's niece, played by Nia Long, comes to stay with Big Momma and wackiness ensues. Along the way, Martin Lawrence falls in love with Nia Long's character and her son and he has to solve the case at the same time.

It has all the expected laughs, such as fat jokes, smelly shit jokes, fat lady playing basketball and fighting jokes, horny old man jokes, the usual stuff... it's still pretty funny at times, though. Even if it's not the most original thing on the planet. It's good fluff.

If you've seen most of the other movies and this one isn't all that bad even if it has a terrible title and Martin Lawrence in it.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=4349&reviewer=17
originally posted: 06/04/00 14:36:12
[printer] printer-friendly format  
Trilogy Starters: For more in the Trilogy Starters series, click here.

User Comments

9/22/17 morris campbell cute & harmless 3 stars
9/22/08 Shaun Wallner Funny Movie! 5 stars
1/25/08 LA Top film! So funny! 5 stars
4/14/07 emy the movie got a great bang, hilarious worth spending spare time on 4 stars
12/27/06 Charles Tatum Truly a heartbreaking horrible film watching experience 1 stars
8/05/06 Stanley Thai A good sweet funny harmless film. 3 stars
1/02/06 Wiseman It was alright, I could watch it whenever im bored 4 stars
7/22/05 tony This moivie drives me nuts! But it was still funny 2 stars
8/20/04 SHARON GABRIEL I WATCH IT WEEKLY 4 stars
8/29/03 Double G a bit lower than average 2 stars
6/30/03 Monster W. Kung Beyond pathetic. If Martin Lawrence's not one of the worst comedians, don't know who is. 1 stars
6/24/03 Big Momma's Underwear This movie kicks arse! But man, Big Momma's arse is some freaky shit! 5 stars
1/01/03 dtdhhhd fhfjjfkjkdsko 3 stars
7/29/02 Croweater Everything about this film blows chunks, Martin Lawrence is god awful. Die Martin Die! 1 stars
7/04/02 Film Dude One of the worst movies I've ever seen. 1 stars
5/28/02 hilary worth a look- kinda discusting but worth a look 4 stars
5/23/02 Kyle What fucking "Happy Days" part are you talking about?Andrew if I ever meet you, u will die. 1 stars
11/01/01 Andrew Carden The "Happy Days" Scene Was So Funny That I Wet My Pants!!! 5 stars
9/05/01 Butterbean More corny than funny. I would only rent it to watch Terrence H. looking hot. 3 stars
8/07/01 Joe Zappa Martin Lawrence is a spoiled cry-baby. Read the article in Entertainment Weekly for details 2 stars
3/09/01 Jake And the trailer looked so good..LOL 1 stars
2/06/01 Classicdog Some funny parts, but not enough. 3 stars
2/02/01 Bob Barker Martin Lawrence is an idiot in pantyhose, but a funny idiot 1 stars
10/16/00 Dan Martin Lawrence is on my Hollywood Hate List now. Fucking terrible. I cried with pain. 1 stars
9/29/00 Viking Come back Mrs. Doubtfire. All is forgiven !!! 3 stars
9/13/00 Jenna koch THIS MOVIE IS TOATAL CRAP!!! 1 stars
9/13/00 Boy In The Designer Bubble Martin Lawrence is the new Step N Fetchit. 1 stars
8/11/00 Klute. Did they even try? 1 stars
8/02/00 k.j.tomko total, tasteless crap 1 stars
7/01/00 Anon E. Muss OK 3 stars
6/20/00 kim boyd I laugh out loud many times. More non-blacks than blacks in the movie. Everyone laughing. 5 stars
6/18/00 cinesuerte see big momma nekkid 3 stars
6/13/00 PJ save for some funny moments, the movie was a piece of shit! uninspired, and moronic 2 stars
6/12/00 FilmStar This was retarded 2 stars
6/08/00 Clarance If you are looking to lighten up your day!! dang this is the movie for you!!! HILARIOUS!! 4 stars
6/07/00 Alma Marquez Blak guys are verry funny ( I`m not racist) pretty good 4 stars
6/05/00 Mhack Whack Diggity Dog So horribly excruciating. Just as awful as Nutty Professor & Mrs. Doubtfire 1 stars
6/03/00 toneely This movie is Silly. I did laugh a lot.It was really fun to watch 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Jun-2000 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  07-Sep-2000 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast