More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.69

Awesome: 8.46%
Worth A Look: 10.77%
Average36.15%
Pretty Bad: 30.77%
Total Crap: 13.85%

12 reviews, 58 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

Fashionista by Jay Seaver

I Love You, Daddy by Rob Gonsalves

Jailbreak by Jay Seaver

Attraction (2017) by Jay Seaver

Thousand Junkies, A by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Bedazzled (2000)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Scott Weinberg

"Hurley is dazzling, the gags are predictable and Fraser is...well...Fraser."
2 stars

It's sad to see how low Harold Ramis has sunk. Surely the director of Caddyshack and Vacation STILL has a funny bone remaining in his body. Based on the most recent evidence, I'd have to say probably not. His previous film, Analyze This was the most disturbingly overrated comedy of the past five years. His newest, Bedazzled, is simply a limp and lazy comedy that will evoke maybe three or four mild laughs. If you're lucky.

Branden Fraser will never be accused of trying to 'strech' as an actor. In role after role, he seems content to play the goofy nice guy and he nearly destroys every movie he's in. OK - In The Mummy, he played a goofy nice hero-guy. Great. Why wasn't he nominated?

As far as acting skills are concerned, Liz Hurley sure is pretty. It's ironic that she'd be accused of crossing SAG picket lines, when I've never seen any evidence at all that she's an actress. In this movie, she's simply a pretty face and a body to hang slutty clothes upon. I'm not complaining about that, but she's starring in a comedy here. She's about as funny as a rotten fish, so it does present a problem.

Based on a comedy starring Peter Cook and Dudley Moore, Bedazzled is almost stunningly free of strong laughs. Several scenes are presented so we all know where we're supposed to laugh, but I've never been a fan of Pavlovian comedies such as these. Punch lines are thrown out like hand grenades, only the large percentage of them are duds. Even when a scene does click (as when Elliot wishes to be the world's most sensitive man), Ramis is simply in too big of a hurry to get to the next scene.

Mega-nerd Elliot is madly in love with Alison. Well, in love as a loser can be without ever meeting a girl. Elliot is the kind of socially-impaired moron who exists only in broad, silly comedies that think pathetic and lonely people are funny. His co-workers avoid him, and the girl of his dream looks right through him. The he meets the Devil, who agrees to give him seven wishes in exchange for his soul.

Bedazzled is a series of sequences in which Elliot discovers that all his wishes have ironic and unfortunate side effects. After wishing for wealth and power, he becomes a Columbian drug lord. (This sequence offers almost all the laughs in the movie, and guess what? You've seen all those jokes in the previews!) When Elliot asks to be witty and sophisticated, he becomes witty, sophisticated AND homosexual. (Oh, my sides.) In the movie's most wasted idea, Elliot wishes to become a famous basketball star but oops he forgets to ask for a large penis. And the wishes continue.

The movie opens with a truly annoying credits sequence that invokes thoughts of VH1's Pop-Up Video. The bulk of the film is Fraser looking befuddled, followed by someone falling down (or a dick joke) and then Hurley shows up in a new skimpy outfit. (The only thing that kept me awake.) To say the ending is a bit off is the best compliment I can give it, as it pretty much negates the previous 90 minutes.

Look, if three or four mild chuckles is what you're looking for out of a comedy, this movie is for you. For anyone else, Bedazzled is a surprisingly lazy, predictable and uninteresting comedy.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=4351&reviewer=128
originally posted: 10/20/00 21:17:01
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

10/04/10 brian Dreadful. Dreadful, dreadful, dreadful. Fraser needs direction; Ramis can't deliver. 1 stars
11/02/08 Samantha Pruitt there were some funny parts, Brendan Fraser is always great! 3 stars
6/07/08 PAUL SHORTT A CUTE AND CLEVER, GOOD VS EVIL PARABLE 3 stars
6/23/07 DonnyM Brendon does a great job of proving he is a good actor. 3 stars
1/30/07 David Pollastrini not great, not terrible 3 stars
3/16/05 Jeff Anderson Some funny parts, but I enjoyed the original Dudley Moore/Peter Cook version much better! 3 stars
12/02/04 Katarina Pretty Good, But Some Parts dont really fit 3 stars
8/17/04 Herolder A lot of fun 4 stars
6/19/04 Denise Duspiva funny 3 stars
5/07/04 greater good a well balenced movie 5 stars
4/11/04 alpine liz hurley is the most gorgeous sexy woman ever born and how or bad the film is does not ma 5 stars
4/07/04 archangeljen It was just alright, I laughed at a few things. 3 stars
2/11/04 jessica it was anazing. 5 stars
12/09/03 Amanda Locker Harold Ramis is amazing! Don't ever insult him! He is great! 5 stars
10/25/03 Al Baston You missed it, should of had a hit of so,e fine Humboldt organic. 3 stars
2/18/03 Mitsaso For Harley's sake... 4 stars
11/26/02 bree awesome and funny 5 stars
8/26/02 Dickles McSquick It's...bonertime! 5 stars
8/12/02 Grayyy It's cute watching Liz try her best, but the whole thing still blows 1 stars
6/06/02 I'm in (L) with a Jedi well...ill go with my rating...pretty bad 2 stars
5/14/02 Danielle Ophelia Elizabeth Hurley's contract with Satan stated she had to play him at least once, I think. 1 stars
4/05/02 Priscilla Postlethwaite Elizabeth Hurley always seems to get rotten roles. So why not the devil herself? ~Works. 4 stars
3/02/02 Chowie I'll have to see it again before I can make an educated decision, but from what i remember- 2 stars
1/16/02 David A. Not very exciting--I can't remember anything funny about it. 3 stars
1/14/02 Flick Chick ho-hum zzzzzzzzzzzzzzz 2 stars
1/08/02 Andrew Carden OK Comedy. Unfunny, but Amusing. Kills Time. 3 stars
9/02/01 Butterbean HurleAn average comedy with a great message at the end to all religious zealots 4 stars
8/10/01 chouck all those skimpy outfits and this still sucked 2 stars
7/25/01 Suzanne It was funny at times but overall pretty stooopid 2 stars
7/15/01 Nazi dad Great comedy! Brendan Fraser's a riot! 5 stars
6/09/01 Turtle A bit stupid at times, but Harold Ramis can make any movie great. 4 stars
4/09/01 arnold schwaznaggar uuuuuuuuuuurrrrrrrrrggggggggggggghhh! ugh! plz only watch my movies!!! 1 stars
3/31/01 Jesse L If Hurley got naked it would be worth a look.. 1 stars
3/09/01 The Evil Penguin sensitve, athletic, smart, or creative? YIKES!!!! 4 stars
2/18/01 Avenger Girl Liz makes a great devil, wearing many sexy outfits that would tempt any hotblooded male 3 stars
2/02/01 Pierce Lanson Saw it in full theatre,young audience, five laughs.Pathetic. 2 stars
1/30/01 jasmin its very nice movie 3 stars
1/29/01 hum eh, no big deal, just a mildly amusing easy film. doesnt help that hurley cant act 3 stars
1/25/01 Paul "I am a Columbian drug lord! Ha! Ha! Ha! I can't stop laughing! 5 stars
1/06/01 Emily i though brendan showed good comic acting, but the movie stunk. 3 stars
12/19/00 Joe Cool Yes, It does blow, but the chick looks Good!! 5 stars
12/19/00 Paulsj If you want dum fun, check it out but don`t expect too much 3 stars
11/19/00 Bob Fugate You should be watching porn films,you must have a permanent boner on. 3 stars
11/07/00 TruckGirl Pretty FLAT. 2 stars
10/31/00 Philm Phreak Brendan's good, Hurley's a babe, movie's WEAK! 3 stars
10/29/00 YOUR Movie Expert It's Analyze This meets Beetlejuice.....Very funny, but no Caddyshack, Vacation, etc. 5 stars
10/28/00 extar-bags It's not the original, but its not bad. Don't be so hard on it. 3 stars
10/28/00 Boy In The Designer Bubble Rent the original, its funnier and way classier. Hurley crosses SAG picket lines, FUCK HER 1 stars
10/26/00 bart Lame with a few laughs. Elizabeth Hurley acting lessons from Joan Collins. 3 stars
10/23/00 Frode! Many funny moments, has an uneven ending 4 stars
10/23/00 fishie so so, the acting makes the movie far better. 3 stars
10/23/00 Daedalus Story and acting were weak, but overall better than most of the crap out there. 3 stars
10/23/00 Ground Zero Like Great Scott! said, suprisingly lazy, predictable and uninteresting 2 stars
10/23/00 Ken Kopin If you like "Deal with the Devil" movies, this one is great. Too short, tho. 4 stars
10/23/00 Dan Forget Affleck, Fraser is the new king of Hollywood. 5 stars
10/21/00 Pandora Mildly entertaining; the lesson in trite morality at the end was unnecessary 3 stars
10/21/00 Stuntman Hurley is great. The 2000 remake of the classic movie is badly done and terribly directed. 2 stars
10/20/00 Dan Fraser is devoid of charisma, but Hurley is surprisingly likeable. The movie is hollow tho. 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  20-Oct-2000 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  25-Jan-2001 (PG)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast