More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.69

Awesome: 8.46%
Worth A Look: 10.77%
Average36.15%
Pretty Bad: 30.77%
Total Crap: 13.85%

12 reviews, 58 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Bedazzled (2000)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"The devil is hot!"
3 stars

The problem with "Bedazzled" is that even if you accept its age-old premise -- guy makes deal with the devil but is tricked out of getting what he wants -- there's still too much other stupid stuff to get in the way of ever really enjoying the thing.

Brendan Fraser plays Elliot, a socially retarded but very nice guy who is in love with Alison (Frances O'Connor), a co-worker whom he has lusted after for four years but has never really spoken to.

One night he casually observes that he would give anything to have her in his life -- and poof, the Devil (Elizabeth Hurley), looking far sexier than the Bible would have you believe, shows up. Apparently doing double-duty as a lamp genie, she offers Elliot seven wishes in exchange for his soul. Elliot, who we're led to believe is a smart guy (hence the nerdiness), stupidly signs the contract.

His first wish? To be married to Alison, and to be rich and powerful. But wouldn't you know it? The Devil meets his requests exactly, making him a very successful Colombian drug lord who is married to Alison, sure enough. Too bad he didn't say anything about Alison being in love with him....

So he gets out of that scenario and comes back, this time wishing for something different, only to have it also screwed up by the Devil's whimsical, letter-of-the-law wish-granting. So he wishes for yet a third thing, and then a fourth thing, and on and on and on.

Any sane individual would not go to such extraordinary lengths for a woman he's never really met before. But even if he did, he would almost certainly think a little more clearly before making the next wish. Me, I'd go home and write up the most carefully worded, legally correct wish statement I could think of, ensuring there was no way Old Scratch could use it against me to make it into a nightmare. Sure, she'd probably still find a way -- but at least I'd have tried. Elliot keeps coming back from his bad wishes and making new ones 10 seconds later.

It's that paralyzingly stupid behavior that makes a film like this hard to enjoy. The fact that he has seven wishes just means we're going to have to watch his life get screwed up in predictable ways seven different times before he somehow gets out of the contract. (If the film ended with his soul actually becoming property of the Devil, and his enduring an eternity in hell -- now THAT would be an interesting movie.)

Fraser is all over the place with the Elliot character. He's socially inept and naive, yet manages to get off a few sarcastic rejoinders in his conversations with the Evil One. He's nerdy, but not very bright; friendly, but annoying; funny, but not.

Hurley seems to be having fun as the Devil, and my goodness, she does look fetching. She alone might make it worth watching, but maybe not.

There are a few laughs in the film, and it's not grating on the nerves. It's a slight, meaningless little movie that drags on too long but provides a medium amount of entertainment. It's not bad enough to belong in hell -- but I'll be damned (get it?) if it's going to get any higher than purgatory.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=4351&reviewer=247
originally posted: 06/30/03 17:08:07
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

10/04/10 brian Dreadful. Dreadful, dreadful, dreadful. Fraser needs direction; Ramis can't deliver. 1 stars
11/02/08 Samantha Pruitt there were some funny parts, Brendan Fraser is always great! 3 stars
6/07/08 PAUL SHORTT A CUTE AND CLEVER, GOOD VS EVIL PARABLE 3 stars
6/23/07 DonnyM Brendon does a great job of proving he is a good actor. 3 stars
1/30/07 David Pollastrini not great, not terrible 3 stars
3/16/05 Jeff Anderson Some funny parts, but I enjoyed the original Dudley Moore/Peter Cook version much better! 3 stars
12/02/04 Katarina Pretty Good, But Some Parts dont really fit 3 stars
8/17/04 Herolder A lot of fun 4 stars
6/19/04 Denise Duspiva funny 3 stars
5/07/04 greater good a well balenced movie 5 stars
4/11/04 alpine liz hurley is the most gorgeous sexy woman ever born and how or bad the film is does not ma 5 stars
4/07/04 archangeljen It was just alright, I laughed at a few things. 3 stars
2/11/04 jessica it was anazing. 5 stars
12/09/03 Amanda Locker Harold Ramis is amazing! Don't ever insult him! He is great! 5 stars
10/25/03 Al Baston You missed it, should of had a hit of so,e fine Humboldt organic. 3 stars
2/18/03 Mitsaso For Harley's sake... 4 stars
11/26/02 bree awesome and funny 5 stars
8/26/02 Dickles McSquick It's...bonertime! 5 stars
8/12/02 Grayyy It's cute watching Liz try her best, but the whole thing still blows 1 stars
6/06/02 I'm in (L) with a Jedi well...ill go with my rating...pretty bad 2 stars
5/14/02 Danielle Ophelia Elizabeth Hurley's contract with Satan stated she had to play him at least once, I think. 1 stars
4/05/02 Priscilla Postlethwaite Elizabeth Hurley always seems to get rotten roles. So why not the devil herself? ~Works. 4 stars
3/02/02 Chowie I'll have to see it again before I can make an educated decision, but from what i remember- 2 stars
1/16/02 David A. Not very exciting--I can't remember anything funny about it. 3 stars
1/14/02 Flick Chick ho-hum zzzzzzzzzzzzzzz 2 stars
1/08/02 Andrew Carden OK Comedy. Unfunny, but Amusing. Kills Time. 3 stars
9/02/01 Butterbean HurleAn average comedy with a great message at the end to all religious zealots 4 stars
8/10/01 chouck all those skimpy outfits and this still sucked 2 stars
7/25/01 Suzanne It was funny at times but overall pretty stooopid 2 stars
7/15/01 Nazi dad Great comedy! Brendan Fraser's a riot! 5 stars
6/09/01 Turtle A bit stupid at times, but Harold Ramis can make any movie great. 4 stars
4/09/01 arnold schwaznaggar uuuuuuuuuuurrrrrrrrrggggggggggggghhh! ugh! plz only watch my movies!!! 1 stars
3/31/01 Jesse L If Hurley got naked it would be worth a look.. 1 stars
3/09/01 The Evil Penguin sensitve, athletic, smart, or creative? YIKES!!!! 4 stars
2/18/01 Avenger Girl Liz makes a great devil, wearing many sexy outfits that would tempt any hotblooded male 3 stars
2/02/01 Pierce Lanson Saw it in full theatre,young audience, five laughs.Pathetic. 2 stars
1/30/01 jasmin its very nice movie 3 stars
1/29/01 hum eh, no big deal, just a mildly amusing easy film. doesnt help that hurley cant act 3 stars
1/25/01 Paul "I am a Columbian drug lord! Ha! Ha! Ha! I can't stop laughing! 5 stars
1/06/01 Emily i though brendan showed good comic acting, but the movie stunk. 3 stars
12/19/00 Joe Cool Yes, It does blow, but the chick looks Good!! 5 stars
12/19/00 Paulsj If you want dum fun, check it out but don`t expect too much 3 stars
11/19/00 Bob Fugate You should be watching porn films,you must have a permanent boner on. 3 stars
11/07/00 TruckGirl Pretty FLAT. 2 stars
10/31/00 Philm Phreak Brendan's good, Hurley's a babe, movie's WEAK! 3 stars
10/29/00 YOUR Movie Expert It's Analyze This meets Beetlejuice.....Very funny, but no Caddyshack, Vacation, etc. 5 stars
10/28/00 extar-bags It's not the original, but its not bad. Don't be so hard on it. 3 stars
10/28/00 Boy In The Designer Bubble Rent the original, its funnier and way classier. Hurley crosses SAG picket lines, FUCK HER 1 stars
10/26/00 bart Lame with a few laughs. Elizabeth Hurley acting lessons from Joan Collins. 3 stars
10/23/00 Frode! Many funny moments, has an uneven ending 4 stars
10/23/00 fishie so so, the acting makes the movie far better. 3 stars
10/23/00 Daedalus Story and acting were weak, but overall better than most of the crap out there. 3 stars
10/23/00 Ground Zero Like Great Scott! said, suprisingly lazy, predictable and uninteresting 2 stars
10/23/00 Ken Kopin If you like "Deal with the Devil" movies, this one is great. Too short, tho. 4 stars
10/23/00 Dan Forget Affleck, Fraser is the new king of Hollywood. 5 stars
10/21/00 Pandora Mildly entertaining; the lesson in trite morality at the end was unnecessary 3 stars
10/21/00 Stuntman Hurley is great. The 2000 remake of the classic movie is badly done and terribly directed. 2 stars
10/20/00 Dan Fraser is devoid of charisma, but Hurley is surprisingly likeable. The movie is hollow tho. 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  20-Oct-2000 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  25-Jan-2001 (PG)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast