More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.33

Awesome61.79%
Worth A Look: 19.51%
Average: 13.01%
Pretty Bad: 0.81%
Total Crap: 4.88%

8 reviews, 75 user ratings


Latest Reviews

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

Breadwinner, The by Jay Seaver

Endless, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Chopper
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Greg Muskewitz

"The ultra-violence is sickening and disturbing."
1 stars

As yet another in the ongoing series of presenting "cases" in which we are to look at monsters and recalcitrants of our society or other's societies, fictional or not, with a kind and forgiving or understanding eye, "Chopper" is the newest to be showing locally. (For more of the same, see "Hannibal," "Blow," "Requiem for a Dream," "Quills," etc.)

Mark "Chopper" Read (Eric Bana) is Australia's most famous criminal, and the movie, acknowledgingly pointing out, doesn't necessarily stay within the realms of fact. The movie traverses through time mostly in the Seventies and Eighties, when he attained his cult status. Jailed only for a botched kidnapping attempt, he is constantly in trouble or provoking violent fights and/or murders. However, he lies his way through most of the stories and instead gets away with no punishment, so until the occasional run-in with the police, he is free to use his discretion on "disposing of human filth." And when imprisoned during one of the later run-ins, he writes several books, which become best-sellers ("I can't even spell") and makes money that way.

Writer/director Andrew Dominik is but another forgettable name in the recent onslaught of vomituritious visual over-stylization, soaking the negative of every scene in some variation of a gritty distilled and saturated yellow, blue, green or strobe-like mix. The movie is reared on violence, and loves to show you specifically how much pain Chopper can absorb (multiple stabbings, ears being cut-off) or inflict. (Believe me, Dominik gives you the opportunity to trace every splatter of flood, every molecule of flesh.) The effect is one of great perversity, which is largely grotesque, disturbing, sickening and sensationalistic. Meanwhile, next to all this ultra-violence, Dominik is still trying to play on the humanization side of Chopper and his schizophrenic behavior. (I.e. After each murder, he is usually very upset and apologetic.)

I suppose one might be intrigued by that form of schizophrenia and what might possess him to have done all this, but there are no explanatory explanations offered, much less elaborated on. This is sensationalism at its most offensive and disgusting stage. Why did the police have no interest in him? Why wasn't more precaution taken with him? I can also see how Dominik interjected some humor into the movie, but it doesn't come across when you're watching the movie; at that point, the only reaction there is room for is repulsion. Only after you've seen the movie does any of the humor really come across, but by that time it isn't funny --its dubiousness is still clipped by the insideousness of the rest. And it's just lame.

I can't say much about Bana, from whom a lot of praise was rewarded to for this role. A stand-up comic in Australia, I'm sure this was a change of pace, but he is good at emulating the dumbing hulkiness of Chopper, that I can help but believe that it will give him ample opportunity to explore any other acting itches. I admit, I wouldn't mind seeing him in something else, nor would I mind seeing some of his stand-up, but I would in no way go out of my way to catch any of this. His own boyish grin was too much innocence for any one element of Read. I am not so readily quick to dismiss Dominik as an awful, hack director in only his first feature yet --if only for his choice on who to make his movie about-- but he is a far way off from achieving any distinction outside of that group of Guy Ritchies, Mary Herrons, Mike Figgises, etc.

http://www.landmark-theatres.com

Final Verdict: F.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=4357&reviewer=172
originally posted: 04/30/01 09:28:25
[printer] printer-friendly format  
For more in the Australian series, click here.

User Comments

9/14/17 morris campbell A good portrait Bana is excellent 4 stars
5/22/16 LETSDANCEMUSIC R.I.P CHOPPER 5 stars
3/14/07 leah dat shit was mean 5 stars
8/07/06 ERIN SWEENEY A new classic,it is now on my favorite and must have list 5 stars
7/03/06 Reklc Just say Chopp, Chopp and you got a great flick. 5 stars
6/30/05 Janek Who says crime doesnt pay!! 5 stars
5/11/05 Nick You yanks cannot understand your own pathetic country. Give up and eat another big mac. 5 stars
11/01/04 tom butler fucken ace 5 stars
10/20/04 peter brown fu**ing wild. brilliant film 5 stars
3/23/04 jane absolutely brilliant... 5 stars
3/01/04 michael scott never let the truth get in the way of a good yarn eh. 5 stars
2/04/04 JANINE E DICKMAN HES MY HERO 5 stars
1/08/04 james s awsome 5 stars
1/07/04 Rajneesh Chopra Intakhab IV Dad! 5 stars
12/30/03 tony why isnt there a chopper 2/ 1 was excellant 5 stars
10/16/03 Beck It was absolutley fantastic - Eric Bana Rocks 5 stars
10/12/03 dale auty bloody excellent 5 stars
8/28/03 melissa Best Eva Chop Chop is the best -run for prime-minister 5 stars
8/15/03 Drew Cady best movie ever 5 stars
7/26/03 bill jones great 4 stars
7/03/03 Tim Seed I absolutely agree with Chris Parry 5 stars
6/29/03 fran drescher i played with myself because itwas that good 5 stars
6/26/03 terry a stringer the world would be a safer place with people like him 5 stars
6/23/03 karen mcdonald brilliant but wheres the other stuff they left out ? 4 stars
4/25/03 mr. Pink Tried to be hip very hard. Too much style, not much substance. Bana was OK 2 stars
4/10/03 Melinda Coady The Govt wanted his $ from this film so Chopper donated it to Child.Hospital. On ya Chopper 5 stars
4/03/03 ohyeah fricken awesome. GIVE ME MORE 5 stars
3/05/03 @#$%^&*!@ I LOVE CHOPPER 5 stars
2/11/03 adam rodwell more,more 5 stars
11/15/02 j.watson shit hot 5 stars
11/12/02 Amber Grassam Great film. Shame alot of things that went on were left out 4 stars
8/02/02 beau mather absolutely fucking wickedly brutally excellent!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
5/25/02 larry get part two rolling 5 stars
4/02/02 The Bomb 69 interesting storyline but the movie was all over the place, how did he get away with this?? 3 stars
2/16/02 Belinda Jane Chopper let us see the Chopper he wants us to think he is...... 4 stars
1/28/02 Denise Xerri fucking brilliant 5 stars
1/17/02 Davin Boscence Just Bloody Terrific!!! 5 stars
1/13/02 Peter Stisnijovski A movie that you can't sleep thru it (ENJOYED IT and it was funny, but real) 5 stars
12/15/01 denis jared one of the best moves ive seen and the books a must 5 stars
11/25/01 Karl Kissick Greatest Film i've seen in a long time!! 5 stars
11/01/01 Choppers_Girl_Fan The best movie ever 5 stars
10/14/01 Angela Davis the best filck I've ever seen. 10out of 10 5 stars
10/02/01 stephen dilworth excellent 5 stars
9/16/01 renee white i love chopper he is the best 5 stars
8/16/01 anthony west very good 5 stars
5/12/01 The King Great movie, definately worth the money 4 stars
5/07/01 fleakitty charismatic rogue or sociopathic demon? eric bana(na)'s perfect as always. talented man! 5 stars
4/30/01 Mike A none too shabby 5 stars
4/22/01 ricky whitfort very funny movie not far from the truth 4 stars
4/18/01 Robbo Very good 4 stars
4/10/01 Pweter Harshly realistic, incrediable character, unquie 5 stars
4/01/01 wade "bucketbongbouncer" macdonald its tha fuckin best movie 5 stars
3/31/01 fred a bit eerie!!!! 5 stars
2/25/01 Wade Barry like him or not ... absolutley AMAZING ! look at the awards...enuff said 5 stars
2/09/01 hum very well crafted film. be warned, it is as unpleasant as it should be 4 stars
1/30/01 Rubber Fucking Great!!! 5 stars
1/08/01 Jeff Best movie of the year 5 stars
10/12/00 m larsen loved it!!!! 5 stars
9/26/00 Lolita Martinez It was bloody phenomenal!!!!! 5 stars
8/27/00 Timbo Great but the violence made me wince. Fascinating characters, strong acting 4 stars
8/23/00 Geoff Stewart Didn't glorify just lacked any point, do I really give a shit about Chopper Read? 3 stars
8/21/00 Gribbles bloody fantastic mate 5 stars
8/17/00 justin athanitis it is the best movie that i have ever had the pleasure of being able to watch. excelent. 5 stars
8/17/00 neil bartlett an awesome performance from Eric Bana 4 stars
8/15/00 Mick Edwards Eric Bana - Russell Crowe watch out!!! 5 stars
8/14/00 K. Johnson Rather good 5 stars
8/13/00 Belinda And.........the AFI goes to "Eric Bana" 4 stars
8/12/00 ashley james kennedy i have seen it once and plan togo back (still a very good move 5 stars
8/11/00 Nick Excellent 5 stars
8/09/00 Scot Tindall an underdeveloped character study 3 stars
8/07/00 Viling Stop glorifying psychos !!!! 3 stars
8/05/00 ashley james kennedy very good 5 stars
8/04/00 matthew smith the best Australian film in many years, confronting and very funny. 5 stars
7/31/00 filmnet cutting edge filmaking that even chris parry might like! 5 stars
7/23/00 TIGGER Whoa! Soooo cool! I have seen it 5 times and I will see it more! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  11-Apr-2001 (R)
  DVD: 13-Nov-2001

UK
  N/A

Australia
  03-Aug-2000 (R)


Directed by
  Andrew Dominik

Written by
  Andrew Dominik

Cast
  Eric Bana
  Simon Lyndon
  Daniel Wyllie
  Vince Colosimo
  David Field
  Bill Young



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast