More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.15

Awesome50.75%
Worth A Look: 31.34%
Average: 4.48%
Pretty Bad: 8.96%
Total Crap: 4.48%

3 reviews, 49 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets by Rob Gonsalves

Roman J. Israel, Esq. by Peter Sobczynski

Coco (2017) by Peter Sobczynski

Prey (2017) by Jay Seaver

Lu Over the Wall by Jay Seaver

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Bootmen
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Stephen Groenewegen

"Crashing"
2 stars

Thereís one really great scene in Bootmen, dancer/choreographer Dein Perryís first feature as director. Sean (Adam Garcia) is trying to reunite his blue collar mates in a tap-dancing group. Colin (Andrew Kaluski) is giving an impromptu audition in a toilet block.

To prove heís still got it, Colin dances between the metal toilets; tapping against them. As his energy increases, heís up on top of the toilets - boots clashing on the closed lids - before he comes crashing through one of the seats. Itís funny, itís spontaneous, thereís some great dancing and Kaluski is a convincing actor (as well as a fantastic dancer). Unfortunately, itís about the only time humour, spontaneity, great acting and dancing combine in Bootmen.

Tap Dogs are a dancing sensation, an evolving line-up of men who dance in work boots with steel taps. They wear the Australian blue-collar uniform of jeans, singlet and flannelette shirt. I think Perry was trying to show us the milieu Tap Dogs came out
of (and he should know, since he was the force behind them). But thereís way too much cliched story and not enough dancing to engage our interest. And giving the Bootmen a star (Adam Garcia) is also a mistake; it goes against the larrikin image of the half-dozen Australian mates dancing together as a team. Especially since Garcia carries the film mostly on charisma and dancing ability. Sam Worthington is far more assured as his brother, but is lumbered with the silliest sub-plot.

The steel-town of Newcastle is given a full-fantasy workover by production designer Murray Picknett and cinematographer Steve Mason. Instead, they should have tried to capture some of the cityís grittiness. It might have made these menís obstacles more real; more worthwhile cheering on.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=4359&reviewer=104
originally posted: 08/22/00 18:35:25
[printer] printer-friendly format  
For more in the Australian series, click here.

User Comments

4/29/06 Carol Baker If It wasn't for the dancing there would be nothing to this film. 3 stars
5/31/05 Jakub 1 of the best films i ever seen 5 stars
5/19/05 ABomb Hilariously bad! Worth renting just for a laugh. A future camp classic. 1 stars
2/21/05 Captain Craig A dance movie for people who dont know much about dance movies. 3 stars
1/14/05 Craig K One of the writers is Hilary Linstead, a Sydney agent. You can guess how bad it is. 1 stars
11/22/04 casey very good. And very life like. 5 stars
2/16/04 carmen ohhhhhh i loved it i watch it over and over again i am a dancer and it a makes me happy 5 stars
12/20/03 Coral doesn't happen offten where i will watch a film more than once in one day. 5 stars
12/05/03 sarah baldwin what a movie 5 stars
12/05/03 sarah baldwin i loved it, adam garcia is hot talent 5 stars
10/29/03 alicia it's sucha a great movie, the dancings great and adam's hot as!!!!!!!! 5 stars
9/22/03 lauren i loved bootmen!bootmen rocks! can there be a bootmen 2?????? 5 stars
8/06/03 Sam this is a great movie and i loved it and could watch it over and over agian 5 stars
6/09/03 Claire makes me want to dance 5 stars
5/30/03 Karrie It was sad where Sean's brother died 5 stars
4/22/03 Anthony Khoury Refreshing Film 4 stars
3/12/03 me it woz ok - havent seen it for agez but i gotta do a essay on it :( 4 stars
2/02/03 pixie it was the best movie ever, i lovedyou adam 5 stars
1/07/03 brianna pritchard it was awarsom 5 stars
11/13/02 Gazza E Incredible dancing, but lame script and average acting. 4 stars
10/09/02 Lynne The movie is absolutely brilliant and riveting 5 stars
9/02/02 george it sucks. how gay do you want your dancers to be 1 stars
5/13/02 Dancing Queen I love it. I love tap dancing!! 5 stars
2/01/02 roxanne edwards 5 stars
11/25/01 jamie mcauliffe it was a bloody good movie 5 stars
11/11/01 jamie mcauliffe it was really awsome i am a tap dancer to but i can't do all of the steps that they do 5 stars
10/27/01 Natasha Howard The BEST movie ever! Adam is HUNK 5 stars
9/29/01 julie cordeau very sexy at the end of the movie 5 stars
8/13/01 Rachael Great film. Worth seeing it purley 4 Adam Garcia 5 stars
7/19/01 Steph A really great movie fantastic 5 stars
7/14/01 jocelyn hill i realiy love to tap dance but i can't find any place with tap danceing 4 stars
5/19/01 Maddie I loved it Hire it out its Good 5 stars
5/03/01 Merry Lou xcellent film 5 stars
3/12/01 talia hadad A really good movie 5 stars
2/25/01 renaye a tribute to the australian movie industry, tap dancing and the very sexy adam garcia. 5 stars
1/25/01 obsessed with adam hubba hubba 5 stars
11/17/00 Tracey Medcalf I loved It, I have seen all the shows but I loved this one 5 stars
11/05/00 Pierce Lanson Fantastic dancing, story so-so, left the theatre tapping my feet! 4 stars
10/30/00 carlie i think tht adam garcia is a babe 5 stars
10/27/00 Anna Finest Australian film I've seen yet! 5 stars
10/27/00 Liz Absolutely fantastic - Adam Rules! 5 stars
10/20/00 Viking The best dance film since Strictly Ballroom 4 stars
10/16/00 C.Chew If u enjoy musical drama, u will probably like this. 4 stars
10/06/00 Carly Simon A Must See 5 stars
10/01/00 Belinda Plenty of talent. Brilliant Aussie oi oi film. 5 stars
9/20/00 annie fantastic 4 stars
9/07/00 Colette Excellent dancing & acting-Adam Garcia is fantastic-This reviewer is nuts 5 stars
9/05/00 ron major aussie movie,bound for glory 4 stars
8/17/00 neil bartlett dull first half, great dancing scenes 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  27-Oct-2000 (R)
  DVD: 07-Sep-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  05-Oct-2000 (M)


Directed by
  Dein Perry

Written by
  Steve Worland

Cast
  Adam Garcia
  Sophie Lee
  Sam Worthington
  William Zappa
  Lisa Perry
  Anthony Hayes



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast