More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.29

Awesome: 18.75%
Worth A Look: 4.17%
Average: 18.75%
Pretty Bad: 4.17%
Total Crap54.17%

2 reviews, 36 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Loving Vincent by Jay Seaver

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Boys and Girls
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by PyThomas

"Could've been better, but it has its moments."
3 stars

The only real reason this film interested me was that one of my old high school friends was involved in it. I've never seen any of my friends in the credits of a major motion picture, and I thought it would be cool to finally witness it.

Well, it turned out that I liked the film too.

Boys and Girls would be a whole lot better if the characters involved were more fleshed out and less cartoony. It's basically a story of two people who, after running into each other only a few times in their childhood, finally get to know each other better when they attend the same college.Freddie Prinze Jr. is a neurotic geek and Claire Forlani is an insecure Latin laureate. Jason Biggs goes along for the ride as Freddie's dorky roommate. (Remember, this is BOYS AND GIRLS, not LOSER.)

This seems to be one of those films that sound good on paper, but loses a lot in the filming. There's lots of interesting and witty dialogue about dating, sex, and other inter-gender affairs. The plot seems too cliched and thin... your basic will-they-or-won't-they thing. But if you could give a shit less about plot and just want to laugh at something other than bodily functions, there's plenty of, shall we say, sophisticated laughs in this film. Okay, some bodily-function humor does slip through (two words: farting supermodels), but at least it doesn't detract from the rest of the laughs.

Boys and Girls is an okay film... won't make any headlines or leave any memorable moments, and you might not know ANYONE personally in the credits, but it's fairly enjoyable. And the farting supermodels certainly helped.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=4364&reviewer=9
originally posted: 08/11/00 15:37:28
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

1/13/09 Anonymous. just a normal okay chick-flick. 3 stars
6/16/04 1 2 1 stars
3/21/04 meaghan i loved the sex 5 stars
5/31/03 mee great 5 stars
8/13/02 blakers i loved it 5 stars
4/09/02 Vitality1 You think it had a bad plot? I didn't even realize it had one!! Bad bad movie!! 1 stars
2/12/02 Meredith Harshaw Supermodels are a gas, Forlani's a pain in the same place. 3 stars
1/27/02 Andrew Carden Just Terrible. Bad Plot, Bad Acting, Bad Screenplay, Bad Actresses, Bad Setting, Just Bad. 1 stars
10/31/01 Boy Dumb, cliched, unoriginal, and leads are terrible actors. But Amanda Detmer...love her here 4 stars
6/16/01 Rampage Everyone I knew who liked this movie was an jerk. minsky is the latest example. 1 stars
6/02/01 Thrillhouse good idea, but it all goes down to bollocks at the end, avoid this, save your money. 1 stars
5/09/01 minsky i thought that it was rea lly good 5 stars
4/16/01 John Lyons Good movie just to sit back and enjoy. 5 stars
11/19/00 The Bomb 69 weird shit, how about the girls' pad in San Fran, totally unrealistic!!! 2 stars
10/05/00 Jacques Strap piece of trash says it all 1 stars
9/27/00 Joan Conrad Great !!!! 4 stars
9/17/00 JAKE Jason and freddie are soo hot... but it didnt help their acting 1 stars
9/12/00 Ground Zero absolute stupidity 1 stars
8/26/00 Stuntman what a crock of shit, this movie is for babies 1 stars
7/24/00 Heather This was one of the worst movies ive ever seen 1 stars
7/20/00 Conor this movie blowed so much dick that even my girl told me i could pick the next flick we see 1 stars
7/19/00 sputnik great movie 5 stars
7/18/00 Digitalus Ass-kick that Freddie Prinze Jr.! Oh, and all teen movies suck slag! 1 stars
6/27/00 hamlet3k Jesus, what a crock o' potty shit. Jason Biggs in ANOTHER teen titty flick (sans titties.) 1 stars
6/27/00 Sir Really good goes perfectly together 5 stars
6/26/00 Annoying Self-Involved Teen Loser I love teen movies but this one blows my ass. Acting is so in-your-face bad it's startling 1 stars
6/26/00 Bubby The Year's Best.... at making you wanna puke! 1 stars
6/24/00 "Persnickety" ok question, could this movie possibly rip "When Harry Met Sally" off any more?-what shit! 1 stars
6/24/00 Piz Biggs steals the show, good date flick. It's got "renter" written all over it. 3 stars
6/24/00 WeirdArchives It's official! The Teen Romance Genre is dead, dead, DEAD!!!!!! 1 stars
6/20/00 Cheeseboy This movie fucking SUCKS!!!!! Worst comedy EVER! 1 stars
6/20/00 Ann Sucked majorly 1 stars
6/18/00 Gavin Moore The most piss poor acting I have ever seen. I had to get up and leave. 1 stars
6/18/00 Sir FUNNY 5 stars
6/17/00 William McNeal Lousy writing - no effort at all. And Claire Forlani totally sucks. But Jason Biggs is cool 2 stars
6/12/00 Joel Harwood Excellent 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  16-Jun-2000 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  09-Nov-2000 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast