More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.54

Awesome58.76%
Worth A Look: 38.14%
Average: 2.06%
Pretty Bad: 0.52%
Total Crap: 0.52%

18 reviews, 86 user ratings



Election (1999)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by PyThomas

"It's as soap-in-a-school as it gets. Call it 'All My Pupils'."
5 stars

Shit, I wish MY high school years were this scandalous.

The biggest controversy that involved Ball High School happened after I graduated, when the clinic made condoms available to students for free. (Big fucking deal, you might say, but keep in mind that this is deep in Bible Belt country, where "Don't do it" is the basic sex education.) Other than that, not much has gone down in my alma mater.

No overachieving ingenues doin' the nasty with science teachers. No government teachers fixing student body elections out of jealousy and revenge. Certainly no student presidential candidates promising to abolish the whole student council if elected.

We hear the narrative voice-over of Election from four angles:

Tracy Flick (Reese "Can You Believe I'm A Mommy?" Witherspoon) - the ambitious, overachieving socialite at George Washington Carver High School in Omaha. She REALLY wants to win the election for Student Council President, to the point where she's coming to class at six in the morning to decorate the halls, and decorating 400 cupcakes with "Pick Flick" to hand out to her prospective voters. She's running unopposed at first, until the campaign gets some extra involvement from...

Jim McAllister (Matthew "Don't Call Me Ferris Bueller" Broderick) - the government teacher that holds a gnawing grudge against Tracy. Aside from jealousy of her overflowing ambition, he knows she had an affair with his co-worker and best friend, the science teacher down the hall (though it wasn't really her fault this happened). Unfortunately, he has a tragic flaw of his own... he lusts after his friend's estranged wife. But that doesn't stop him from finding someone to run against Tracy Flick, someone like...

Paul Metzler (Chris "American Pie Alumnus" Klein) - star quarterback for the Carver Wolverines until a serious leg fracture (on a ski trip) put him out of the game for his high school career. He's popular with his classmates, he's simple-minded and of good character - a perfect candidate to be a presidential, um, candidate. No sooner than he enters the race that he is joined by his own sister...

Tammy Metzler (Jessica Campbell) - a lesbian-in-training who runs for president out of pure jealousy. See, her lover was just experimenting with lesbianism, and she wasn't so hot about it anymore. And now she's dating her brother Paul, a triangle that would drive any spurned lover to vengeful maneuvers such as the one she takes through the elections.

The aforementioned subplots really don't contribute much to the main story - they seem to be there for extra laughs and then prematurely evaporate into thin air. Fortunately, that doesn't take away from the high-stakes-soap-opera story unfolding between Miss Flick and Mr. McAllister. Only the student-teacher feud in Rushmore scores higher in terms of cattiness and intrigue.

Election deserves all the favorable reviews it's been getting. It's well-acted, well-scripted (more or less), and viciously funny. And did I mention it's from the same people who gave us Dead Man On Campus and Beavis & Butt-head Do America? This is like finding out that the scruffy-looking street hot dog vendor working the streets of the Warehouse District with his beat-up handcart moonlights as the master chef at the five-star restaurant uptown. Someone over at MTV Films is putting extra effort into THEIR job.

"I like to watch the power station."

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=438&reviewer=9
originally posted: 07/06/99 14:35:39
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

3/30/17 Blake Patterson Alexander Payne wrote Election with furious hilarity and dark passion. 5 stars
4/26/16 Ken Pretty funny. Matthew Broderick was great in this film. 4 stars
5/22/15 David Hollingsworth A savagely funny satire that hits like darts 5 stars
11/22/08 Shaun Wallner Awesome Story! 5 stars
9/04/07 Alan "Slap, then screw" -- is that how you relate to the female sex? 5 stars
10/03/06 Rob It should be said that the wardrobes and 'makeup' in this movie are subtly awesome. 4 stars
9/19/06 MP Bartley Genuinely brilliant. Witherspoon and Broderick are outstanding. 5 stars
2/26/06 Clubber Lang Watchable, but never really engaging. Too many characters, needed more focus. 3 stars
9/07/05 ALDO chris klein is perfect 4 stars
5/26/05 Jake Hilarious! 5 stars
3/25/05 indrid cold Surprisingly good, almost bizarrely good. 5 stars
12/07/03 Samuel A very funny film!! 4 stars
11/27/03 he a great film 5 stars
11/24/03 E. Best line "her pussy gets so wet" 5 stars
11/06/03 M. Suvajac an extraordinary film 5 stars
10/25/03 Al Baston Broderick clothes (those shirts & ties) are perfect for the fat ass dufess he plays. 5 stars
9/25/03 ILLEGALLY BLONDE The only time Reese Witherspoon ever shined; too bad it's in an overall groaner 3 stars
7/27/03 robert buizer great laugh 5 stars
4/04/03 Jack Sommersby Smart and hilariously human. Broderick and Witherspoon are outstanding. 4 stars
12/09/02 Kyle One of the greatest films I've ever seen. I don't say that lightly. 5 stars
11/03/02 Steve Kaczynski One of the last US films of the 20th century that I would call great.. 5 stars
10/17/02 Charles Tatum This sucks as bad as "Rushmore" 1 stars
8/25/02 movie guy great 5 stars
6/12/02 Millie Maelstrom Better, Kakararaniniginjia (though I was hoping for some groovy role for those enzymes!) 3 stars
5/15/02 Kakararaniniginjia Sinitraviwasanjofraz Fails urgent need of good support cast around brilliance of Reese Witherspoon's zany dliver 3 stars
3/08/02 Mo Anand A very funny movie...Matthew was better in "ferris bueller"...but still good 4 stars
3/06/02 Veronica Foxx -The Raven-Haired Temptress ELECTION deserves more credit and attention than it has received. Too bad really, good film 4 stars
3/02/02 Unagiboy Pick Flick! Witherspoon was brilliant. I loved the tribal chant music in her mind. 5 stars
2/26/02 Obi Wan Great Movie...MTv should make more flicks like this!! Instead of their PC garbage!! 5 stars
2/03/02 Allison Lafferty Reese Witherspoon's best movie (not saying much). She must really be that silly. 2 stars
1/23/02 John Wilner Note that Tracy signs her name with a star over the i in Flick. Rich detail throughout! 5 stars
11/16/01 John This deserved at least one Oscar 5 stars
11/13/01 Jake Not too shabby. 4 stars
11/03/01 Andrew Carden This Movie Was So Funny and Reese Was The Greatest Thing Ever! 5 stars
10/30/01 Gary Witty, subtle, well written and Reese Witherspoon is a star in the making. 5 stars
9/05/01 Butterbean Ferris Bueller's principal is avenged. Definantly an awesome flick! Reese rocked! 5 stars
8/07/01 E-Funk Insanely original. Broderick's best since Ferris Bueller. I loved it. 5 stars
7/24/01 bobbuttons This movie is so great. "Fuck me, Mr. M. Fuck me now" is the greatest line. 5 stars
6/10/01 Serial_Monk_the_Jawbreaker Great characters. Not too funny, but if this movie's trying to be evil, it succeeds 4 stars
5/31/01 BrainPan Yes, yes, ya'll! Me rikee!! 5 stars
4/09/01 Gary I saw it for the first time last night, and I loved it. Great flick! 5 stars
4/08/01 Will Y. it takes time to understand a lot of the underlying meaning about sexuality, but it's great 4 stars
2/06/01 Trashstar Witty, sharp, dark and very very funny. Reese shines as does Matthew. 5 stars
10/16/00 Dimmer Itch Reese proves she's better at any Sandras, Camerons or Heathers at comic acting. Fantastic. 4 stars
10/09/00 BirdBrain Very funny, if you pay attention to it. So if you're a dumbass Armageddon fan, stay away. 4 stars
7/13/00 Tom Wonderful dark comedy. Vote for Tracy Flick!!!!! 5 stars
7/06/00 Matthew Bartley Very different and funny.Reese is great 4 stars
6/26/00 stranded on the Island Best comedy I've seen in a long time; reese and matthew are perfect! 5 stars
6/02/00 Add A very good movie with some outstanding performances but just not as funny as i'd of liked. 4 stars
5/08/00 Stan Mador BEST MOVIE IVE SEEN! 5 stars
4/29/00 The Bomb 69 to intelligent for most people and that's unfortunate, great movie!!! 5 stars
4/25/00 Brian Engen The special effects were awesome!! 5 stars
2/21/00 arnold extremely funny 5 stars
2/14/00 Germanicus Good acting, a few funny bits, nice story and snappy editing but infinitely overrated. 4 stars
2/06/00 Kyle Broflovski A teenage girl in pursuit of something besides Prom Prince Charming?? PINCH ME!!! :-) 5 stars
1/26/00 Joel Harwood WHAT A FILM 5 stars
1/18/00 bullit17 Clever. Funny. Thought-provoking. Sure to remind you of high school and some kids you knew 4 stars
1/17/00 Will not to be too wordy, but all I have to say is "cool". 4 stars
11/29/99 Mic Sharp and hilarious - shows Drop Dead Gorgeous how it should be done 5 stars
11/08/99 Mark Linkson Broderick finally acts his age, Witherspoon excellent as usual, a very clever satire 4 stars
10/18/99 Tfer One of the best this year! 5 stars
8/23/99 Michael Grimm too well written for most retards watching movies nowadays, anyone with a brain loves it 5 stars
8/02/99 Jeff Hilarious and intelligent. Great acting. A should-be Best Picture nominee 5 stars
7/28/99 David Gilmour Definitely the best film of the Year, SO Far;7/99 5 stars
7/09/99 bridgette awesome. 5 stars
7/08/99 Ann Great! It's about time someone exposed the truths behind a 'little miss perfect' 5 stars
6/30/99 PhilmPhreak A welcome break from weak-ass summer flicks. 5 stars
6/29/99 Dave Rad as 5 stars
6/24/99 Tim best movie i've seen this year 5 stars
6/19/99 Michael Lewis Best film I,ve seen this year. Intelegent, well written and funny! 5 stars
6/15/99 David Really funny, and probably like nothing you've seen before, not even Rushmore. 5 stars
6/05/99 Lisa Sick and wrong on so many levels--I loved it! 5 stars
6/04/99 Mel I haven't felt this guilty laughing at a movie in a long time.... 5 stars
6/04/99 The Graduate A hilarous movie, heavy on the cruelty. Sometimes those perfectionist have to pay. 5 stars
5/28/99 pipeman If you like your humor dark, you'll love this. Great flick! 5 stars
5/26/99 GothamDK Got to be a little jaded. Type A students won't get it. Heathers is still better. 4 stars
5/25/99 Freyja Smart and FUNNY! 5 stars
5/23/99 bridgette loved it! i usually am not a reese fan, but she was great. 5 stars
5/21/99 Bob, Lord of Evil I won't say fuck Star Wars, but I'd rather see this a third time over that one... 5 stars
5/18/99 David K Fuck Star Wars 5 stars
5/11/99 Malbert It was great 5 stars
5/10/99 Katie Definately a great one, love the dark humor. 5 stars
5/08/99 BraveFan Richly satisfying - witty and engaging - saw it twice 5 stars
4/26/99 kam it'was ok 4 stars
4/26/99 Mr Showbiz A feralessly dark and funny adult comedy. 5 stars
4/12/99 the DUDE Matthew Brodrick is great-Fucking funny 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  23-Apr-1999 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  07-Oct-1999 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast