More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.45

Awesome: 24.24%
Worth A Look27.27%
Average: 26.41%
Pretty Bad: 12.99%
Total Crap: 9.09%

12 reviews, 159 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Mummy, The (1999)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by the Grinch

"Hey Look! Universal made an $80,000,000 Allan Quatermain movie!"
3 stars

You've heard all the hype and the pre-marketing..."It's like Raiders of the Lost Ark!"...umm, NO! I don't quite see it...more like 'Jake Speed' or 'Amazon Women in the Avocado Jungle of Death'. "Oooh, it's got a damsel in distress, a dashing stud, and an exotic desert locale...it's just like IJ!" A)"The Mummy" is more "Allan Quatermain and the Lost City of Gold" than Indiana Jones, and B)The only thing remotely similar to the Indy films is maybe the budget...and guess who spent their money more wisely...well, obviously not me!

The Mummy tries to be horror, tries to be clever and spoofy, tries to be action/adventure, but doesn't pull off any of them all that well.

I'm not going to sit here and tell you that I didn't enjoy anything about this movie. I thought Arnold Vosloo made a wonderful Mummy, some of the effects, especially the scenic ones, were excellent, the score by Jerry Goldsmith rocked, and it was just fun (I even liked the corny 'riding off into the sunset' tip-o-the-hat to the old serials). There were moments when I was actually enthralled by the narrative, particular the first 20 minutes or so, which displayed some awesome period designs, well placed CGI Scenery, and a fun desert battle scene. After that, things just pretty much fizzled out...

The CGI effects soon become more ill-conceived in many spots, the script reveals itself as not being as clever as was thought to be, and the characters become props for the zany antics of good ole Imhotep. Unlike Raiders or really any film that delivered, this movie doesn't flow and the humor is usually forced. The more I sat through this movie, the more I wished they would've decided what the focus was going to be. Am I asking too much? Maybe for Follywood.

And the computer generated effects, jumping jehovah on a pogo stick, the CGI CRAP in this film! I'm all for technological advances, but is it me, or has CGI become Hollywood's new Spruce Goose? Jeezus, it's like some brat kid with a lavishly expensive new toy, they just wanna show it off at each opportunity, not at the appropriate moments. There are things CGI is good for at this moment in development, and things it isn't good for. The film industry and the almighty George Lucas/ILM (non-respectively) need to learn this! I can envision it now (flashback sounds)...

Studio Exec 1:"Hey, maybe we should call in Dick Baker or Tom Savini or someone to do the first regeneration stage of the Mummy, yah think?"
Studio Exec 2:"Nahh, we payed for these multi-million dollar computer graphics workstations, and besides, we want the Mummy to look as goofy and unrealistic as possible so we can keep the Pg13 rating and make this our family movie cash cow."

Folks, really, I think I'm going to make a Japanese monster movie in which the CGi Mummy, the anorexic psuedo-Jabba from StarWars:Special Edition, that fucking toy-to-be monkey from Lost in Space,JarJarJinx, and that creepy dancing baby from Ally McBeal, well they all trash Tokyo. And the populace, instead of being paralyzed in terror, are paralyzed from laughter. Because, hey, Godzilla may just be a guy in a rubber suit smashing erector sets, but at least you know he's ACTUALLY THERE!

Brendan Frasier, as much as I can't hate you, please stick to George of the Jungle. Whoever said this movie should've had Bruce Campbell in the lead role deserves to be blown by a dozen Swedish stewardesses. BRUCE CAMPBELL WOULD'VE BEEN PERFECT FOR THIS!

One look at the rating tells you that Universal invested too much money in this tepid remake to make it a good movie. And be afraid, there's talk at Universal of making a sequel. I wanna have faith that they'd get it right the next time, but really, who gives a shit?!

Disappointing...this could've been a fresh and exciting remake of a classic film, but instead turned into a special fx bonanza for the "Aw Shucks" crowd. Fun in parts, but lackluster and definitely doesn't meet its potential. And why, dear Osiris, WHY did they give this to the guy who made "Deep Rising"?
Exec 1: "Hmmm, we've been having alot of bombs lately...we really need a money maker out there for 1999."
Exec 2: "Hey, retro seems to be in now. Since we haven't had any fresh ideas since EDDIE MURPHY was FUNNY, maybe we can redo one of our horror classics like the Mummy?"
Exec 1: "Yeah, great idea! Clive Barker and George Romero have already submitted some scripts!"
Exec 2: "Nah, too cerebral. How bout that Deep Rising/Jungle Book guy? Where's the company checkbook?"

Remove your brain with a coat hanger, and you might love this. Myself, I'm going to go rent "Bram Stoker's the Mummy" starring that iconoclast of cinema excellence: Lou Gosset Jr. Moihahaha! I still give this 3 Scoobysnacks, because I love Egyptian mythos (and I use the term loosely in this instance).

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=439&reviewer=156
originally posted: 09/17/99 17:13:51
[printer] printer-friendly format  
Trilogy Starters: For more in the Trilogy Starters series, click here.

User Comments

3/05/12 Silkworm Would have be great, but too cheesy and made worse by Fraser 3 stars
11/21/11 cr a action packed thrilling remake with good effects and cool characters. 4 stars
6/07/11 Silkworm Could have been made less facetious 4 stars
5/15/11 stephen nettles I LOVE YOU RACHEL WEISZ! 4 stars
3/19/10 PAUL SHORTT NOISY, DISPOSABLE ACTION ADVENTURE WITH OVERBLOWN EFFECTS 2 stars
12/26/09 Jeff Wilder An okay popcorn flick. No more no less. 3 stars
7/18/09 Dageron Number 1!!! 5 stars
1/13/09 Anonymous. better than its sequels. 4 stars
9/16/08 Ravenwest Not bad. 4 stars
7/24/08 Shaun Wallner Great film!! 5 stars
11/25/07 g webster a fun comedy/action film 4 stars
11/16/07 spongebob it wuz ok lol 4 stars
4/18/07 Stevo UK Dont let any copies of this film into your home. if threatened, destroy the brain to kill. 1 stars
3/06/07 Donny M Fun movie. Good to watch when your sick. 5 stars
2/16/07 Vip Ebriega Scared me when I was a kid, loved it whan I was older. 4 stars
2/03/07 Vip Ebriega So much fun. If you like indy, you'll love this 4 stars
1/17/07 del Big, dumb bad movie that's nearly unwatchable. 1 stars
1/15/07 David Pollastrini great fx 3 stars
11/02/06 cody a cool visual effects and action packed remake with good performances. 3 stars
7/29/06 Hina Malik this is fantastic 5 stars
6/28/06 katinka YESYESYES 5 stars
6/25/06 MP Bartley Big, dumb fun that's easily rewatchable. 4 stars
4/25/06 ms. sumita roy its my favorite movie, i love to see this movie every time for its story & casting. 5 stars
8/23/05 Quigley the special effects and action made up for brendan fraser's piss-poor acting 5 stars
7/22/05 tony i rented this and it was a great shooter! 5 stars
6/02/05 Chris My Mummy told me to RENT this one 3 stars
4/22/05 klee better then the mummy returns...but still crap 3 stars
1/10/05 keithers.. pointless silly fun the delivers what it advertises 4 stars
12/09/04 Kristina Williams dumb, stupid, FUN! 4 stars
11/06/04 TCIC Fantastic. Ruined by its preceders 4 stars
10/29/04 Bree the movie was alright 3 stars
9/25/04 Lord Durvok 2 Below average, over-hyped piece of turkey big enough to disgust a family of four. 2 stars
9/20/04 Viktor Navorski movie good very!!!!!!! 5 stars
9/01/04 A upton great special FX 5 stars
8/27/04 American Slasher Goddess Dumb fun, but that's about it. 3 stars
8/03/04 Anthony G I need to take a shit 2 stars
7/31/04 conor great good 4 stars
6/02/04 876 blah 1 stars
5/08/04 Daveman Superficial, fluffy and a little routing but still entertaining and at times charming even. 3 stars
4/16/04 Crystal COOlL MOVIE!! A Sahara a Selata Lau!! Oded Fehr Rocks ^-^ 5 stars
1/18/04 jmsynth V. Enjoyable old fashioned adventure flick 4 stars
12/30/03 Littlepurch Funny, gr8 action and exciting. Even the love scenes work because of their comical value. 5 stars
11/30/03 john pretty good adventure movie with a likeable cast 4 stars
10/05/03 Deidre DeSantis I thought this movie was great, I know all the lines to it!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
9/13/03 Gray could have been better with less gore 3 stars
5/02/03 JL Ok, so the script had some weak points, i still really like this movie! 5 stars
4/29/03 Dave Rachel Weisz and John Hannah are really good, shame about the plot, and it's not scary. 3 stars
4/19/03 Ubu the Ripper Cool special effects, but Fraser is a poor man's Harrison Ford. 3 stars
4/15/03 Jack Bourbon Frasier = dork. Weisz = very bangable. Raiders of the Lost Mummy blows piss bubbles. 1 stars
3/02/03 R.W. Welch Overreliance on FX saps what might have been a pretty good yarn. 3 stars
2/10/03 Joe The best action film of the 90's. 5 stars
12/23/02 3man Encino Man+special effects=garbage 1 stars
10/24/02 Interrog8 This movie was loads of fun. Indiana Jones - The Next Generation 5 stars
10/16/02 M Top stuff. I prsonally love it 5 stars
9/30/02 Charles Tatum Cool effects do not a good film make 2 stars
8/22/02 Brian Jacobson Cliched. the sequel is a LOT Better 3 stars
7/23/02 Bueller I've seen Indiana Jones, I know Indiana Jones. Mummy, you're no Indiana Jones. 3 stars
6/09/02 Gummibear X Cool mummy and a not bad story line. I just love to watch Rachel Weisz run! 5 stars
5/12/02 Spanky What a stinking load. Corny and stupid. 1 stars
4/21/02 Film Guy Yea it was good. 4 stars
3/02/02 Alan Smithee Leave your brain at the door and this movie is a lot of fun. 4 stars
1/16/02 David A. Spoofs black and white Mummies from the 40s. Fun for those of us who remember Lon Chaney 4 stars
1/10/02 R.W. Welch Nicely paced but leans too much on F/X and "Raiders." 3 stars
11/22/01 steve goldenbaum movie for fucking retards. 1 stars
10/02/01 Phoenix An excellent thrill machine. 5 stars
10/01/01 Shane Robert Myers!!!!!!!!!!!!!! better then any other mummy movie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
9/02/01 Butterbean Wietsz and Hannah and a stupid comedic take on this movie ruined everything! 2 stars
7/29/01 Beethoven Brendan Laochuazon I like it. Awsome 5 stars
7/28/01 Henry Ginsberg If you whent to see the sequal ,Ipitty you . 2 stars
7/07/01 Kelly Black LOved it.. stirred the imagination. 5 stars
6/29/01 Geebo Enjoyable 4 stars
6/19/01 Jessica (lunartemis87@hotmail.com) I thought the movie rocked! I can't think of a better movie made recently. 5 stars
6/17/01 Angela was totally cool! Brendan Fraser GOOD actor!!!!! 5 stars
6/17/01 Trekker The best movies in a long time! Most sequels SUCK, but the Mummy Returns was AWESOME! 5 stars
6/13/01 Brendan fraser I starred and what do i think????? 1 stars
6/09/01 Roxanne it is CRAZY 5 stars
5/22/01 Connoisseur too many complications in the plot and lame jokes ruined this movie. 3 stars
5/12/01 The Moorhen I liked it. My kind of movie. Can't wait for the sequel. 5 stars
5/08/01 Rampage Right on, Ryan_A, Indiana Jones lite has a nice ring to it. 3 stars
5/05/01 bullit17 One more in a line of movies that think special effects make up for lack of plot or script 2 stars
4/29/01 Bront fun movie, recreating the Indiana Jones style of movie 5 stars
3/30/01 BART I expected scariness. It was comedic 4 stars
3/23/01 Andy Meakin What a load of ARSE!!! Acting=bad Script=poor. AVOID 2 stars
3/07/01 Onyx Loved it, loved Brendan, loved John, loved Rachel, loved Arnold especially.. 5 stars
2/26/01 fifu a neat and fun movie 4 stars
2/15/01 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi I agree with Ryan A. Indiana Jones lyte pretty much sums it up. 4 stars
2/13/01 Richard Wright When John Hannah tried to kiss that camel at the end, I realised I did not like this film. 2 stars
1/14/01 Invader You have to believe in the spirit of the thing,once done its great action flick 4 stars
1/03/01 Emily not many actors can pull off Indy, and i thought brendan frasier did a really decent job. 4 stars
11/20/00 N Martinez Vosloo was a great "mummy" FANTASTIC film!!! A MUST SEE 5 stars
10/30/00 Dave FANTASTIC - looking forward to the next mummy! Worth the rental fee 5 stars
10/28/00 Terrie Smith Outstanding visual/special effects but the plot sure as hell wasn't much. Acting the same. 3 stars
10/23/00 P. Rodriguez Oh dear someone forgot to turm Off the SHIT PRODUCTION VALUES knob at the film studio 1 stars
10/18/00 Jed Alright film brendan fraser was great though it was mainly average. 3 stars
10/10/00 Kevin Action Packed! Great Special effects. Wonderful acting. Well worth your time and rental $$ 5 stars
10/09/00 Napster Supporter This was 100 times better than I thought it would be. Rent it you won't be disappointed! 5 stars
9/11/00 Boy In The Designer Bubble I wish the mummy had killed them all. 4 stars
5/04/00 matt Scary, Funny, Suspenseful, Actionpacked, Adventure, Indiana Jones type thrill ride!SEE IT!! 5 stars
3/10/00 David Rogers The SFX were good, but a little weak. 4 stars
3/03/00 Dr. X entertaining movie 4 stars
2/16/00 Kyle Broflovski I walked in with a pained look and walked out with a cheese-eating grin. 4 stars
1/21/00 Hangman this movie is great. 5 stars
1/15/00 D.D. entertaining 5 stars
12/27/99 tanya brilliant 5 stars
11/28/99 Krissy Pretty good I really enjoy the refrence to ancient egypt 4 stars
11/25/99 Dr. Acula Lot's O fun but Please see the 1932 version with Karloff, it's a poem. 4 stars
10/17/99 Jim Ragsdale Totally entertaining; funny; I had a great time. 5 stars
10/11/99 Weird Andy Dumb fun, but fun nonetheless. 4 stars
10/04/99 Lindsey This movie rocked!! Brendan Frasier was awesome in it, I absolutely loved it!!! 5 stars
9/29/99 Weezal316 Great Action and Effects. Funny and Fun. 4 stars
9/24/99 KK A rehash of thousand other adventure type movies already made. LOUSY!! 1 stars
9/18/99 Ratso About as fun as a papercut on my dick. 1 stars
9/11/99 Timbo Should've been Bruce Campbell 3 stars
9/03/99 godsdog Hey Mukinda, GET OVER IT! Hollywood does that to EVERY sacred religion and culture! 2 stars
8/10/99 Eric The best action/adventure/comedy film of the decade. 5 stars
8/01/99 Blue sky Brendan Fraser was H-O-T! 5 stars
8/01/99 Obi Wan Thank God I didn't pay for this! Hated it! I just wanted to see the girl get naked 2 stars
8/01/99 Mukinda White Hollywood once again attaches negativity to sacred African religion and culture. 1 stars
7/31/99 Kitty purr I liked this movie. Maybe it was because of all the hot guys. Could have been scarier. 4 stars
7/29/99 PhilmPhreak Reminds me of the Saturday Matinees of my youth 4 stars
7/25/99 Movie Freek in agreement with ChefADogg. This film was cheesy and cliched. That actress sucked! 2 stars
7/25/99 Bob, Lord of Evil It takes alot for me not to like a flick. This film figured it out. 2 stars
7/14/99 Marshy Not quite the film it could have been. Needed tighter editing. Overall, though, fun. 4 stars
7/13/99 Sara Pattinson I thougth that it was one of the best movies that I have seen in quite a while. 4 stars
7/12/99 ken heine the dust storm scene was cool. 3 stars
7/10/99 Daria Silly, forgettable, but undeniably fun and enjoyable. 4 stars
7/10/99 Alexander I loved this damn movie... action and acting were high quality! 5 stars
7/09/99 Jarrod Walker Why be so harsh on this?, hell, it entertained me more than star wars! 4 stars
7/08/99 AD disapointing, lack of feminist perspective 2 stars
7/03/99 Costars Stunning visuals overcame hokey plot;supporting actors should have been computer generated 4 stars
7/02/99 Matthew Bartley It was a lot of fun...what more do you want from this kind of film? 4 stars
7/01/99 little jerry If Spielberg makes Indiana 4 I doubt it will top this.Visually beautiful,very entertaining. 5 stars
6/29/99 MRHOLLYWOOD !! KICKS STAR WARS' ASS!,great directing and suspense! 5 stars
6/28/99 Stevo B. Pretty cheesy and some questionable stereotyping - but fun as hell. 4 stars
6/25/99 midson I'd rather watch teletubbies make love 1 stars
6/24/99 Tim A really bad plot & hokey acting, great effects 2 stars
6/17/99 LB The effects are what made the movie. 3 stars
6/15/99 Tony Daquano one hell of a kick ass ride 5 stars
6/15/99 David Exciting, scary throwback to the 30's style serials. Brendan Fraser is always good. 5 stars
6/09/99 Voyant Im-ho-tep....Im-ho-tep...Im-ho-tep....Im-ho-tep...Im-ho-tep...Im-ho-tep...Im-ho-tep...Im-ho 4 stars
5/28/99 pipeman Cool special effects prove that special effects alone do not a good movie make. 3 stars
5/27/99 Zoie Awsome! 5 stars
5/23/99 Ami the Wonderbread Bad Indy rip off, but at least it rips off something good! 4 stars
5/22/99 GothamDK Visual effects are second rate. Would be a good Disney channel movie of the week. 2 stars
5/21/99 Jimmy I didn't know you could wind fecal mattter on a reel. 1 stars
5/21/99 brentley It's like a watered-down Indiana Jones, but I still enjoyed it. 4 stars
5/17/99 Beno Indiana Jones without a good plot or good actors. 2 stars
5/16/99 The Bomb 69 usual summer film, funny lines, great special effects 4 stars
5/14/99 Emerald Storm This movie was just brilliant! Tho I do think billy zane was a more appropriate Imhotep 5 stars
5/13/99 Jeffie Crap on celluloid 1 stars
5/13/99 Freyja Fun in an Indiana Jones corn-fest kind of way. 4 stars
5/13/99 the DUDE Very Cool effects-Fucking great-More of a Comedy the A Horror. 5 stars
5/12/99 Jim Fay Not a dull moment in the thing. Entertained the hell out'ta me. 4 stars
5/12/99 Bill Hartman Not as good as The Matrix, but still a great summer movie! 4 stars
5/10/99 Jason S. Good way to kick off the Summer! 5 stars
5/10/99 Mr Showbiz A heaping helping of deliriously sill, action packed, eye candy. 3 stars
5/10/99 Ah Dooey Not as cool as Virus 4 stars
5/10/99 Arkansas Jon The special effects raise "George of the Jungle Meets the Mummy" to an enjoyable flick. 4 stars
5/09/99 dolt a couple cool scenes but thats abuot it *LOTS OF BLAINTENT RIP-OFFS* (special effects) 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  07-May-1999 (PG-13)
  DVD: 29-Nov-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  24-Jun-1999 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast