More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.45

Awesome: 24.24%
Worth A Look27.27%
Average: 26.41%
Pretty Bad: 12.99%
Total Crap: 9.09%

12 reviews, 159 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Happy New Year (2014) by Jay Seaver

Revenge of the Green Dragons by Jay Seaver

Birdman by Peter Sobczynski

John Wick by Peter Sobczynski

Blue Room, The by Jay Seaver

Cat and the Canary, The (1927) by Jay Seaver

#Stuck by Jay Seaver

Fury (2014) by Jay Seaver

Book of Life, The (2014) by Jay Seaver

Golden Era, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Mummy, The (1999)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Rob Gonsalves

"Pedal-to-the-metal remake."
5 stars

With most movies, you know within the first five minutes whether you're in for a good time or a dreary evening. 'The Mummy' begins with an ancient-Egypt sequence that evokes 'The Ten Commandments,' only with female attire that pushes the PG-13 envelope, so I knew we were on cheerful ground.

Right off the bat, Jerry Goldsmith's overcaffeinated score blasts us out of our seats, and we're treated to murder, mutilation, and mummification even before the title comes on. The Mummy has a loose, confident stride; it revels in its own retro-ness, and it's a hell of a lot of fun. Imagine the Spielberg of Raiders of the Lost Ark and the Sam Raimi of Army of Darkness, and you'll be somewhere in the ballpark.

The premise has been pop hokum for 67 years, since the original 1932 version starring Boris Karloff. That version, which Pauline Kael appreciatively called "a bad dream of undying love," combined the then-recent "Curse of Tutankhamen" news stories with elements of Universal's big hits of the previous year, Dracula and Frankenstein. Karloff's mummy Imhotep was smitten with a reincarnation of his lover from 3,000 years hence; the new mummy, played alternately by impressive CG animation and Arnold Vosloo, isn't interested in the leading lady romantically -- he wants to sacrifice her to resurrect his dead tootsie. So much for undying love.

This Mummy avoids the beauty-and-the-beast story, a cliché which by now has become older than Imhotep, and goes full steam ahead. Brendan Fraser helps a lot; as Rick O'Connell, a cartoonishly heroic adventurer, he's Indiana Jones for the jaded '90s (though the movie's set in 1926). Rick always finds himself neck-deep in marauding warriors or mummies (or both), which he then has to shoot or slash his way through. Fraser is a likable and intelligent presence, capably matched by British beauty Rachel Weisz as an eager archivist named Evelyn, who, in one of my favorite moments, gets drunk and declares, "I'm proud of who I am! I am ... a librarian!"

Essentially, The Mummy is a comedy -- an outsize thrill ride, loud and teeming with (generally) well-crafted effects and scares. You have, of course, the obligatory scenes with the heroes poking around in a dark tomb; since these are the only quiet moments in the film, you just know something's about to pounce, and it usually does. You have comic relief in the form of Evelyn's fairly useless brother (John Hannah) and a cowardly, backstabbing Arab named Beni (the scene-stealing Kevin J. O'Connor). You have a wonderfully odd scene in which a blinded, de-tongued victim of Imhotep appears to be having tea with the mummy and his new friend Beni. You have ravishing eye candy in the form of golden-tinged camerawork by ace cinematographer Adrian Biddle (Thelma & Louise). You have the useful factoid that cats scare off mummies -- as good a reason as any to keep Fluffy around.

What you don't have, particularly, is a plot, but Stephen Sommers (Deep Rising) has directed his own screenplay so briskly that it hardly matters. Sommers doesn't toss in any needless complications: The mummy wants the woman, and has to be stopped. This is the basic plot of any adventure movie, by the way: The bad guys want something valuable, and the good guys have to make sure the bad guys don't get it. In this case, "it" is the heroine. Sexist? Sure, but we're talking 1926. Like Spielberg's Indiana Jones movies, The Mummy is a tongue-in-cheek look at the sexual/racial politics and entertainment of a much less PC era -- an homage to what we enjoyed as kids before we were told why we shouldn't enjoy it. But what we enjoyed was the spookiness and the seat-of-the-pants escapes, and the movie has both to spare.

On some level, no doubt, it's dumb and obvious, but it's dumb and obvious in just the right ways.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=439&reviewer=416
originally posted: 01/16/07 11:46:03
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

3/05/12 Silkworm Would have be great, but too cheesy and made worse by Fraser 3 stars
11/21/11 cr a action packed thrilling remake with good effects and cool characters. 4 stars
6/07/11 Silkworm Could have been made less facetious 4 stars
5/15/11 stephen nettles I LOVE YOU RACHEL WEISZ! 4 stars
3/19/10 PAUL SHORTT NOISY, DISPOSABLE ACTION ADVENTURE WITH OVERBLOWN EFFECTS 2 stars
12/26/09 Jeff Wilder An okay popcorn flick. No more no less. 3 stars
7/18/09 Dageron Number 1!!! 5 stars
1/13/09 Anonymous. better than its sequels. 4 stars
9/16/08 Ravenwest Not bad. 4 stars
7/24/08 Shaun Wallner Great film!! 5 stars
11/25/07 g webster a fun comedy/action film 4 stars
11/16/07 spongebob it wuz ok lol 4 stars
4/18/07 Stevo UK Dont let any copies of this film into your home. if threatened, destroy the brain to kill. 1 stars
3/06/07 Donny M Fun movie. Good to watch when your sick. 5 stars
2/16/07 Vip Ebriega Scared me when I was a kid, loved it whan I was older. 4 stars
2/03/07 Vip Ebriega So much fun. If you like indy, you'll love this 4 stars
1/17/07 del Big, dumb bad movie that's nearly unwatchable. 1 stars
1/15/07 David Pollastrini great fx 3 stars
11/02/06 cody a cool visual effects and action packed remake with good performances. 3 stars
7/29/06 Hina Malik this is fantastic 5 stars
6/28/06 katinka YESYESYES 5 stars
6/25/06 MP Bartley Big, dumb fun that's easily rewatchable. 4 stars
4/25/06 ms. sumita roy its my favorite movie, i love to see this movie every time for its story & casting. 5 stars
8/23/05 Quigley the special effects and action made up for brendan fraser's piss-poor acting 5 stars
7/22/05 tony i rented this and it was a great shooter! 5 stars
6/02/05 Chris My Mummy told me to RENT this one 3 stars
4/22/05 klee better then the mummy returns...but still crap 3 stars
1/10/05 keithers.. pointless silly fun the delivers what it advertises 4 stars
12/09/04 Kristina Williams dumb, stupid, FUN! 4 stars
11/06/04 TCIC Fantastic. Ruined by its preceders 4 stars
10/29/04 Bree the movie was alright 3 stars
9/25/04 Lord Durvok 2 Below average, over-hyped piece of turkey big enough to disgust a family of four. 2 stars
9/20/04 Viktor Navorski movie good very!!!!!!! 5 stars
9/01/04 A upton great special FX 5 stars
8/27/04 American Slasher Goddess Dumb fun, but that's about it. 3 stars
8/03/04 Anthony G I need to take a shit 2 stars
7/31/04 conor great good 4 stars
6/02/04 876 blah 1 stars
5/08/04 Daveman Superficial, fluffy and a little routing but still entertaining and at times charming even. 3 stars
4/16/04 Crystal COOlL MOVIE!! A Sahara a Selata Lau!! Oded Fehr Rocks ^-^ 5 stars
1/18/04 jmsynth V. Enjoyable old fashioned adventure flick 4 stars
12/30/03 Littlepurch Funny, gr8 action and exciting. Even the love scenes work because of their comical value. 5 stars
11/30/03 john pretty good adventure movie with a likeable cast 4 stars
10/05/03 Deidre DeSantis I thought this movie was great, I know all the lines to it!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
9/13/03 Gray could have been better with less gore 3 stars
5/02/03 JL Ok, so the script had some weak points, i still really like this movie! 5 stars
4/29/03 Dave Rachel Weisz and John Hannah are really good, shame about the plot, and it's not scary. 3 stars
4/19/03 Ubu the Ripper Cool special effects, but Fraser is a poor man's Harrison Ford. 3 stars
4/15/03 Jack Bourbon Frasier = dork. Weisz = very bangable. Raiders of the Lost Mummy blows piss bubbles. 1 stars
3/02/03 R.W. Welch Overreliance on FX saps what might have been a pretty good yarn. 3 stars
2/10/03 Joe The best action film of the 90's. 5 stars
12/23/02 3man Encino Man+special effects=garbage 1 stars
10/24/02 Interrog8 This movie was loads of fun. Indiana Jones - The Next Generation 5 stars
10/16/02 M Top stuff. I prsonally love it 5 stars
9/30/02 Charles Tatum Cool effects do not a good film make 2 stars
8/22/02 Brian Jacobson Cliched. the sequel is a LOT Better 3 stars
7/23/02 Bueller I've seen Indiana Jones, I know Indiana Jones. Mummy, you're no Indiana Jones. 3 stars
6/09/02 Gummibear X Cool mummy and a not bad story line. I just love to watch Rachel Weisz run! 5 stars
5/12/02 Spanky What a stinking load. Corny and stupid. 1 stars
4/21/02 Film Guy Yea it was good. 4 stars
3/02/02 Alan Smithee Leave your brain at the door and this movie is a lot of fun. 4 stars
1/16/02 David A. Spoofs black and white Mummies from the 40s. Fun for those of us who remember Lon Chaney 4 stars
1/10/02 R.W. Welch Nicely paced but leans too much on F/X and "Raiders." 3 stars
11/22/01 steve goldenbaum movie for fucking retards. 1 stars
10/02/01 Phoenix An excellent thrill machine. 5 stars
10/01/01 Shane Robert Myers!!!!!!!!!!!!!! better then any other mummy movie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
9/02/01 Butterbean Wietsz and Hannah and a stupid comedic take on this movie ruined everything! 2 stars
7/29/01 Beethoven Brendan Laochuazon I like it. Awsome 5 stars
7/28/01 Henry Ginsberg If you whent to see the sequal ,Ipitty you . 2 stars
7/07/01 Kelly Black LOved it.. stirred the imagination. 5 stars
6/29/01 Geebo Enjoyable 4 stars
6/19/01 Jessica (lunartemis87@hotmail.com) I thought the movie rocked! I can't think of a better movie made recently. 5 stars
6/17/01 Angela was totally cool! Brendan Fraser GOOD actor!!!!! 5 stars
6/17/01 Trekker The best movies in a long time! Most sequels SUCK, but the Mummy Returns was AWESOME! 5 stars
6/13/01 Brendan fraser I starred and what do i think????? 1 stars
6/09/01 Roxanne it is CRAZY 5 stars
5/22/01 Connoisseur too many complications in the plot and lame jokes ruined this movie. 3 stars
5/12/01 The Moorhen I liked it. My kind of movie. Can't wait for the sequel. 5 stars
5/08/01 Rampage Right on, Ryan_A, Indiana Jones lite has a nice ring to it. 3 stars
5/05/01 bullit17 One more in a line of movies that think special effects make up for lack of plot or script 2 stars
4/29/01 Bront fun movie, recreating the Indiana Jones style of movie 5 stars
3/30/01 BART I expected scariness. It was comedic 4 stars
3/23/01 Andy Meakin What a load of ARSE!!! Acting=bad Script=poor. AVOID 2 stars
3/07/01 Onyx Loved it, loved Brendan, loved John, loved Rachel, loved Arnold especially.. 5 stars
2/26/01 fifu a neat and fun movie 4 stars
2/15/01 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi I agree with Ryan A. Indiana Jones lyte pretty much sums it up. 4 stars
2/13/01 Richard Wright When John Hannah tried to kiss that camel at the end, I realised I did not like this film. 2 stars
1/14/01 Invader You have to believe in the spirit of the thing,once done its great action flick 4 stars
1/03/01 Emily not many actors can pull off Indy, and i thought brendan frasier did a really decent job. 4 stars
11/20/00 N Martinez Vosloo was a great "mummy" FANTASTIC film!!! A MUST SEE 5 stars
10/30/00 Dave FANTASTIC - looking forward to the next mummy! Worth the rental fee 5 stars
10/28/00 Terrie Smith Outstanding visual/special effects but the plot sure as hell wasn't much. Acting the same. 3 stars
10/23/00 P. Rodriguez Oh dear someone forgot to turm Off the SHIT PRODUCTION VALUES knob at the film studio 1 stars
10/18/00 Jed Alright film brendan fraser was great though it was mainly average. 3 stars
10/10/00 Kevin Action Packed! Great Special effects. Wonderful acting. Well worth your time and rental $$ 5 stars
10/09/00 Napster Supporter This was 100 times better than I thought it would be. Rent it you won't be disappointed! 5 stars
9/11/00 Boy In The Designer Bubble I wish the mummy had killed them all. 4 stars
5/04/00 matt Scary, Funny, Suspenseful, Actionpacked, Adventure, Indiana Jones type thrill ride!SEE IT!! 5 stars
3/10/00 David Rogers The SFX were good, but a little weak. 4 stars
3/03/00 Dr. X entertaining movie 4 stars
2/16/00 Kyle Broflovski I walked in with a pained look and walked out with a cheese-eating grin. 4 stars
1/21/00 Hangman this movie is great. 5 stars
1/15/00 D.D. entertaining 5 stars
12/27/99 tanya brilliant 5 stars
11/28/99 Krissy Pretty good I really enjoy the refrence to ancient egypt 4 stars
11/25/99 Dr. Acula Lot's O fun but Please see the 1932 version with Karloff, it's a poem. 4 stars
10/17/99 Jim Ragsdale Totally entertaining; funny; I had a great time. 5 stars
10/11/99 Weird Andy Dumb fun, but fun nonetheless. 4 stars
10/04/99 Lindsey This movie rocked!! Brendan Frasier was awesome in it, I absolutely loved it!!! 5 stars
9/29/99 Weezal316 Great Action and Effects. Funny and Fun. 4 stars
9/24/99 KK A rehash of thousand other adventure type movies already made. LOUSY!! 1 stars
9/18/99 Ratso About as fun as a papercut on my dick. 1 stars
9/11/99 Timbo Should've been Bruce Campbell 3 stars
9/03/99 godsdog Hey Mukinda, GET OVER IT! Hollywood does that to EVERY sacred religion and culture! 2 stars
8/10/99 Eric The best action/adventure/comedy film of the decade. 5 stars
8/01/99 Blue sky Brendan Fraser was H-O-T! 5 stars
8/01/99 Obi Wan Thank God I didn't pay for this! Hated it! I just wanted to see the girl get naked 2 stars
8/01/99 Mukinda White Hollywood once again attaches negativity to sacred African religion and culture. 1 stars
7/31/99 Kitty purr I liked this movie. Maybe it was because of all the hot guys. Could have been scarier. 4 stars
7/29/99 PhilmPhreak Reminds me of the Saturday Matinees of my youth 4 stars
7/25/99 Movie Freek in agreement with ChefADogg. This film was cheesy and cliched. That actress sucked! 2 stars
7/25/99 Bob, Lord of Evil It takes alot for me not to like a flick. This film figured it out. 2 stars
7/14/99 Marshy Not quite the film it could have been. Needed tighter editing. Overall, though, fun. 4 stars
7/13/99 Sara Pattinson I thougth that it was one of the best movies that I have seen in quite a while. 4 stars
7/12/99 ken heine the dust storm scene was cool. 3 stars
7/10/99 Daria Silly, forgettable, but undeniably fun and enjoyable. 4 stars
7/10/99 Alexander I loved this damn movie... action and acting were high quality! 5 stars
7/09/99 Jarrod Walker Why be so harsh on this?, hell, it entertained me more than star wars! 4 stars
7/08/99 AD disapointing, lack of feminist perspective 2 stars
7/03/99 Costars Stunning visuals overcame hokey plot;supporting actors should have been computer generated 4 stars
7/02/99 Matthew Bartley It was a lot of fun...what more do you want from this kind of film? 4 stars
7/01/99 little jerry If Spielberg makes Indiana 4 I doubt it will top this.Visually beautiful,very entertaining. 5 stars
6/29/99 MRHOLLYWOOD !! KICKS STAR WARS' ASS!,great directing and suspense! 5 stars
6/28/99 Stevo B. Pretty cheesy and some questionable stereotyping - but fun as hell. 4 stars
6/25/99 midson I'd rather watch teletubbies make love 1 stars
6/24/99 Tim A really bad plot & hokey acting, great effects 2 stars
6/17/99 LB The effects are what made the movie. 3 stars
6/15/99 Tony Daquano one hell of a kick ass ride 5 stars
6/15/99 David Exciting, scary throwback to the 30's style serials. Brendan Fraser is always good. 5 stars
6/09/99 Voyant Im-ho-tep....Im-ho-tep...Im-ho-tep....Im-ho-tep...Im-ho-tep...Im-ho-tep...Im-ho-tep...Im-ho 4 stars
5/28/99 pipeman Cool special effects prove that special effects alone do not a good movie make. 3 stars
5/27/99 Zoie Awsome! 5 stars
5/23/99 Ami the Wonderbread Bad Indy rip off, but at least it rips off something good! 4 stars
5/22/99 GothamDK Visual effects are second rate. Would be a good Disney channel movie of the week. 2 stars
5/21/99 Jimmy I didn't know you could wind fecal mattter on a reel. 1 stars
5/21/99 brentley It's like a watered-down Indiana Jones, but I still enjoyed it. 4 stars
5/17/99 Beno Indiana Jones without a good plot or good actors. 2 stars
5/16/99 The Bomb 69 usual summer film, funny lines, great special effects 4 stars
5/14/99 Emerald Storm This movie was just brilliant! Tho I do think billy zane was a more appropriate Imhotep 5 stars
5/13/99 Jeffie Crap on celluloid 1 stars
5/13/99 Freyja Fun in an Indiana Jones corn-fest kind of way. 4 stars
5/13/99 the DUDE Very Cool effects-Fucking great-More of a Comedy the A Horror. 5 stars
5/12/99 Jim Fay Not a dull moment in the thing. Entertained the hell out'ta me. 4 stars
5/12/99 Bill Hartman Not as good as The Matrix, but still a great summer movie! 4 stars
5/10/99 Jason S. Good way to kick off the Summer! 5 stars
5/10/99 Mr Showbiz A heaping helping of deliriously sill, action packed, eye candy. 3 stars
5/10/99 Ah Dooey Not as cool as Virus 4 stars
5/10/99 Arkansas Jon The special effects raise "George of the Jungle Meets the Mummy" to an enjoyable flick. 4 stars
5/09/99 dolt a couple cool scenes but thats abuot it *LOTS OF BLAINTENT RIP-OFFS* (special effects) 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  07-May-1999 (PG-13)
  DVD: 29-Nov-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  24-Jun-1999 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast