More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.56

Awesome: 18.64%
Worth A Look38.98%
Average: 27.12%
Pretty Bad: 10.17%
Total Crap: 5.08%

5 reviews, 29 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Day, A by Jay Seaver

Pork Pie by Jay Seaver

Stronger by Peter Sobczynski

Battle of the Sexes by Peter Sobczynski

Simran by Jay Seaver

Leatherface (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

First They Killed My Father: A Daughter of Cambodia Remembers by Jay Seaver

Abracadabra by Jay Seaver

Dead Shack by Jay Seaver

Lowlife (2017) by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Jesus' Son
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Stephen Groenewegen

"Tripping"
2 stars

Jesus' Son, directed by New Zealander Alison Maclean, is based on the short stories of Denis Johnson. The short story origins go a long way to explaining the movie's patchy feel.

Billy Crudup is christened FH (Fuck Head) by his mates because of his propensity to foul up everyone and everything he comes across. The common link in most of FH's otherwise random misadventures is Michelle (Samantha Morton), a junkie he meets at a party and falls in love with. It's a bare thread to hang the film on, but Morton manages to centre things for a while. She gives the film's liveliest performance, making Michelle a lot more interesting than FH and the other eccentrics he meets (played by the likes of Denis Leary, Dennis Hopper and Holly Hunter in cameo roles).

Drug taking is not a spectator sport, and watching the semi-dazed FH wander wintry America in the early 1970s quickly becomes tiresome. We've seen this sort of material too often in independent American features for it to be fresh, and Maclean's fluid direction and ability with actors cannot disguise the episodic nature of the material. FH veers from boring to downright unlikeable, and I didn't care much about him or his potential redemption.

Not helping was my failure to connect with the grotesque humour. There's only so many laughs you can wring from squashed animal foetuses and a man with a hunting knife stuck in his eye.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=4397&reviewer=104
originally posted: 06/20/00 15:23:56
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

6/26/11 John Airey very good performance 4 stars
8/06/10 Heather! My 2nd favorite film of all time! I don't understand why it was never more well-known. 5 stars
3/28/07 fools♫gold There seem to be unexplained things, notably towards the beginning. But, damn is it unique! 5 stars
10/18/06 Akeem Durosomo A great film of the decade! 4 stars
1/12/06 j.f. i don't feel the junky love. solid actors, story? what story? humor? if you're stoned? 1 stars
9/05/04 Shawn Biblical Allegory? No! Allusion to Velvet Underground Song Heroin? Yes! 4 stars
4/20/04 A F Euphoric look at the decent into drugs, as opposed to the dark and often disgusting. 5 stars
12/30/03 Samuel great film, Jack Black was hilarious, and Billy Crudup did an excellent job!! 4 stars
12/05/03 Millard Fillmore Me rikey. 4 stars
10/06/03 sarah onlyfor oldies 4 stars
7/28/03 Phil M. Aficionado Crudup is amazing, and the story... well not amazing but OK. 4 stars
6/16/03 Jack Sommersby One of 2000's very best films. Crudup is a revelation. 5 stars
10/18/02 carrot (myweb.ecomplanet.com/shie9496) lots of great symbolism in this movie... it's about more than just drugs and addiction. 5 stars
9/27/02 rob excellent performances. 5 stars
6/09/02 Phil M. Aficionado The full range of emotions with a sweet/sour/funny/sad/compelling/repulsive soul 5 stars
3/11/02 Melina jesus pleae 1 stars
2/14/02 Bob Marley yeaaaaaaa it's a gaaaaayyyyyyy mooooooooooovvvvvvvviiiiiiieeeeeeee :D :D :D 1 stars
9/06/01 SLICK I believe Palahniuk owes a lot to Denis Johnson & tha film, brilliant but drawn out a bit! 4 stars
9/06/01 Reini Urban Only for younger folks. 3 stars
8/06/01 daniel good movie, some really great parts. samantha morton is a truly amazing actress. 4 stars
2/10/01 Asbury Park Great film. Crudup is phenomenal, reminds me of Sean Penn at his best only better!! 5 stars
9/28/00 Slacker charm Reminiscent of Holden Caulfied 5 stars
9/25/00 The Bomb 69 great performances, average storyline 4 stars
9/20/00 Jeff Crudup is good, the film is blah. 3 stars
9/02/00 Tom The best film I've seen this year. Excellent performances by Crudup and Morton. 5 stars
7/17/00 PJ One of the best films of 2000, great performances, original, beautiful, funny, excellant 5 stars
7/16/00 Losifer entertaining, but you won't miss anything by not watching it. 3 stars
6/29/00 pipeman Has fun moments. Peters out at the end, unfortunately. 4 stars
6/29/00 J At least it was free when I saw it. 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  16-Jun-2000 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  31-Aug-2000




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast